Mass Effect 2 PC

Mass Effect 2 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3870 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make theirThe Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make their mark on the galactic stage, are now faced with an even greater peril. [BioWare] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Despite some graphical disappointments and the infamous console-driven imprint, the next chapter of this beautiful Bioware saga stands with right among the most enjoyable and immersive adventures ever created for the videogame industry.
  2. Mass Effect 2 is a triumph of an action game, blending satisfying shooter levels with dark themes and hours of heated debate.
  3. Mass Effect 2 is an epic in every sense, not forgetting anything. It can hold us until the last second, and still allows us to go further.
  4. Mass Effect 2 captures the elements that made the original a game to remember, showing once more the mastery of Bioware creating great stories and unforgettable characters. Not happy with that, the studio shows their will to surpass themselves with a very improved combat system which does a lot of right things to approach the gameplay of the best third person shooters available. Perhaps, in some aspects the team has been too overzealous to streamline certain aspects of the first game, loosing a bit of the original ingenuity, but it can't be discussed that the result is a more polished and focused title.
  5. 92
    On most levels it’s hard to fault Mass Effect 2; this is a sequel that polishes many of the original’s faults, tightening the combat and turning the screw on Shepard in the fight to save humanity with an impressive flair.
  6. Mass Effect 2 may have turned a bit more into a shooter than its predecessor, but the story and the dense atmosphere will appeal to SciFi- and roleplay fans alike.
  7. Remove the ho-hum gunplay, and the rest is an interactive action movie that's decent enough for one walkthrough. Don’t go for seconds, though. And if you’re still craving for a space opera fix by the time you’re done with Mass Effect 2, better rent all five seasons of Babylon 5.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 558
  1. AkiI
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true roleplaying game, with choices you've made following you to the end, instead of just the hollow leveling. Makers of Fina Fantasy should play this game to learn how to write good and believable characters and outcomes. Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    There is nothing bad I can say about this game. It pretty much single-handedly got me back into sci-fi in a big way. Great characters, greatThere is nothing bad I can say about this game. It pretty much single-handedly got me back into sci-fi in a big way. Great characters, great plot, massive worlds and seemingly endless scope for exploration. This thing sucked me in like few games do and I couldn't get enough of it. One of the truly great games on PS3 that's for sure. Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Just love it (ME1 too).
    Definitely one of the biggest games ever.
    Beatyful storyline, characters, sci-fi setup, deep and detailed world, nice
    Just love it (ME1 too).
    Definitely one of the biggest games ever.
    Beatyful storyline, characters, sci-fi setup, deep and detailed world, nice graphics.
    Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    I would have to say that Mass Effect 2 is the best game I've ever played, at least so far as story and character development. That's not toI would have to say that Mass Effect 2 is the best game I've ever played, at least so far as story and character development. That's not to say the gameplay wasn't superb; it just doesn't quite give you the same adrenaline rush as blowing you enemies into little bits as you can in Borderlands 1 & 2, or sprinting through Call of Duty (4 or beyond) with a shotgun: getting an insane score streak and calling in a VTOL or something. The graphics were very good, especially considering that it is from early 2010; sure, it's not Crysis, but I really don't care. Also: the mineral collection pretty much sucked. I spent at probably 3-6 hours collecting minerals just to get all the upgrades I could: upping my first play through time to around 60 hours: of course, that is with beating virtually every side quest by the end of the game, (save a couple, and this is without DLCs). Another very annoying thing too me as an Infiltrator was the sniper slow-mo. I mean, seriously, around 5 seconds of slow motion (apparently at max level, which I did very early) to find your target I will admit, it does make the game much easier in hardcore/insanity, but it takes a lot of the challenge away. There was also far too much ammo around; I think they should have made it more like Crysis 2 in that regard, having some kind of tactical battlefield view, having to sprint with your tactical cloak to grab some more ammunition for your squad. There also should have been more weapons, and an inventory. While there were *enough* weapons to get the job done, I think it would have been much more enjoyable to once again have weapon/armor pickups, and weapon/armor mods instead of *powers* that do the same thing. Can't decide if I like or dislike not having grenades. The characters were again simply amazing: so much though and effort obviously went into them, and it was definitely a good choice on the devs part. There (can be) so much interaction between Shepard and the characters that by the end they really felt like more than just my crew, they were like family. What you say and do can have so much influence on what happens with and to them, (and vice versa, if you at all care about them), that you just really start feeling connected with them. Starting in the first game, but even more so in this game, did I really start too understand and sympathize with the plight of the Quarians (if you've played it, you can probably see some real world connections). You may also begin to reconsider the Geth as a whole, depending on what you do. Too sum it up: I give the Story 10/10, Characters 10/10, Voice Acting 9/10, Sound FX 9/10 Graphics 8/10, Overall Gameplay 8/10, Music 7/10 (Daft Punk works pretty well with it though), Space Exploration 6/10, Tactics 6/10. Last thing I have to say: Play it! Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    I recently bought the Mass Effect trilogy, played through the first game, loved it, and came into the second one with very high hopes. WhileI recently bought the Mass Effect trilogy, played through the first game, loved it, and came into the second one with very high hopes. While it lived up to many of my standards, I see why some do complain it doesn't live up to the original. Mass Effect 1 was more focused on RPG elements and choice based plot, with less focus on shooting sequences. Mass Effect 2 changes that. Since ME2 was a very anticipated release, I think Bioware tried to make it a more crowd pleasing game. ME2 thrives in it's combat elements, graphics, and plot, but lags in being an RPG. Leveling up was toned down, along with various other elements. Other than that though, I feel Mass Effect 2 is a great game, with good gameplay as well as a plot and characters that makes you care for others on your pixelated screen of choice. Expand
  6. AndyG
    Feb 1, 2010
    8
    Not a bad game, but i don't want to play it again. Core shooting game-play get a bit repetitive. The level design is a little Not a bad game, but i don't want to play it again. Core shooting game-play get a bit repetitive. The level design is a little uninspiring. RPG elements...hmm you level up but there are no visible stats. Game was not designed for a pc, the menus don't take advantage of the mouse. You can't double click on anything. Mini games were bad, and really take you out of the game. In fallout 3 you had the lock picking that wasn't to bad... The problem with the mini games is you must play them in order to upgrade. The whole time i'm scanning the planets looking for minerals i keep thinking why can't my annoying ship secretary do this. Maybe a flying mini game or space stock market mini game would have been more fun. The other problem is i just play dragon age for PC and loved it, so i was hoping for a similar experience, however this is an action-shooter-adventure. I liked the ending, trying to use plot devices to kill off the more annoying characters, plus i also like the final boss and most of the cutsceens were fun. Thought the music was pretty good. About 19 hours of game play. A lot of Polish, nice graphics. Expand
  7. JennyF.
    Jan 26, 2010
    0
    Commander Shepard still has a monotone voice, which seems to be the worst voice actor for a game with such great performances. The level Commander Shepard still has a monotone voice, which seems to be the worst voice actor for a game with such great performances. The level design is average, the gunplay has been done to death. It's slightly average. What's great is the cinematic part of it. It's better than the original, however it seems to be quite tedious and repetitive with the gameplay and the boring searching for money parts of the game. Choices can matter, some characters are interesting, story is cliche, but told in a good manner, besides the annoying main character. The AI is ok, the enemies are ok, the game just seems to not really have anything to call its own unfortunately. Expand

See all 558 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews

    Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: January 28, 2010
    We compare Mass Effect 2 to other high-scoring titles, and go deeper inside the reviews to find the specific factors behind all the hype.