Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 901 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne is a violent, film-noir love story for mature audiences. Dark, tragic and intense, the in-depth story is a thrill-ride of shocking twists and revelations. Love hurts. The fans of Max Payne won?t be disappointed. The fierce, yet stylish action sequences andMax Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne is a violent, film-noir love story for mature audiences. Dark, tragic and intense, the in-depth story is a thrill-ride of shocking twists and revelations. Love hurts. The fans of Max Payne won?t be disappointed. The fierce, yet stylish action sequences and slow-motion gunplay that has become synonymous with Max Payne is back and better than ever. New and enhanced moves and options provide breathtaking cinematic game play. Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne is set to raise the bar on action games all over again. [Rockstar] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. It gives exactly what it promises: an engaging story with stylish, polished visuals wrapped tightly around fluid and virtually bug-free gameplay.
  2. Although it does not support multiplayer and is a bit short, this definitely one of the best action games this year.
  3. It feels like the development team took everything that wasn't completely awesome in the first game, shot it in the face, and smoothed over the holes with buttery goodness. [Dec 2003, p.179]
  4. While the game is a tad short and there isn't a multiplayer option, Max Payne 2 is an excellent choice for mature gamers for its nonstop action, high-production values and incredibly realistic graphics.
  5. The action, graphics, and gameplay are all tight and very satisfying. However, the somewhat hazy story and confusing relationships make some parts of the game less than stellar. An extremely short completion time might also turn off some gamers.
  6. As shooters go, you really can't do wrong by letting this gem take up some hard drive space on your PC.
  7. A competent, if not particularly impressive, sequel. It makes some minor technological improvements, but packages them with major new flaws in the storytelling and gameplay.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 120
  1. May 17, 2012
    10
    Rockstar Games took Remedy's franchise and developed Max Payne 2, and boy, did they do a job well done.
    They improved everything in this game;
    Rockstar Games took Remedy's franchise and developed Max Payne 2, and boy, did they do a job well done.
    They improved everything in this game; Graphics, Sound Design, Animations and so on...
    Much like the first game, this game is WAY too outstanding for it's time, Half Life 2 has one of the best graphics of 2004 but I think Max Payne 2 might just beat it in the slightest pixel.
    They added physics to this game and WOW it works very well and it actually adds a lot to the game and it is very helpful, like pushing an explosive barrel towards an enemy and then blowing it up, or if a dead enemy's weapon gets stuck in some edge just shoot it a couple times for it to fall in your hands.
    This game is outstanding and I just can't tell which game is better the 1st Max Payne or the 2nd one, they are both just perfect.
    But still, I wonder what would of happen to the series if Remedy kept making the games... Hmmm... Max's face from the first game in the third one...
    Expand
  2. JimM.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    Best Graphics, Best Sound, Best Visual Effects.....Wow wait till he is in a dream and the walls and everything are moving. Never saw that in Best Graphics, Best Sound, Best Visual Effects.....Wow wait till he is in a dream and the walls and everything are moving. Never saw that in another game. Totally Wild. Seriously...I never liked the first one as much but this one is so polished and looks so good u have to love it;) Short? Been -playing for days. Its so much fun I take my time. Sure it may bhort if u fly thru the game and play every waking hr. I have a life so I just play it for a hr or so a night. Enjoy this game it blows everything else away! Expand
  3. JJ
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    I've been a PC gamer for close to 25 years now, and MP2 is one of my favorite gaming experiences ever. Considering entertainment had I've been a PC gamer for close to 25 years now, and MP2 is one of my favorite gaming experiences ever. Considering entertainment had while playing, it might be the most enjoyable shooter I ever played, Half-Life and other titans included. (Half-Life might be a better game, and have a much larger scope, but I enjoyed MP2 much more.) The graphics were (and still are) great; clean, crisp, and ridiculously efficient. The cornball film noir story is a treat. The sounds and music are superb. Mona Sax is an awesome anti-heroine; and for sheer butt-kicking sexy, I'd take her over Alyx Vance or Laura Croft any day of the week. Truth be told, some levels are narrow and poorly designed, and there is plenty of re-hashing of environments. But some maps (and the action embedded therein) are so creative and memorable that the game overcomes whatever negatives it could be charged with. Playing the same level twice, once from Mona's perspective, once from Max's is pure pleasure. The Funhouse level deserves to be in the computer game map hall of fame. I could go on an on. If for some reason you haven't played MP2 and you've got ten bucks to spend, search the 'value game' section or the bargain bin and pick up MP2. By the way, there will be no MP3-- Alan Wake will be the next Remedy game, built on essentially the same formula. I anxiously await it, and hope it doesn't succumb to big-budget complete seriousness. Expand
  4. Thewulfe
    Oct 28, 2003
    9
    Excellent Game. Just finished it a few mins ago and I don't think I have been this satisfied with a game in a long time. I understand Excellent Game. Just finished it a few mins ago and I don't think I have been this satisfied with a game in a long time. I understand that some people want less cutscenes and more action but I felt that the story was solid and was brought out through the cutscenes. The game does feel a little short but it took me approx 20 hours to finish which isn't bad. I don't think enough people took the time to explore the levels and find all the little touches that make this game one of the best. Graphics are very impressive and the sound is outstanding, expecially with a 5.1 setup. Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2015
    9
    Slicker and smoother than the first game, it polishes off a lot of the rough edges while telling a new and equally brutal story just asSlicker and smoother than the first game, it polishes off a lot of the rough edges while telling a new and equally brutal story just as dramatic as the previous one. The shooting feels excellent and cinematic in a way that many modern games still fail to replicate, It's still as fundamentally simple as the previous one, involving lots of bad guys, guns, ammo, and painkillers, but it has a little more heart and a little less frustration than before. Max is as appealing of a haunted protagonist as ever, and somehow even more badass in this one, and the overall story is pulpy, dramatic deliciousness for someone who eats up this kind of style.

    It also has some impressive mod support! Worth checking out for sure.
    Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    Max Payne 2 is a triumph in third-person shooters, building strongly upon the foundation built by it's predecessor. It makes no attempt toMax Payne 2 is a triumph in third-person shooters, building strongly upon the foundation built by it's predecessor. It makes no attempt to alter the gameplay, and didn't need to- the first game's action was solid, as was its atmosphere and music, both back in full force here (including a Poets of the Fall song) But it does expand Max's story in surprising directions. A mysterious assassin, thought dead. Old friends become new enemies. The machinations of powerful men, dwelling in shadow. And in the middle of it all, Max Payne is trapped, still madly running from his past and his memories, and desiring death, finds instead a reason to live again. But Max is the consummate Noir protagonist, a survivor, cursed to emerge unscathed from the fires of his personal hell again and again. And it wouldn't end here, thanks to Rockstar. Expand
  7. HowardB.
    Oct 13, 2003
    4
    More of the same...same gimmick.

See all 120 User Reviews