Max Payne 3 Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2313 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The gritty Max Payne series returns for a third iteration. From automatics to handguns to rifles and explosives, Max wields (and dual-wields) a wide array of high-powered weaponry in both single player and multiplayer. Max Payne 3 provides devastating firepower for any and all situationsThe gritty Max Payne series returns for a third iteration. From automatics to handguns to rifles and explosives, Max wields (and dual-wields) a wide array of high-powered weaponry in both single player and multiplayer. Max Payne 3 provides devastating firepower for any and all situations that call for kinetic and punishing action. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Max Payne 3 Story Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    97
    Max Payne 3 is a solid game made for the PC, with incredible visuals and sound to go along with that. This is a no brainer for any action shooter fan out there.
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    95
    With Max Payne 3, Rockstar Games proves that the studio masters the action-type game in the most brilliant way, despite Max Payne 3 not being an open-world title. If there were no doubts about narration, the gameplay system also remains very atttractive thanks to the perfect introduction of the bullet time and the Shootdodge abilities, two strong aspects players are already familiar with. Rockstar Games offers a great experience, full of details, and depicts an amazing trip through Brazil and its favelas. A masterpiece at which Rockstar Games excels, introducing a tortured character whose adventures will surely give you the chills!
  3. Jun 11, 2012
    93
    Max Payne 3 is this generation's most important third-person shooters. In PC version controls and visual effects are better than PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. Max Payne comes back home.
  4. Jun 16, 2012
    90
    The PC version of Max Payne 3 is every bit as savage and satisfying as its console predecessors.
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    89
    Despite the new setting Max Payne 3 captures the cynical dark atmosphere of the series perfectly. New gameplay elements like the cover-system are implemented very good, but the lack of innovation makes the action a bit tedious towards the end. Nonetheless Rockstar delivers a good game and even more important: it deserves the name Max Payne.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 13, 2012
    87
    Max Payne 3 feels like a PC original, in a very good way. [Aug 2012]
  7. PC Gamer UK
    Jul 14, 2012
    55
    A decent slow-mo shooter spoilt by technical issues and a heavy focus on an empty plot. Wait for patches or a demo. [Aug 2012, p.88]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Not sure where all the bad reviews come from, maybe people expected something different. The plot is decent the mechanics are good, bodyNot sure where all the bad reviews come from, maybe people expected something different. The plot is decent the mechanics are good, body physics is great. I bought it due to 3d vision support and it was great experience, really enjoyed the 'shooting gallery, cutscene, shooting gallery, cutscene". there is absolutely nothing wrong with it for me, although I'm not oging to replay it for every achievement possible. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Great game,as good as the first one.I've seen Max Payne evolve over the years and it never let me down.
    The multiplayer is extremely
    Great game,as good as the first one.I've seen Max Payne evolve over the years and it never let me down.
    The multiplayer is extremely good,I've had a lot of fun.The DLCs are cheap and often useful.The SP was also great,the flashback part brought back some memories and even if you never played Max Payne before you'd still understand what this game is all about.
    Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Best game out in the last six months of 2012. Amazing gameplay, nice graphics, unique optimization, not bad multiplayer. This game everyoneBest game out in the last six months of 2012. Amazing gameplay, nice graphics, unique optimization, not bad multiplayer. This game everyone should to try! Good job Rockstar. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    This is a brilliant game, I loved the graphics, the game play was smooth and the cinematics was awesome. I would have given it a 10/10 if myThis is a brilliant game, I loved the graphics, the game play was smooth and the cinematics was awesome. I would have given it a 10/10 if my game play time was more than 11 hours though. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2012
    6
    In many ways SOOO AWESOME... in a lot of ways TERRIBLE. Lucky for me I don't mind the cutscenes and the voiceower and I think that RockstarIn many ways SOOO AWESOME... in a lot of ways TERRIBLE. Lucky for me I don't mind the cutscenes and the voiceower and I think that Rockstar did a great job continuing the story - it deffinitly still have the vibe and feel of the old series, but with a new fresh blow of air. The not-so-good-things are the BUGS! As other members have mentioned the bullettime-im-about-to-die camera is crap, and other cam erros as well, the cover controls are for the most part fine, but it isn't still working. Mind that im playing on hard and i haven't played normal; AI is STUPID, some needs 2 clips to die, others 3 rounds. The graphics are great BUT the AA feature is not working, only FXAA, which looks ok but it's still ugly. It's sad that a game that PERFECT has minor bugs that turn into HUGE IRRITATIONS ! Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2012
    4
    A big expensive movie with sometimes a couple of fights.
    Impossible to save your progression as wished or as needed, it's btw a console game.
    A big expensive movie with sometimes a couple of fights.
    Impossible to save your progression as wished or as needed, it's btw a console game.
    Max dies every 30 seconds, nearly impossible to accurately aim, even with laser help.
    This game is exhausting and upset me. When you just start to feal immersed, a cut scene ruins the experience.
    50 â
    Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2017
    0
    If you liked this game, you are retarded, sorry.
    This is the worst game i ever played. Nice job stealing my money for a game that is more
    If you liked this game, you are retarded, sorry.
    This is the worst game i ever played. Nice job stealing my money for a game that is more like a **** movie.
    Expand

See all 508 User Reviews