Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1753 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The gritty Max Payne series returns for a third iteration. From automatics to handguns to rifles and explosives, Max wields (and dual-wields) a wide array of high-powered weaponry in both single player and multiplayer. Max Payne 3 provides devastating firepower for any and all situations that call for kinetic and punishing action. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    97
    Max Payne 3 is a solid game made for the PC, with incredible visuals and sound to go along with that. This is a no brainer for any action shooter fan out there.
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    95
    With Max Payne 3, Rockstar Games proves that the studio masters the action-type game in the most brilliant way, despite Max Payne 3 not being an open-world title. If there were no doubts about narration, the gameplay system also remains very atttractive thanks to the perfect introduction of the bullet time and the Shootdodge abilities, two strong aspects players are already familiar with. Rockstar Games offers a great experience, full of details, and depicts an amazing trip through Brazil and its favelas. A masterpiece at which Rockstar Games excels, introducing a tortured character whose adventures will surely give you the chills!
  3. Jun 11, 2012
    93
    Max Payne 3 is this generation's most important third-person shooters. In PC version controls and visual effects are better than PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. Max Payne comes back home.
  4. Jun 16, 2012
    90
    The PC version of Max Payne 3 is every bit as savage and satisfying as its console predecessors.
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    89
    Despite the new setting Max Payne 3 captures the cynical dark atmosphere of the series perfectly. New gameplay elements like the cover-system are implemented very good, but the lack of innovation makes the action a bit tedious towards the end. Nonetheless Rockstar delivers a good game and even more important: it deserves the name Max Payne.
  6. Oct 13, 2012
    87
    Max Payne 3 feels like a PC original, in a very good way. [Aug 2012]
  7. Jul 14, 2012
    55
    A decent slow-mo shooter spoilt by technical issues and a heavy focus on an empty plot. Wait for patches or a demo. [Aug 2012, p.88]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 2, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Невероятная игра! Единственный сингл, который я переигрываю снова и снова и снова! Графика на высшем уровне, звуковое сопровождение потрясяюще! Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    This is the best thing ever, I simply cannot fathom the level of amazingness within this entire thing; it's simply orgasmic in all aspects (well maybe no smell, but it's pretty damn close.) Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Best game out in the last six months of 2012. Amazing gameplay, nice graphics, unique optimization, not bad multiplayer. This game everyone should to try! Good job Rockstar. Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    I highly recommend this game The game has a very good storyline nice gameplay and authentic characters There is no reason why you shouldn't buy it This game is amazing Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    6
    I bought this game on steam and completed the storyline in less than 13 hours of gameplay. Ridiculously disappointing. The storyline didnt even come close to matching the first or the second game. The controls were also off and very annoying for me at times. Max will sometimes run at regular pace even while aiming which throws me off completely. And instead of using bullet time just about anytime you want you stick to taking cover over half the time. I have no interest in doing the time attack, new york minute, or multiplayer modes. Definitely not a game that's worth 60 bucks. I bought it because of the old max paynes and this one definitely does nothing to live up to those standards. Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2012
    4
    There are so many cutscenes that the game feels more like a movie. The game takes control away from you throughout the entire game. You get about 3 minutes of playtime and then another cutscene. In addition, the plot is terrible. Its another "damsel in distress" but you dont care about the people you are trying to save at all. In fact, they seem to do their best to make you NOT like these people. The cheesy camera effects were really annoying and the combat system is clunky and doesnt feel right. The cover system is pretty bad - it feels a lot like the shooting from L.A Noire. Basically, theres not much variance in the gameplay AT ALL. All there is to do is shoot guys the same exact way except in a different setting with tons of cutscenes in between. There just isnt ever anything different. Its insane how many cutscenes there are. Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    got this in a sale and it won't link with my steam account so because of the DRM I can't play it so I have no choice but to rate this game a zero but I am willing to change my review if the problem is fixed Expand

See all 467 User Reviews