Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 954 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 4, 2013
    83
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    77
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    73
    Once you get the hang of it all, the strategic combat and its required pre-game build strategy and in-game adaptivity is fun, but don’t expect to master its tricky team-based combat and overwhelming upgrade system without a serious commitment.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    65
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    54
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Collapse
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    Offers much and promises more.
    MW:O is fun, and it is not easy and it gives in every battle a different experience and possibilty to play.
    The potential is enormous so back it and push it and we´ll have a lot more fun in the next years to come.

    Most negative reviewers are just using this chance to give a payback. For whatever they feel cheated about. I really can´t imagine a more serious and demanding fanbase then those Battletech-Fans here.

    Of course MW:O has got its drawbacks and a sheer impossible load of different goals to achieve. But one has to be aware of the fact that its the most complex simulation of Mech-Battles we ever had and that with realtime-multiplayer-combat.
    Sometimes I think "community" wants the Devs to apologize for developing and testing... ridiculous. Thats what beta is all about and there are many games in beta which go the same unstable, sometimes frustrating way. No need for complaining in my eyes.

    Thumbs up!
    I NEVER put more money into a game, without regret, and that since over a year. That sums up my review. Nothing more to say.
    Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    Fun game which, as so many online games, starts out somewhat limited, but with a solid core, and then evolves over time into something much larger.

    It's developers listen to the community and make a great effort to try and balance all the different weapons that the game allows for, and they come up with some interesting solutions that force players to think about making balanced loadouts instead of just running out there with as many of the same powerful weapon that you can fit.

    This has, however, made a bunch of people very angry. Don't ask me why, because I find it interesting that a fight doesn't end instantly because some guy had so much firepower in a single click that he could kill anything with one hit.

    If you're into a tank/robot style ranged weapons combat game, this might be for you. You can buy more mechs in the game and upgrade them with weapons, engines, armor and so on, with resources you earn in matches. With real money you can buy "Mech Credits" that you can use to buy premium time, which boosts your XP and resource gain, or you can use it to buy mechs, including "hero" and "champion" mechs, which are only buyable with those, these work by either boosting XP or resource gain, but are otherwise the same as the ones you can with your earned resource. Additionally you can use the MC to buy skins, colors and decoration for your mechs, which allows for some pretty cool customization.

    Development is ongoing and a bunch of very cool looking features are on the way in the next 6 months. It's still a relatively new game, development wise, and you will find problems and issues sticking out, but the fun mech combat is second to none and it looks to be getting better.

    And hey, it's free. Play some hours, if you don't like it, at least you didn't spend any unrefundable money!
    Another great thing is that you can play just a week a month and then whenver you come back, two patches will have been round and there'll be a new mech, maybe a new map, a bunch of fixes and other things changed! I love reading update notes for my games, and it means you always have something to look forward to
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    5
    first of all I would ignore most of the crappy reviews less than 4) as well as all of the 9s and 10s. the bad scores are ppl who are pretty pissed right now and the high scores are mostly fake. the problem is there's a lot to like and hate about the game.

    The good? It's a good mech simulator, I feel like im in a big stompy mech. there was a time that colliding with another mech could cause you to fall down and many are mad that that was removed (I don't have experience with it, b4 my time)
    there's many different kinds of mechs each with different versions to choose from and u can customize weapon loadout, armor, ammo and add equipment like jump jets and ecm (depending on the mech version) I personally have spent tons of time in the "mech lab" just trying out different builds for my mechs. depending on the mech u could get some crazy builds (might not be good but It can be fun)
    gameplay is pretty good too, you are able to blow off limbs and other sections of a mech instead of having just an HP bar.

    The bad? balance for weapons can vary wildly with each patch. while many patches have gradual minor tweaks to improve balance, every once in a while they have one that wreaks a certain weapon and by extension certain mechs. Its commonly called the "nerf hammer" and its something to watch out for. check the patch log on the forums so you're not caught unawares.
    the game economy can be rough for new players too. Newbies get a "cadet bonus" for the first 20 games or so that can add up to about 10 million c-bills to purchase new mechs. the problem is that even a "medium class" mech can cost anywhere from 4 to 7 million c-bills, not counting new weapons or upgrades and after the cadet bonus its a herd slog to earn more money for new mechs and hardware. MWO even released stats saying the average player only makes about 70k c-bills a game. a newbie would probably earn less initially so it could literally take you hundreds of matches to earn enough for a new mech, and that's tough for a casual player.

    So theres things Iike and things that can be improved. However theres big plans on the horizon with Community Warfare, U.I. 2.0, and the Clans. While I would hold off shelling out a lot of money at the moment in the future I could easily be changing my score to a 10 and cant-throw-my-money-at-this-fast-enough.
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    My main issue with PGI is the lack of credibility. Censorship of negative comments abound. Concerns are frequently ignored, even when backed by logical arguments and data. PGI routinely filters out what they do not want to hear, or spins things after the facts.
    As an Example: There was a vote about 3rd Person and 90% of people said they didnt want it like 3500+ people majority against and this was their response:

    'The analysis on those who voted, showed that the majority of votes came from a very narrow demographic of our player base. And while they represent some of core players, they did not necessarily represent the opinion of the general user base. The majority of our players never visit, post, or read the forum content, so the poll could be considered weighted in favour of a specific demographic.'

    They talk about this mythical 'silent majority' a lot when justifying decisions the players don't agree with.

    Balancing is frequently not based on precedence BattleTech and Mechwarrior) but on appeasing the lowest common denominator, mechanics are invented, and balancing based on nerfing whatever that lowest common denominator is upset about that day.
    Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2013
    2
    I have played MWO from closed Beta on as a founder. Logged many an hour on this game. Fundamentally the game suffers from poor development of a beloved franchise and too many undelivered promises. MWO live and dies by community warfare. Can vs clan vs Inner Sphere and so forth. Right now it is just a Mech sim with no point. Even there is wonky at best. The development teams seem to prioritize game/weapon balance in a "Rube Goldberg" style. They add and add weird constraints and mechanics making the system increasingly brittle and hard for new people to understand. Its simple because they built their game on a bad foundation and are trying to correct it ever since. They also have incredibly poor interactions with a community that is desperate to help test and balance. I am no Battle tech guru but there is tons of knowledge out their for them to use not fight. If you are new to MW then you can have fun playing but since the game HAS NO LOBBIES! Its hard to hook up and play against friends or have ladder leagues etc.....eg the game is for casuals...who know maybe that is where the money is these day. Too bad this could have been fun..... Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    ok coming from a hardcore 15 year mechwarrior vet and haveing played mechwarrior2 31th GBL merc, mechwarrior 3 & pirates moon, mechwarrior 4 mw4 blackknight & MW4 merc and just too let you know i waz even first round closed beta

    now too start this off even in close beta and gameplay my expectations waz very high for this game the game play at the most part seemed in my mind at the time good and well balanced but the cataphract wasn't out so you didn't see any jump sniping yet and ppc still didnt work so the reason i probably love this game back then waz it waz all brawling back then i love brawling in mechwarrior

    now iv played all mechwarrior's and this one felt good but the sniping dominates the out of this game now

    too top that PGI is now full of themselves and disrespects the true fans of the mechwarrior game and name too make it one big farce too end all farces.

    they have slaped me a core mechwarrior fan and founders supporter in the face too the point i wont give them anymore money.

    they have a huge grind for you too get over and if you want too buy any MC (mechwarrior credits) you will find your paying out of your ass for such a mind numbing game.

    this game mocks and destorys the name MECHWARRIOR and makes me want too cry my self too sleep for how bad they this game up and if they didnt do everything wrong like every outher mechwarrior witch they said they try too never do like 3PV and flush OMG that 1st post for flush module almost made me punch my screen like ****?!>!>!?

    PGI can suck my dick Chris roberts deserves my money so far 600us dollars of it XD
    Expand

See all 709 User Reviews