Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1018 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    85
    Nice gameplay and deep strategy for the latest incarnation of Mechwarrior. Too bad it lacks any kind of Single Player content.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    83
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    77
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    65
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    54
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is theIt's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    While it would be white-washing to say that the game is without issues (as all new games are), it is clear from reading many of the reviewsWhile it would be white-washing to say that the game is without issues (as all new games are), it is clear from reading many of the reviews that a lot of the people who are slagging the game are disenfranchised individuals who take their dislike of a certain design feature or the unavailability of a feature at launch to mean that they can (and should) call the game garbage. This is, unfortunately, very characteristic of the entitled attitude that many gamers have.

    Shortly before launch, two things happened; a feature that the developers had stated quite some time ago would not be used was in fact put in game (and as of writing this is no longer in any meaningful matches), and Community Warfare (the 'meat and bones') was post-poned. Both were disappointing issues, but understandable on both counts; regarding the first issue of the suddenly-implanted feature, design paradigms change for any product, and it was still Beta; at actual launch, the feature was relegated to 'casual only' games, not true competition. Regarding post-poning Community Warfare, it's only to be expected that a F2P title with a limited budget may have to push a feature back awhile.

    Neither occurrence should be reason to slag the game in horrible ways, but the spite of internet warriors is indeed legendary. I would urge anyone who comes here for advice on what to play to take a good, hard look at what one is reading, and if it looks hyper-negative, to disregard it.

    Fundamentally, MW:O is a Free-to-Play title. Free. As in it does not cost most players a single penny. If this game had been released and/or published by a company like Blizzard-Activision, Microsoft, or even Electronic Arts, I would say that a number of criticisms were fair. As it is, it is a free-to-play title from a minor studio who built a functional and stable game in only two years on a very small budget. Their entire development team wouldn't even fill a single section at any major developer. Perspective goes a long, long way towards affecting how one should see things, and I think that some people simple forget to put this company and this title in said perspective.

    Game Play: Superb. The game has been stable for most players for quite a long time. There are terrain bugs at times, and as with any PvP game, weapons and equipment balance is always in flux; if there are complaints about PvP in games like World of Warcraft, with a decade of development under its belt and billions of dollars to command, it should surprise nobody that MW:O has its own issues. For the most part, though, the game plays well; it feels like you are in command of a giant machine, not like you are some faceless solider in a Call of Duty clone.

    Graphics: Rendered on the Cry Engine, the game looks as one would expect very, very good. DX11 is in the pipe for testing and should only increase the magnitude of what we already see, which is fluid movement, gorgeous lighting, beautifully rendered 'mechs, and a very 'to scale' impression of combat.

    Sound: The effects are brilliant, and especially with headphones or with a good surround-sound system, one feels very much like one is in the of a machine. The only failing is the lack of music. Trailers for the game and trailers for special 'money only' BattleMechs have featured some fantastic music, all original compositions, but none is in the game... yet.

    Overall: If you're a BattleTech or MechWarrior fan, this is worth it. If you're a Call of Duty-style gamer, this is not your kind of game. If you want to play something that requires team-work, something that is far (FAR) more complex and challenging that your standard FPS game, and something that has a bright future in the form of dynamic and meaningful results from battles, MW:O is a great title to get onboard with. It's not all here yet, but it's getting there.
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2014
    8
    i notice the lack of recent reviews on the game and its content. so allow me to enlighten you, mechwarrior online has been the main gave ii notice the lack of recent reviews on the game and its content. so allow me to enlighten you, mechwarrior online has been the main gave i have played for what will soon be three years if i am correct, right after it came out of open beta. (i had the misfortune of not learning about the game until i couldn't get the founders pacl! >.< ) i first joined up with a casual group that was part of a few competitions and i loved it but casual play got dry over time, and after a good 6 months the group had a falling out and went casual only. i have sense joined another group and am highly competitive and am proud to have put ruffly 800 dollars into the game and i play it every day.

    the game has a great structure but suffers from a bad match making system as does all games. you defiantly need to have at least a little intelligence, COD players are a joke among the community and if your "competitive experience" is battlefield, you wont do well.

    =====community warfare has a set date=====

    yes community warfare will be out soon, but its small compared to all the competitions that are going on now. if you want to up your game join a comp group plain and simple, look into good builds toy around. people who think only for them selves here suck.

    i have never had a day where i didn't want to play but i have become frustrated and i have become angry. but i learn to roll with the punches

    hope this helps, and quit being so butt-hurt everyone. complaining on the Internet never got anyone anywhere :)
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    Chipped in for the "crowd funding of the game" and it WAS fun for the first few months. The next year after open beta though, it wentChipped in for the "crowd funding of the game" and it WAS fun for the first few months. The next year after open beta though, it went downhill.

    Currently game has no lobbies, matchmaking is simplistic at best, and the graphics are actually worse than they were a year ago. Also expect to be confused for a WHILE after you start playing. Protip: Ask someone to explain ghost heat to you.

    The game as been more-or-less in its current state for ALMOST A YEAR. If that doesn't tell you much about the game, I don't know what will. It's gotten stale, and the design decisions the development team has taken with the things they have changed range from confusing at best to outright bad for the game.

    Play if you like mechs. You might have fun for awhile, but unless the game changes in any real meaningful way anytime soon, expect to be bored after that time.

    Also I'd advise against spending money unless you clearly agree with where the game is and where it's going. Don't let the developers place that "carrot on a stick" with some promises. They haven't delivered on any of them yet, don't expect that to change.
    Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    3
    Pay no attention to the man behind that curtain!

    Just as with the Great and Powerful Oz, once you pull back the curtain the magic of
    Pay no attention to the man behind that curtain!

    Just as with the Great and Powerful Oz, once you pull back the curtain the magic of Mechwarrior Online is irrevocably gone forever.

    September 17--the Mechwarrior Online launch date--signaled the end of the closed beta. This is how the closed beta ends; not with a bang, but a whimper.

    The game is built on CryEngine which has a poor track record when it comes to netcode optimization. The result is a jumbled mess of poor hit detection and a decidedly incompetent development team who seem more interested in creating skins and mech ornaments (that cost real money) rather than correcting underlying imbalances and gameplay issues. Unlike other F2P games such as World of Tanks, War Thunder, etc, there is no discernible progression. The game quite literally limits itself to buying mechs and upgrades via C-BILLS that are earned in matches. By that standard, there is more advancement strategy in Battlefield 3.

    The initial awe of the game eventually gives way to the grim reality: MWO looks pretty, but the looks are only skin deep. What could have been a rich, fulfilling addition to the Mechwarrior franchise is instead seen as a money-grab by PGI who upsold the game during the closed-beta period. At this point, the minimal differences between the final version and the closed-beta don't justify a years' worth of development and certainly don't deserve your hard earned monies.

    These aren't the droids you're looking for.
    Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2015
    2
    What's cool about it? Mechwarrior!! Mechs!! Friends!! and that's about it. I enjoy playing it with my friends because I'm playing a game withWhat's cool about it? Mechwarrior!! Mechs!! Friends!! and that's about it. I enjoy playing it with my friends because I'm playing a game with my friends. We play it because it's Mechwarrior and we loved Mechwarrior not because it's Mechwarrior Online by PGI. I've been in since "Closed Beta" and at this point 3 years after I joined the game has not been delivered as promised. It's a Free to Grind your butt off game hell bent on frustrating you with it's grind so that you spend real money to try and get some traction. Graphics have actually gone backwards, game play is stale even after the Beta of Community Warfare has been released. The Dev team started out grateful to it's community, then grew to loath and insult the community, and now seems to be trying to make amends for treating the community so poorly in an effort to keep the product viable. It's a watered down version of what was sold to Founders, full of broken promises and lack of optimization. Bad leadership at the top, lack of progress, and stale game play with a terrible grind. It's a disgrace to the Mechwarrior genre. I'd rather buy a game outright then to have the grind required with this game and the miserable performance it has 3 years after I joined it. Maybe the real Mechwarrior fans will get lucky and PGI will fail so someone else can make a new Mechwarrior. Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2015
    0
    MWO was supposed to be Mechwarrior 5 - when that failed for whatever reason they took the bones of a decent mechwarrior game and decided toMWO was supposed to be Mechwarrior 5 - when that failed for whatever reason they took the bones of a decent mechwarrior game and decided to prostitute them for whatever wampum they could get.

    What this leaves behind is a game with two play modes:

    Get randomly messed up by others for 15 minutes or 30 minutes.

    While this wide variety of game types would have satisfied no one, the pay to win system is especially unwelcome, as the games economy allows you to grind forever for no real result - while paying actual dollars is the only way to get the things you need.

    All that would've been forgivable - if I could have played a single player campaign like MW4 Mercs.

    But as you've read what I have written so far, there's obviously nothing to forgive the crap job they've done of providing a fun Mechwarrior Game.

    If you want to enjoy a game in the Battletech Universe I suggest torrenting one that was released before 2001.
    Expand

See all 754 User Reviews