McPixel Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: McPixel is a save-the-day guy that you guide through 100 short challenges in an old-school point'n'click fashion. The goal in each challenge is to prevent stuff from blowing up using available tools! You have only 20 seconds to save the day! Think quick! Key features: 100 mindblowing levels Bonuses, secrets and more Free DLC for everyone! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    85
    Dumb idea combined with retro outfitting is sure to meet it's goal. McPixel is a weird cross-over of WarioWare and point'n'click adventure. The game is so bizarre that you are bound to have some laughs. [Aug 2012]
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    82
    It's not a big or clever game, but there's value in the small and stupid too, and there's something truly wonderful about it being Steam Greenlight's first release. [Jan 2013, p.69]
  3. Feb 6, 2013
    70
    It forces you to switch off the cause and effect mode in your brain and try most insane solutions. Fun! [CD-Action 02/2013, p.65]
  4. Sep 30, 2012
    50
    As an indie title, it aims for a tiny audience, but even that audience its too large for the quality it offers. If you feel attracted by the concept and/or visuals go ahead –you'll love it or hate it– but don't expect a game everybody can enjoy. McPixel wants to cause a reaction, and it causes it.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 13 out of 28
  1. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    Very cool game! I recommend to all. Simple graphics, which has its own style. An interesting and enjoyable gameplay. Zagrywałem at it for hours. this is one of the most interesting items of this type. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    I would rate this higher, but its not every ones piece of cake. Its fun and enjoyable for me, clicking things and seeing what they will do. Your job is to save the day in 20 seconds. Now this already feels like it a game about critical thinking, but if you call putting a chicken on someones head or dancing to mega Satan is going to solve anything...good luck. Your meant to save the day, but all you really do is click on the first thing you see, and maybe mix it with the next. Its more of an experimental game that is a ton of fun, but make sure you know what you're in for before giving it a shot. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this game. The graphic style is meant to supplement the ironic humor, which I think it does well. Though, much of the humor is very low-brow, immature, and slapstick, with a bit of potty humor thrown in.

    The puzzles are fun and often wholly unintuitive - which makes for a surprisingly fun twist in difficulty. Solving puzzles involves some very off the wall thinking. The 'obvious' solutions are not obvious, and failures often result in something so absurd and over the top that I found myself pursuing solutions that I knew would not work simply to see the often hilarious consequences.

    If you are a fan of over the top, immature, mindless fun, then this game is worthwhile.
    If you saw the trailer for this game and thought that any of it was funny, then pick it up. You'll enjoy it.
    Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    4
    Mcpixel seems fun and silly at first but after the first few levels the game becomes repetitive and boring. The once cool 8 bit music starts killing brain cells in a massacre of common sense and reason. You soon find yourself mindlessly clicking each individual pixel hoping one of them is right to get past the level. The only thing that will keep you sane is the onslaught of references and jokes.

    Only buy this if it's in a sale or if you have a brain and want to try this yourself to conclude your own opinion, I'm just some idiot on the internet.
    Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2013
    2
    In McPixel you play a guy in a red shirt who has to disarm a bomb within 20 seconds. Each level is a small scene with a few items to click on, you have to find the right item or combination of items to make sure the bomb doesn't explode. At first I thought this may be fun, but unfortunately it is not. Due to the horrible 'retro' graphics (aka graphics made by a lazy dev who lacks the skill to create good looking graphics and now pretends it is some kind of 'art') that would have been considered bad even on a C64 often you can't even see what exactly it is you click on. And even if you do, it doesn't matter. Because the levels are totally random and in almost all cases it's simply trial and error. You click on a trash can and a small goblin appears with a bomb on his head...*bam*, try again. Yeah...right. There is of course some humor in the game because of this silly randomness, but it's always the same idiocy and gets boring quick. Would have been ok for a quick laugh if it was a free Internet flash game, but I can't imagine how anyone would want to spend money for this, no matter how cheap the game is. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2014
    0
    This is the worst game I have ever played in my entire life. I had to sit back an extra meter from my monitor to attempt to make out what in gods name was going on, it is was too f**king pixelated. Even after doing so I had absolutely no idea what the f**k was happening. There are no instructions. Nothing makes sense and a McPixel logo pops up every time after finishing a 3 second long level. When I say level I don't really mean level as what you do is click on an object, then click another object and some cr*p explodes. This game should die. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews