User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 617 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 617

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    We Will Never Forget Remedy's Max Payne.
  2. CodyBaker
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    No story has captivated me this much since the original max payne! With DELICIOUS views of new york city, memorable moments, and the heart-pounding climaxes at the end of each chapter are all epic. The coolness & badassness of max payne's character is just icing on the cake, damn this game is addictingly delicious! A well-crafted treat for gamers as they turn on their gamingNo story has captivated me this much since the original max payne! With DELICIOUS views of new york city, memorable moments, and the heart-pounding climaxes at the end of each chapter are all epic. The coolness & badassness of max payne's character is just icing on the cake, damn this game is addictingly delicious! A well-crafted treat for gamers as they turn on their gaming systems, turn off the lights, grab some snacks, and crank up the volume and get ready to be blown out of their fuckin minds with this film noir masterpiece! Too bad it didn't sell well, probably because rockstar & remedy spent alot of their money to hire professional hollywood actors to do the parts for the characters, or maybe it was because they didn't show it at e3 2002 or 2003 (or advertising for that matter). Defidently genre-defining, although it's short (5 to 6 hours for the expert gamer) and there are only 3 bosses (if you choose to spare the 2nd one earlier). Over all, it is a masterpiece of epic proportions. Expand
  3. MattiS.
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    What a great game! I love it. Great graphics. Sounds are awesome! And Bullet Time is VERY COOL!
  4. CraigH.
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    I've just completed the game. Extremely engaging story. A vast improvment on Max Payne 1's graphic novel sequences. Lots of fun details: vomiting inmates, "Lords and Ladies" TV series etc., heart braking theme song by "Poets of the Fall": "Late Goodbye" that echoes the lost opportunities feeling of the game. I feel as though I slept through the 9-11 attacks and missed a tidal I've just completed the game. Extremely engaging story. A vast improvment on Max Payne 1's graphic novel sequences. Lots of fun details: vomiting inmates, "Lords and Ladies" TV series etc., heart braking theme song by "Poets of the Fall": "Late Goodbye" that echoes the lost opportunities feeling of the game. I feel as though I slept through the 9-11 attacks and missed a tidal wave of a game by not buying it until four years after it was first released. Better late than never, I guess. Oh, and the graphics are as satasfying as Bioshock's but with double the frame-rate. Now on to the unlocked game modes. Expand
  5. AnonymousOne
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    A fine sequel to the original Max Payne. Game mechanics are intuitive, story is compelling and the cinematic format is still unique and engaging. Once immersed it is hard to quit the game. Certainly makes a gamer anticipate the next installment...:)
  6. 420RymeELite
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    I was a huge fan of the first Max Payne but the second took all of the great aspects of the first, and cut out all fat. Much better job with the dreams, graphics, and bullet time. Just the minute details that you see during game play is enough to blow u away. I hope this series continues on threw a few more episodes < and hey... toke and play the fun house...the spirally thing isI was a huge fan of the first Max Payne but the second took all of the great aspects of the first, and cut out all fat. Much better job with the dreams, graphics, and bullet time. Just the minute details that you see during game play is enough to blow u away. I hope this series continues on threw a few more episodes < and hey... toke and play the fun house...the spirally thing is incredible> Ryme Expand
  7. PayneRocks
    Oct 24, 2003
    10
    Wonderful game! Let me make a few points here 1. If you say this game has no story, its not your fault you just need to get a little older. 2. Load times...er... not that bad...(cough...upgrade...cough) try Postal 2. 3. For those who say too many cut-scenes, go play Unreal tourney. 4. Oh and just in case you didn't know - Great games are always TOO SHORT! GIMME MORE MAX PAYNE!
  8. MarekM.
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    This game is just awesome. I mean, I played it three times through as it was released and lately(March 2k7) I was bored of the new games and installed MP2 and played it again. It is even now an awesome. The graphics are still very nice to look at (especially the Bullet-Time!), the story is still top-notch. I just love it. I love Max Payne. A character you empathize with.
  9. JohnR
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    It is still one of the best and most solid Third Person Shooters out there. The storytelling and the scenario itself reached a highter (and in my eyes even more mature) level than in the first game, the graphics were as good as they were possible back then (even current titles have a hard time creating as good character graphics as Max Payne 2 had) and the action itself is as exciting and It is still one of the best and most solid Third Person Shooters out there. The storytelling and the scenario itself reached a highter (and in my eyes even more mature) level than in the first game, the graphics were as good as they were possible back then (even current titles have a hard time creating as good character graphics as Max Payne 2 had) and the action itself is as exciting and cool as it can be. And also there are some nice bonusses such as the alternate ending on the highest difficulty and the Dead Man Walking mode, featuring a local high score table. In my eyes simply one of the best games ever. And for all those who oppose: What better third person shooters are there? What games feature a more intelligent and thrilling story? Seriously: I don't know any. Collapse
  10. AhmedR.
    Oct 19, 2003
    10
    Awesome graphics, amazing game play, if you like the first, you'll love the second!!!
  11. NickC.
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    Excellent game, great story, great action. Short but sweet. Graphics and physics are top notch.
  12. JJ
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    I've been a PC gamer for close to 25 years now, and MP2 is one of my favorite gaming experiences ever. Considering entertainment had while playing, it might be the most enjoyable shooter I ever played, Half-Life and other titans included. (Half-Life might be a better game, and have a much larger scope, but I enjoyed MP2 much more.) The graphics were (and still are) great; clean, I've been a PC gamer for close to 25 years now, and MP2 is one of my favorite gaming experiences ever. Considering entertainment had while playing, it might be the most enjoyable shooter I ever played, Half-Life and other titans included. (Half-Life might be a better game, and have a much larger scope, but I enjoyed MP2 much more.) The graphics were (and still are) great; clean, crisp, and ridiculously efficient. The cornball film noir story is a treat. The sounds and music are superb. Mona Sax is an awesome anti-heroine; and for sheer butt-kicking sexy, I'd take her over Alyx Vance or Laura Croft any day of the week. Truth be told, some levels are narrow and poorly designed, and there is plenty of re-hashing of environments. But some maps (and the action embedded therein) are so creative and memorable that the game overcomes whatever negatives it could be charged with. Playing the same level twice, once from Mona's perspective, once from Max's is pure pleasure. The Funhouse level deserves to be in the computer game map hall of fame. I could go on an on. If for some reason you haven't played MP2 and you've got ten bucks to spend, search the 'value game' section or the bargain bin and pick up MP2. By the way, there will be no MP3-- Alan Wake will be the next Remedy game, built on essentially the same formula. I anxiously await it, and hope it doesn't succumb to big-budget complete seriousness. Expand
  13. JoshuaG
    Feb 22, 2009
    10
    This game is a true joy to play. It is cinematic in every way. The ending is fitting to such a great sequel.
  14. MTElija
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    Nearly five years on and I still find myself giving this experience a go. Brilliant.
  15. zdogjr
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    i loved this game, it fixed all the little things i didnt like in the first, and adds a lot of new things, the voice acting is still awsome (the voice actor for max is one of the best ive ever heard) the story seems to have gotten better, the weapons still feel powerfull and usefull. in the end if you loved the first one, this is a must buy.
  16. DavidK.
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    The game is great! There are some very funny and clever elements added. The story is scripted well and most importantly the game has the key element so many other miss, it is FUN TO PLAY!!!
  17. AlexM.
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    Absolutely amazing...best gaming experience ive had so far in fps, hell any game for that matter-buy it for the pc asap!!
  18. TapioS.
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    Yes, all what we wait for... nice action... for finland.
  19. JimM.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    Best Graphics, Best Sound, Best Visual Effects.....Wow wait till he is in a dream and the walls and everything are moving. Never saw that in another game. Totally Wild. Seriously...I never liked the first one as much but this one is so polished and looks so good u have to love it;) Short? Been -playing for days. Its so much fun I take my time. Sure it may bhort if u fly thru the game and Best Graphics, Best Sound, Best Visual Effects.....Wow wait till he is in a dream and the walls and everything are moving. Never saw that in another game. Totally Wild. Seriously...I never liked the first one as much but this one is so polished and looks so good u have to love it;) Short? Been -playing for days. Its so much fun I take my time. Sure it may bhort if u fly thru the game and play every waking hr. I have a life so I just play it for a hr or so a night. Enjoy this game it blows everything else away! Expand
  20. MichalW._fromPoland
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    This game is short. But it's very very entertaining. Graphics is just the best I've seen. Havok engine does the job - I just loved to watch how chairs and people flew after I threw a grenade. The story is very good. Music is great. Motion capture is perfect. It has the same fantastic atmosphere as its predecessor. It's just done perfectly. What can I add? There are so many This game is short. But it's very very entertaining. Graphics is just the best I've seen. Havok engine does the job - I just loved to watch how chairs and people flew after I threw a grenade. The story is very good. Music is great. Motion capture is perfect. It has the same fantastic atmosphere as its predecessor. It's just done perfectly. What can I add? There are so many crappy games and so many average games ( like Chrome, Bloodrayne, Conflict: Desert Storm 2 ) that MAX just has to shine. It's a great game. *Forgive my English - I still have much to learn.. [Ed: looked perfect to me...] Expand
  21. 655321Ofnoconcerntoyou
    Oct 24, 2003
    10
    The plot is more confused and less impressive than Max Payne ones. Bullet holes weren't implemented as varied as in MP1, not because the devs couldnt use them, but because they were too lazy to set the surface properites of most objects and surfaces within the levels. Compared to Max Payne 1 i would give it a 7.5 but standalone it deserves a 9. Just like pc gamer i will rate it standalone.
  22. SimonR.
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    I loved Max Payne 1 and I love a lot eaven Max Payne 2. I can't wait for a Max Payne 3. Get it it's wonderful!!!
  23. MatthieuR.
    Dec 7, 2003
    10
    What have we come to, that 12 hours of gaming heaven is considered short? Go back and play the classics, people! You can beat Mario in less than half that! Do the math, it comes to some 4 or 5$ per hour, cheaper than the latest Hollywood drivel (and you can sell a game back). It was a good story, great voice acting and beautiful artwork, awesome action. Can't wait for 3!
  24. 420RymeELite
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    Great game much better than original (if your computer is good enough).
  25. SeanP.
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    In my 20 Years of gaming history, there were only 2 games that really got it, to capture me in their world - that's the whole Half Life Thing ... especially starting at the Episode stuff. On the other hand, it's the Max Payne story. Max Payne 1 was really good but since Max Payne really got "serious", by changing the optical charakter, it's really so much more impressive. In my 20 Years of gaming history, there were only 2 games that really got it, to capture me in their world - that's the whole Half Life Thing ... especially starting at the Episode stuff. On the other hand, it's the Max Payne story. Max Payne 1 was really good but since Max Payne really got "serious", by changing the optical charakter, it's really so much more impressive. He just looks like he feels - totally bad. The music, the comic-dequences, the story - everything is so perfect in it's way, that i always get a goose skin while thinking about quotes or the ending, while everything is still, you only see some lips and Max saying: "I've had a dream of my wife. She was dead. But that was all right." (it's shaking me again while writing this.) The alternate ending on "Dead on Arrival" Mode is ... ok ... but a too hollywood styling Happy End. But that's not the point. If I had to decide between nowadays titles like Crysis or a Max Payne 2, i will choose Max every single time, just too really "feel" this whole story with ups and downs. Max Payne 2 is the most perfect game up to today. And since Max Payne 3 was announced, i'm praying they won't let this series digging it's own grave. It would be a mess for me. Expand
  26. CiaranG.
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    Its a perfect game. The graphics are amazing, great storyline, excellent level design, wide variety of weapons. If only all games were as good as this.
  27. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is probably the game that has similar graphics to Valve's Half-Life 2. The graphics, gameplay and the story just got even better with this awesome TPS. But the amount of good add-on games (like the original Max Payne) are limited. Expand
  28. May 17, 2011
    10
    Max Payne 2 is the game that defines 'Game Noir' in my mind. The story is deep, dark and compelling. The character development is strong, and the gameplay is so much fun.
  29. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    This is a instant classic of its time, and has aged very well, and being a personal computer game at that this game has good polygon counts, non copy pasted environments, Good art and textures, there is not single texture in this game that looks out of place or looks blurry and ruins the immersion. This is game that clearly didn't worry too much about hardware budgets. Its an example ofThis is a instant classic of its time, and has aged very well, and being a personal computer game at that this game has good polygon counts, non copy pasted environments, Good art and textures, there is not single texture in this game that looks out of place or looks blurry and ruins the immersion. This is game that clearly didn't worry too much about hardware budgets. Its an example of what a real game should be.. A work of art and story that will age well. The Remedy guys did a top job on creating this. Expand
  30. May 22, 2012
    10
    One of the best TPSes of all time. Amazing game, you should definitely play it. The only bad thing about this is that it's extremely short (I can beat it in 3 hours), but the several hours you'll get from playing the story are breathtaking. The story is amazing. Also, it is very moddable, so you can download all kinds of mods from the Internet. Try Payne Effects 3.
  31. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    One of the best action games I've ever played. Stands the test of time and has aged well; I have replayed it many times over the years since it came out and still love it today. The noir story hits the right mark with characters you love to hate and get invested in. Combat is tight and cinematic with only a few forced "boss" fights breaking up the flow. Still worth picking up and playingOne of the best action games I've ever played. Stands the test of time and has aged well; I have replayed it many times over the years since it came out and still love it today. The noir story hits the right mark with characters you love to hate and get invested in. Combat is tight and cinematic with only a few forced "boss" fights breaking up the flow. Still worth picking up and playing today unlike the original. Expand
  32. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    Despite the super short campaign, "Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne" is very enjoyable due to its realistic physics, badass bullet-time, and a pulp fiction-al dark storyline.
  33. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    RainbowDashie13 is totally not right in one thing - MP2 for PC was developed by REMEDY, so let's not praise Rockstar too high as they killed MPs soul in their onw version - MP3.
    MP2 is splendid game, I really love it and true fan of it.
    THX Remedy for everything, U R THE BEST!
  34. May 17, 2012
    10
    Rockstar Games took Remedy's franchise and developed Max Payne 2, and boy, did they do a job well done.
    They improved everything in this game; Graphics, Sound Design, Animations and so on...
    Much like the first game, this game is WAY too outstanding for it's time, Half Life 2 has one of the best graphics of 2004 but I think Max Payne 2 might just beat it in the slightest pixel. They added
    Rockstar Games took Remedy's franchise and developed Max Payne 2, and boy, did they do a job well done.
    They improved everything in this game; Graphics, Sound Design, Animations and so on...
    Much like the first game, this game is WAY too outstanding for it's time, Half Life 2 has one of the best graphics of 2004 but I think Max Payne 2 might just beat it in the slightest pixel.
    They added physics to this game and WOW it works very well and it actually adds a lot to the game and it is very helpful, like pushing an explosive barrel towards an enemy and then blowing it up, or if a dead enemy's weapon gets stuck in some edge just shoot it a couple times for it to fall in your hands.
    This game is outstanding and I just can't tell which game is better the 1st Max Payne or the 2nd one, they are both just perfect.
    But still, I wonder what would of happen to the series if Remedy kept making the games... Hmmm... Max's face from the first game in the third one...
    Expand
  35. AlistaireP
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I have been played. Great musics and sound effects. Great story, true tragedy in film noir sense. Playing was fun and its intuitive map design was good too.
  36. DaveD.
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    The Atmosphere is not as good as in MP1 but the Graphic and the leveldesign is great.
  37. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    Totally shocked by this game. Brings everything well - emotional plot, brutally action and impressive feeling that everything's on good position. definitely one of best games in my life
  38. PaulE.
    Nov 16, 2003
    6
    Holy SHORT!!! I beat this game in 2 days!!! The game was a lot of fun and the detail is amazing, but not worth the money at all. It needed to be twice as long.
  39. DemonicAngel
    Nov 24, 2003
    6
    For starters, if you spend your $30 or whatever on this game, you'll get some of the most impressively realistic-looking graphics in any game currently available. You'll also get about 6 hours of the same gameplay formula which made Max Payne fun at first but which, after the hundredth repetition of the all-too-common "enter room, get shot, die, quickload, repeat" scenario, For starters, if you spend your $30 or whatever on this game, you'll get some of the most impressively realistic-looking graphics in any game currently available. You'll also get about 6 hours of the same gameplay formula which made Max Payne fun at first but which, after the hundredth repetition of the all-too-common "enter room, get shot, die, quickload, repeat" scenario, results in boredom and immense frustration. In addition, you'll get a plot which, while sounding promising, simply does not match up to the original. I rarely felt any kind of chemistry between the lead characters, which is crucial for the love story aspect to succeed, and the remainder of the plot wasn't nearly as compelling as Max's original quest for vengeance. The 6 score is mainly for the graphics, which are awesome. Otherwise, you'd be well advised to spend your money elsewhere. Expand
  40. Mar 23, 2013
    3
    Writing this 10 years after it's release date, my conclusion is that this hasn't aged well. The graphics are a little better than MP1, there's a little physics (ooh!) in the engine and there's a longer slow-motion trick with (wait for it...) a finishing move. On the other hand, I didn't like the story sounds like a bad sequel, full of easy one liners that don't make sense. There's stillWriting this 10 years after it's release date, my conclusion is that this hasn't aged well. The graphics are a little better than MP1, there's a little physics (ooh!) in the engine and there's a longer slow-motion trick with (wait for it...) a finishing move. On the other hand, I didn't like the story sounds like a bad sequel, full of easy one liners that don't make sense. There's still no real widescreen. (without stretching) Also, I had to see too many a cutscene to get to just the next comic bit lots of "story" and too little game. I didn't like it and I think there are much better games to be had nowadays. Expand
  41. HowardB.
    Oct 13, 2003
    4
    More of the same...same gimmick.
  42. Pete
    Nov 16, 2003
    5
    I just bought the game (Max Payne 2 The fall of Max Payne ), and installed the disk, but a sreen comes up that i need a Directx 9.0 compatible display adapter. It's not my computer & i'm stupid when it come to technical mumbo jumbo, where do i download or where do i buy that at. please help.......
  43. Jok`RdeMo
    Oct 21, 2003
    5
    Well, as an add-on to Max Payne 1 it would be cool but as stand alone... well it is just the same, and even not so good. It reminds me of second part movies, when thay are made just like the first one just to get some money. I am disappointed :( that was not what I have awaited.
  44. JasonM.
    Oct 25, 2003
    9
    Kick ass game... Hope for a MAx 3.
  45. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    Not as good as its predecessor in my opinion but brought back some of the good memories of the first Max Payne. Another great title by Rockstar Games.
  46. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    Max Payne is back and he comes up big yet again. The story of Max Payne 2 is an improvement over the original Max Payne along with the gameplay and visuals. The action of Max Payne 2 is much smoother and this makes the game flow so much better, there are still comic book cutscenes and the voice acting is great once again . If you liked the first game then you are bound to enjoy this oneMax Payne is back and he comes up big yet again. The story of Max Payne 2 is an improvement over the original Max Payne along with the gameplay and visuals. The action of Max Payne 2 is much smoother and this makes the game flow so much better, there are still comic book cutscenes and the voice acting is great once again . If you liked the first game then you are bound to enjoy this one as well. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys action games. Expand
  47. CristianoM.
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    The sequel is an excellent produce that improves over the original game by eliminating the most frustrating parts from the dreaming sequences. A little masterpiece with a great soundtrack by Poets of the Fall.
  48. TomM.
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    A very good game actually, pretty good graphics and not that bad storyline. Even though the whole game is about shooting people, you dont really get bored of it, because of the amazing ragdoll, people never die the same way. If you in addition, after completing the game, install a mod or two, you will get lots of fun. I never really got tired of the game.
  49. Roaddog
    Oct 19, 2003
    9
    The game itself was nice surprise. I understand that making the game longer would take muuuch time but this was something unbelievable! I beat the whole game in 6 hours :( Also drop the nightmares away and you'll have the game of the year!
  50. TaniusL.
    Oct 22, 2003
    7
    This game is badly over-hyped. Gameplay is VERY similar to the previous game. They've added a few graphic flourishes to bullet-time, but things overall feel the same as before. What kills the game, in my opinion, are the excessive, poorly written, cut-scenes. I'm only a couple chapters into the game, but it seems that basically I get to play for 5 mins, then watch some stupid This game is badly over-hyped. Gameplay is VERY similar to the previous game. They've added a few graphic flourishes to bullet-time, but things overall feel the same as before. What kills the game, in my opinion, are the excessive, poorly written, cut-scenes. I'm only a couple chapters into the game, but it seems that basically I get to play for 5 mins, then watch some stupid cut-scene for 3 mins. This is made worse by the fact that each cut-scene is accompanied by load-times going into and out of the scene. Ridiculous load times, considering that most of the scenes are just a few comic-book pages with voice-over. Even worse, the writing is horrid. Max Payne's over-the-top usage of metaphors and imagery is OK at first, but when you're into your 5th or 6th scene, and Max is still babbling like some fool on LSD - it gets tiring. The graphics look good overall, but certainly aren't any match for the upcoming Half Life 2 or Doom 3. One bad thing about the graphics - all characters wear the same, blank, expression. They all kind of look like creepy barbie dolls gone mad. This is especially noticable when watching a cut scene using the game engine. The physics engine is very realistic in the way things fall, drop down the stairs, etc. However, pretty much everything is indesctructible (including cardboard boxes), which isn't so realistic... Anyway, this is overall an OK game, just don't expect something revolutionary. I think most of the scores out there are over-inflated. Expand
  51. Thewulfe
    Oct 28, 2003
    9
    Excellent Game. Just finished it a few mins ago and I don't think I have been this satisfied with a game in a long time. I understand that some people want less cutscenes and more action but I felt that the story was solid and was brought out through the cutscenes. The game does feel a little short but it took me approx 20 hours to finish which isn't bad. I don't think Excellent Game. Just finished it a few mins ago and I don't think I have been this satisfied with a game in a long time. I understand that some people want less cutscenes and more action but I felt that the story was solid and was brought out through the cutscenes. The game does feel a little short but it took me approx 20 hours to finish which isn't bad. I don't think enough people took the time to explore the levels and find all the little touches that make this game one of the best. Graphics are very impressive and the sound is outstanding, expecially with a 5.1 setup. Expand
  52. IzZo
    Nov 29, 2003
    7
    Hmm, have to agree with alex, its definitely similar 2 da 1st max payne, maybe graphically better but still same game overall. i would so luv 2 try playin this game against other playas, but that's jus me, its a good game, but too short, i jus cant enough of the way payne reloads in bullet time, y didnt they put this move in a movie yet?? Mona sax...hmmm*evil thots* n-e-way i reckon Hmm, have to agree with alex, its definitely similar 2 da 1st max payne, maybe graphically better but still same game overall. i would so luv 2 try playin this game against other playas, but that's jus me, its a good game, but too short, i jus cant enough of the way payne reloads in bullet time, y didnt they put this move in a movie yet?? Mona sax...hmmm*evil thots* n-e-way i reckon if u thot da 1st max payne was too short n u want 2 continue playin it, then get this game but if ur lookin for a new game,new stuff, tough luck bob. Expand
  53. JohnW.
    Oct 14, 2003
    9
    It's a good time!
  54. WilliamM.
    Oct 16, 2003
    9
    Great game, runs very smooth, awesome physics model and visual effects. First day into the story but I had already finished the first one so this is an improvment. Looks to be a solid title all around. Highly recomended.
  55. EviLAnGeL
    Oct 19, 2003
    9
    Max Payne returns in this slick, glossy sequel to the first installment. Expect more of the same but everything has been tweaked and polished to perfection leaving you with a game that has even more class and style than it's predesessor The only 2 minor complaints are the slight clipping issues and the fact that it's way too short. But these are eclipsed by the games many great Max Payne returns in this slick, glossy sequel to the first installment. Expect more of the same but everything has been tweaked and polished to perfection leaving you with a game that has even more class and style than it's predesessor The only 2 minor complaints are the slight clipping issues and the fact that it's way too short. But these are eclipsed by the games many great acomplishments. The Havok engine and the rag doll physics combined with the superb voice acting and story give us a taste of where PC action games are heading over the next 5 years and the future looks very bright indeed. If you had so much as a passing interest in the first game you will love this. Expand
  56. CraigG.
    Oct 19, 2003
    9
    Superb! Too short though. Great graphics and sound!!
  57. GordonO.
    Oct 19, 2003
    9
    Very intense.
  58. JimmusMaximus
    Oct 21, 2003
    9
    Max Payne 2 is a gorgeous game, to be sure. The environments are mostly "destructible", and somewhat interactive. Bullet time has been reworked, as have some of Max's moves. Gone is the much derided "Poopy-diaper sneer" that he wore in the first game. Characters have detailed facial structure, mouths moving in accordance to spoken words. "Rag doll" physics seem to be a standard Max Payne 2 is a gorgeous game, to be sure. The environments are mostly "destructible", and somewhat interactive. Bullet time has been reworked, as have some of Max's moves. Gone is the much derided "Poopy-diaper sneer" that he wore in the first game. Characters have detailed facial structure, mouths moving in accordance to spoken words. "Rag doll" physics seem to be a standard feature in most games recently, and the feature is used here to good effect, the bodies having the right weight and characteristics. Still used is the trade comic-book plot frames, which defined the original game. This has been supplemented with some unbelieveably luscious cut-scenes. Though heavy on story and plot, cut-scenes offer a bit of rest from the frantic action. Truly the only major thing I have to grouse about is the length of the gameplay. Similar to the first game, you can finish the entire game in about 10 hours total. (I think the first game took me 8 hours.) I'd like to have seen more destruction, and a visible area damage system for bodies, similar to Soldier of Fortune II. Max Payne 2 is certainly an improvement over the first game, but not ground-breaking, by any means. The formula worked well on the first game, and I'm sure that Remedy Entertainment kept that in mind, while infusing Max Payne 2 with more gaming goodness. Expand
  59. TimH.
    Oct 22, 2003
    7
    Cool, but really, really short. Not a whole lot different than the first Max Payne, except for the physics engine and upgraded graphics. Took me about 6-7 hours to beat, and I took my time going through it.
  60. GamerX.-
    Oct 17, 2005
    8
    This is a really nice game for action fans. On the upside is exellent graphics, sound and voice acting, even compared to more recent titles. Also a good story line and well designed maps with much attention to detail. On the downside is repetetive game play as the obvious scripting really gets in your eye the third or fourth time you try to get through a tricky part. I also tended to die This is a really nice game for action fans. On the upside is exellent graphics, sound and voice acting, even compared to more recent titles. Also a good story line and well designed maps with much attention to detail. On the downside is repetetive game play as the obvious scripting really gets in your eye the third or fourth time you try to get through a tricky part. I also tended to die by falling down more often than by getting shot - the real reason for "...the fall of..."? And lastly it was kind of short - I was almost surprised when I realized I had played out the final scene. However, I picked it up a lot cheaper now in the fall -05 than when it was new so it was very much worth the money and I recommend any one who hasn't played it yet to do so. Expand
  61. SimonB.
    May 29, 2007
    8
    Max Payne is big. Big enough to have a sequel. If the game is updated in graphics, the gameplay suffers a little bit, aside from the architecture. In my opinion, Max Payne first was a lot harder than the second. Max Payne gives himself looks of a God by surviving two extraordinary "falls", which is why the game is called The Fall of Max Payne. I'm not going to give you the juicy Max Payne is big. Big enough to have a sequel. If the game is updated in graphics, the gameplay suffers a little bit, aside from the architecture. In my opinion, Max Payne first was a lot harder than the second. Max Payne gives himself looks of a God by surviving two extraordinary "falls", which is why the game is called The Fall of Max Payne. I'm not going to give you the juicy details, but the game packs a bunch in terms of emotional detail. Contrary to the first, Max won't go and attack the government head first and blow up every single building he enters. Instead, this starts with an investigation and the death of a woman ("like all bad things in my life..."). Max then gets involved so deeply with the case that it costs him the loss of trust by his closest friends. Then, those he first meddled with come back to him and the miraculous survivor struggles again against all odds to find the truth in the dark. But how deep will he have to dig? Some moments are perplexing yet others are very obvious. Everything is not what it seems and Max finds himself caught into dreams that are creepier one after the other. I admit that some dreams with the correct sound devices and a night alone in a basement can give you the creeps. The gameplay itself shows how the characters you fight are but dummies with big guns. What's lame? Well, the fact that you can clear a room by running head first into the pack and with a full bullet-time gauge. I mean this at ANY point at all in the game. What would have been good also would have been the change in weaponry. You often end up seeing the same weapons everywhere. I mean, sure, it's gangsters against highly trained killers, but why do they all fight the same way with the same weapons? Everything seems so chaotic that Max himself looks lost at most points in the game. Finishing the game makes you breathe a little because the last intense moments are quite silly for the most part. This isn't a game to use your brain with. It's a game that works like an action movie and a depressing scenario with lugubrious music to join it. I will say that Max has Mel Gibson looks on some shots. Wonder why Mel won't be playing him in the movie? Expand
  62. MarkM.
    Jan 11, 2008
    8
    A couple years back, I tried the demo, and I liked it; but, I never really got into the game. Only reason being is that I was really into more of a science fiction action. In a sense this is fiction. But I was more interested in robots, aliens, and monsters. Lately, though I have started to introduce some modern setting action games to my collection. I wouldn't go far back as to buy A couple years back, I tried the demo, and I liked it; but, I never really got into the game. Only reason being is that I was really into more of a science fiction action. In a sense this is fiction. But I was more interested in robots, aliens, and monsters. Lately, though I have started to introduce some modern setting action games to my collection. I wouldn't go far back as to buy the first Max Payne, 2003 is a good borderline for gamers who like newer games. But, for the price it is on Steam now, it was well worth it. The graphics are dated, but for its time, they were quite an advance, and they also still capture the games atmosphere well. I think after playing Half Life 2 so much, I can almost compare it, although being slightly dumbed down, as things are a bit off scale at times. I think any computer these days will be able to Max :) the graphics, and enjoy the full well done detail. The level design is tight, and some surreal level design for dream sequences or other misc things, were artistically thought out. The action like most 3rd person action games, feels a bit clunky at times, and takes some getting used to. But, still manages to be very enjoyable. The best part is the hardened detective story, and its well told, along with great voice acting on all parts. When an action game that is linear tries to tell a story, it has to do it well. Max Payne 2 has an entertaining, realistic, and enjoyable story all the way. Expand
  63. JerradH.
    Oct 16, 2003
    8
    Awesome game, even though the story was really depressing (Even for Max Payne), and the game was way, waaaaaaay too short.
  64. BitBurn
    Nov 7, 2003
    8
    It could have easily been V1.2 but nevertheless it is a wicked game. And Mona Sax really rocks!
  65. JustinD.
    Oct 17, 2003
    9
    Flawless Action.
  66. TonyB.
    Oct 21, 2003
    8
    I've not finished the game yet, and while I AM enjoying it, there are so many cutscenes it's not even funny. I understand that they've got to tell a dense story, but it comes to the point where every time you run into a bad guy, you get a cut scene, and then it opens back up to you staring down the guy's barrel. It's fun, but be prepared to watch a movie along I've not finished the game yet, and while I AM enjoying it, there are so many cutscenes it's not even funny. I understand that they've got to tell a dense story, but it comes to the point where every time you run into a bad guy, you get a cut scene, and then it opens back up to you staring down the guy's barrel. It's fun, but be prepared to watch a movie along with the game. Expand
  67. AlexT.
    Oct 27, 2003
    9
    Basically its more of the same, the developers have taken an "if its not broke, dont fix it" aproach. Its everything a sequel should be. It looks better, more interaction, quicker plus a new implamented physics engine (that works suprisingly well). Basically if you liked the first you will love this (albiet a little short - 4hrs +)
  68. NortonM
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    This is one of the best games I ever seen. There are so many features, but something I would like to add, is the fact of the clips stay in the floor, the bullet marks and blood stains too. For the entire level. Holy ... and it doesn't lag the pc with that. Also, if you like plot/storyline you'll get enthrilled with this game. The story is by far one of the best I ever seen too.
  69. NealG.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Not normally a fan of 3rd person perspective in games ( I like to BE the character, not a puppeteer controlling one from the ceiling ) the original of this game hooked me. And this sequel did not disappoint...in fact, it is even better than the first. There are still a few too many 'dream' sequences, requiring one to play through them without adding any purpose, but this is all Not normally a fan of 3rd person perspective in games ( I like to BE the character, not a puppeteer controlling one from the ceiling ) the original of this game hooked me. And this sequel did not disappoint...in fact, it is even better than the first. There are still a few too many 'dream' sequences, requiring one to play through them without adding any purpose, but this is all that prevents me from giving it a 10 of 10. Expand
  70. Aug 18, 2013
    7
    Max Payne 2 is a great game but it doesn't beat Max Payne 1. The graphics are really good for 2003 considering it had DX9 and there's also ragdoll physics which are a bit clunky but still good, as well as a lot of items and debris which is also physical. Even today the game still looks great. The game is a lot shorter compared to the first game (MP2 is around 7-8 hours) but despite thatMax Payne 2 is a great game but it doesn't beat Max Payne 1. The graphics are really good for 2003 considering it had DX9 and there's also ragdoll physics which are a bit clunky but still good, as well as a lot of items and debris which is also physical. Even today the game still looks great. The game is a lot shorter compared to the first game (MP2 is around 7-8 hours) but despite that the game itself is still enjoyable. Expand
  71. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Its probably the most depressing game i`ve ever played. the story is pretty fantastic, and the gameplay is vastly improved from the original. it was, on the other hand, about 2-3 hours shorter then the first one.
  72. Mar 2, 2012
    8
    A vastly superior game to the already promising original. This game refines in all the right ways, tells a great story and feels great to play. Even by today's standards. It might still be the best implementation of bullet time in a game. It also ditches some of the more clunky aspects of the original - leading to it being more timeless.
  73. Jun 2, 2011
    8
    Rockstar again delivers a game with an engaging, deep and complex storyline, all told in a top-notch storytelling. If you played Max Payne, be sure to grab this one. Despite the easier combat than its predecessor, it's still a masterpiece. For a 2011 gamer such as myself, I'm still amazed with what Rockstar did. Just don't watch the movie.
  74. Jul 7, 2012
    8
    Buch better than the Max Payne 1. The graphics much beautiful, the bullet time much better. Sounds and storyline are okay.
  75. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    I don't give out 10/10 easy, but Max Payne is a must. If you don't play this game your are missing out on a masterpiece of graphics, story, character development, sound, and setting. I've played this game through to the end I've lost count. I highly recommend after the first play-through install Cinema mod for a rebooted experience with music and even more weapons. This game is theI don't give out 10/10 easy, but Max Payne is a must. If you don't play this game your are missing out on a masterpiece of graphics, story, character development, sound, and setting. I've played this game through to the end I've lost count. I highly recommend after the first play-through install Cinema mod for a rebooted experience with music and even more weapons. This game is the best thing to come from Remedy. Expand
  76. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Un juego jodida mente bueno el mejor de la saga, es algo que no lo supero, su historia, y como juego de shooter en tercera persona es lo mejor que hay,
  77. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    This is a perfect sequel, a game that improves every aspect of the original. Better graphics, polished shooting and bullet time mechanics, motion capture, professional actors, and hell, just more noirish Max Payne misadventures make it one of the best shooter games ever made. By the way, Rockstar only ported the game to the consoles while Remedy has done all the work, despite what someThis is a perfect sequel, a game that improves every aspect of the original. Better graphics, polished shooting and bullet time mechanics, motion capture, professional actors, and hell, just more noirish Max Payne misadventures make it one of the best shooter games ever made. By the way, Rockstar only ported the game to the consoles while Remedy has done all the work, despite what some people think. Expand
  78. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    I love this game! I love its amazing story, adrenaline full gameplay, dark, rainy atmosphere, slow motion time, everything! The only thing i hate about this game is...well I can't find any. Amazing game with exceptional story and gameplay!
  79. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    My First PC Game played 4yrs ago! My favourite shooter game which has a thrilling story, a confused protagonist, but most importantly a coherent plot which was a bit cheesy in a few places but i still loved it!
  80. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Sooo ein Geniales Game , sehr Tolle Zwischen texte und Sprecher ! ^^
  81. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    In my opinion, the best game in the series. Despite it becoming a little stale towards the end, this feel s like a great sequel to one of the PC's most iconic third-person shooters ever.
  82. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    One of the best games ever made in my opinion, let alone best sequel. Story is fantastic, and even though I already knew the whole story (due to spoilers on the internet and such), I almost cried at the end of it. Best in the Max Payne series, and you should get on steam and buy this. I mean, it's only like $15. SERIOUSLY. DO IT NOW!!!!!!!!
  83. Jan 5, 2013
    6
    Max Payne 2 seems to have a lot of potential but I just can't see how it sustains such great reviews. The game is well made but there are specific gameplay elements that don't work in any circumstance. The slow motion evading is great but it never seems useful, the maps don't allow for it to be used beneficially. The shooting isn't that exciting either, blasting through enemies alwaysMax Payne 2 seems to have a lot of potential but I just can't see how it sustains such great reviews. The game is well made but there are specific gameplay elements that don't work in any circumstance. The slow motion evading is great but it never seems useful, the maps don't allow for it to be used beneficially. The shooting isn't that exciting either, blasting through enemies always feels so pointless. It seems like the kind of game that would fair better with a tougher character that can take more hits. It's very short too, I got to the end of the second chapter within three hours and just decided to stop playing out of boredom, I later found out that there was only one more chapter afterwards. Being that this is only a single player game, five hours is appalling. Expand
  84. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    Atfer a long time, I play this game once again, Im really impressed, the game is really good, bullet time moments are to funny and the game is really intresting as well as emotionally engaging.
  85. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    as expected for rockstar games another damn good game amazing visuals and one of the best voice acting the only not good thing about this game is that it is a bit short
  86. ERB
    Aug 26, 2013
    10
    One of the best PC games I've ever played.It was no surprise that this game would get a high score.I mean the first Max Payne game is one of the best game ever made so I was expecting that the sequel was gonna be good.The game play is good and even the storyline of the game is great.But those parts are not the best parts of the game,the best part is the Bullet time.Yeah I know any gameOne of the best PC games I've ever played.It was no surprise that this game would get a high score.I mean the first Max Payne game is one of the best game ever made so I was expecting that the sequel was gonna be good.The game play is good and even the storyline of the game is great.But those parts are not the best parts of the game,the best part is the Bullet time.Yeah I know any game that is great should have Bullet Time effects because It always look good in gaming.So I'm giving this game a 10/10 score because this game is great.I like this game. Expand
  87. Dec 8, 2014
    9
    I have played the game at least four times and still have trouble following the story since I'm just eager to get to the next shooting bit. Max Payne 1 has the stronger story by far but the gameplay and atmosphere still rocks here. Gameplay feels quite different from MP1 and should therefore be played differently. MP1 was more tactical and calculated whilst MP2 is constant insanity. LookI have played the game at least four times and still have trouble following the story since I'm just eager to get to the next shooting bit. Max Payne 1 has the stronger story by far but the gameplay and atmosphere still rocks here. Gameplay feels quite different from MP1 and should therefore be played differently. MP1 was more tactical and calculated whilst MP2 is constant insanity. Look past the dated visuals and play this now. Expand
  88. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    The sequel of Max Payne is just like it but better.Max Payne 2 like original has good story and game play but the thing that make it better that most of thing in missions are movable that why I like it.Again the best thing
    about it is BULLET TIME.
  89. AWG
    Jun 4, 2013
    9
    The second chapter of one of the most epic trilogies in the entire history of videogames and a female character to die for. The movie was bad but it didn't kill the franchise and every kiddo who just watched the movie without playing this game should immediately... REMEDY to this. Got it? Remedy.
    I'm so funny.
  90. Nov 1, 2013
    9
    The saga continues.Even you're a hard person to find things good in later comers,you'll find all the things you loved in first one.Dark atmosphere,action with 'bullet-time' quality,high-level graphics...And in this one our guy is not alone;if you're looking for a femme-fatale keeping secrets,mysteries,it's Mona Sax what you need.A story with lies,deceptions.A man trying to find the groundThe saga continues.Even you're a hard person to find things good in later comers,you'll find all the things you loved in first one.Dark atmosphere,action with 'bullet-time' quality,high-level graphics...And in this one our guy is not alone;if you're looking for a femme-fatale keeping secrets,mysteries,it's Mona Sax what you need.A story with lies,deceptions.A man trying to find the ground from his eternal fall.That's what we call Max Payne genre.

    The newest thing about the game is the change in the face of Max Payne.Deadsure this new look is better.The new holds all the sorrow,and fatigue which the years gifted to him.And besides Max Payne,Mona Sax's join gives game a new level.We can into the thoughts of her by the dialogs,the oil-printed screens between chapters.And in some chapters we are playing Mona Sax character besides Max Payne.That's another reason that when everything comes up to a conclusion in the end,we feel the loss,the pain in our hearts better.We exactly live the feelings these two characters live.

    The screenplay is more complicated.The bad men,the conspiracies,the things tricky.We don't kill the men just because game wants,we don't go with the flow;we are aware all the going on.This is the success of the screenplay and the videos between the chapters to keep us in the same direction as the game is on the wheel.Also in some chapters we play in the events which happened during the chapter we played before.These are some of the developments about the cinematic and storytelling side of the second game.

    There are two things I'd like to tell.First one;this one is not just a game to continue the series.It is connected with the first game both in story and character side.And it feels like it will go on.The second thing is the song playing in the end:Late Goodbye by Poets Of The Fall.Only the ones who play this game can understand how it makes you feel.

    So play this game and see how it plays with the ides about 'falling' in your mind.Ask yourself:Is there anything he didn't lose as he lives in his eternal fall? and will ever be ground for him to reach?
    Expand
  91. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    Max Payne 2 is a great squeal, to bad they changed the face of Max Payne. I preferred Sami Järvi. (He wrote the story for Max Payne 1 and 2 and the lyrics for ''Late Goodbye'' Max Payne 2 ending song) The story's great with showing how Max copes with the grief of his murdered wife and baby daughter.
  92. Sep 21, 2014
    8
    Very good sequel. Not bringing anything innovative anymore as the original Max Payne did, but offering a similar experience, fun gameplay is still intact and playing as Mona was a nice refreshment. 8/10
  93. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    For me this is a refined version of Max Payne 1. You can feel that Max's character has matured and he's become a wiser man. This is somewhat of an analogy for Remedy who having succeeded with Max Payne now have moved from a basement to an office with proper funding. One could expect a sequel to be a flop however this has only continued the quality that was put into Max Payne 1. Great toFor me this is a refined version of Max Payne 1. You can feel that Max's character has matured and he's become a wiser man. This is somewhat of an analogy for Remedy who having succeeded with Max Payne now have moved from a basement to an office with proper funding. One could expect a sequel to be a flop however this has only continued the quality that was put into Max Payne 1. Great to see Sam Lake writing for this one, the comics are still a technical workaround but add essence to the game (something Max Payne 3 under Rockstar has lost). Expand
  94. Anz
    Dec 14, 2013
    10
    When this game got released 2003 this was one of the best games out there. Remedy Entertainment did good job on this sequel. Rockstar games ONLY published this they didn't have anything else to do with this game.
  95. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    yeah its nice game and great controls, visuals, and gaming style but its kinda bad continue for the story line and this girl mona man this game is awesome and all but not bad story line .
  96. Jun 4, 2014
    9
    For being a sequel it is a great improvement in almost all areas of the game but the only downside of this game was the length of the game. I do not think that this game is worse or much better than the first game but I consider this game to be more enjoyable because of all the improvements and having new working physics implemented to the game makes the sequel almost superior to the firstFor being a sequel it is a great improvement in almost all areas of the game but the only downside of this game was the length of the game. I do not think that this game is worse or much better than the first game but I consider this game to be more enjoyable because of all the improvements and having new working physics implemented to the game makes the sequel almost superior to the first and ahead of it's time. But this game is 2-3 years newer than the first game so it was expected. But what most people fail to do when they make a sequel is the story but the story was still very good so I am happy they actually considered to improve almost everything instead of just trying to improve some mechanics and call it a sequel. Remedy did a great job and Max payne deserves the praise it gets, being the most enjoyable action type shooter. Though there is a problem if it is bought on steam because the game can't run from steam because it is required to have a specific video card driver or a sound driver to launch it from steam, and because of this it is better to buy the game and install it outside Steam. I was looking forward to replay this game often and quick install it on Steam when I wanted but unfortunatley I can't because for some reason Amd can't make drivers that is compatible with older games like Max Payne. Expand
  97. Jun 9, 2014
    9
    Max Payne 2: the Fall of Max Payne is a masterpiece, only with few flaws. First, everything has been improved in this sequel: the graphic, the bullet-time, the story and hell, sounds. But despite that, short length and the same feeling when you play the original Max Payne weighted it down.
  98. Jan 2, 2015
    8
    Esta secuela mejora todo, la historia,la jugabilidad, vuelve mas real los disparos a la cabeza que ahora si matan de una.

    Es una refinación del anterior, la historia es mucho mejor, tiene sus toques de comedia, y ya no sientes que estas completamente solo, ahora sientes que tienes aliados aparte de enemigos que no paras de matar. En mi opinión puedes saltarte Max Payne 1 y venir a este.
    Esta secuela mejora todo, la historia,la jugabilidad, vuelve mas real los disparos a la cabeza que ahora si matan de una.

    Es una refinación del anterior, la historia es mucho mejor, tiene sus toques de comedia, y ya no sientes que estas completamente solo, ahora sientes que tienes aliados aparte de enemigos que no paras de matar. En mi opinión puedes saltarte Max Payne 1 y venir a este. Hasta tienen una escena para decir lo que paso antes, y los niveles son mejores. Los niveles han mejorado,ahora no todo se ve generíco o simple, y los gráficos han mejorado en solo 2 años. Es mucho mejor que Max Payne 1. Le doy un 08/10, un muy buen juego que supera fácilmente a su predecesor.
    Expand
  99. Dec 15, 2014
    9
    Max Payne 2 The Fall of Max Payne is a TPS game, developed by Remedy studio and published by Rockstar Games. The game follows Detective Max Payne ,2 years after the events of the first game, trying to catch a group of criminals (The Cleaners). The graphics are good and it destl for that period. Game sound is awesome, from the soundtrack to the voice acting. The gameplay is also very good,Max Payne 2 The Fall of Max Payne is a TPS game, developed by Remedy studio and published by Rockstar Games. The game follows Detective Max Payne ,2 years after the events of the first game, trying to catch a group of criminals (The Cleaners). The graphics are good and it destl for that period. Game sound is awesome, from the soundtrack to the voice acting. The gameplay is also very good, a little easier than the first game. From what I see, very interesting game series. Just do not know why I have not played yet, but I made a mistake, it is a very good series. Expand
  100. May 21, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. About as slick as they come, with a presentation and verve that supercedes cutting-edge. It's a short one, but good things do come in small packages after all.
  2. This series has been one of the most intense and best played games ever. I have never felt the same about a game since Half Life 1. This game sets the standard of what any shooter game should be – it's A+ quality, inside and outside.
  3. The gritty, film noir storytelling, intense bullet time action sequences and painstaking attention to detail in every area make Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne a must-have for every action fan.