McPixel PC

McPixel Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: McPixel is a save-the-day guy that you guide through 100 short challenges in an old-school point'n'click fashion. The goal in each challenge is to prevent stuff from blowing up using available tools! You have only 20 seconds to save the day! Think quick! Key features: 100 mindblowing levelsMcPixel is a save-the-day guy that you guide through 100 short challenges in an old-school point'n'click fashion. The goal in each challenge is to prevent stuff from blowing up using available tools! You have only 20 seconds to save the day! Think quick! Key features: 100 mindblowing levels Bonuses, secrets and more Free DLC for everyone! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    85
    Dumb idea combined with retro outfitting is sure to meet it's goal. McPixel is a weird cross-over of WarioWare and point'n'click adventure. The game is so bizarre that you are bound to have some laughs. [Aug 2012]
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    82
    It's not a big or clever game, but there's value in the small and stupid too, and there's something truly wonderful about it being Steam Greenlight's first release. [Jan 2013, p.69]
  3. Feb 6, 2013
    70
    It forces you to switch off the cause and effect mode in your brain and try most insane solutions. Fun! [CD-Action 02/2013, p.65]
  4. Sep 30, 2012
    50
    As an indie title, it aims for a tiny audience, but even that audience its too large for the quality it offers. If you feel attracted by the concept and/or visuals go ahead –you'll love it or hate it– but don't expect a game everybody can enjoy. McPixel wants to cause a reaction, and it causes it.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 13 out of 29
  1. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    Very cool game! I recommend to all. Simple graphics, which has its own style. An interesting and enjoyable gameplay. Zagrywałem at it forVery cool game! I recommend to all. Simple graphics, which has its own style. An interesting and enjoyable gameplay. Zagrywałem at it for hours. this is one of the most interesting items of this type. Collapse
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    I would rate this higher, but its not every ones piece of cake. Its fun and enjoyable for me, clicking things and seeing what they will do.I would rate this higher, but its not every ones piece of cake. Its fun and enjoyable for me, clicking things and seeing what they will do. Your job is to save the day in 20 seconds. Now this already feels like it a game about critical thinking, but if you call putting a chicken on someones head or dancing to mega Satan is going to solve anything...good luck. Your meant to save the day, but all you really do is click on the first thing you see, and maybe mix it with the next. Its more of an experimental game that is a ton of fun, but make sure you know what you're in for before giving it a shot. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this game. The graphic style is meant to supplement the ironic humor, which I think it does well. Though, much of the humor isI enjoyed this game. The graphic style is meant to supplement the ironic humor, which I think it does well. Though, much of the humor is very low-brow, immature, and slapstick, with a bit of potty humor thrown in.

    The puzzles are fun and often wholly unintuitive - which makes for a surprisingly fun twist in difficulty. Solving puzzles involves some very off the wall thinking. The 'obvious' solutions are not obvious, and failures often result in something so absurd and over the top that I found myself pursuing solutions that I knew would not work simply to see the often hilarious consequences.

    If you are a fan of over the top, immature, mindless fun, then this game is worthwhile.
    If you saw the trailer for this game and thought that any of it was funny, then pick it up. You'll enjoy it.
    Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2015
    6
    A FUN little indie game, and it's true what the game warns you about staying too long on the game, because my brain was boiled after playingA FUN little indie game, and it's true what the game warns you about staying too long on the game, because my brain was boiled after playing an hour. Shame that the game got pirated too many times... Expand
  5. May 28, 2013
    4
    I, being weird, would normally enjoy a random and funny game like this. But McPixel goes too far, to the point where it's just stupid. Most ofI, being weird, would normally enjoy a random and funny game like this. But McPixel goes too far, to the point where it's just stupid. Most of the levels don't require you to think, but more so require you to click randomly. Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2013
    3
    Phitt's review on 13/07/2013 makes a lot of good points. I had no idea what I was doing in the game, as there are no real instructions or anyPhitt's review on 13/07/2013 makes a lot of good points. I had no idea what I was doing in the game, as there are no real instructions or any guidance as to what your character's purpose is bar 'save the day'. For the first three levels or so, I didn't even know it was about a bomb disposal expert.

    I've never been one to judge a game by its graphics: to me, they are there to convey the game-play the developers wanted to express. However, when the graphics are so poor and chunky that you cannot tell a hypodermic needle from a Concorde plane, something is wrong. It could possible be due to the fact that C64 graphics look terrible on new monitors? Whatever the reason, there is no excuse for it.

    There is little logic to the puzzles, and you are forced to cycle through each group of six 'scenarios' or levels in order. So if you think you have one solution, you could wait up to five turns to try again. Personally I found this very irritating.

    Controls are okay, bar the escape button not working to bring up an exit menu. Six presses eventually got it working, but the menu quickly disappeared again. I had to end the game in Task Manager.

    I'm sorry to be blunt, but this game made my eyes hurt just looking at it. I've never had that with a game bar one where the POV needed tweaking in the console.

    If you feel inclined to try this game, pick it up at 85% off or look for it on great disciun. My perception of this game is that, although it boasts 100 levels, it isn't worth the eye-strain to explore them all. It's possible, that the game could be better on the Big Screen setting Steam offers, and played on a television from a great distance. My setup is a regular PC.

    I've given a mark of 3/10 because a hundred levels takes dedication. I really wish I could have given more, and hope I can raise this mark when it sorts out the issues it currently has.
    Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2014
    0
    This is the worst game I have ever played in my entire life. I had to sit back an extra meter from my monitor to attempt to make out what inThis is the worst game I have ever played in my entire life. I had to sit back an extra meter from my monitor to attempt to make out what in gods name was going on, it is was too f**king pixelated. Even after doing so I had absolutely no idea what the f**k was happening. There are no instructions. Nothing makes sense and a McPixel logo pops up every time after finishing a 3 second long level. When I say level I don't really mean level as what you do is click on an object, then click another object and some cr*p explodes. This game should die. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews