Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1011 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    85
    Nice gameplay and deep strategy for the latest incarnation of Mechwarrior. Too bad it lacks any kind of Single Player content.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    83
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    77
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    65
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    54
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is theIt's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    MWO is a fun game at its core. The levels and mechs are beautiful and the controls are, once gotten used to, make sense and work well. PGIMWO is a fun game at its core. The levels and mechs are beautiful and the controls are, once gotten used to, make sense and work well. PGI has a relatively small team and what they've accomplished is nothing short of amazing. Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2015
    8
    MWO is a very good experience. Mech are well designed and give a good experience of fighting in a huge robot. It is the only Mechwarrior gameMWO is a very good experience. Mech are well designed and give a good experience of fighting in a huge robot. It is the only Mechwarrior game I know that succeed to balance light vs heavy mech. In all other game, bigger is better (more armor, more weapons). In this game, having a light mech is not only fun (high speed, low figure easy to hide) but in the hand of the best player (not me :), it could be the very efficient.
    The game make you really feel piloting a huge robot: I am often hidden behind a building or a hill. I generally try to show, shoot and go back hiding. Often, part of my mech is still behind the building firing, and half my weapon only shoot the building.
    The game has slowly evolve (it is why I put only a 8). But now, it gets a lot of different maps and 4 different game mode (one where you have to assault a huge base, and you have 4 mechs to drop during the battle).
    There is pretty much no bug now.
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    Chipped in for the "crowd funding of the game" and it WAS fun for the first few months. The next year after open beta though, it wentChipped in for the "crowd funding of the game" and it WAS fun for the first few months. The next year after open beta though, it went downhill.

    Currently game has no lobbies, matchmaking is simplistic at best, and the graphics are actually worse than they were a year ago. Also expect to be confused for a WHILE after you start playing. Protip: Ask someone to explain ghost heat to you.

    The game as been more-or-less in its current state for ALMOST A YEAR. If that doesn't tell you much about the game, I don't know what will. It's gotten stale, and the design decisions the development team has taken with the things they have changed range from confusing at best to outright bad for the game.

    Play if you like mechs. You might have fun for awhile, but unless the game changes in any real meaningful way anytime soon, expect to be bored after that time.

    Also I'd advise against spending money unless you clearly agree with where the game is and where it's going. Don't let the developers place that "carrot on a stick" with some promises. They haven't delivered on any of them yet, don't expect that to change.
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    Ultimately, MWO aspires to be much more than it is. However, after 2 years of development, it is tragically short of an enjoyable experience.Ultimately, MWO aspires to be much more than it is. However, after 2 years of development, it is tragically short of an enjoyable experience. How long PGI and IGP can keep this game breathing remains to be seen, however they have already reversed course on multiple design pillars and other promises that they used in order to sell the game to their customer base. It seems to be a classic case of changing horses mid stream current rumors point to a potential XBONE port which may have greased the palms required to accomplish such a consumer unfriendly change in course.

    The game itself is marginally satisfying, if you're all about deathmatch in robots with counterstrike like rounds (no respawns), but for many, this will likely wear thin very quickly for all but the die-hard.

    Hope remains that this franchise will eventually be rebooted with a realistic and honestly presented set of goals and implementations.
    Expand
  6. May 20, 2014
    2
    Coming from someone who spent more than $200 on MWO over the past two years - do not make the mistake I did. Do not invest one penny intoComing from someone who spent more than $200 on MWO over the past two years - do not make the mistake I did. Do not invest one penny into this game. Play it entirely for free if you'd like, I encourage that, but do not invest yourself in this game. I have been playing since closed beta and while the game itself can be fun and engaging in short spurts, it has little staying power. Worse, the game has been declining heavily for the past year. As time has gone by, the devs have shown themselves to be far more dedicated to pushing new items for the cash grab than to developing actual content. Features that were promised to be implemented more than a year ago have yet to be implemented or if they have been, are often partially if not entirely locked behind a pay wall, features that come standard in almost every other F2P shooter.

    Here is a specific example of the types of shady actions PGI is prone to. Some time ago (end of last summer, perhaps) they decreased the rate at which you earn the in game currency (C-Bills) to the point that it takes a solid week of grinding matches several hours a night to afford one new mech, and another few days on top to customize it. Not only this, but to master a pilot tree for the mech (which is a crucial edge in game, providing huge benefits), you must own and play with at least three variants. This means it takes a good month of grinding to unlock ONE chassis so you can be on par with those who have been playing for longer. Add on to this that there is little to no training so I have routinely seen new players get absolutely stomped by veterans, making it that much more miserable to slog through. But wait! There IS hope! You can just pay them lots of money and unlock it now! The above is a great example or why it really seems to me that the current model is to frustrate new players into spending money before they realize that the game simply isn't worth it.

    I joined a Clan and became part of an active community centered on MWO last May. Since then, I have seen the player base steadily decline as PGI constantly pushes more items for purchase while doing very little to improve the state of the game. In addition, they are absolutely horrible at listening to player feedback - they are the absolute worst for censoring or flat out deleting posts that openly criticize aspects of the game on the official forums. There are some communities hanging on and you will find players who scoff at the discontent, but frequently, they aren't the ones who paid hundreds in to this game to watch it flop.

    Long story short, I paid more than $200 into this game, supporting it over the past two years and for my time and money, I have a bushel full of broken promises and gameplay that becomes more infuriating with every new patch, as the devs seemingly mess with things at random, flat out deny existing problems, pay wall basic features, or heaven only knows what. I gave up trying to see their reasoning several months ago. If you're still really wanting to play, do your research first, please. Look up the other gripes (and oh are there many) and go in with your eyes open.
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    This game is not a worthy successor to anything. The game play is worse than Mechwarrior 3 & 4 plus the mech lab is degrees of magnitude worseThis game is not a worthy successor to anything. The game play is worse than Mechwarrior 3 & 4 plus the mech lab is degrees of magnitude worse than they had. The price for the game is $100s or 1000s of hours your choice, but both bad choices for a poor game. Expand

See all 751 User Reviews