User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 299 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 299

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    4
    Don't waste your money. It's a $15 dollar "fan service" pack catered to people who have stuck with the franchise from the beginning. It contains a cliched "mission" where you have to fight your clone (yawn) which merely exists in order to provide a combat mission in which most of the fan favorites participate simultaneously. However, that "mission" only makes up a third of the entire pack.Don't waste your money. It's a $15 dollar "fan service" pack catered to people who have stuck with the franchise from the beginning. It contains a cliched "mission" where you have to fight your clone (yawn) which merely exists in order to provide a combat mission in which most of the fan favorites participate simultaneously. However, that "mission" only makes up a third of the entire pack. The other two-thirds involves Shepard throwing a party, talking to all the characters four or five times, and playing poorly designed minigames at the "arcade" and "casino". While there's legitimate moments of laughter (drunk Grunt and Tali, embarrassed Traynor, Kasumi caught going through Shepard's underwear, Wrex declaring Joker a "man emergency"), it ultimately feels contrived and pushed out as a cash grab. The last 5 minutes are fairly poignant in terms of the overall Mass Effect 3 storyline, yet it ripped open an old wound namely the fact that the game's ending, even with the added "Extended Cut", is outright terrible and the franchise, despite being great for over half a decade, will likely always be remembered for dropping the ball when it mattered most. Although I'm the target demographic for this fan service (played all the games, read all the books, have an N7 hoodie and replica Normandy model, et cetera), I walked away from it shaking my head. Fan service that reads like forum fan fiction is the best BioWare can do these days? It sounds silly but I was both saddened and angry as I reached the end of this latest installment. Saddened because it's the last time we'll see this cast of characters ever again (this was the last single player, story driven, DLC for the game) and angry because they deserved better, both in terms of this DLC and how the entire franchise ended. Since the vast majority of this DLC is simply standing around listening to your crew, my advice is to go to YouTube and search for a video playthrough that is close to your own game experiences. You'll see everything you would be "playing", hear the same humor, and save yourself $15 (and as an added bonus, deprive EA of money). Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I don't know how anyone can say this is "2 hours". The DLC is split into two parts. First part plays out as a combat mission similar to Omega, though much better for a variety of reasons. The story of that part is rather odd (but I certainly wouldn't call it predictable), but I like it because the moral its telling is very fitting. However, after finishing the well done mission section,I don't know how anyone can say this is "2 hours". The DLC is split into two parts. First part plays out as a combat mission similar to Omega, though much better for a variety of reasons. The story of that part is rather odd (but I certainly wouldn't call it predictable), but I like it because the moral its telling is very fitting. However, after finishing the well done mission section, you have a secondary, more relaxed "party" element which can take just as long (if not longer), which allows you to spend meaningful time with all surviving members of your squad (and even some of those who haven't survived). This part is surprisingly fleshed out and a helluva lot of fun, especially given it takes place in a single apartment. What made ME2 so great was its focus on your squad, and this DLC delivers what ME3 was sorely lacking. You come away from this DLC feeling melancholy, but satisfied. The last line in particular was very moving, because it really folds up the entire trilogy as a whole.
    I was one of those who was sorely disappointed with ME3's ending and not entirely satisfied with the Extended Cut, but for a final DLC, this doesn't disappointed. This is easy ME3's best DLC and worth every penny to a Mass Effect fan. Even if you feel like you want to boycott EA, I would consider this. Unlike Omega or Leviathan, you really can't get everything out of this DLC without playing as your own Shepard.

    Enjoy.
    Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    4
    Illogical, contrived, predictable, draws from the oldest and most tired idioms in existence, panders to the lowest common denominator in the guise of fan-service. Stupid, worn-out jokes so forced they almost break the fourth wall, cringeworthy, embarrassing. Part two plays like a machinima in which professional voice actors were involved, with a depth of banality as to insult theIllogical, contrived, predictable, draws from the oldest and most tired idioms in existence, panders to the lowest common denominator in the guise of fan-service. Stupid, worn-out jokes so forced they almost break the fourth wall, cringeworthy, embarrassing. Part two plays like a machinima in which professional voice actors were involved, with a depth of banality as to insult the intelligence. Good night, Mass Effect. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    0
    It's like putting pages back in the middle of a book you already finished.
    A complete waste of time, Mass Effect is already dead. No sense beating a dead horse.
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I was one of the ones who did not really have a problem with the ending of ME3 but this DLC is nice, gives you a chance to talk to everyone, have some fun and press the pause button on the end of it all, the combat and new toys are fun but if that is all you get out of this then why bother, it is more about the whole experience.
    Thank you Bioware you did good.
  6. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Best way to describe this DLC? Cringeworthy and awkward even for gamers with low standards like me. Whilst the action packed part was far away form being subpar, the party bits ruin it. It's almost as if you are back in junior high. Pretty embarrassing for a game claiming to cater to a mature audience instead of the average teen. I'm glad they said this was the final pack of DLC for thisBest way to describe this DLC? Cringeworthy and awkward even for gamers with low standards like me. Whilst the action packed part was far away form being subpar, the party bits ruin it. It's almost as if you are back in junior high. Pretty embarrassing for a game claiming to cater to a mature audience instead of the average teen. I'm glad they said this was the final pack of DLC for this series. Word of advice: Bring a shovel and bury this whole franchise along with BioWare. Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    A very nice DLC. The plot is very satisfying and you're going to have hilarious moments with your squad and former squad members, which is a really nice way to end the trilogy, even though the new mini-games in the casino and the arcade are pretty dull..
  8. Mar 6, 2013
    2
    Another attempt by Bioware to try placate the fanbase they continue to ignore. Very, very predictable, awful dialogue, STILL does not provide closure for the horrible ending. Do yourself a favor skip this purchase.
  9. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Definitely the best DLC for Mass Effect 3, especially for those players who played ME because of the characters and relationship developments with them. The new storyline was short and a bit strange (not really a bad thing) but it was not the main focus of this DLC. Also the soundtrack was really awesome everything from club music to piano tracks. Voice acting is even better than beforeDefinitely the best DLC for Mass Effect 3, especially for those players who played ME because of the characters and relationship developments with them. The new storyline was short and a bit strange (not really a bad thing) but it was not the main focus of this DLC. Also the soundtrack was really awesome everything from club music to piano tracks. Voice acting is even better than before (and I didn't think it could get any better) especially during the party. I really liked the fact that there was so much humor. Because of this people also shouldn't take this DLC too seriously ME3 had a really dark storyline so this brings something fresh and new. Of course it may seem stupid that the Galaxy is burning and everyone is chilling out, but I think that is realistic 'cause anyone would go insane without any rest from the events that are happening in ME3. Maybe it is a bit like the Mass Effect version of Sims, but it was the perfect way to end this trilogy. Expand
  10. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    A fantastic DLC. it so sad that its the last DLC. I loved Citadel. I never laughed so much here. The humor was fantastic, the comments of my team on the missions was fantastic. The party was totally funny. One of the best parts was the story twist of my arch nemesis and Wrex and Grunt on my party. :D
  11. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    this is what we all needed, even those who were satisfied witht the ending. I mean, I can't say I loved the ending, but I thought it was okay, a bit disappointing, yet, not that bad.
    However, a true Mass Effect fan will know to take this as an epilogue as a "goodbye Shepard" and will have enjoyed the rest of this game's DLC, haters hated Leviathan, while I thought it was a bit overpriced,
    this is what we all needed, even those who were satisfied witht the ending. I mean, I can't say I loved the ending, but I thought it was okay, a bit disappointing, yet, not that bad.
    However, a true Mass Effect fan will know to take this as an epilogue as a "goodbye Shepard" and will have enjoyed the rest of this game's DLC, haters hated Leviathan, while I thought it was a bit overpriced, yet THE ANSWERS WERE ALL THERE, it was beautiful. An excellent trilogy, an excellent run shepard
    Expand
  12. Apr 20, 2013
    0
    So Bioware got together all their friends to get 20+ positive reviews... Look at the 10 and 0 points. There's almost no inbetween. Developer VS. User reviews... I won't cite from all of them, but things like: "in a year one should get himself over the ending..." enrages me. We put 5 years in it, dumbass. Not to mention the costs, the promises, etc.
    This was one of the biggest potential of
    So Bioware got together all their friends to get 20+ positive reviews... Look at the 10 and 0 points. There's almost no inbetween. Developer VS. User reviews... I won't cite from all of them, but things like: "in a year one should get himself over the ending..." enrages me. We put 5 years in it, dumbass. Not to mention the costs, the promises, etc.
    This was one of the biggest potential of all time in PC history. Now it's dead. Hopelessly.
    Expand
  13. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    Great. The best DLC of the saga. I could not stop laughing watching some scenes(specially Grunt and Joker. Garrus Romance and Hammerhead and Mako team Conversations) Great Dialogues done with love for three games fans. They note that it has been done with great care and affection, attention to detail, with humor and sentimentality. With this DLC Bioware I finally made me ​​a goodGreat. The best DLC of the saga. I could not stop laughing watching some scenes(specially Grunt and Joker. Garrus Romance and Hammerhead and Mako team Conversations) Great Dialogues done with love for three games fans. They note that it has been done with great care and affection, attention to detail, with humor and sentimentality. With this DLC Bioware I finally made me ​​a good impression. Highly recommended. Expand
  14. May 9, 2013
    1
    "Bioware finally listened" said BSN.
    Right. I You would pay me this much I would possibly listen too.
    Basically, this DLC is one big pile of "fan-service". I use quotation marks because I think there is a difference between "fan-service" and "arse-licking". But as it is... I has done it's job for EA as all these people giving it a loud applaud are certainly more likely to buy the sequel
    "Bioware finally listened" said BSN.
    Right. I You would pay me this much I would possibly listen too.
    Basically, this DLC is one big pile of "fan-service". I use quotation marks because I think there is a difference between "fan-service" and "arse-licking".
    But as it is... I has done it's job for EA as all these people giving it a loud applaud are certainly more likely to buy the sequel to Mass Effect 3.

    So as it is for me Citadel DLC: overpriced, unfitting, hardly funny, way past good taste.
    Enjoy You pile of goo and be ready to buy ME4 with day-one-dlc, DRM, etc.
    Expand
  15. Mar 5, 2013
    6
    better than omega, but the plot is too predictable, and does not advance the story in any way, which is disappointing being that it is the last DLC. Content wise its no more than 2 hours or so, about the same as omega. not worth the $15 IMO.
  16. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I don't even want to begin to understand how can people say this was a waste of time Bioware gave the players what they wanted (i'm not talking about the ending it's been a year get over it) the last emotional ride with probably one of the best cast of characters in gaming history. It took me about 5-6 hours (definitely not 2 hours) to complete not skipping anything (because this DLCI don't even want to begin to understand how can people say this was a waste of time Bioware gave the players what they wanted (i'm not talking about the ending it's been a year get over it) the last emotional ride with probably one of the best cast of characters in gaming history. It took me about 5-6 hours (definitely not 2 hours) to complete not skipping anything (because this DLC is mainly about dialogues and interactions with characters and the new story is just a small part). I will admit that the new story was a bit odd, but it was still really enjoyable. And as I said it is not the main point of this DLC. Also I really liked the fact that it served as a comic relief to the dark ME3 storyline. All in all, if people didn't relate to the characters of the franchise then this DLC is definitely not for them (and to be blunt Mass Effect itself is not for them). In my opinion this DLC is a perfect finale to the Mass Effect trilogy that provides real closure for all the characters. Expand
  17. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    Let's be clear on this: this doesn't really fit into the ME3 game. I don't think it's supposed to, and, frankly, I don't think it needs to. And I'm a bit of a fan, so I may be a bit blinded by my childish squeeing.

    The "mission" this game adds does not have the deepest of plot; it's nothing like Omega and Leviathan. And, yes, it's cheesy as hell. But it's *fun* cheesy. Remember those
    Let's be clear on this: this doesn't really fit into the ME3 game. I don't think it's supposed to, and, frankly, I don't think it needs to. And I'm a bit of a fan, so I may be a bit blinded by my childish squeeing.

    The "mission" this game adds does not have the deepest of plot; it's nothing like Omega and Leviathan. And, yes, it's cheesy as hell. But it's *fun* cheesy. Remember those times in Mass Effect 2 where Garrus or some other squad member would say something, and then you'd start laughing? The DLC is basically all those kind of moments squished together and rolled out non-stop.

    The fanservice on the DLC is amazing. I was a fan of Wrex, so extra-great for me, but after the main mission ends which is all lovely and meta pretty much every squadmate returns. You have a party, and that's pretty fun. But my main enjoyment lay in inviting them all individually to your apartment or speaking to them in a conversation out in the post-mission area.

    Personally, on the issue of when to play this DLC? If you're like me, you've put down ME3 for a few weeks now, beaten in, and just loaded up your pre-Cerberus HQ and final mission save. That's a great place to play it, at least for me. Listen, I know some people are still aggravating because of the ending; that's understandable. But, this should be viewed as separate to that. Citadel's not another new chapter of ME3 so much as... sort of like that rare 100th anniversary of Christmas special that's actually good.
    Expand
  18. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From other three DLCs, From The Ashes, Leviathan and Omega this one is definitely the best. Its story look a little bit like parody to me, but still. The Armax Arena is a great idea for me, because it allows player to "taste" multiplayer gaming. It's very similar, so. it has some funny quotes, older characters and enemies (Arena)... But still, all 10 by me. Expand
  19. May 23, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am going to be objective and honest here, I did not play it personally I watched multiple walk-through videos to see the writing in the game, which was sub-par to say the least. In the DLC you have too many memes for humor in it, it is as if the writers ran out of ideas of what to do to make the players of the DLC laugh in a intelligent manor. Much like mass effect 3 the core gameplay is a cover shooter, which is boring to say the least although game play is never one of my main concerns. I had many questions concerning it as well, such as where is C-SEC in this entire DLC, and why is Shepard going the moronic route of going a vigilante path? Brooks was to obvious from the beginning as a double agent, if you believed her any bit to be alliance you deserved to be back-stabbed. Then there was the poor introduction of Wrex into this DLC. Why would he be arguing about expansion on the ward section or even at all in a time of war? You got the bad advertising for the N7 clothes before that as well, as if they are trying to find some excuse for you to buy their products that are not their games.The clone was overall a bad idea since if Cerberus was to create this why would they just leave him to die instead of using him as to make the people of the galaxy not trust Shepard? Then we got the party which is more like bad fan service as the party consists of memes and bad jokes all around. Overall a customer's money would be better used saved for something else that he or she was waiting for. So a final verdict of the DLC 4.5/10 a below average piece of work. Expand
  20. rpm
    Mar 18, 2013
    8
    I'm only about 75% done with this DLC, but wanted to comment about how much fun it is. I would not recommend playing it for your first time through ME3 as it does lean a bit much toward comedy and seems out of place in the deadly serious goings on in the main campaign, but for those of us who have played the trilogy several times over it is a really enjoyable addition. One particular sceneI'm only about 75% done with this DLC, but wanted to comment about how much fun it is. I would not recommend playing it for your first time through ME3 as it does lean a bit much toward comedy and seems out of place in the deadly serious goings on in the main campaign, but for those of us who have played the trilogy several times over it is a really enjoyable addition. One particular scene had me laughing out loud last night in that it poked fun at the gameplay itself but worked in the moment.

    The enemies are new and require specific skills to handle effectively, and the action elements are handled well, it is the idea that you will share the adventure with most of the "friends" who have joined you over the span of 3 long games that makes this worth playing. The post-modern, self referential, light-hearted aspects may not fit into the main game's story arc as well as the other DLC for this series, but it feels like more of a fond farewell to companions the player has come to know and care for.
    Expand
  21. Apr 15, 2013
    0
    This is worst what hapend with Mass Effect franchise, they made circus from Mass Effect, i wish i speak english better and write good review.
  22. Apr 27, 2013
    4
    Bioware comes full circle with this DLC to prove, once and for all, that they have absolutely no clue how to tell a coherent story anymore. After the depressing, deflating ending of the entire series Bioware vehemently defended ME3 as completely intentional, explaining to fans how they wanted a "dark" feel to the whole trilogy. They then jam this piece of self-congratulatory crap in theBioware comes full circle with this DLC to prove, once and for all, that they have absolutely no clue how to tell a coherent story anymore. After the depressing, deflating ending of the entire series Bioware vehemently defended ME3 as completely intentional, explaining to fans how they wanted a "dark" feel to the whole trilogy. They then jam this piece of self-congratulatory crap in the middle of that story. Similar to how they originally claimed they intended for Shepard NOT to be a homosexual option in the first Mass Effect in order to duck questions why it wasn't included (http://www.bit-tech.net/news/gaming/2010/02/08/bioware-shepherd-is-heterosexual-by-choice/1), they then spring that option out of the blue in the third installment. Well, which way do they want to spin things this time? They wanted Mass Effect 3 to be dark, but the final DLC should have been sold with a laugh-track. Shepard decides to throw a party in his disgustingly high-end apartment sometime between his long, dark dreams about the slaughter of his home planet (and by that point the rest of the galaxy) and worrying about refugees on the Citadel having a terrible plight. But wait, if you hold off long enough you can do this right before confronting one of the most nonsensical computers in story-telling history and getting FREE multi-tint picture endings that don't talk about Shepard at all! This company thinks people pay no attention and don't mind how incongruous a story is. They want to sell content, not tell a good story. There is no more integrity to be found with their statements or their products. Ironically enough, if an ending that actually showed Shepard defeating the reapers and surviving existed, this content would have made perfect sense afterward (minus a few flaws I thought existed with how various characters acted within this DLC). There would likely be plenty of fans left around to purchase it, too. Expand
  23. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Well. This time Bioware DLC gives us a pretty unusual. Clearly an homage and a downright emotional farewell. With this DLC have about 3 hours secured many laughs and emotions. More then a new area of ​​the citadel that looks like a theme park on the amount of things you can do. I particularly liked the combat simulation. Very funny. The story of the DLC? Entertaining, very entertaining. AsWell. This time Bioware DLC gives us a pretty unusual. Clearly an homage and a downright emotional farewell. With this DLC have about 3 hours secured many laughs and emotions. More then a new area of ​​the citadel that looks like a theme park on the amount of things you can do. I particularly liked the combat simulation. Very funny. The story of the DLC? Entertaining, very entertaining. As I said before, a little usually comic style. The dialogues and situations are the most fun. the saga. Special mention to hesitate with the famous "I Should Go" Shepard says at the end of many conversations. I laughed a lot with that. There are a whole host of tributes and references to the whole saga. Just do not expect a deep plot affects the main plot style leviathan or anything. It has nothing to do with the principal. I would consider it a mini spinn-off. Also tell them that there is a pretty big sorpresón. Now the important thing is it worth it for the 15 worth? If you are a big fan and I loved the series as is my case worth. Two glasses you'll need to save but I assure you will not regret. History more entertaining and humorous situations more innovative extras that I keep quiet. Expand
  24. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    I consider this to be the first of the DLC packs that was even close in value to it's actual price; I enjoyed "From Ashes", but clearly NOT worth $10. Leviathan, even better, clearly NOT worth $10. But Citadel was different. Perhaps it helps that I am playing the game through for the first time, and am completely ignorant of this ending that seems to have everyone so cheesed off...but II consider this to be the first of the DLC packs that was even close in value to it's actual price; I enjoyed "From Ashes", but clearly NOT worth $10. Leviathan, even better, clearly NOT worth $10. But Citadel was different. Perhaps it helps that I am playing the game through for the first time, and am completely ignorant of this ending that seems to have everyone so cheesed off...but I really, thoroughly enjoyed the hell out of my self with this DLC. Was it fan-servicey? Absolutely, and that is the point. This was fan service in the great tradition of franchises like Farscape and especially Stargate SG-1; Citadel came off as a "100th episode special" written by Joss Whedon, where the writers are allowed to let their hair down and have fun with the characters. The banter was quick and witty, everyone gets some amazing lines (although Shepherd takes the cake) and even the "Big Bad Boss" was a highly amusing take on a classic sci-fi trope (although it made sense on the surface). With riffs on everything from "Oceans 11" to "Kill Bill", Citadel may make the humorless player angry, but those of us who have fallen in love with this cast of characters and want one last time to really interact with them in a casual "fun" setting, before getting back to the gritty darkness of the Galactic War should rush out and buy this immediately. Expand
  25. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    Citadel is a most fitting closure for the Mass Effect trilogy. While the first half of this DLC features a mission with an intriguing story, the second part simply lets you customize your new appartment, interact with your surviving companions from all three Mass Effect episodes, play minigames or practice your combat skills. It is rife with humor, witty dialogues and some very niceCitadel is a most fitting closure for the Mass Effect trilogy. While the first half of this DLC features a mission with an intriguing story, the second part simply lets you customize your new appartment, interact with your surviving companions from all three Mass Effect episodes, play minigames or practice your combat skills. It is rife with humor, witty dialogues and some very nice touches, such as a group picture of Sheppard and his/her companions. Art direction and voice acting are up to the Mass Effect serie excellent standards. Expand
  26. Mar 20, 2013
    5
    While I can't overlook all the hard work that obviously went into making this DLC, I cannot help thinking that its premise is very contrived and doesn't fit with the rest of the game. Most of the time I felt like playing through interactive fanfiction of some sort. Far too many gags. I think it would take both a certain degree of obliviousness AND callousness to really have fun with thisWhile I can't overlook all the hard work that obviously went into making this DLC, I cannot help thinking that its premise is very contrived and doesn't fit with the rest of the game. Most of the time I felt like playing through interactive fanfiction of some sort. Far too many gags. I think it would take both a certain degree of obliviousness AND callousness to really have fun with this DLC, i.e. party with your buddies (who have nothing better to do despite a galactic-scale war going on) in a huge luxurious apartment, while your homeworlds are burning and refugees are cramming in the station's docks. Expand
  27. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    This DLC is without any doubt, THE best DLC.. I have never in my gaming career laughed so much, felt so touched and been so moved by a game.. i am one of the few who liked the original ending.. but this Bioware, This, is perfect!
  28. May 20, 2013
    0
    I played maybe 30 minutes of this DLC and I wish there was a way to avoid giving it a score, but since it's such a massive disappointment, I'll have to go with a 0. I get that the goal was to give us something different, but in this case, "different" means taking away your weapons and preferred squadmates, and that's a dick move, plain and simple (protip: when Wrex shows up randomly andI played maybe 30 minutes of this DLC and I wish there was a way to avoid giving it a score, but since it's such a massive disappointment, I'll have to go with a 0. I get that the goal was to give us something different, but in this case, "different" means taking away your weapons and preferred squadmates, and that's a dick move, plain and simple (protip: when Wrex shows up randomly and starts kicking ass, be sure to pause and level him up, because the game doesn't do that). The biggest problem, however, is the cringeworthy humor. Not only is it corny in itself, it absolutely does not fit the tone of the game. The Reapers are attacking, everyone is dying, huge sacrifices had to be made, but suddenly there's this forced shore leave and everyone starts cracking one-liners. It's positively offensive. It would have made more sense as a separate story (like FC3: Blood Dragon), but plugging into the main game right after the events of Tuchanka, it's inexcusable. Expand
  29. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Quite a beautiful DLC that finally is of a decent length and with a feeling of a genuine addition the the franchise. Mass Effect 3, in my opinion, was plagued with the constant feeling of doubt and dread but this DLC brings another side to the Mass effect series that we haven't really seen in quite some time: Joviality and Relaxation, even if cleverly portrayed as having this air ofQuite a beautiful DLC that finally is of a decent length and with a feeling of a genuine addition the the franchise. Mass Effect 3, in my opinion, was plagued with the constant feeling of doubt and dread but this DLC brings another side to the Mass effect series that we haven't really seen in quite some time: Joviality and Relaxation, even if cleverly portrayed as having this air of apprehension and guilt at what their doing. It contains some of the best lines heard by any of the characters in some time and brings back old classics that didn't have much screen-time in the main campaign. It is sad to think that this was missing in the main game as it really does add to the game in a way that's different, rather than just adding more of the same as seen in other DLC's such as Omega. If you take your time out to get every scrap of lore, dialogue and witty line, as well as taking time out to do the side activities with crew members and minigames alike, this could stretch out past 5 hours like it did for me. This DLC will make you laugh certainly, but I can say it will put you close to tears at times too. A rollercoaster of a DLC that is well worth the money in comparison to its fellow DLCs. Expand
  30. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    best DLC i played ever it has more laughs than any comedy games i played the story of the dlc is not bad as well i enjoyed this DLC a lot it is just there to give you goose pumps at its end
  31. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    The only con of this game is that it is not infinite, it ends! The story is very involving, the gameplay is awesome, the same goes to graphics and soundtrack.
  32. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Great Fan service from BioWare. It's a well written DLC with enough action combined with funny moments. Minigames and Combat Simulator are enjoyable add-ons. The party is a nice touch and the locations are great. This is by far the best DLC of ME3.
  33. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    First of all, I was pretty angry at the way ME3 ended, the exteded cut made it ok... But there was something out there, something called the Indoctrination Theory... It was brilliant, awesome and I hoped... I hoped even more when Bioware refused to confirm or deny it... I though the fact spoke from themselved... My hopes got even higher when in the Leviathan DLC, Sheppard mentionnedFirst of all, I was pretty angry at the way ME3 ended, the exteded cut made it ok... But there was something out there, something called the Indoctrination Theory... It was brilliant, awesome and I hoped... I hoped even more when Bioware refused to confirm or deny it... I though the fact spoke from themselved... My hopes got even higher when in the Leviathan DLC, Sheppard mentionned a curious headache at the end of the DLC. I was wrong... It was all false hopes and delusion (unless it was the plan and EA didn't want to put the money to go on this way... I wished they had deny it from the start, I wouldn't feel like a fool today. And I am very pissed off about EA, or Bioware call it as you wish it is the same thing now.

    Then why am I rating this DLC so high? Because it was simply fun to play, fun to interact whit those characters I love sooo much, fun to play whit something that does not have anything to do whit all this about the ending... It gave me hope about mass effect 4... Like in real life, sometime you don't have a thing to say about how things end... And even though the fight was finally about something as stupid as a circular logic bull**** about AI versus Organics, we deffeated the enemy, and life goes on (exept for sheppard).

    I am done hating about what we certainely should have got, and I still think what we got overall was awesome, all about you and your team and some kick ass universe... My score is 9 because my hate for the ending should not impact my judgment, and it is so much better than omega who deserved an average 6.
    Expand
  34. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    As a huge fan of the Mass Effect series I just had to buy this thing. Hearing that this was the closure DLC to the Shepard storyline I was pumped and going. And as I cruised through this I felt right at home all the time. Spending some time with everyone of the crew members was amazing because of the obvious effort seen in the dialogue. When spending your first night at your *SPOILERS!*As a huge fan of the Mass Effect series I just had to buy this thing. Hearing that this was the closure DLC to the Shepard storyline I was pumped and going. And as I cruised through this I felt right at home all the time. Spending some time with everyone of the crew members was amazing because of the obvious effort seen in the dialogue. When spending your first night at your *SPOILERS!* new apartment and hearing all of Captain Andersons logs you couldn´t help but smile and get all emotionaly full. And of course hearing the crew interact with each other between missions (especially the last one) was awesome and sometimes hilarious. Speaking of hilarious this DLC is surprisingly packed with funny moments including most times character dialogue. (Look up for pizza scene and especially the thing with the hamster buddy almost at the end haha)
    Next the story: at first it seemed like a generic Shepard adventure, somebody sends some hitmen to kill this dude and he and his crew have to figure out who. But when they show who the evil guy is you start to get more into this story and actually think of how it will turn out and resolve itself! Including an amazing James Bondy casino level the levels in this game a sometimes surprising and totally cool. A highlight is the final battle which includes all of your team members at one point and an awesome finale scenery. Not to mention a nice partnership message that the end scene delivers. :D
    So in the end this DLC is a fine crafted end to the Shepard lore and a fun time to get to know the characters better and to give you a chance to see their chill comical side. I give it a 9 outta 10.
    Expand
  35. Oct 29, 2013
    2
    If you look at this DLC and Dragon Age 2 (especially Mark of The Assassins DLC) you will see a lot of similarities. Bioware loves to make comedy RPGs. Furthermore they make -good- comedy RPGs. But the problem is both of these games are too dark for these comedy elements. Citadel DLC is a fun experience. But it should not be a part of Mass Effect 3. No sir. I refuse to believe Shepard andIf you look at this DLC and Dragon Age 2 (especially Mark of The Assassins DLC) you will see a lot of similarities. Bioware loves to make comedy RPGs. Furthermore they make -good- comedy RPGs. But the problem is both of these games are too dark for these comedy elements. Citadel DLC is a fun experience. But it should not be a part of Mass Effect 3. No sir. I refuse to believe Shepard and his team would decide to "party" while there are so many lives at stake. No. If Bioware wants to put comedy elements in their RPGs; Mass Effect doesn't deserve to be their experiment. They should make a comedy game and stop messing with the best things ever happened to RPG genre in the last years! Expand
  36. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Best DLC for Mass Effect games! Fanservice, fanservice, fanservice. Ocean of laugh. When i'm playing this, i look like jester. Joker's story, Grunt's riot, drunken Tali, invisible Kasumi, Shepard's evil double... This DLC give me a lot of fun.
  37. Apr 18, 2013
    9
    Citadel is the best expansion for Mass Effect 3 yet. Adds your own personal apartment, combat arena, casino, arcade and a good story-line filled with new enemy types. Considerably harder than any previous game content aside from maybe the final battle(at least on insanity mode), these new enemies gave me a decent go of it while adding a quality story to follow. The downsides to some mightCitadel is the best expansion for Mass Effect 3 yet. Adds your own personal apartment, combat arena, casino, arcade and a good story-line filled with new enemy types. Considerably harder than any previous game content aside from maybe the final battle(at least on insanity mode), these new enemies gave me a decent go of it while adding a quality story to follow. The downsides to some might be some shallow subplots and attempts at humor but they are minimal and to be expected in almost every game.

    This DLC pack is worth your money and time.
    Expand
  38. Apr 8, 2014
    0
    This was such an extremely inappropriate break of pace, with all the main characters acting completely out of character with some of the worst dialog I've ever heard. It totally breaks the atmosphere of the game, and I must warn any one playing the game to experience a high class sci-fi story to stay clear of this mess ofa DLC!
  39. Aug 27, 2013
    0
    This DLC is plain bad. It's full of horribly bad humor and forced puns and destroys all the atmosphere of the game. All the characters suddenly trade their personality for lame one liners. And the story of the whole thing is far-fetched as well. But worst is, there is no escape. I wished for a quick exit the whole time, but if you want to continue the real game, you have to play throughThis DLC is plain bad. It's full of horribly bad humor and forced puns and destroys all the atmosphere of the game. All the characters suddenly trade their personality for lame one liners. And the story of the whole thing is far-fetched as well. But worst is, there is no escape. I wished for a quick exit the whole time, but if you want to continue the real game, you have to play through the complete DLC. What a waste of time I seriously regret I bought this crap. If you haven't yet, don't. Just don't. Expand
  40. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    This one is surely the best single player DLC for ME3. It has at least twice more content than Leviathan or Omega. It has both: a new "combat" oriented storyline and a 'social" one, a lot of new dialogues, funny cutscenes, old friends appearances and it has some really relaxed and sentimental feel. Also there are some minigames and one of them is made like a joke of ME3 multiplayer regime.This one is surely the best single player DLC for ME3. It has at least twice more content than Leviathan or Omega. It has both: a new "combat" oriented storyline and a 'social" one, a lot of new dialogues, funny cutscenes, old friends appearances and it has some really relaxed and sentimental feel. Also there are some minigames and one of them is made like a joke of ME3 multiplayer regime. So this one is a really nice final DLC for the game. Expand
  41. Jul 13, 2013
    7
    This is really great DLC. Best DLC by Bioware so far. I laughed more than in every movie i saw last year. The story part of DLC is maybe short but it is very nice parody. The main part of this DLC is part with team mates and party. Esp. Grunt and Miranda have really great scenes.
  42. Apr 27, 2013
    7
    Pros: 1) A lot of fun moments. 2) Meeting with almost every charachter from ME universe.
    Cons: 1) This dls story doesn't belong to ME3, we are at war and Shepard is partying what the hell is wrong with ME writers!!! It shoud have take place after ME2!
  43. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    I have been a long time Mass Effect Fan, and am glad to see it sent off by bioware in a good manner. The DLC has an alright story and (obviously) has gameplay identical to that of ME3, but where citadel really shines is in its Fan service (as a good thing) and the time to reunite with all the old characters we have got to know and love in the ME universe. Most of the characters from theI have been a long time Mass Effect Fan, and am glad to see it sent off by bioware in a good manner. The DLC has an alright story and (obviously) has gameplay identical to that of ME3, but where citadel really shines is in its Fan service (as a good thing) and the time to reunite with all the old characters we have got to know and love in the ME universe. Most of the characters from the games make and appearance, provided they didn't die before, and in the end the dlc ends with a nice party scene reminiscing on all the crazy things Shepard and his/her squad have gone through This DLC can't be seen for more than it is, which is a happy good bye to the Mass Effect franchise, and in that sense it truly shines. Expand
  44. Jun 3, 2013
    6
    I was expecting a little more than a simple relaxation quest. This is simply not worth the money or time unless you wish to return to the game after have already beaten it. Even so, I suggest just replaying the whole Mass Effect series than playing through Citadel.
  45. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    This was so fun that I started to laugh out loud at times. Imagine, I was playing at 2 am The amount of humor was welcome and also the "care" you show to your squad was perfect. At times I changed from laughing to almost crying, as it was a "good bye" to the squad.
    The party idea is very good. I would like to see it in other titles also.
    Thank you, Bioware!
  46. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    Great DLC. A huge number of really funny jokes and self-irony. Interesting story. I sincerely advise you to purchase. This is the best DLC in the trilogy and one of the best among all games.
  47. Jul 25, 2013
    7
    Not very long, not very inovative but you will have so much fun there and if you like Mass Effect franchise then this is a must have for you. But if you arent, dont bother buying it, just classic ME3 experience with epic fun. Overally, its one of the better DLCs for games.
  48. Efa
    Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Well it might not bring the closure to the ending, but it certainly offers the emotional ending that it had been lacking so significantly. A great way to say goodbye, have a few laughs and shed a few tears.
  49. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Recomendado para jugadores a los que les guste Mass Effect y no estén muy cabreados con el tema de la evolución de la saga, las decisiones que no afectan al final, etc...
    Es un DLC bastante simpático y al que se le pueden sacar horas de entretenimiento si se aprovechan todas sus características, además de que permite interactuar un poco más con todos los miembros del grupo (y de los
    Recomendado para jugadores a los que les guste Mass Effect y no estén muy cabreados con el tema de la evolución de la saga, las decisiones que no afectan al final, etc...
    Es un DLC bastante simpático y al que se le pueden sacar horas de entretenimiento si se aprovechan todas sus características, además de que permite interactuar un poco más con todos los miembros del grupo (y de los grupos de los juegos anteriores, si aún viven) y ofrece algunas nuevas perspectivas sobre ellos. Además, tiene bastantes referencias y diálogos divertidos que permiten que el jugador se olvide un rato del tema de la invasión segadora (que, aunque es lógicamente el tema principal del juego y prácticamente de toda la saga, lo cierto es que acaba cansando un poco).

    En definitiva, le doy un 8 de nota (he puesto un 10 para compensar un poco la mala leche de algunos).
    Expand
  50. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed ME3. The entire trilogy really. I had heard about Citadel for several months, waiting for it to drop a little in price. It never did, so finally I had to bite the bullet. I'm glad I did. Citadel try's really hard to be funny, and for the most part they succeed. If a person takes their time and really digs into this DLC they will find 3-4 hours of really solid game play.I really enjoyed ME3. The entire trilogy really. I had heard about Citadel for several months, waiting for it to drop a little in price. It never did, so finally I had to bite the bullet. I'm glad I did. Citadel try's really hard to be funny, and for the most part they succeed. If a person takes their time and really digs into this DLC they will find 3-4 hours of really solid game play. This is 100% fan service, so if you're lukewarm to the series you may not find it as satisfying as I did, but there's still plenty to enjoy. It ties up some lose ends, explains others in more depth. After 5 years you really felt an attachment to these characters, and it was interesting to see them outside of their combat roles. Citadel augments the ending to the Mass Effect trilogy very well. Expand
  51. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This DLC is just for the hardcore fans of the ME Trilogy. Do NOT buy it if you're not one. That being sad, Citadel is one of the best parts of the series, and a testament of how we came to love the characters and the ME galaxy.
    It consists of two "halfs": the mission, in which you fight a new threat (and different kinds of enemies too); and the conversations. The action goes as you expect, as does the conversations. The twist is that everybody is actually having fun, and enjoying their time together. The first time you fight with all your squadmates in the same room is a moment you'll never forget. You will have a warm felling when you see Wrex and Tali and Garrus and everyone mock their enemies, or make jokes about the way Shepard talks. The conversations are also great, with new moments with your love interest, funny situations with some of your friends, and a big party where every single character (alive) from the entire series will atend to.
    But there is some flaws. Some of the conversations are not as memorable as others. Also, the level design is not great, and the enemies behave fairly equal to the ones in the main game. Nevertheless, the wrongs should not bother you during the playthrough. There also a lot of jokes A LOT), but I believe this was intentional, not sloppy writing.
    You can see that there was more love and care put into this DLC than in the entire ME3. Every detail, every little piece of dialogue, is about these characters and the travels we made, about honoring the dozens of hours we put on each game. It's Bioware saying "Don't forget about this journey". I for sure won't.
    This is the real ending to the ME series, it's a last goodbye to all the friends we made along the way. It offers everything a fan would want, from great combat, unforgettable dialogue, and even an awesome moment with Garrus (come on, everyone loves Garrus!!!). If you care even a little bit about the ME universe and all its characters, you owe to yourself to play this.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 13, 2013
    90
    Conversations with your comrades are more meaningful and have a stronger emotional charge than combat or solving problems. Citadel is a great way to bid Commander Shepard good-bye. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.58]
  2. Apr 15, 2013
    72
    A strange mix of a decent side quest and a Mass Effect sketch comedy show. It's nice having the whole crew together for the last time, but the jokes are really not that funny or entertaining. Fan service meets fan fiction meets cheesy writing. [Apr 2013]
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    90
    Funny, touching and full of action and smart in-jokes, Citadel is Mass Effect’s heartwarming last hurrah to its fans.