Mass Effect 3: Citadel PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 363 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 363

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    4
    Don't waste your money. It's a $15 dollar "fan service" pack catered to people who have stuck with the franchise from the beginning. It contains a cliched "mission" where you have to fight your clone (yawn) which merely exists in order to provide a combat mission in which most of the fan favorites participate simultaneously. However, that "mission" only makes up a third of the entire pack.Don't waste your money. It's a $15 dollar "fan service" pack catered to people who have stuck with the franchise from the beginning. It contains a cliched "mission" where you have to fight your clone (yawn) which merely exists in order to provide a combat mission in which most of the fan favorites participate simultaneously. However, that "mission" only makes up a third of the entire pack. The other two-thirds involves Shepard throwing a party, talking to all the characters four or five times, and playing poorly designed minigames at the "arcade" and "casino". While there's legitimate moments of laughter (drunk Grunt and Tali, embarrassed Traynor, Kasumi caught going through Shepard's underwear, Wrex declaring Joker a "man emergency"), it ultimately feels contrived and pushed out as a cash grab. The last 5 minutes are fairly poignant in terms of the overall Mass Effect 3 storyline, yet it ripped open an old wound namely the fact that the game's ending, even with the added "Extended Cut", is outright terrible and the franchise, despite being great for over half a decade, will likely always be remembered for dropping the ball when it mattered most. Although I'm the target demographic for this fan service (played all the games, read all the books, have an N7 hoodie and replica Normandy model, et cetera), I walked away from it shaking my head. Fan service that reads like forum fan fiction is the best BioWare can do these days? It sounds silly but I was both saddened and angry as I reached the end of this latest installment. Saddened because it's the last time we'll see this cast of characters ever again (this was the last single player, story driven, DLC for the game) and angry because they deserved better, both in terms of this DLC and how the entire franchise ended. Since the vast majority of this DLC is simply standing around listening to your crew, my advice is to go to YouTube and search for a video playthrough that is close to your own game experiences. You'll see everything you would be "playing", hear the same humor, and save yourself $15 (and as an added bonus, deprive EA of money). Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    4
    Illogical, contrived, predictable, draws from the oldest and most tired idioms in existence, panders to the lowest common denominator in the guise of fan-service. Stupid, worn-out jokes so forced they almost break the fourth wall, cringeworthy, embarrassing. Part two plays like a machinima in which professional voice actors were involved, with a depth of banality as to insult theIllogical, contrived, predictable, draws from the oldest and most tired idioms in existence, panders to the lowest common denominator in the guise of fan-service. Stupid, worn-out jokes so forced they almost break the fourth wall, cringeworthy, embarrassing. Part two plays like a machinima in which professional voice actors were involved, with a depth of banality as to insult the intelligence. Good night, Mass Effect. Expand
  3. May 9, 2013
    1
    "Bioware finally listened" said BSN.
    Right. I You would pay me this much I would possibly listen too.
    Basically, this DLC is one big pile of "fan-service". I use quotation marks because I think there is a difference between "fan-service" and "arse-licking". But as it is... I has done it's job for EA as all these people giving it a loud applaud are certainly more likely to buy the sequel
    "Bioware finally listened" said BSN.
    Right. I You would pay me this much I would possibly listen too.
    Basically, this DLC is one big pile of "fan-service". I use quotation marks because I think there is a difference between "fan-service" and "arse-licking".
    But as it is... I has done it's job for EA as all these people giving it a loud applaud are certainly more likely to buy the sequel to Mass Effect 3.

    So as it is for me Citadel DLC: overpriced, unfitting, hardly funny, way past good taste.
    Enjoy You pile of goo and be ready to buy ME4 with day-one-dlc, DRM, etc.
    Expand
  4. May 23, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am going to be objective and honest here, I did not play it personally I watched multiple walk-through videos to see the writing in the game, which was sub-par to say the least. In the DLC you have too many memes for humor in it, it is as if the writers ran out of ideas of what to do to make the players of the DLC laugh in a intelligent manor. Much like mass effect 3 the core gameplay is a cover shooter, which is boring to say the least although game play is never one of my main concerns. I had many questions concerning it as well, such as where is C-SEC in this entire DLC, and why is Shepard going the moronic route of going a vigilante path? Brooks was to obvious from the beginning as a double agent, if you believed her any bit to be alliance you deserved to be back-stabbed. Then there was the poor introduction of Wrex into this DLC. Why would he be arguing about expansion on the ward section or even at all in a time of war? You got the bad advertising for the N7 clothes before that as well, as if they are trying to find some excuse for you to buy their products that are not their games.The clone was overall a bad idea since if Cerberus was to create this why would they just leave him to die instead of using him as to make the people of the galaxy not trust Shepard? Then we got the party which is more like bad fan service as the party consists of memes and bad jokes all around. Overall a customer's money would be better used saved for something else that he or she was waiting for. So a final verdict of the DLC 4.5/10 a below average piece of work. Expand
  5. Apr 20, 2013
    0
    So Bioware got together all their friends to get 20+ positive reviews... Look at the 10 and 0 points. There's almost no inbetween. Developer VS. User reviews... I won't cite from all of them, but things like: "in a year one should get himself over the ending..." enrages me. We put 5 years in it, dumbass. Not to mention the costs, the promises, etc.
    This was one of the biggest potential of
    So Bioware got together all their friends to get 20+ positive reviews... Look at the 10 and 0 points. There's almost no inbetween. Developer VS. User reviews... I won't cite from all of them, but things like: "in a year one should get himself over the ending..." enrages me. We put 5 years in it, dumbass. Not to mention the costs, the promises, etc.
    This was one of the biggest potential of all time in PC history. Now it's dead. Hopelessly.
    Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2013
    2
    If you look at this DLC and Dragon Age 2 (especially Mark of The Assassins DLC) you will see a lot of similarities. Bioware loves to make comedy RPGs. Furthermore they make -good- comedy RPGs. But the problem is both of these games are too dark for these comedy elements. Citadel DLC is a fun experience. But it should not be a part of Mass Effect 3. No sir. I refuse to believe Shepard andIf you look at this DLC and Dragon Age 2 (especially Mark of The Assassins DLC) you will see a lot of similarities. Bioware loves to make comedy RPGs. Furthermore they make -good- comedy RPGs. But the problem is both of these games are too dark for these comedy elements. Citadel DLC is a fun experience. But it should not be a part of Mass Effect 3. No sir. I refuse to believe Shepard and his team would decide to "party" while there are so many lives at stake. No. If Bioware wants to put comedy elements in their RPGs; Mass Effect doesn't deserve to be their experiment. They should make a comedy game and stop messing with the best things ever happened to RPG genre in the last years! Expand
  7. Apr 15, 2013
    0
    This is worst what hapend with Mass Effect franchise, they made circus from Mass Effect, i wish i speak english better and write good review.
  8. Apr 27, 2013
    4
    Bioware comes full circle with this DLC to prove, once and for all, that they have absolutely no clue how to tell a coherent story anymore. After the depressing, deflating ending of the entire series Bioware vehemently defended ME3 as completely intentional, explaining to fans how they wanted a "dark" feel to the whole trilogy. They then jam this piece of self-congratulatory crap in theBioware comes full circle with this DLC to prove, once and for all, that they have absolutely no clue how to tell a coherent story anymore. After the depressing, deflating ending of the entire series Bioware vehemently defended ME3 as completely intentional, explaining to fans how they wanted a "dark" feel to the whole trilogy. They then jam this piece of self-congratulatory crap in the middle of that story. Similar to how they originally claimed they intended for Shepard NOT to be a homosexual option in the first Mass Effect in order to duck questions why it wasn't included (http://www.bit-tech.net/news/gaming/2010/02/08/bioware-shepherd-is-heterosexual-by-choice/1), they then spring that option out of the blue in the third installment. Well, which way do they want to spin things this time? They wanted Mass Effect 3 to be dark, but the final DLC should have been sold with a laugh-track. Shepard decides to throw a party in his disgustingly high-end apartment sometime between his long, dark dreams about the slaughter of his home planet (and by that point the rest of the galaxy) and worrying about refugees on the Citadel having a terrible plight. But wait, if you hold off long enough you can do this right before confronting one of the most nonsensical computers in story-telling history and getting FREE multi-tint picture endings that don't talk about Shepard at all! This company thinks people pay no attention and don't mind how incongruous a story is. They want to sell content, not tell a good story. There is no more integrity to be found with their statements or their products. Ironically enough, if an ending that actually showed Shepard defeating the reapers and surviving existed, this content would have made perfect sense afterward (minus a few flaws I thought existed with how various characters acted within this DLC). There would likely be plenty of fans left around to purchase it, too. Expand
  9. May 20, 2013
    0
    I played maybe 30 minutes of this DLC and I wish there was a way to avoid giving it a score, but since it's such a massive disappointment, I'll have to go with a 0. I get that the goal was to give us something different, but in this case, "different" means taking away your weapons and preferred squadmates, and that's a dick move, plain and simple (protip: when Wrex shows up randomly andI played maybe 30 minutes of this DLC and I wish there was a way to avoid giving it a score, but since it's such a massive disappointment, I'll have to go with a 0. I get that the goal was to give us something different, but in this case, "different" means taking away your weapons and preferred squadmates, and that's a dick move, plain and simple (protip: when Wrex shows up randomly and starts kicking ass, be sure to pause and level him up, because the game doesn't do that). The biggest problem, however, is the cringeworthy humor. Not only is it corny in itself, it absolutely does not fit the tone of the game. The Reapers are attacking, everyone is dying, huge sacrifices had to be made, but suddenly there's this forced shore leave and everyone starts cracking one-liners. It's positively offensive. It would have made more sense as a separate story (like FC3: Blood Dragon), but plugging into the main game right after the events of Tuchanka, it's inexcusable. Expand
  10. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Best way to describe this DLC? Cringeworthy and awkward even for gamers with low standards like me. Whilst the action packed part was far away form being subpar, the party bits ruin it. It's almost as if you are back in junior high. Pretty embarrassing for a game claiming to cater to a mature audience instead of the average teen. I'm glad they said this was the final pack of DLC for thisBest way to describe this DLC? Cringeworthy and awkward even for gamers with low standards like me. Whilst the action packed part was far away form being subpar, the party bits ruin it. It's almost as if you are back in junior high. Pretty embarrassing for a game claiming to cater to a mature audience instead of the average teen. I'm glad they said this was the final pack of DLC for this series. Word of advice: Bring a shovel and bury this whole franchise along with BioWare. Expand
  11. Mar 6, 2013
    0
    It's like putting pages back in the middle of a book you already finished.
    A complete waste of time, Mass Effect is already dead. No sense beating a dead horse.
  12. Mar 6, 2013
    2
    Another attempt by Bioware to try placate the fanbase they continue to ignore. Very, very predictable, awful dialogue, STILL does not provide closure for the horrible ending. Do yourself a favor skip this purchase.
  13. Apr 8, 2014
    0
    This was such an extremely inappropriate break of pace, with all the main characters acting completely out of character with some of the worst dialog I've ever heard. It totally breaks the atmosphere of the game, and I must warn any one playing the game to experience a high class sci-fi story to stay clear of this mess ofa DLC!
  14. Aug 27, 2013
    0
    This DLC is plain bad. It's full of horribly bad humor and forced puns and destroys all the atmosphere of the game. All the characters suddenly trade their personality for lame one liners. And the story of the whole thing is far-fetched as well. But worst is, there is no escape. I wished for a quick exit the whole time, but if you want to continue the real game, you have to play throughThis DLC is plain bad. It's full of horribly bad humor and forced puns and destroys all the atmosphere of the game. All the characters suddenly trade their personality for lame one liners. And the story of the whole thing is far-fetched as well. But worst is, there is no escape. I wished for a quick exit the whole time, but if you want to continue the real game, you have to play through the complete DLC. What a waste of time I seriously regret I bought this crap. If you haven't yet, don't. Just don't. Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. CD-Action
    May 13, 2013
    90
    Conversations with your comrades are more meaningful and have a stronger emotional charge than combat or solving problems. Citadel is a great way to bid Commander Shepard good-bye. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.58]
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Apr 15, 2013
    72
    A strange mix of a decent side quest and a Mass Effect sketch comedy show. It's nice having the whole crew together for the last time, but the jokes are really not that funny or entertaining. Fan service meets fan fiction meets cheesy writing. [Apr 2013]
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    90
    Funny, touching and full of action and smart in-jokes, Citadel is Mass Effect’s heartwarming last hurrah to its fans.