Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 296 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When a sinister conspiracy targets Commander Shepard, you and your team must uncover the truth, through battles and intrigue that range from the glamour of the Citadel's Wards to the top-secret Council Archives. Uncover the truth and fight alongside your squad - as well as the cast from theWhen a sinister conspiracy targets Commander Shepard, you and your team must uncover the truth, through battles and intrigue that range from the glamour of the Citadel's Wards to the top-secret Council Archives. Uncover the truth and fight alongside your squad - as well as the cast from the original Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2, including Urdnot Wrex! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    91
    There are more laughs in this DLC that many entire comedy games, made stronger by being undercut with a real poignancy.
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    90
    Funny, touching and full of action and smart in-jokes, Citadel is Mass Effect’s heartwarming last hurrah to its fans.
  3. May 13, 2013
    90
    Conversations with your comrades are more meaningful and have a stronger emotional charge than combat or solving problems. Citadel is a great way to bid Commander Shepard good-bye. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.58]
  4. Mar 15, 2013
    81
    Even though Citadel, like other Mass Effect 3 expansions, plugs into the final third of the campaign, this is probably the closest thing to a happy end that Shepard & Co. will ever have. And if you think that there is no place for fan service and inside jokes in the gloomy universe of Mass Effect, you’d better stay away from this DLC.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    80
    An excellent DLC, intended for the Mass Effect fans, that is full of references it's not even possible. An interesting story, great dialogues and perfectly entertaining action, bringing nontraditional variegation into the game, are awaiting you. If you love ME, you must have this DLC.
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    80
    Citadel delivers. The last story-driven DLC for Mass Effect 3 allows the players to say goodbye to Shepard and his friends in a grand style. The content is light, fun and humorous, and the new main mission is great. What is more, the quests are more diverse than the ones in Omega or Leviathan. I'm a fan and I see Citadel in a very good way, but you have to remember, that it's aimed at a specific audience. People that didn't like Shepard's previous adventures have nothing to see here.
  7. Apr 15, 2013
    72
    A strange mix of a decent side quest and a Mass Effect sketch comedy show. It's nice having the whole crew together for the last time, but the jokes are really not that funny or entertaining. Fan service meets fan fiction meets cheesy writing. [Apr 2013]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 51
  2. Negative: 14 out of 51
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    The only con of this game is that it is not infinite, it ends! The story is very involving, the gameplay is awesome, the same goes to graphicsThe only con of this game is that it is not infinite, it ends! The story is very involving, the gameplay is awesome, the same goes to graphics and soundtrack. Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    Great. The best DLC of the saga. I could not stop laughing watching some scenes(specially Grunt and Joker. Garrus Romance and Hammerhead andGreat. The best DLC of the saga. I could not stop laughing watching some scenes(specially Grunt and Joker. Garrus Romance and Hammerhead and Mako team Conversations) Great Dialogues done with love for three games fans. They note that it has been done with great care and affection, attention to detail, with humor and sentimentality. With this DLC Bioware I finally made me ​​a good impression. Highly recommended. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I don't know how anyone can say this is "2 hours". The DLC is split into two parts. First part plays out as a combat mission similar to Omega,I don't know how anyone can say this is "2 hours". The DLC is split into two parts. First part plays out as a combat mission similar to Omega, though much better for a variety of reasons. The story of that part is rather odd (but I certainly wouldn't call it predictable), but I like it because the moral its telling is very fitting. However, after finishing the well done mission section, you have a secondary, more relaxed "party" element which can take just as long (if not longer), which allows you to spend meaningful time with all surviving members of your squad (and even some of those who haven't survived). This part is surprisingly fleshed out and a helluva lot of fun, especially given it takes place in a single apartment. What made ME2 so great was its focus on your squad, and this DLC delivers what ME3 was sorely lacking. You come away from this DLC feeling melancholy, but satisfied. The last line in particular was very moving, because it really folds up the entire trilogy as a whole.
    I was one of those who was sorely disappointed with ME3's ending and not entirely satisfied with the Extended Cut, but for a final DLC, this doesn't disappointed. This is easy ME3's best DLC and worth every penny to a Mass Effect fan. Even if you feel like you want to boycott EA, I would consider this. Unlike Omega or Leviathan, you really can't get everything out of this DLC without playing as your own Shepard.

    Enjoy.
    Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed ME3. The entire trilogy really. I had heard about Citadel for several months, waiting for it to drop a little in price. ItI really enjoyed ME3. The entire trilogy really. I had heard about Citadel for several months, waiting for it to drop a little in price. It never did, so finally I had to bite the bullet. I'm glad I did. Citadel try's really hard to be funny, and for the most part they succeed. If a person takes their time and really digs into this DLC they will find 3-4 hours of really solid game play. This is 100% fan service, so if you're lukewarm to the series you may not find it as satisfying as I did, but there's still plenty to enjoy. It ties up some lose ends, explains others in more depth. After 5 years you really felt an attachment to these characters, and it was interesting to see them outside of their combat roles. Citadel augments the ending to the Mass Effect trilogy very well. Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2013
    7
    Not very long, not very inovative but you will have so much fun there and if you like Mass Effect franchise then this is a must have for you.Not very long, not very inovative but you will have so much fun there and if you like Mass Effect franchise then this is a must have for you. But if you arent, dont bother buying it, just classic ME3 experience with epic fun. Overally, its one of the better DLCs for games. Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    4
    Don't waste your money. It's a $15 dollar "fan service" pack catered to people who have stuck with the franchise from the beginning. ItDon't waste your money. It's a $15 dollar "fan service" pack catered to people who have stuck with the franchise from the beginning. It contains a cliched "mission" where you have to fight your clone (yawn) which merely exists in order to provide a combat mission in which most of the fan favorites participate simultaneously. However, that "mission" only makes up a third of the entire pack. The other two-thirds involves Shepard throwing a party, talking to all the characters four or five times, and playing poorly designed minigames at the "arcade" and "casino". While there's legitimate moments of laughter (drunk Grunt and Tali, embarrassed Traynor, Kasumi caught going through Shepard's underwear, Wrex declaring Joker a "man emergency"), it ultimately feels contrived and pushed out as a cash grab. The last 5 minutes are fairly poignant in terms of the overall Mass Effect 3 storyline, yet it ripped open an old wound namely the fact that the game's ending, even with the added "Extended Cut", is outright terrible and the franchise, despite being great for over half a decade, will likely always be remembered for dropping the ball when it mattered most. Although I'm the target demographic for this fan service (played all the games, read all the books, have an N7 hoodie and replica Normandy model, et cetera), I walked away from it shaking my head. Fan service that reads like forum fan fiction is the best BioWare can do these days? It sounds silly but I was both saddened and angry as I reached the end of this latest installment. Saddened because it's the last time we'll see this cast of characters ever again (this was the last single player, story driven, DLC for the game) and angry because they deserved better, both in terms of this DLC and how the entire franchise ended. Since the vast majority of this DLC is simply standing around listening to your crew, my advice is to go to YouTube and search for a video playthrough that is close to your own game experiences. You'll see everything you would be "playing", hear the same humor, and save yourself $15 (and as an added bonus, deprive EA of money). Expand
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    0
    This DLC is plain bad. It's full of horribly bad humor and forced puns and destroys all the atmosphere of the game. All the charactersThis DLC is plain bad. It's full of horribly bad humor and forced puns and destroys all the atmosphere of the game. All the characters suddenly trade their personality for lame one liners. And the story of the whole thing is far-fetched as well. But worst is, there is no escape. I wished for a quick exit the whole time, but if you want to continue the real game, you have to play through the complete DLC. What a waste of time I seriously regret I bought this crap. If you haven't yet, don't. Just don't. Expand

See all 51 User Reviews