Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2460 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make their mark on the galactic stage, are now faced with an even greater peril. [BioWare] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Everything about the game – plots, combat, progression, characters – comes together in a tidy, satisfying package.
  2. A stunning example of cross-game persistence, genre-blending and adaptive narrative. [Mar 2010, p.62]
  3. 100
    The gameplay is extremely effective in terms of its new cover system and leaner, more focused action. The lore and mythology is involving and the story pulls you into the universe. The voice acting, soundtrack and graphical fidelity are the icing on the cake.
  4. Modern, fascinating and truly innovative, Mass Effect 2 is a brand new take for the western rpg, Bioware reached a perfect mix between action and storytelling, graced by stunning visuals and a long and challenging gameplay.
  5. 92
    On most levels it’s hard to fault Mass Effect 2; this is a sequel that polishes many of the original’s faults, tightening the combat and turning the screw on Shepard in the fight to save humanity with an impressive flair.
  6. By making choice, dialogue and characters the key ingredients, Mass Effect 2 delivers an experience in which the player feels directly at the core - more so than any other game we can think of. It effortlessly expands the scope of the original, creating a universe which is deeply engrossing and a plot that you can't help feeling part of.
  7. Remove the ho-hum gunplay, and the rest is an interactive action movie that's decent enough for one walkthrough. Don’t go for seconds, though. And if you’re still craving for a space opera fix by the time you’re done with Mass Effect 2, better rent all five seasons of Babylon 5.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 462
  1. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    ME2 was a huge improvement over its predecessor. Not only did they remove many of the irritating tidbits that bogged players down in the level-up and equipment screens for hours, but they also improved gameplay drastically. The result is a well-made, fun game that easily makes the top of my list of games in 2010. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Skeleton Summary: PROS/CONS PROS: - Amazing Story-Telling - Great Character Development - Average Fighting Mechanics - Great Soundtrack
    - Massive Customization
    - Good Graphics
    - Cinematic Experience
    - Great Atmosphere
    - Great Voice-Actors
    - Interesting Universe/Plot
    - Decision-Based Story

    CONS:
    - Boring Side-Missions
    - Lack Of Traditional RPG Elements (not necessarily a bad thing)
    - Gathering Resources Is Boring

    Addressing Lack of RPG Elements: While I do share similar thoughts regarding how this game compares to traditional RPG games, we do need to get past them. A game isn't created to fit into a certain genre; a game is created to entertain us. Judging the game based on how much enjoyment value it has, rather than how much of a copy/paste formula it has is what truly matters. We could have games that have all the traditional RPG elements we all love, but at the end of the day it could still be a horrible game.

    Mass Effect 2 is a step forward from the original Mass Effect title that launched the trilogy. While it does scrap some traditional RPG elements (weapons, loot, smaller skill tree, etc) it is STILL a "Role Playing Game" (look up the definition rather than saying it's not an RPG because you don't get "loot" after you kill a boss).

    If you loved the original Mass Effect story, you're going to love this one too. If you thought some of the original Mass Effect's dialogue was corny, Mass Effect 2 fixes it! The music intensifies action-packed moments that keep you on your toes. The way the story is portrayed is nothing short of amazing. Some parts feel as if you're watching a movie, others feel like the location around you comes to life (Afterlife anyone?). Your decisions do matter and through various choices of dialogue (which ARE voice acted), you ultimately shape the future of you and your team.

    The fighting mechanics are also fluid and easy to learn. You get to choose from various classes, but you also get a fire-team. With this team you can customize everyone's abilities/weapons. You tell your team where to go and who to kill. Though running in this game isn't that much better than walking (yes it's one of THOSE games).

    You go on a massive adventure with exotic alien allies to uncover the Galaxy's dark secret. Unless your heart is a tiny black-hole, this game will grasp your emotions. It's a third person shooter with the traditional duck-and-cover mechanics, but it isn't bad at all. You can create your OWN character from (almost) the ground-up. With face customization, hairstyles, uniforms, armor, etc. Through your choices you can be a good boy/girl, or your can be the galaxy's ultimate badass.

    If you haven't played the first game, don't worry, you can play this game and still get a thrill out of it. (Highly recommended to check out the first one since you can carry your decisions from the previous Mass Effect game onto the 2nd one)

    Though the main campaign is a pretty damn good, some of the side-missions are boring and repetitive (although a BIG improvement from the 1st one where you boarded a ship, killed everyone searching for a VIP/NPC with the constant spam of husks/thorian creatures).

    In order to upgrade armor/weapons in this game you need to spend resources, in order to find said resources you need to scan planets. This task is cool at first but it gets old fast.

    Get this game, it will make you love the Mass Effect Universe.
    Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    The games pretty fun, I love the storyline and is one of the best roleplaying games that wasn't made by Bethesda. I found the game not as fun as the first one, but it still doesn't affect my score. It is a fun game until you have to acquire minerals which is pretty boring. I loved how they included Genesis so I could transfer my player from the first game. Overall, I loved the game and I can't wait until the 3rd comes out. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    From Bioware comes the next installment in their sci fi shooter Mass Effect 2. Things begin right after Mass Effect 1's ending and the Normandy and it's crew are sent to investigate the Terminus System where ships have dissapeared. Once again you can play as Shepard who is violently killed when the Normandy is attacked then the organization Cerberus rebuilds you and you have to find out what is happening and stop it. Instead of being bossed around by the alliance you are bossed around by the Illusive Man voiced by Martin Sheen. The Game looks beautiful and the sound of plasma rushing past your head is great too. The combat is similar to Mass Effect 1 there is some new powers it is lighter on the RPG side but I did not mind that because the devs put extra detail into the battles. This time you have ammo instead of guns heating up which is great. You go to different planets in the game and gather up a crew to fight the enemy. There are little side missions to gain the crews loyalty too to increse the survivability on the final mission and if you suck bad on the final mission you can even get Shepard killed. I didn't make any sexy relationships this time over all that I did was have a girl over for dinner though but then she died. The game is great I have played through it 15 times since i got it ill give it a 9.5 this review will be on my blog also at http://www.maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/ Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    I love that game. I have beaten it few times now, which is a lot for a 30 hours long game. I guess that says everything. As much as it could be better game and it could incorporate your choices in more distinctive way (they are mainly one-liners in dialogue), It still has lovable universe, great plot line, rewarding gameplay and it is a "Star Wars saga of Games". Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2011
    8
    Mass Effect 2 has the feel of directing a multi-million dollar blockbuster. You don't create your own character nor roleplay it per sé, you just guide and direct the epic sci-fi story as it unfolds. Superbly written characters, a much improved cover/shoot combat system and streamlined stats make it a very worthy time-sink indeed. Highly recommended for fans of RPG and FPS-centric games alike. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2013
    0
    it is a terrible PC port, typical average console game...
    dont buy it if you want to play an FPS on your computer. clunky, dumbed down
    controls, MASSIVE (hence the name i suppose) amounts of cutscenes, boring combat, weak role play, no physics engine, dull graphics, no options to gameplay, stupid achievements, dumbed down game play, the list of goes on and on

    no idea why this game had such good reviews that made me buy it, to my dismay
    Expand

See all 462 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews

    Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: January 28, 2010
    We compare Mass Effect 2 to other high-scoring titles, and go deeper inside the reviews to find the specific factors behind all the hype.