MechWarrior Online PC

MechWarrior Online Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1048 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    85
    Nice gameplay and deep strategy for the latest incarnation of Mechwarrior. Too bad it lacks any kind of Single Player content.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    83
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    77
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    65
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    54
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is theIt's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2014
    9
    MWO has had many improvements in 2014. The MWO developer PGI got rid of the publisher IGP (which is now in bankruptcy as of Oct 2014) and aMWO has had many improvements in 2014. The MWO developer PGI got rid of the publisher IGP (which is now in bankruptcy as of Oct 2014) and a noticeable change to how they interact with the community occurred overnight. New maps, new mechs, and a brand new community warfare module (just released) have brought a whole new life to the game.

    I have been playing since closed beta as an original founder. There was not much going on for most of 2013, but the changes since PGI took sole responsibility have been very encouraging. It is an exciting time to be a mechwarrior.

    This game is completely free to play. It gives you 4 mechbays to start, which you need to house your mech. Mechbays (and customizations like certain colours and cockpit flair) are the only things that cost real money (MC), though the MC currency used and the mechbays themselves are sometimes offered as prizes during weekend competitions. It is entirely possible to collect quite a few free mechbays and maintain a full roster of mechs without paying a dime.

    The other in-game currency (C-Bills) are awarded after each match. To give you an idea on the grind, the economy is generally as follows:

    You can make roughly 500K - 1 million c-bills an hour, depending on how the matches went, which goes towards buying mechs, weapons, upgrades, etc... Light mechs are roughly 1-4 million, medium mechs 4-6 million, heavy mechs 6-8 million and assault mechs are 8-10 million. Upgrades to make your mech competitive (endosteel, double heat sinks) will cost another 2-3 million c-bills.

    As a new player the first 25 matches gives you an extra bonus so you can use the c-bills from those 25 matches to purchase whichever mech you like. You will have about 10-15 million after the newbie bonus is up. Make your choice wisely!

    One last note is that the game balance is constantly shifting as PGI adds mech quirks and weapon changes. I feel the game is going in the right direction. Still what we now have in community warfare is something that should have been released 2 years ago... Better late than never!
    Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2015
    8
    MWO is a very good experience. Mech are well designed and give a good experience of fighting in a huge robot. It is the only Mechwarrior gameMWO is a very good experience. Mech are well designed and give a good experience of fighting in a huge robot. It is the only Mechwarrior game I know that succeed to balance light vs heavy mech. In all other game, bigger is better (more armor, more weapons). In this game, having a light mech is not only fun (high speed, low figure easy to hide) but in the hand of the best player (not me :), it could be the very efficient.
    The game make you really feel piloting a huge robot: I am often hidden behind a building or a hill. I generally try to show, shoot and go back hiding. Often, part of my mech is still behind the building firing, and half my weapon only shoot the building.
    The game has slowly evolve (it is why I put only a 8). But now, it gets a lot of different maps and 4 different game mode (one where you have to assault a huge base, and you have 4 mechs to drop during the battle).
    There is pretty much no bug now.
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    While this game does have some of its foundation in place it is missing almost all of what the game was described as over the course of itsWhile this game does have some of its foundation in place it is missing almost all of what the game was described as over the course of its development. The only content they release is new mechs, very rarely new maps, and new camo/paint. Core features such as Community Warfare and the Clans have been stated as coming in the next few months with lots of info in the coming weeks; however that is the same thing they have been saying since this time last year. Content is always around the corner but never arrives, nor does any information.

    The devs have a tendency to address problems with weapons/builds by implementing convoluted unintuitive mechanics that are both not fun, and poorly described.

    There are bugs and that is to be expected, but it takes a long time for them to be fixed and even when they are something new pops up.

    The user interface for the game is lacking in almost every aspect, but this should be addressed with the new user interface that has been coming soon since last year.

    The grind for c-bills is to the point of absurdity once you get past you first 25 games.

    The list could really go on and on, but really it is just too frustrating to put it into words on how disappointing the treatment of a beloved franchise by what can only be described as deceitful arrogant developers.

    This game has a lot of potential, however the devs do not.
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    Calling MWO stillborn would be wrong, as it is really more akin to a grotesque, wailing, and thrashing harlequin fetus.

    Either the game
    Calling MWO stillborn would be wrong, as it is really more akin to a grotesque, wailing, and thrashing harlequin fetus.

    Either the game developer is trolling the entire community, or is suffering from the most crippling form of corporate retardation I have ever seen. You have to try to take a franchise with such a dedicated fanbase, and a game with so much promise at the beginning, and throw it all away.

    Time after time PGI has made terrible balance adjustments, fixed issues to things that people never found was a problem, breaking other things in the process, ignored the most rational and helpful members of the player base who were begging them not to this much anticipated title up.
    Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    2
    This was one of the worst games I have played in a long time. I have played almost every Mech Warrior coming into this beta. With fullThis was one of the worst games I have played in a long time. I have played almost every Mech Warrior coming into this beta. With full potential, I started plaything MWO at beta, then slowly went to open beta. Just when you would start to get used to the game play, the DEV's would do some adjustment to heat detection, hit detection, and/or strength of the weapons. Upon every change was a new version but worse with more bugs. Slowly there would be fixes to the bugs and slowly they would add more features. As the game became more robust and started gaining followers, the old mech warrior fans started to die off seeing that shimmer at the end of the tunnel diminish. The game play got worse becoming over burden with rules and strange mathematical equations to find the best way to blow someone up. Unfortunately, every time you got settled in and started winning they would throw another wrench in the game. Now if you have an extremely highly performance graphics card you will enjoy playing this game with some of the highest frame rates known to the gaming industry. As a professional programmer, I can tell you that this game is not optimally programmed and they obviously have no clue how to interact with the game engine. I think you can find better displays of physics on Mario for Nintendo and better hit detection from mortal combat on Sega Genesis. Thank you for making an awesome game a complete pile of garbage. Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2015
    0
    Horribly unbalanced, VERY poor programming, glitchy, slow battles, WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAIIIIIIIIIIIIIITTTTTTTTTIIIIIIIIINGGGGGGGGGGG betweenHorribly unbalanced, VERY poor programming, glitchy, slow battles, WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAIIIIIIIIIIIIIITTTTTTTTTIIIIIIIIINGGGGGGGGGGG between games for an excessive amount of time. MWO fails. Expand

See all 772 User Reviews