MechWarrior Online PC


Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1027 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    Nice gameplay and deep strategy for the latest incarnation of Mechwarrior. Too bad it lacks any kind of Single Player content.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is theIt's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    Mechwarrior online is great game with few unfinished features what have got part of playerbase upsed but core gameplay is awesome. ManyMechwarrior online is great game with few unfinished features what have got part of playerbase upsed but core gameplay is awesome. Many balance problems are fixed and game is nowadays much fun. Game has steep learning curve but time spent wont be wasted. Hope that more players would get interesred this mechmayhem. See you on battlefield. Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2014
    MW:O is a turbulent game. With a poorly handled launch, and frankly the following year or so, the developers did not do well with the game.MW:O is a turbulent game. With a poorly handled launch, and frankly the following year or so, the developers did not do well with the game. However, with the removal of IGP as publishers, PGI have taken great strides in repairing the game to make it enjoyable and worth your while.

    If you haven't played MW:O, or indeed any MechWarrior game before, it is a game of giant mech combat, although unlike previous games which have been much more grounded in simulation, MW:O is much easier to access for new players. There are a variety of 'Mech chassis, at the time of writing over 40, and each is divided into one of four weight classes, from 'light' to 'assault'. Each 'Mech has different hardpoints and equipment, and specialises in different types of combat, such as sniping or brawling.

    Another important part of the game is customisation, of which there is lots of. Heavily based on the BattleTech table top war game of which MechWarrior originated from, players are able to modify armour, weapons, equipment and more to create their own personal variants of 'Mechs, meaning that you never quite know what your opponent is packing.

    The combat itself can be incredibly addictive, taking parts both from the slower paced previous games with much more confined, arena style maps ensuring combat can be both slow and strategic and quick and brutal. Newbies can expect to make many mistakes that will usually get them killed, although if they are willing to stick with the learning curve, can find an incredibly rewarding game underneath.

    This is not without bad points, of course. MechWarrior fans of previous games may find it frustrating that the game values arena gameplay more than open field combat. Furthermore, the weapon values have been balanced in a way that means combat will always be relatively close range, although the sniper or missile support roles are still entirely viable.

    This of course leads to the most controversial element of MechWarrior: Online. The Free2Play business model. This has had some ups and downs, and still has some sore areas. For example, purchasing paints and camos can be highly expensive in real world money. Likewise, many may find it insane that the 'pre-order' packs for new 'Mechs can easily go into the hundreds of dollars for the top tiers.

    However, this is of course forgetting that MechWarrior: Online is a relatively small game in terms of audience, and caters for enthusiasts. And, to say that MechWarrior: Online requires money to play, is entirely incorrect. Every 'Mech in the game can be purchased with the in-game currency 'c-bills', along with nearly every piece of equipment, weapon or upgrade. Indeed, much of this can only be purchased with c-bills. Restricted real-world currency items are limited to colours, camos, 'hero' 'Mechs, which are simply alternative variants with unique camos, and cockpit decorative items. Hence, the game is entirely playable without spending a cent, and in many ways this justifies the high prices.

    The final element is variety of gameplay. This has been another sore point for some time as MechWarrior: Online has previously been limited to skirmish style matches, which lack the strategic depth many have come to expect from a MechWarrior title. Recently, however, PGI have released the much anticipated Community Warfare game mode, which allows players to compete on a real time 3D map of the Inner Sphere, choosing to fight for IS houses or Clans, and creating unit groups and competing in new attack/defend game modes and maps. This adds a new element of gameplay that is sure to be expanded upon in the future.

    So, in summary, MechWarrior: Online has had a bumpy road. There is no doubt about it that the game was poorly handled early on, either by publisher or developer, and didn't achieve many of its goals. However, it would seem a new era for PGI has dawned, and with a sudden jump in content, game modes, community interactivity and balancing, there has never been a better time to check it back out.
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    Ok, my first vote was influenced by my anger at the bad release. This game could be great but at this state it is not more than a fill-inOk, my first vote was influenced by my anger at the bad release. This game could be great but at this state it is not more than a fill-in game.

    1) graphic: not bad with directX11 perhaps better. We will see
    2) mechdesign: great work from the lead designer alex iglesias
    3) maps: insufficient and wrong scaled. you havent got the feeling of walking in a 12meter high mech.
    4) ballance: ok, not perfect but ok
    5) sound: nice
    6) music: there is no background music
    7) game modes: only 1 in 2 different variants
    8) long time motivation: none, because there is only the same game mode

    And now to the comment of Russ Bullock (one of the staff of PGI, the company that made this game) you can find here with a 10 point rating. What he desribes is a future vision of MWo. Not one of the features he desribes is in the game. Would they part of the game you would only find here 10/10 ratings. When will you see this features? Nobody knows. The Devs dont talk about that.

    Resume: Wait a few month and perhaps it will be the perfect mech game. Now it is a nice fill-in game but not worth to pay real money for it.
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    MechWarrior Online needs to be judged by the sum total of its parts. We can't use the "Beta" excuse anymore. That means the game's mechanics,MechWarrior Online needs to be judged by the sum total of its parts. We can't use the "Beta" excuse anymore. That means the game's mechanics, gameplay, development cycle and developer are all fair game.

    MWO is a very good mechanical example of how the Cry Engine can be used to create a first person shooter. The concepts are extremely solid and the IP (BattleTech) is second to none.

    MWO is not a very good game.

    I say this because in order for there to be a game, there has to be a reason to play the game. Something to drive you. Unless dumping real money on paint schemes and custom one off mechs that are marginally useless is a gameplay mechanic, then we are left with shooting other mechs, which on the surface is great. Except once the shiny has worn off, you realize you are facing the same 3 mechs with the same 2 weapons over and over. Weapon balance is broken, hit detection is broken, features that were promised a year ago are now over the horizon, the communication in the forums is dead, unless you follow their very specific guidelines and say only nice things.

    At the end of the day, I personally play games because they are fun. I had a lot of fun with MWO when I knew I was playing a beta that had a lot of polish yet to come. But over time, it became clear the developer doesn't quite understand what it has or where it wants to take it. The weapon balance is a perfect example, the weapons go through FOTM phases, as they nerf/change one weapon, another rises, and they have literally gone in a complete circle. What is good today, at launch, was good 1 year ago in beta, and is EXACTLY the same. The play style, the mechanics, none of it have changed for the better.

    In the end, the game hasn't made any real progress in the last year mechanically. They have added more mechs and more maps (Some of which are just god awful, I am sorry, that is what $250k in man hours gets you? I am sorry to hear that..) but the mechs all play the same. It's a matter of finding the FOTM weapons and fitting them to the one you like the most. The matchmaker is a joke, there are no lobbies, no community warfare. I've watched dedicated unit after dedicated unit (Including mine) walk away rather than deal with this hot mess.

    As a F2P shooter, to waste a weekend playing? Give it a shot. As a game you can throw yourself into? Not even close. Might be one day. I for one don't join the doom and gloom crowd, the game is a solid mechanical base for a game. I also won't jump in the bandwagon of all the guys giving it a 10, I recognized no less than 25 names as people associated with or closely aligned with PGI in the reviews that gave 10's. Just sad.
  6. Sep 13, 2014
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is well crafted. The models look beautiful. The weapons beautiful. combat system feels like every mech warrior game i have played except for mech warrior 4. The horrible downside is this game is pay to win. For all your mech warrior fans out there willing to spend easily 500+ dollars to get the mechs and weapons you desire this is the game for you. sadly i do love this game but I despise all pay to win aspects any game incorporates. aside from the fact they want to hook you up to an iv and suck the life force from you to get a good foot hold into the game. I do like almost everything else about the game. I have a few complaints about the time it takes to earn things. Even with premium time i have already dropped roughly 60$ in to this game and still have close to nothing. while i am fighting people with clan weaponry( that is pay for with real cash) i only have basic weaponry and i am being destroyed this game is slowly losing my interest because i don't have 1000 dollars to drop into a game just to be remotely competitive. This game feels like sad attempt just to make money instead of bringing mech warrior the way it should to the consumer. sad very sad but true. Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2015
    Horribly unbalanced, VERY poor programming, glitchy, slow battles, WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAIIIIIIIIIIIIIITTTTTTTTTIIIIIIIIINGGGGGGGGGGG betweenHorribly unbalanced, VERY poor programming, glitchy, slow battles, WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAIIIIIIIIIIIIIITTTTTTTTTIIIIIIIIINGGGGGGGGGGG between games for an excessive amount of time. MWO fails. Expand

See all 761 User Reviews