Mass Effect 2 PC

Mass Effect 2 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3946 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make theirThe Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make their mark on the galactic stage, are now faced with an even greater peril. [BioWare] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mass Effect 2 Overlord - Overlord Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Despite some graphical disappointments and the infamous console-driven imprint, the next chapter of this beautiful Bioware saga stands with right among the most enjoyable and immersive adventures ever created for the videogame industry.
  2. Mass Effect 2 is a triumph of an action game, blending satisfying shooter levels with dark themes and hours of heated debate.
  3. Mass Effect 2 is an epic in every sense, not forgetting anything. It can hold us until the last second, and still allows us to go further.
  4. Mass Effect 2 captures the elements that made the original a game to remember, showing once more the mastery of Bioware creating great stories and unforgettable characters. Not happy with that, the studio shows their will to surpass themselves with a very improved combat system which does a lot of right things to approach the gameplay of the best third person shooters available. Perhaps, in some aspects the team has been too overzealous to streamline certain aspects of the first game, loosing a bit of the original ingenuity, but it can't be discussed that the result is a more polished and focused title.
  5. 92
    On most levels it’s hard to fault Mass Effect 2; this is a sequel that polishes many of the original’s faults, tightening the combat and turning the screw on Shepard in the fight to save humanity with an impressive flair.
  6. Mass Effect 2 may have turned a bit more into a shooter than its predecessor, but the story and the dense atmosphere will appeal to SciFi- and roleplay fans alike.
  7. Remove the ho-hum gunplay, and the rest is an interactive action movie that's decent enough for one walkthrough. Don’t go for seconds, though. And if you’re still craving for a space opera fix by the time you’re done with Mass Effect 2, better rent all five seasons of Babylon 5.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 560
  1. AkiI
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true roleplaying game, with choices you've made following you to the end, instead of just the hollow leveling. Makers of Fina Fantasy should play this game to learn how to write good and believable characters and outcomes. Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    There is nothing bad I can say about this game. It pretty much single-handedly got me back into sci-fi in a big way. Great characters, greatThere is nothing bad I can say about this game. It pretty much single-handedly got me back into sci-fi in a big way. Great characters, great plot, massive worlds and seemingly endless scope for exploration. This thing sucked me in like few games do and I couldn't get enough of it. One of the truly great games on PS3 that's for sure. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is definitely one of the best action-rpg games in history. Even though people criticize the lack of inventory and differentMass Effect 2 is definitely one of the best action-rpg games in history. Even though people criticize the lack of inventory and different option, i actually like the streamlined changes. It puts more focus on the story and gameplay instead of stats. The story is definitely one of the best and the voice acting is terrific. t's hard not to love the hateful Illusive Man or Legion or Grunt. Mass Effect 2 seems to have done many things right and i am glad that it is a commercial and critical success. Expand
  4. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    The Good:

    Great story Memorable Characters Better character development (in particular of Tali and Garus) Superb voice acting Great
    The Good:

    Great story
    Memorable Characters
    Better character development (in particular of Tali and Garus)
    Superb voice acting
    Great visuals for an RPG game (but not at "The Witcher" level)
    Excellent soundtrack and sound effects
    Tons of Re-playability

    The Fair:
    The ending
    Generic Villain

    The Bad:
    Mini-games are still boring
    More linear than Mass effect 1
    The Gameplay is Less RPG oriented
    Expand
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    A better-than-average sequel. Many of the gameplay elements have evolved from the first game--for better and for worse. Many of the RPGA better-than-average sequel. Many of the gameplay elements have evolved from the first game--for better and for worse. Many of the RPG elements were stripped out, leaving the overall RPG-ness feel less fulfilling than the original Mass Effect. The gameplay and action sequences, however, were much more enjoyable. Surprisingly, the addition of the thermal clips greatly affected this. The continuity of the storyline and decisions from the last game was quite refreshing, and at the end of the game it really left me craving for the next installment. Expand
  6. JohnR.
    Feb 1, 2010
    8
    I really like this game. The graphics and frame rates are great on my high end PC. My only gripe is with not being given an alternative I really like this game. The graphics and frame rates are great on my high end PC. My only gripe is with not being given an alternative choice of control. Bioware refuse to support the wireless 360 controller for PC. I hate it when companies refuse to listen to their customers. Expand
  7. Aug 19, 2017
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Edit: Due to BioWare's recent middle finger to the fanbase, announcing it's focus on books and multiplayer and telling the people who wanted single-player DLC and content in Mass Effect: Andromeda to **** off, I will be changing all scores for my ME series reviews to 0.

    tl;dr - ME2 improves upon ME1 in every conceivable way, while still retaining the depth of the world built around you, and the sense of dread as the unknowable Reapers move to destroy all the galaxy holds dear, without any deal-breaking downsides.

    Once more, you take the role of Commander Shepard. The game starts 1 month after the end of the first. Saren, the rogue Spectre and his Reaper master Sovereign have both been destroyed and the Geth following them have scattered to the cosmic winds, with Shepard and co. traversing the galaxy taking out the stragglers.

    However, one day things take a turn, and the Normandy is obliterated by an unknown alien ship, Shepard included. 2 years later in 2185, Shepard awakens to find that a pro-human group known as Cerberus has spent 2 years and billions of credits to resurrect him, and him alone. After things go sideways on the Cerberus station where Shepard was reconstructed, he meets via holographic video chat with the leader of Cerberus, the Illusive man.

    Collectors, a secretive race of Aliens has been landing and kidnapping entire human colonies, leaving nary a trace, except for the mass disappearance of an entire populace. Shepard is provided with a ship and squad dossiers, and begins his next adventure.

    So what's changed since the first?

    //The Good//
    -Improved inventory management. You no longer acquire weapons and armor by killing. You can find weapons in the environment and in at least one case, as a gift from a character you're looking to recruit. Armor you can find by perusing the catalogs of the various stores on The Citadel and Omega. You also no longer have to worry about collecting upgraded ammo parts for your guns, as ammo powers are now dictated by class and can be applied on demand without interrupting gameplay.

    -Streamlined talents for each class, with Companions getting their own unique passive tree specific to them. No longer do you have enough talents to brutalize a poor elephant with.

    -More squad choices when compared to the first (6 in 1, 13 in 2)

    -Streamlined gameplay. When compared to entries later in the series, I find the combat and power usage in 1 rather lackluster. In 2, combat feels infinitely smoother, with the addition of the aforementioned ammo powers (Disruptor for anti-shields, armor-piercing which is self explanatory) and the ability to actually aim your powers around cover (Enemies hiding in cover? Bring a biotic comrade to lift them into prime shooting position with Lift!)

    //The Bad//
    -Lackluster armor and weapon choices. Explains itself really. While you no longer need to manage your inventory, you're left with 1-3 choices for each weapon type, and what weapon types you can use are restricted based on class, except for Soldier who can use everything, though you do get an option partway through the game to specialize in another type (I.E a biotic with Assault rifles) Armor choices are pretty meh, with bonus' usually in the range of 5-15% boosts to various things.

    -Loyalty missions gone awry. Shortly after you kick off your recruitment tour of the Terminus systems, Loyalty missions start popping up. These are personal tasks requested by each individual squad member. While you're not required to do these, not doing so has severe negative impact on the ending, doubly so if they have a vital ship upgrade that you need to prevent even MORE negative consequences but you haven't bought yet (and once their loyalty missions pop up, you can't ask about Normandy upgrades until it's done)

    -Depending on who you choose to do what during the final mission, you might still end up losing people permanently by assigning them to the tasks their not suited for.

    Overall, the good far outweighs the negative for Mass Effect 2. While the core gameplay is practically the same, the improvements, the story and the world around you more than make up for it.
    Expand

See all 560 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews

    Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: January 28, 2010
    We compare Mass Effect 2 to other high-scoring titles, and go deeper inside the reviews to find the specific factors behind all the hype.