Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1022 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    85
    Nice gameplay and deep strategy for the latest incarnation of Mechwarrior. Too bad it lacks any kind of Single Player content.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    83
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    77
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    65
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    54
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is theIt's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    MWO is a fun game at its core. The levels and mechs are beautiful and the controls are, once gotten used to, make sense and work well. PGIMWO is a fun game at its core. The levels and mechs are beautiful and the controls are, once gotten used to, make sense and work well. PGI has a relatively small team and what they've accomplished is nothing short of amazing. Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2015
    8
    MWO is a very good experience. Mech are well designed and give a good experience of fighting in a huge robot. It is the only Mechwarrior gameMWO is a very good experience. Mech are well designed and give a good experience of fighting in a huge robot. It is the only Mechwarrior game I know that succeed to balance light vs heavy mech. In all other game, bigger is better (more armor, more weapons). In this game, having a light mech is not only fun (high speed, low figure easy to hide) but in the hand of the best player (not me :), it could be the very efficient.
    The game make you really feel piloting a huge robot: I am often hidden behind a building or a hill. I generally try to show, shoot and go back hiding. Often, part of my mech is still behind the building firing, and half my weapon only shoot the building.
    The game has slowly evolve (it is why I put only a 8). But now, it gets a lot of different maps and 4 different game mode (one where you have to assault a huge base, and you have 4 mechs to drop during the battle).
    There is pretty much no bug now.
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    Ok, my first vote was influenced by my anger at the bad release. This game could be great but at this state it is not more than a fill-inOk, my first vote was influenced by my anger at the bad release. This game could be great but at this state it is not more than a fill-in game.

    1) graphic: not bad with directX11 perhaps better. We will see
    2) mechdesign: great work from the lead designer alex iglesias
    3) maps: insufficient and wrong scaled. you havent got the feeling of walking in a 12meter high mech.
    4) ballance: ok, not perfect but ok
    5) sound: nice
    6) music: there is no background music
    7) game modes: only 1 in 2 different variants
    8) long time motivation: none, because there is only the same game mode

    And now to the comment of Russ Bullock (one of the staff of PGI, the company that made this game) you can find here with a 10 point rating. What he desribes is a future vision of MWo. Not one of the features he desribes is in the game. Would they part of the game you would only find here 10/10 ratings. When will you see this features? Nobody knows. The Devs dont talk about that.

    Resume: Wait a few month and perhaps it will be the perfect mech game. Now it is a nice fill-in game but not worth to pay real money for it.
    Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    3
    Pay no attention to the man behind that curtain!

    Just as with the Great and Powerful Oz, once you pull back the curtain the magic of
    Pay no attention to the man behind that curtain!

    Just as with the Great and Powerful Oz, once you pull back the curtain the magic of Mechwarrior Online is irrevocably gone forever.

    September 17--the Mechwarrior Online launch date--signaled the end of the closed beta. This is how the closed beta ends; not with a bang, but a whimper.

    The game is built on CryEngine which has a poor track record when it comes to netcode optimization. The result is a jumbled mess of poor hit detection and a decidedly incompetent development team who seem more interested in creating skins and mech ornaments (that cost real money) rather than correcting underlying imbalances and gameplay issues. Unlike other F2P games such as World of Tanks, War Thunder, etc, there is no discernible progression. The game quite literally limits itself to buying mechs and upgrades via C-BILLS that are earned in matches. By that standard, there is more advancement strategy in Battlefield 3.

    The initial awe of the game eventually gives way to the grim reality: MWO looks pretty, but the looks are only skin deep. What could have been a rich, fulfilling addition to the Mechwarrior franchise is instead seen as a money-grab by PGI who upsold the game during the closed-beta period. At this point, the minimal differences between the final version and the closed-beta don't justify a years' worth of development and certainly don't deserve your hard earned monies.

    These aren't the droids you're looking for.
    Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2015
    2
    What's cool about it? Mechwarrior!! Mechs!! Friends!! and that's about it. I enjoy playing it with my friends because I'm playing a game withWhat's cool about it? Mechwarrior!! Mechs!! Friends!! and that's about it. I enjoy playing it with my friends because I'm playing a game with my friends. We play it because it's Mechwarrior and we loved Mechwarrior not because it's Mechwarrior Online by PGI. I've been in since "Closed Beta" and at this point 3 years after I joined the game has not been delivered as promised. It's a Free to Grind your butt off game hell bent on frustrating you with it's grind so that you spend real money to try and get some traction. Graphics have actually gone backwards, game play is stale even after the Beta of Community Warfare has been released. The Dev team started out grateful to it's community, then grew to loath and insult the community, and now seems to be trying to make amends for treating the community so poorly in an effort to keep the product viable. It's a watered down version of what was sold to Founders, full of broken promises and lack of optimization. Bad leadership at the top, lack of progress, and stale game play with a terrible grind. It's a disgrace to the Mechwarrior genre. I'd rather buy a game outright then to have the grind required with this game and the miserable performance it has 3 years after I joined it. Maybe the real Mechwarrior fans will get lucky and PGI will fail so someone else can make a new Mechwarrior. Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2015
    0
    MWO was supposed to be Mechwarrior 5 - when that failed for whatever reason they took the bones of a decent mechwarrior game and decided toMWO was supposed to be Mechwarrior 5 - when that failed for whatever reason they took the bones of a decent mechwarrior game and decided to prostitute them for whatever wampum they could get.

    What this leaves behind is a game with two play modes:

    Get randomly messed up by others for 15 minutes or 30 minutes.

    While this wide variety of game types would have satisfied no one, the pay to win system is especially unwelcome, as the games economy allows you to grind forever for no real result - while paying actual dollars is the only way to get the things you need.

    All that would've been forgivable - if I could have played a single player campaign like MW4 Mercs.

    But as you've read what I have written so far, there's obviously nothing to forgive the crap job they've done of providing a fun Mechwarrior Game.

    If you want to enjoy a game in the Battletech Universe I suggest torrenting one that was released before 2001.
    Expand

See all 757 User Reviews