Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1020 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    85
    Nice gameplay and deep strategy for the latest incarnation of Mechwarrior. Too bad it lacks any kind of Single Player content.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    83
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    77
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    65
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    54
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is theIt's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    While it would be white-washing to say that the game is without issues (as all new games are), it is clear from reading many of the reviewsWhile it would be white-washing to say that the game is without issues (as all new games are), it is clear from reading many of the reviews that a lot of the people who are slagging the game are disenfranchised individuals who take their dislike of a certain design feature or the unavailability of a feature at launch to mean that they can (and should) call the game garbage. This is, unfortunately, very characteristic of the entitled attitude that many gamers have.

    Shortly before launch, two things happened; a feature that the developers had stated quite some time ago would not be used was in fact put in game (and as of writing this is no longer in any meaningful matches), and Community Warfare (the 'meat and bones') was post-poned. Both were disappointing issues, but understandable on both counts; regarding the first issue of the suddenly-implanted feature, design paradigms change for any product, and it was still Beta; at actual launch, the feature was relegated to 'casual only' games, not true competition. Regarding post-poning Community Warfare, it's only to be expected that a F2P title with a limited budget may have to push a feature back awhile.

    Neither occurrence should be reason to slag the game in horrible ways, but the spite of internet warriors is indeed legendary. I would urge anyone who comes here for advice on what to play to take a good, hard look at what one is reading, and if it looks hyper-negative, to disregard it.

    Fundamentally, MW:O is a Free-to-Play title. Free. As in it does not cost most players a single penny. If this game had been released and/or published by a company like Blizzard-Activision, Microsoft, or even Electronic Arts, I would say that a number of criticisms were fair. As it is, it is a free-to-play title from a minor studio who built a functional and stable game in only two years on a very small budget. Their entire development team wouldn't even fill a single section at any major developer. Perspective goes a long, long way towards affecting how one should see things, and I think that some people simple forget to put this company and this title in said perspective.

    Game Play: Superb. The game has been stable for most players for quite a long time. There are terrain bugs at times, and as with any PvP game, weapons and equipment balance is always in flux; if there are complaints about PvP in games like World of Warcraft, with a decade of development under its belt and billions of dollars to command, it should surprise nobody that MW:O has its own issues. For the most part, though, the game plays well; it feels like you are in command of a giant machine, not like you are some faceless solider in a Call of Duty clone.

    Graphics: Rendered on the Cry Engine, the game looks as one would expect very, very good. DX11 is in the pipe for testing and should only increase the magnitude of what we already see, which is fluid movement, gorgeous lighting, beautifully rendered 'mechs, and a very 'to scale' impression of combat.

    Sound: The effects are brilliant, and especially with headphones or with a good surround-sound system, one feels very much like one is in the of a machine. The only failing is the lack of music. Trailers for the game and trailers for special 'money only' BattleMechs have featured some fantastic music, all original compositions, but none is in the game... yet.

    Overall: If you're a BattleTech or MechWarrior fan, this is worth it. If you're a Call of Duty-style gamer, this is not your kind of game. If you want to play something that requires team-work, something that is far (FAR) more complex and challenging that your standard FPS game, and something that has a bright future in the form of dynamic and meaningful results from battles, MW:O is a great title to get onboard with. It's not all here yet, but it's getting there.
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2014
    8
    i notice the lack of recent reviews on the game and its content. so allow me to enlighten you, mechwarrior online has been the main gave ii notice the lack of recent reviews on the game and its content. so allow me to enlighten you, mechwarrior online has been the main gave i have played for what will soon be three years if i am correct, right after it came out of open beta. (i had the misfortune of not learning about the game until i couldn't get the founders pacl! >.< ) i first joined up with a casual group that was part of a few competitions and i loved it but casual play got dry over time, and after a good 6 months the group had a falling out and went casual only. i have sense joined another group and am highly competitive and am proud to have put ruffly 800 dollars into the game and i play it every day.

    the game has a great structure but suffers from a bad match making system as does all games. you defiantly need to have at least a little intelligence, COD players are a joke among the community and if your "competitive experience" is battlefield, you wont do well.

    =====community warfare has a set date=====

    yes community warfare will be out soon, but its small compared to all the competitions that are going on now. if you want to up your game join a comp group plain and simple, look into good builds toy around. people who think only for them selves here suck.

    i have never had a day where i didn't want to play but i have become frustrated and i have become angry. but i learn to roll with the punches

    hope this helps, and quit being so butt-hurt everyone. complaining on the Internet never got anyone anywhere :)
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    Ok, my first vote was influenced by my anger at the bad release. This game could be great but at this state it is not more than a fill-inOk, my first vote was influenced by my anger at the bad release. This game could be great but at this state it is not more than a fill-in game.

    1) graphic: not bad with directX11 perhaps better. We will see
    2) mechdesign: great work from the lead designer alex iglesias
    3) maps: insufficient and wrong scaled. you havent got the feeling of walking in a 12meter high mech.
    4) ballance: ok, not perfect but ok
    5) sound: nice
    6) music: there is no background music
    7) game modes: only 1 in 2 different variants
    8) long time motivation: none, because there is only the same game mode

    And now to the comment of Russ Bullock (one of the staff of PGI, the company that made this game) you can find here with a 10 point rating. What he desribes is a future vision of MWo. Not one of the features he desribes is in the game. Would they part of the game you would only find here 10/10 ratings. When will you see this features? Nobody knows. The Devs dont talk about that.

    Resume: Wait a few month and perhaps it will be the perfect mech game. Now it is a nice fill-in game but not worth to pay real money for it.
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    MechWarrior Online needs to be judged by the sum total of its parts. We can't use the "Beta" excuse anymore. That means the game's mechanics,MechWarrior Online needs to be judged by the sum total of its parts. We can't use the "Beta" excuse anymore. That means the game's mechanics, gameplay, development cycle and developer are all fair game.

    MWO is a very good mechanical example of how the Cry Engine can be used to create a first person shooter. The concepts are extremely solid and the IP (BattleTech) is second to none.

    MWO is not a very good game.

    I say this because in order for there to be a game, there has to be a reason to play the game. Something to drive you. Unless dumping real money on paint schemes and custom one off mechs that are marginally useless is a gameplay mechanic, then we are left with shooting other mechs, which on the surface is great. Except once the shiny has worn off, you realize you are facing the same 3 mechs with the same 2 weapons over and over. Weapon balance is broken, hit detection is broken, features that were promised a year ago are now over the horizon, the communication in the forums is dead, unless you follow their very specific guidelines and say only nice things.

    At the end of the day, I personally play games because they are fun. I had a lot of fun with MWO when I knew I was playing a beta that had a lot of polish yet to come. But over time, it became clear the developer doesn't quite understand what it has or where it wants to take it. The weapon balance is a perfect example, the weapons go through FOTM phases, as they nerf/change one weapon, another rises, and they have literally gone in a complete circle. What is good today, at launch, was good 1 year ago in beta, and is EXACTLY the same. The play style, the mechanics, none of it have changed for the better.

    In the end, the game hasn't made any real progress in the last year mechanically. They have added more mechs and more maps (Some of which are just god awful, I am sorry, that is what $250k in man hours gets you? I am sorry to hear that..) but the mechs all play the same. It's a matter of finding the FOTM weapons and fitting them to the one you like the most. The matchmaker is a joke, there are no lobbies, no community warfare. I've watched dedicated unit after dedicated unit (Including mine) walk away rather than deal with this hot mess.

    As a F2P shooter, to waste a weekend playing? Give it a shot. As a game you can throw yourself into? Not even close. Might be one day. I for one don't join the doom and gloom crowd, the game is a solid mechanical base for a game. I also won't jump in the bandwagon of all the guys giving it a 10, I recognized no less than 25 names as people associated with or closely aligned with PGI in the reviews that gave 10's. Just sad.
    Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is well crafted. The models look beautiful. The weapons beautiful. combat system feels like every mech warrior game i have played except for mech warrior 4. The horrible downside is this game is pay to win. For all your mech warrior fans out there willing to spend easily 500+ dollars to get the mechs and weapons you desire this is the game for you. sadly i do love this game but I despise all pay to win aspects any game incorporates. aside from the fact they want to hook you up to an iv and suck the life force from you to get a good foot hold into the game. I do like almost everything else about the game. I have a few complaints about the time it takes to earn things. Even with premium time i have already dropped roughly 60$ in to this game and still have close to nothing. while i am fighting people with clan weaponry( that is pay for with real cash) i only have basic weaponry and i am being destroyed this game is slowly losing my interest because i don't have 1000 dollars to drop into a game just to be remotely competitive. This game feels like sad attempt just to make money instead of bringing mech warrior the way it should to the consumer. sad very sad but true. Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2015
    0
    MWO was supposed to be Mechwarrior 5 - when that failed for whatever reason they took the bones of a decent mechwarrior game and decided toMWO was supposed to be Mechwarrior 5 - when that failed for whatever reason they took the bones of a decent mechwarrior game and decided to prostitute them for whatever wampum they could get.

    What this leaves behind is a game with two play modes:

    Get randomly messed up by others for 15 minutes or 30 minutes.

    While this wide variety of game types would have satisfied no one, the pay to win system is especially unwelcome, as the games economy allows you to grind forever for no real result - while paying actual dollars is the only way to get the things you need.

    All that would've been forgivable - if I could have played a single player campaign like MW4 Mercs.

    But as you've read what I have written so far, there's obviously nothing to forgive the crap job they've done of providing a fun Mechwarrior Game.

    If you want to enjoy a game in the Battletech Universe I suggest torrenting one that was released before 2001.
    Expand

See all 756 User Reviews