Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 967 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 4, 2013
    83
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    77
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    73
    Once you get the hang of it all, the strategic combat and its required pre-game build strategy and in-game adaptivity is fun, but don’t expect to master its tricky team-based combat and overwhelming upgrade system without a serious commitment.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    65
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    54
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    Offers much and promises more.
    MW:O is fun, and it is not easy and it gives in every battle a different experience and possibilty to play.
    The potential is enormous so back it and push it and we´ll have a lot more fun in the next years to come.

    Most negative reviewers are just using this chance to give a payback. For whatever they feel cheated about. I really can´t imagine a more serious and demanding fanbase then those Battletech-Fans here.

    Of course MW:O has got its drawbacks and a sheer impossible load of different goals to achieve. But one has to be aware of the fact that its the most complex simulation of Mech-Battles we ever had and that with realtime-multiplayer-combat.
    Sometimes I think "community" wants the Devs to apologize for developing and testing... ridiculous. Thats what beta is all about and there are many games in beta which go the same unstable, sometimes frustrating way. No need for complaining in my eyes.

    Thumbs up!
    I NEVER put more money into a game, without regret, and that since over a year. That sums up my review. Nothing more to say.
    Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    7
    An extremely fun game at it's core, with a promising future to be so much more. Graphics are beautiful, especially the mechs. Free to play, and avoids being pay to win. So much depth to mech customization, and gameplay tactics. This is a game i will be playing for years to come. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    Chipped in for the "crowd funding of the game" and it WAS fun for the first few months. The next year after open beta though, it went downhill.

    Currently game has no lobbies, matchmaking is simplistic at best, and the graphics are actually worse than they were a year ago. Also expect to be confused for a WHILE after you start playing. Protip: Ask someone to explain ghost heat to you.

    The game as been more-or-less in its current state for ALMOST A YEAR. If that doesn't tell you much about the game, I don't know what will. It's gotten stale, and the design decisions the development team has taken with the things they have changed range from confusing at best to outright bad for the game.

    Play if you like mechs. You might have fun for awhile, but unless the game changes in any real meaningful way anytime soon, expect to be bored after that time.

    Also I'd advise against spending money unless you clearly agree with where the game is and where it's going. Don't let the developers place that "carrot on a stick" with some promises. They haven't delivered on any of them yet, don't expect that to change.
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    The game in it's current state is passable. There are no objectives, nothing more than drop in shoot at things for a bit and repeat. Until more meat is added, you'll play for a while and then get bored.
    That isn't why it scores so low.

    The reason for the pathetic score is the developers. They outright promised the gaming community certain features, and then when the community called them out for lying after the exact opposite of what was promised was put into the game the devs said it was the communities fault for ever having believed them in the first place.

    I will not be lied to, and then be told I am in the wrong for being upset about it.

    My advice is play for free for two weeks, then walk away and never come back. You'll get everything good, without any of the pain those of us who put lots of real money into it received for our support. I say this as an elite founder, the highest tier of closed beta supporter.
    Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    2
    This game had potential early on. It has steadily gone down hill. It is not a simulator anymore... it has become an arcade shooter with mechs.
    You might find it fun for a little while but it grows old very quickly.
    The game has no content to speak of... one game mode (they claim two but realistically they have Deathmatch with 1 base... or deathmatch with several bases)
    In addition, the addition of 3pv into the game removed its simulator qualities and the Devs have consistently "dumbed down" the game.
    This game is designed for consoles in my opinion... that is all it is... a console shooter game.
    Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    ok coming from a hardcore 15 year mechwarrior vet and haveing played mechwarrior2 31th GBL merc, mechwarrior 3 & pirates moon, mechwarrior 4 mw4 blackknight & MW4 merc and just too let you know i waz even first round closed beta

    now too start this off even in close beta and gameplay my expectations waz very high for this game the game play at the most part seemed in my mind at the time good and well balanced but the cataphract wasn't out so you didn't see any jump sniping yet and ppc still didnt work so the reason i probably love this game back then waz it waz all brawling back then i love brawling in mechwarrior

    now iv played all mechwarrior's and this one felt good but the sniping dominates the out of this game now

    too top that PGI is now full of themselves and disrespects the true fans of the mechwarrior game and name too make it one big farce too end all farces.

    they have slaped me a core mechwarrior fan and founders supporter in the face too the point i wont give them anymore money.

    they have a huge grind for you too get over and if you want too buy any MC (mechwarrior credits) you will find your paying out of your ass for such a mind numbing game.

    this game mocks and destorys the name MECHWARRIOR and makes me want too cry my self too sleep for how bad they this game up and if they didnt do everything wrong like every outher mechwarrior witch they said they try too never do like 3PV and flush OMG that 1st post for flush module almost made me punch my screen like ****?!>!>!?

    PGI can suck my dick Chris roberts deserves my money so far 600us dollars of it XD
    Expand

See all 718 User Reviews