Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1682 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The gritty Max Payne series returns for a third iteration. From automatics to handguns to rifles and explosives, Max wields (and dual-wields) a wide array of high-powered weaponry in both single player and multiplayer. Max Payne 3 provides devastating firepower for any and all situations that call for kinetic and punishing action. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    97
    Max Payne 3 is a solid game made for the PC, with incredible visuals and sound to go along with that. This is a no brainer for any action shooter fan out there.
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    95
    With Max Payne 3, Rockstar Games proves that the studio masters the action-type game in the most brilliant way, despite Max Payne 3 not being an open-world title. If there were no doubts about narration, the gameplay system also remains very atttractive thanks to the perfect introduction of the bullet time and the Shootdodge abilities, two strong aspects players are already familiar with. Rockstar Games offers a great experience, full of details, and depicts an amazing trip through Brazil and its favelas. A masterpiece at which Rockstar Games excels, introducing a tortured character whose adventures will surely give you the chills!
  3. Jun 11, 2012
    93
    Max Payne 3 is this generation's most important third-person shooters. In PC version controls and visual effects are better than PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. Max Payne comes back home.
  4. Jun 16, 2012
    90
    The PC version of Max Payne 3 is every bit as savage and satisfying as its console predecessors.
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    89
    Despite the new setting Max Payne 3 captures the cynical dark atmosphere of the series perfectly. New gameplay elements like the cover-system are implemented very good, but the lack of innovation makes the action a bit tedious towards the end. Nonetheless Rockstar delivers a good game and even more important: it deserves the name Max Payne.
  6. Oct 13, 2012
    87
    Max Payne 3 feels like a PC original, in a very good way. [Aug 2012]
  7. Jul 14, 2012
    55
    A decent slow-mo shooter spoilt by technical issues and a heavy focus on an empty plot. Wait for patches or a demo. [Aug 2012, p.88]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Before I played it I was a bit worried since it isn't made by Remedy, but having played it I'm not disappointed. It's even more like the previous ones than I had hoped. The story is just as dark. I can't think of a major negative thing about it. Sure there are some small ones like the loading that sometimes can't be skipped and some part being unnecessary hard, but all in all it's a masterpiece. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    This is the best thing ever, I simply cannot fathom the level of amazingness within this entire thing; it's simply orgasmic in all aspects (well maybe no smell, but it's pretty damn close.) Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Best game out in the last six months of 2012. Amazing gameplay, nice graphics, unique optimization, not bad multiplayer. This game everyone should to try! Good job Rockstar. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    this is easily one of the best (if not the best) third person shooters I have ever played. the action is entertaining and the bullet time is undeniably fun. Rockstar has truly done it with this game. I recommend this game to any third person shooter fans out there. the scenery is beautiful and the game has plenty of cut scenes. overall, Max Payne is a great third person shooter. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2012
    6
    In many ways SOOO AWESOME... in a lot of ways TERRIBLE. Lucky for me I don't mind the cutscenes and the voiceower and I think that Rockstar did a great job continuing the story - it deffinitly still have the vibe and feel of the old series, but with a new fresh blow of air. The not-so-good-things are the BUGS! As other members have mentioned the bullettime-im-about-to-die camera is crap, and other cam erros as well, the cover controls are for the most part fine, but it isn't still working. Mind that im playing on hard and i haven't played normal; AI is STUPID, some needs 2 clips to die, others 3 rounds. The graphics are great BUT the AA feature is not working, only FXAA, which looks ok but it's still ugly. It's sad that a game that PERFECT has minor bugs that turn into HUGE IRRITATIONS ! Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2012
    4
    A big expensive movie with sometimes a couple of fights.
    Impossible to save your progression as wished or as needed, it's btw a console game.

    Max dies every 30 seconds, nearly impossible to accurately aim, even with laser help.
    This game is exhausting and upset me. When you just start to feal immersed, a cut scene ruins the experience.
    50 â
    Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    got this in a sale and it won't link with my steam account so because of the DRM I can't play it so I have no choice but to rate this game a zero but I am willing to change my review if the problem is fixed Expand

See all 456 User Reviews