Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 986 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    85
    Nice gameplay and deep strategy for the latest incarnation of Mechwarrior. Too bad it lacks any kind of Single Player content.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    83
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    77
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    65
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    54
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    I'm a long-time Battletech fan, and this game feels pretty authentic. If one spends any time on the forums, it's easy to see that there's pretty much a civil war between the relative handful of people who actually frequent the boards. If you don't visit the forums, the game is quite fantastic. The graphics are fantastic, and the Mechs and weapons are very well done. There's a bit of a learning curve, but as a codgery old purist I like it that way.

    The current game needs some variety, but that's on its way. The feature roadmap looks exciting, even if there have been delays. There were some questionable development choices, such as putting Mech knockdown on the back burner, and introducing third person view in direct contravention of the community, which is why MWO doesn't get a 10. The codger in me is grumpy about these things, but we can't always get everything we want. The publisher has to make money somehow, or there wouldn't be a game at all.

    Overall, I rate MWO very highly, and recommend it to anyone who gets a kick out of blowing up giant robots with other giant robots.
    Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    7
    An extremely fun game at it's core, with a promising future to be so much more. Graphics are beautiful, especially the mechs. Free to play, and avoids being pay to win. So much depth to mech customization, and gameplay tactics. This is a game i will be playing for years to come. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    Chipped in for the "crowd funding of the game" and it WAS fun for the first few months. The next year after open beta though, it went downhill.

    Currently game has no lobbies, matchmaking is simplistic at best, and the graphics are actually worse than they were a year ago. Also expect to be confused for a WHILE after you start playing. Protip: Ask someone to explain ghost heat to you.

    The game as been more-or-less in its current state for ALMOST A YEAR. If that doesn't tell you much about the game, I don't know what will. It's gotten stale, and the design decisions the development team has taken with the things they have changed range from confusing at best to outright bad for the game.

    Play if you like mechs. You might have fun for awhile, but unless the game changes in any real meaningful way anytime soon, expect to be bored after that time.

    Also I'd advise against spending money unless you clearly agree with where the game is and where it's going. Don't let the developers place that "carrot on a stick" with some promises. They haven't delivered on any of them yet, don't expect that to change.
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    This game is not ready for prime time. The only reason it has made it this far is due to the name "BattleTech" attached to it. There are better free simulations and shooters out there: Hawken, World of Tanks, and War Thunder.

    - No community interface
    - Terrible joystick support
    - Weapons are not balanced
    - Mech "hit boxes" are bugged
    - Server relay (position) is bugged
    Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2013
    2
    Game registry is purposely nerfed if you have a high elo.
    Moderators delete any talk on the forum about anything faulting the developers.

    Matchmaker is broken.
    Maps and mech selection are boring and repetitive due to design flaws.
    Game itself is repetitive.

    I was so excited for this... but now it's just
    Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2014
    0
    The game is decent, for a non-lane based MOBA. Unfortunately, this is not what the producers of the game were pitching at the onset. This game is rife with problems and is a testament as to how not to treat your customers. The way the game cycles is that most of the mechs can be purchased without spending any real money. However, when powerful mechs are introduced, they are first sold for real money and then for in-game currency several weeks later. The problem with this is, once these mechs are sold for in-game currency, the developers do a major balance pass which makes them almost non-competitive.

    The most powerful mechs in the game, which are all named "hero" mechs, are only for sale for real money. Several gameplay mechanics have been introduced which the developers promised the original supporters of the game that they would never include.

    This game would have been decent, if not for the missteps of the developer and their inability to keep the promises made to those who helped fund their game.
    Expand

See all 732 User Reviews