Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1001 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    85
    Nice gameplay and deep strategy for the latest incarnation of Mechwarrior. Too bad it lacks any kind of Single Player content.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    83
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    77
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    65
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    54
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is theIt's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Collapse
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    Well on its way to being the best MechWarrior game. Sure it has its rough spots at the moment, but they don't detract from the game.Well on its way to being the best MechWarrior game. Sure it has its rough spots at the moment, but they don't detract from the game.

    Definitely worth a try.
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2014
    8
    i notice the lack of recent reviews on the game and its content. so allow me to enlighten you, mechwarrior online has been the main gave ii notice the lack of recent reviews on the game and its content. so allow me to enlighten you, mechwarrior online has been the main gave i have played for what will soon be three years if i am correct, right after it came out of open beta. (i had the misfortune of not learning about the game until i couldn't get the founders pacl! >.< ) i first joined up with a casual group that was part of a few competitions and i loved it but casual play got dry over time, and after a good 6 months the group had a falling out and went casual only. i have sense joined another group and am highly competitive and am proud to have put ruffly 800 dollars into the game and i play it every day.

    the game has a great structure but suffers from a bad match making system as does all games. you defiantly need to have at least a little intelligence, COD players are a joke among the community and if your "competitive experience" is battlefield, you wont do well.

    =====community warfare has a set date=====

    yes community warfare will be out soon, but its small compared to all the competitions that are going on now. if you want to up your game join a comp group plain and simple, look into good builds toy around. people who think only for them selves here suck.

    i have never had a day where i didn't want to play but i have become frustrated and i have become angry. but i learn to roll with the punches

    hope this helps, and quit being so butt-hurt everyone. complaining on the Internet never got anyone anywhere :)
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    Chipped in for the "crowd funding of the game" and it WAS fun for the first few months. The next year after open beta though, it wentChipped in for the "crowd funding of the game" and it WAS fun for the first few months. The next year after open beta though, it went downhill.

    Currently game has no lobbies, matchmaking is simplistic at best, and the graphics are actually worse than they were a year ago. Also expect to be confused for a WHILE after you start playing. Protip: Ask someone to explain ghost heat to you.

    The game as been more-or-less in its current state for ALMOST A YEAR. If that doesn't tell you much about the game, I don't know what will. It's gotten stale, and the design decisions the development team has taken with the things they have changed range from confusing at best to outright bad for the game.

    Play if you like mechs. You might have fun for awhile, but unless the game changes in any real meaningful way anytime soon, expect to be bored after that time.

    Also I'd advise against spending money unless you clearly agree with where the game is and where it's going. Don't let the developers place that "carrot on a stick" with some promises. They haven't delivered on any of them yet, don't expect that to change.
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    Ultimately, MWO aspires to be much more than it is. However, after 2 years of development, it is tragically short of an enjoyable experience.Ultimately, MWO aspires to be much more than it is. However, after 2 years of development, it is tragically short of an enjoyable experience. How long PGI and IGP can keep this game breathing remains to be seen, however they have already reversed course on multiple design pillars and other promises that they used in order to sell the game to their customer base. It seems to be a classic case of changing horses mid stream current rumors point to a potential XBONE port which may have greased the palms required to accomplish such a consumer unfriendly change in course.

    The game itself is marginally satisfying, if you're all about deathmatch in robots with counterstrike like rounds (no respawns), but for many, this will likely wear thin very quickly for all but the die-hard.

    Hope remains that this franchise will eventually be rebooted with a realistic and honestly presented set of goals and implementations.
    Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2014
    2
    Well, since Metacritic decided to redact my 5000 word review of the game, let me put it real simple: turd reheated in a microwave.

    Do not
    Well, since Metacritic decided to redact my 5000 word review of the game, let me put it real simple: turd reheated in a microwave.

    Do not buy this game. It is like someone beating a puppy to death in front of you.
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    This game is not a worthy successor to anything. The game play is worse than Mechwarrior 3 & 4 plus the mech lab is degrees of magnitude worseThis game is not a worthy successor to anything. The game play is worse than Mechwarrior 3 & 4 plus the mech lab is degrees of magnitude worse than they had. The price for the game is $100s or 1000s of hours your choice, but both bad choices for a poor game. Expand

See all 743 User Reviews