Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 990 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    85
    Nice gameplay and deep strategy for the latest incarnation of Mechwarrior. Too bad it lacks any kind of Single Player content.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    83
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    77
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    65
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    54
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    I'm a long-time Battletech fan, and this game feels pretty authentic. If one spends any time on the forums, it's easy to see that there's pretty much a civil war between the relative handful of people who actually frequent the boards. If you don't visit the forums, the game is quite fantastic. The graphics are fantastic, and the Mechs and weapons are very well done. There's a bit of a learning curve, but as a codgery old purist I like it that way.

    The current game needs some variety, but that's on its way. The feature roadmap looks exciting, even if there have been delays. There were some questionable development choices, such as putting Mech knockdown on the back burner, and introducing third person view in direct contravention of the community, which is why MWO doesn't get a 10. The codger in me is grumpy about these things, but we can't always get everything we want. The publisher has to make money somehow, or there wouldn't be a game at all.

    Overall, I rate MWO very highly, and recommend it to anyone who gets a kick out of blowing up giant robots with other giant robots.
    Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2014
    8
    Started playing this about 9 months ago and have had a really good time playing it and meeting the community. I started playing just before the Ui revamp and there has been consistent content and improvements in twice monthly patches ever since.

    There is a fair amount to it and a learning curve and the weapons systems and battle style are really punishing if you do not play for your team.

    The Positive:-
    Looks fairly good.
    Feels like stomping around in a heavy machine. The separate Torso/ legs control mechanism (like a tank) is a little complicated and takes a while to get used to but adds a lot when you get the hang of it.
    Armoured tactics work, focused fire, reverse slopes, co-ordinating spotting and 'artillery' etc.
    A good team based tactical game
    Essentially free to play (but you do need to spend a little money to get more mechbays in all probability if you intend to play it for any time).
    Good customisation mini-game, you can customise the mechs almost infinitely.

    20 years or so of back story going back to the FASA battletech tabletop game.

    Dedicated and fairly fanatical community.

    PGI the developer have been fairly good at communicating their intentions since January (but I understand this has not always been the case...)

    The Negative:-
    Can be a little unstable at times. (although this has got better since I have been playing it with many fix's..still a nasty ongoing desynch issue though that some suffer that needs to be be resolved.)

    Limited servers, all in Canada are not ideal for those with high pings to Canada.

    The strategic element has taken a very long time to arrive (called Community Warfare and its due as top priority by the end of this year.) and without it gameplay is pretty limited to 3 derivatives of 12 vs12 team death match's and collecting mechs. Its a 'grind'.

    Maps are pretty good but they are quite limited in number at this time.

    Beginners tutorials are extremely limited and you have to search around quite a bit to get beyond being more than a target.

    20 years or so of back story going back to the FASA tabletop game....appears to sometimes hamstring the developer.

    Constant sales and new mechs for money can be intrusive and some of the mechs are EXTREMELY expensive, you do not have to buy them of course, but its there..(this is a negative with all free 2 play games though and not one specific to MWO, f2p games unfortunately have to fund themselves in some way, they are businesses. )

    All in all a good and fun experience so far, am looking forward to the future of this game because it has a lot of scope and will hopefully continue to get better and better.
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    Ok, my first vote was influenced by my anger at the bad release. This game could be great but at this state it is not more than a fill-in game.

    1) graphic: not bad with directX11 perhaps better. We will see
    2) mechdesign: great work from the lead designer alex iglesias
    3) maps: insufficient and wrong scaled. you havent got the feeling of walking in a 12meter high mech.
    4) ballance: ok, not perfect but ok
    5) sound: nice
    6) music: there is no background music
    7) game modes: only 1 in 2 different variants
    8) long time motivation: none, because there is only the same game mode

    And now to the comment of Russ Bullock (one of the staff of PGI, the company that made this game) you can find here with a 10 point rating. What he desribes is a future vision of MWo. Not one of the features he desribes is in the game. Would they part of the game you would only find here 10/10 ratings. When will you see this features? Nobody knows. The Devs dont talk about that.

    Resume: Wait a few month and perhaps it will be the perfect mech game. Now it is a nice fill-in game but not worth to pay real money for it.
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    This game is not ready for prime time. The only reason it has made it this far is due to the name "BattleTech" attached to it. There are better free simulations and shooters out there: Hawken, World of Tanks, and War Thunder.

    - No community interface
    - Terrible joystick support
    - Weapons are not balanced
    - Mech "hit boxes" are bugged
    - Server relay (position) is bugged
    Expand
  6. May 20, 2014
    2
    Coming from someone who spent more than $200 on MWO over the past two years - do not make the mistake I did. Do not invest one penny into this game. Play it entirely for free if you'd like, I encourage that, but do not invest yourself in this game. I have been playing since closed beta and while the game itself can be fun and engaging in short spurts, it has little staying power. Worse, the game has been declining heavily for the past year. As time has gone by, the devs have shown themselves to be far more dedicated to pushing new items for the cash grab than to developing actual content. Features that were promised to be implemented more than a year ago have yet to be implemented or if they have been, are often partially if not entirely locked behind a pay wall, features that come standard in almost every other F2P shooter.

    Here is a specific example of the types of shady actions PGI is prone to. Some time ago (end of last summer, perhaps) they decreased the rate at which you earn the in game currency (C-Bills) to the point that it takes a solid week of grinding matches several hours a night to afford one new mech, and another few days on top to customize it. Not only this, but to master a pilot tree for the mech (which is a crucial edge in game, providing huge benefits), you must own and play with at least three variants. This means it takes a good month of grinding to unlock ONE chassis so you can be on par with those who have been playing for longer. Add on to this that there is little to no training so I have routinely seen new players get absolutely stomped by veterans, making it that much more miserable to slog through. But wait! There IS hope! You can just pay them lots of money and unlock it now! The above is a great example or why it really seems to me that the current model is to frustrate new players into spending money before they realize that the game simply isn't worth it.

    I joined a Clan and became part of an active community centered on MWO last May. Since then, I have seen the player base steadily decline as PGI constantly pushes more items for purchase while doing very little to improve the state of the game. In addition, they are absolutely horrible at listening to player feedback - they are the absolute worst for censoring or flat out deleting posts that openly criticize aspects of the game on the official forums. There are some communities hanging on and you will find players who scoff at the discontent, but frequently, they aren't the ones who paid hundreds in to this game to watch it flop.

    Long story short, I paid more than $200 into this game, supporting it over the past two years and for my time and money, I have a bushel full of broken promises and gameplay that becomes more infuriating with every new patch, as the devs seemingly mess with things at random, flat out deny existing problems, pay wall basic features, or heaven only knows what. I gave up trying to see their reasoning several months ago. If you're still really wanting to play, do your research first, please. Look up the other gripes (and oh are there many) and go in with your eyes open.
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    This game is not a worthy successor to anything. The game play is worse than Mechwarrior 3 & 4 plus the mech lab is degrees of magnitude worse than they had. The price for the game is $100s or 1000s of hours your choice, but both bad choices for a poor game. Expand

See all 736 User Reviews