Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1911 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The gritty Max Payne series returns for a third iteration. From automatics to handguns to rifles and explosives, Max wields (and dual-wields) a wide array of high-powered weaponry in both single player and multiplayer. Max Payne 3 provides devastating firepower for any and all situationsThe gritty Max Payne series returns for a third iteration. From automatics to handguns to rifles and explosives, Max wields (and dual-wields) a wide array of high-powered weaponry in both single player and multiplayer. Max Payne 3 provides devastating firepower for any and all situations that call for kinetic and punishing action. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    97
    Max Payne 3 is a solid game made for the PC, with incredible visuals and sound to go along with that. This is a no brainer for any action shooter fan out there.
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    95
    With Max Payne 3, Rockstar Games proves that the studio masters the action-type game in the most brilliant way, despite Max Payne 3 not being an open-world title. If there were no doubts about narration, the gameplay system also remains very atttractive thanks to the perfect introduction of the bullet time and the Shootdodge abilities, two strong aspects players are already familiar with. Rockstar Games offers a great experience, full of details, and depicts an amazing trip through Brazil and its favelas. A masterpiece at which Rockstar Games excels, introducing a tortured character whose adventures will surely give you the chills!
  3. Jun 11, 2012
    93
    Max Payne 3 is this generation's most important third-person shooters. In PC version controls and visual effects are better than PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. Max Payne comes back home.
  4. Jun 16, 2012
    90
    The PC version of Max Payne 3 is every bit as savage and satisfying as its console predecessors.
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    89
    Despite the new setting Max Payne 3 captures the cynical dark atmosphere of the series perfectly. New gameplay elements like the cover-system are implemented very good, but the lack of innovation makes the action a bit tedious towards the end. Nonetheless Rockstar delivers a good game and even more important: it deserves the name Max Payne.
  6. Oct 13, 2012
    87
    Max Payne 3 feels like a PC original, in a very good way. [Aug 2012]
  7. Jul 14, 2012
    55
    A decent slow-mo shooter spoilt by technical issues and a heavy focus on an empty plot. Wait for patches or a demo. [Aug 2012, p.88]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    Great graphics, story, and gameplay. I would normally give this game an 8 out of 10, but giving it a 10 to offset stupid reviews that give itGreat graphics, story, and gameplay. I would normally give this game an 8 out of 10, but giving it a 10 to offset stupid reviews that give it a 0 just because it wasn't a game you assumed it was. A 0 should only be given to a game that is completely unplayable, aka it doesn't run at all and you couldn't play a single minute of the game.

    Game has excellent action and storyline. Has a lot of cut scenes and a lot of action. Very enjoyable.
    Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    luls i have to respond to that first of all look at the requirements for the game rocco lol second your running a mac your mac was outdatedluls i have to respond to that first of all look at the requirements for the game rocco lol second your running a mac your mac was outdated the day you bought it and a 512mb hd 6750 what is that a joke 1gb is the standard and that 6750 prolly only has 128-bit of gddr5 prolly why you having problems there bud gg man gg get it on console or sumthing stop trying to game with a proprietary device.. games are just gonna keep getting better dude so of course its gonna make you buy a newer hardware why you think consoles get outta date so fast i would tell you to buy a newer gpu but seeing as its an apple device imma go with gl hf... and fyi my nintendo gamecube could run diablo 3 on high lol everything can its just not a graphical game Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Best game out in the last six months of 2012. Amazing gameplay, nice graphics, unique optimization, not bad multiplayer. This game everyoneBest game out in the last six months of 2012. Amazing gameplay, nice graphics, unique optimization, not bad multiplayer. This game everyone should to try! Good job Rockstar. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    This is a brilliant game, I loved the graphics, the game play was smooth and the cinematics was awesome. I would have given it a 10/10 if myThis is a brilliant game, I loved the graphics, the game play was smooth and the cinematics was awesome. I would have given it a 10/10 if my game play time was more than 11 hours though. Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2012
    6
    This game has top notch voice acting, from the Brazilian thugs sound amazing to Payne's monologues, everything is of excellent quality. TheThis game has top notch voice acting, from the Brazilian thugs sound amazing to Payne's monologues, everything is of excellent quality. The graphics are good, but the hair and expressions on most characters seem very stiff and plastic.
    The game-play suffers a lot, or rather, it makes the gamer suffer a lot. The third person perspective shooting is poorly made, and frequent deaths occur because of that, making the game a lot more difficult and very annoying. It is necessary to always maintain your right side clear, because you can't make transitions to a left side stance while aiming, but many times that is not possible, making you take unnecessary exposition to enemy gunfire, and getting killed. On top of that, the game is constantly changing your weapons and throwing the gamer into instant action, meaning that you will have the wrong weapon many times and again getting killed because of that. It is not understandable how a AAA game like this gets released with so many game play problems, that just break the game to a point that it is almost unplayable.
    Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2012
    4
    I wanted a new chapter in the Max Payne story, but all I got is a generic grade B TPS. The Good: As everyone agrees, the graphics, physics andI wanted a new chapter in the Max Payne story, but all I got is a generic grade B TPS. The Good: As everyone agrees, the graphics, physics and whateverics are great. And that's about it. The Bad: Triggers! Triggers everywhere!!! You open that door - three guys SPAWN behind you. Blam, reload. You kill that last guy - congratulations! Cutscene! Reinforcements arrive, take your women, raze your village and fart in your general direction. Ok, cutscene is over - you're in the middle of the room, hidden behind the flimsiest object around. Oh, and you're holding a pistol. Enjoy the epic gunfight. Speaking of cutscenes - there's more than enough of them (unskippable, to boot) to confuse you for the entire game. "Why am I doing that?!", "Errr, shouldn't I be shooting him instead of staring?", "Why am I not moving? Oh, cutscene over, right. Better press something.", "Goodness gracious! Why did I just lock the door behind myself right after I wandered outside in plain view of six mooks?". And if you're still willing to endure all that for the sake of good plot and characters - you don't get either. The plot is largely non-existent and amounts to "Where shall I kill today? Ah, right - in ". The characters around you give you no reason to care about them, they are there just to give you a reason for killing more brazilians. And there's one important aesop - it's ok to heavily drink on the job. No one seems to care, least of all Max himself. You drank two bottles of whiskey? No problem, your aim is steady as always.
    Maybe I'm too hard on the game. But it would've looked SO MUCH BETTER under the name "GTA: Sao Paulo" or, for lack of carjacking, "Brazilian Shooter 3D".
    Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2014
    0
    I paid the game and the game got installed. It just didn't work on PC. Tons of people have issues with the Rockstar social club overlay.
    A
    I paid the game and the game got installed. It just didn't work on PC. Tons of people have issues with the Rockstar social club overlay.
    A few days after my purchase, I still can't play. The money I spent is not for entertainment. It was spent for doing quality assurance for Rockstar's social club.
    Expand

See all 485 User Reviews