Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1006 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    85
    Nice gameplay and deep strategy for the latest incarnation of Mechwarrior. Too bad it lacks any kind of Single Player content.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    83
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    77
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    65
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    54
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is theIt's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    MWO is a fun game at its core. The levels and mechs are beautiful and the controls are, once gotten used to, make sense and work well. PGIMWO is a fun game at its core. The levels and mechs are beautiful and the controls are, once gotten used to, make sense and work well. PGI has a relatively small team and what they've accomplished is nothing short of amazing. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2014
    8
    i notice the lack of recent reviews on the game and its content. so allow me to enlighten you, mechwarrior online has been the main gave ii notice the lack of recent reviews on the game and its content. so allow me to enlighten you, mechwarrior online has been the main gave i have played for what will soon be three years if i am correct, right after it came out of open beta. (i had the misfortune of not learning about the game until i couldn't get the founders pacl! >.< ) i first joined up with a casual group that was part of a few competitions and i loved it but casual play got dry over time, and after a good 6 months the group had a falling out and went casual only. i have sense joined another group and am highly competitive and am proud to have put ruffly 800 dollars into the game and i play it every day.

    the game has a great structure but suffers from a bad match making system as does all games. you defiantly need to have at least a little intelligence, COD players are a joke among the community and if your "competitive experience" is battlefield, you wont do well.

    =====community warfare has a set date=====

    yes community warfare will be out soon, but its small compared to all the competitions that are going on now. if you want to up your game join a comp group plain and simple, look into good builds toy around. people who think only for them selves here suck.

    i have never had a day where i didn't want to play but i have become frustrated and i have become angry. but i learn to roll with the punches

    hope this helps, and quit being so butt-hurt everyone. complaining on the Internet never got anyone anywhere :)
    Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    4
    “In the 30th century, life is cheap, but Battlemechs aren't.” All the white knights and sock account reviews in the world aren't going to save“In the 30th century, life is cheap, but Battlemechs aren't.” All the white knights and sock account reviews in the world aren't going to save this junk from the criticism it deserves. I began playing MWO since it became open beta (Oct 2012), and have many fond memories of the tabletop BattleTech game and most iterations of FASA's property on home computer from MechCommander through to MW4. MWO began in a tolerable state, but has slowly degenerated and in its current form is an insult to the BattleTech IP, having thrown out or just plain ignored 3 the 4 proposed design pillars of 'Mech combat. A disappointing waste of potential and player time; MechWarrior in name only, the meticulous and engrossing BattleTech universe has been reduced to shallow deathmatch combat, and deviates from 20 years of canon at an alarming rate. There appears to be a lot of underlying technicality, though this solely comes into play when configuring weapon loadouts, heat management, armour slots (as you'd expect). In-game, it makes no difference; a boring and repetitive exercise which consists of two teams of players stomping to the middle of the map and blowing the sh!t out of eachother. Choosing any class other than assault is pointless, players are not encouraged to use light or medium mechs, so its Awesome class all the way. Variants dependent on LRM modules have been made obsolete, by the awfully implemented ECM, thus your carefully constructed LRM boat might as well be walking around with a "Shoot Me!" sign on its back. There are a frighteningly small number of maps, and two game modes: 1. stomp to the middle of the map and shoot the other guys, or 2. stomp to the middle of the map and shoot the other guys with the pretence of base capture. There are no lobbies to join, matchmaking is a disaster and team balancing is terrible. New players in useless trial 'Mechs are thrown in with veteran players and are essentially free kills. 'Mechs are ridiculously expensive, a newb will be looking at grinding 25+ matches in order to earn sufficient C-Bills to afford their first variant, or 5 to 20 hours depending on class. Expect to pay real world money for lacklustre vanity/cosmetic items like fluffy dice or a colour palette. Overall, MWO is a painfully average, dull, unpleasant, diluted POS shooter dressed up in BattleTech clothes that gives little incentive to persevere. The upshot is that you can try it for yourself, free of charge. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    This game is not ready for prime time. The only reason it has made it this far is due to the name "BattleTech" attached to it. There areThis game is not ready for prime time. The only reason it has made it this far is due to the name "BattleTech" attached to it. There are better free simulations and shooters out there: Hawken, World of Tanks, and War Thunder.

    - No community interface
    - Terrible joystick support
    - Weapons are not balanced
    - Mech "hit boxes" are bugged
    - Server relay (position) is bugged
    Expand
  6. May 20, 2014
    2
    Coming from someone who spent more than $200 on MWO over the past two years - do not make the mistake I did. Do not invest one penny intoComing from someone who spent more than $200 on MWO over the past two years - do not make the mistake I did. Do not invest one penny into this game. Play it entirely for free if you'd like, I encourage that, but do not invest yourself in this game. I have been playing since closed beta and while the game itself can be fun and engaging in short spurts, it has little staying power. Worse, the game has been declining heavily for the past year. As time has gone by, the devs have shown themselves to be far more dedicated to pushing new items for the cash grab than to developing actual content. Features that were promised to be implemented more than a year ago have yet to be implemented or if they have been, are often partially if not entirely locked behind a pay wall, features that come standard in almost every other F2P shooter.

    Here is a specific example of the types of shady actions PGI is prone to. Some time ago (end of last summer, perhaps) they decreased the rate at which you earn the in game currency (C-Bills) to the point that it takes a solid week of grinding matches several hours a night to afford one new mech, and another few days on top to customize it. Not only this, but to master a pilot tree for the mech (which is a crucial edge in game, providing huge benefits), you must own and play with at least three variants. This means it takes a good month of grinding to unlock ONE chassis so you can be on par with those who have been playing for longer. Add on to this that there is little to no training so I have routinely seen new players get absolutely stomped by veterans, making it that much more miserable to slog through. But wait! There IS hope! You can just pay them lots of money and unlock it now! The above is a great example or why it really seems to me that the current model is to frustrate new players into spending money before they realize that the game simply isn't worth it.

    I joined a Clan and became part of an active community centered on MWO last May. Since then, I have seen the player base steadily decline as PGI constantly pushes more items for purchase while doing very little to improve the state of the game. In addition, they are absolutely horrible at listening to player feedback - they are the absolute worst for censoring or flat out deleting posts that openly criticize aspects of the game on the official forums. There are some communities hanging on and you will find players who scoff at the discontent, but frequently, they aren't the ones who paid hundreds in to this game to watch it flop.

    Long story short, I paid more than $200 into this game, supporting it over the past two years and for my time and money, I have a bushel full of broken promises and gameplay that becomes more infuriating with every new patch, as the devs seemingly mess with things at random, flat out deny existing problems, pay wall basic features, or heaven only knows what. I gave up trying to see their reasoning several months ago. If you're still really wanting to play, do your research first, please. Look up the other gripes (and oh are there many) and go in with your eyes open.
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    This game is not a worthy successor to anything. The game play is worse than Mechwarrior 3 & 4 plus the mech lab is degrees of magnitude worseThis game is not a worthy successor to anything. The game play is worse than Mechwarrior 3 & 4 plus the mech lab is degrees of magnitude worse than they had. The price for the game is $100s or 1000s of hours your choice, but both bad choices for a poor game. Expand

See all 748 User Reviews