• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Master of Orion III Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: On Master of Orion 3, you become the controlling force behind an entire galactic civilization. It is not enough to be an able economist or a great captain to succeed; political, administrative, and espionage skills must be applied to craft your civilization's glorious chapter in the annals of time and space and claim the rightful title of "Master of Orion". Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. A perfect pick for those who prefer strategy over action.
  2. 81
    A game just waiting to be discovered. It does have its problems even beyond those involved in learning to play it, but they are minor in the grand scheme of things and, for lovers of the genre, it is the grand scheme that Master of Orion 3 captures best.
  3. One glaring problem is the 165 page manual. While holding an interesting background storyline for the game, material inside is poorly organized and not extremely helpful.
  4. The overwhelming masses of numbers and options make MOO3 harder to comprehend than its more intuitive predecessors. [May 2003, p.88]
  5. The computer AI is just a mess, and for a game that is mostly about interaction with alien races, to have all those races behave like mental patients, isn’t as much fun as it’s cracked up to be.
  6. Features have been piled upon features in an attempt to enhance gameplay, but this has only succeeded in bulking things up to the point where you risk an aneurysm if you try to figure everything out.
  7. Then there's the weak, arbitrary enemy A.I., the impenetrable interface, and the absurdly incomplete documentation. [June 2003, p.70]

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 44
  2. Negative: 27 out of 44
  1. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    just 4 at start it was unplayable, but now 9 with patch/modes. Good game but on real time battle suxx. I spending many time playing it, in not so good like 2-nd part, but newer. Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    When i bought this game so many years ago, i was suprised that i could barely find anything about the game over the internet, it was like a ghost game, which must have had some credibility since it was no/3 of the series. Nevertheless, i learned how to play the game myself and grew to love the dynamics, the expanse of the galaxy and the general feel of being a dictator in a galaxy. It was the first TBS Space 4x game i ever played, and for me personally - nothing can ever come close. I realised the hatred, frustration and pure denial of this games existence by MoO fans (1 & 2), and after playing those two myself i can see why it was so terrible compared to the originals. But for me, MoO3 has always been a constant. Im just glad i never played the first two before i played the 3rd, otherwise i would have probably sided with the general consensus of this game. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    Love the details, depth, and realistic astronomy (the only game to have realistic astronomy). The AI really sucks though, forcing you to micromanage. Gets boring fast once you're over 10 star systems. No eyecandy and earcandy in the battles. Like the alien races. Tech tree is very good. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2011
    1
    The most disappointing game ever. MOO and MOOII were amazing (best strategy games ever!) but this thing was just... annoying. It's overly complicated, full of bugs and just NOT FUN. Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2013
    1
    Considering how good Master of Orion 2 was, I was giddy when I heard about this game. Then I got it.

    W! T! F! is this?

    It took the micro
    management aspect from MOO2, and pretty much made that the core mechanic. This game feels more like a job than a game. I half expected to get a pay check for playing this.

    But, frustration aside, some of the visuals are decent and I do get what they were trying to do with this game. Problem is, what they were trying to do is not fun. I would imagine the only people who liked this are mindless workaholics that love needlessly complicated work systems.

    Overall:
    Not only was this game a massive disappointment to me, but I also found no way to enjoy it at all. Even looking at it on its own, this game is basically "Intergalactic paperwork The Video Game!"
    Expand
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    1
    I'd give the game a 7, not as good as MOO2. As soon as my video card got a new driver 2 months after buying it I could no longer play it. "Direct X Surface Unavailable." So this review gets a 1 for not being supported and updated less than 3 months after purchase. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2013
    0
    This game was complete crap. The colony control was waaaaay too much work to make the game fun, the combat was crappy, and the planet invasion engine was boring as hell. The few times I played through this, I eventually let the game run the actual colonies because there was just too much crap to do with each one. Seriously, do I need to pick the type of shoes those colonists are wearing? Bring back the MOO 2 design, and build off that! Expand

See all 44 User Reviews