Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1023 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 14, 2014
    85
    Nice gameplay and deep strategy for the latest incarnation of Mechwarrior. Too bad it lacks any kind of Single Player content.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    83
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    77
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    65
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    54
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is theIt's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    MWO is a fun game at its core. The levels and mechs are beautiful and the controls are, once gotten used to, make sense and work well. PGIMWO is a fun game at its core. The levels and mechs are beautiful and the controls are, once gotten used to, make sense and work well. PGI has a relatively small team and what they've accomplished is nothing short of amazing. Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2015
    8
    MWO is a very good experience. Mech are well designed and give a good experience of fighting in a huge robot. It is the only Mechwarrior gameMWO is a very good experience. Mech are well designed and give a good experience of fighting in a huge robot. It is the only Mechwarrior game I know that succeed to balance light vs heavy mech. In all other game, bigger is better (more armor, more weapons). In this game, having a light mech is not only fun (high speed, low figure easy to hide) but in the hand of the best player (not me :), it could be the very efficient.
    The game make you really feel piloting a huge robot: I am often hidden behind a building or a hill. I generally try to show, shoot and go back hiding. Often, part of my mech is still behind the building firing, and half my weapon only shoot the building.
    The game has slowly evolve (it is why I put only a 8). But now, it gets a lot of different maps and 4 different game mode (one where you have to assault a huge base, and you have 4 mechs to drop during the battle).
    There is pretty much no bug now.
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    Ok, my first vote was influenced by my anger at the bad release. This game could be great but at this state it is not more than a fill-inOk, my first vote was influenced by my anger at the bad release. This game could be great but at this state it is not more than a fill-in game.

    1) graphic: not bad with directX11 perhaps better. We will see
    2) mechdesign: great work from the lead designer alex iglesias
    3) maps: insufficient and wrong scaled. you havent got the feeling of walking in a 12meter high mech.
    4) ballance: ok, not perfect but ok
    5) sound: nice
    6) music: there is no background music
    7) game modes: only 1 in 2 different variants
    8) long time motivation: none, because there is only the same game mode

    And now to the comment of Russ Bullock (one of the staff of PGI, the company that made this game) you can find here with a 10 point rating. What he desribes is a future vision of MWo. Not one of the features he desribes is in the game. Would they part of the game you would only find here 10/10 ratings. When will you see this features? Nobody knows. The Devs dont talk about that.

    Resume: Wait a few month and perhaps it will be the perfect mech game. Now it is a nice fill-in game but not worth to pay real money for it.
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    MechWarrior Online needs to be judged by the sum total of its parts. We can't use the "Beta" excuse anymore. That means the game's mechanics,MechWarrior Online needs to be judged by the sum total of its parts. We can't use the "Beta" excuse anymore. That means the game's mechanics, gameplay, development cycle and developer are all fair game.

    MWO is a very good mechanical example of how the Cry Engine can be used to create a first person shooter. The concepts are extremely solid and the IP (BattleTech) is second to none.

    MWO is not a very good game.

    I say this because in order for there to be a game, there has to be a reason to play the game. Something to drive you. Unless dumping real money on paint schemes and custom one off mechs that are marginally useless is a gameplay mechanic, then we are left with shooting other mechs, which on the surface is great. Except once the shiny has worn off, you realize you are facing the same 3 mechs with the same 2 weapons over and over. Weapon balance is broken, hit detection is broken, features that were promised a year ago are now over the horizon, the communication in the forums is dead, unless you follow their very specific guidelines and say only nice things.

    At the end of the day, I personally play games because they are fun. I had a lot of fun with MWO when I knew I was playing a beta that had a lot of polish yet to come. But over time, it became clear the developer doesn't quite understand what it has or where it wants to take it. The weapon balance is a perfect example, the weapons go through FOTM phases, as they nerf/change one weapon, another rises, and they have literally gone in a complete circle. What is good today, at launch, was good 1 year ago in beta, and is EXACTLY the same. The play style, the mechanics, none of it have changed for the better.

    In the end, the game hasn't made any real progress in the last year mechanically. They have added more mechs and more maps (Some of which are just god awful, I am sorry, that is what $250k in man hours gets you? I am sorry to hear that..) but the mechs all play the same. It's a matter of finding the FOTM weapons and fitting them to the one you like the most. The matchmaker is a joke, there are no lobbies, no community warfare. I've watched dedicated unit after dedicated unit (Including mine) walk away rather than deal with this hot mess.

    As a F2P shooter, to waste a weekend playing? Give it a shot. As a game you can throw yourself into? Not even close. Might be one day. I for one don't join the doom and gloom crowd, the game is a solid mechanical base for a game. I also won't jump in the bandwagon of all the guys giving it a 10, I recognized no less than 25 names as people associated with or closely aligned with PGI in the reviews that gave 10's. Just sad.
    Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2014
    2
    The game itself is buggy sometimes warping and it desyncs alot. The ping-lag doesn't help. don't bother with this game it's unplayable. it'sThe game itself is buggy sometimes warping and it desyncs alot. The ping-lag doesn't help. don't bother with this game it's unplayable. it's way expensive too i see some people up to their necks in pay mechs posting good reviews to protect their baby's You only have to read everywhere else to find out about the companies bad practices and I can't blame the critics I've experienced the troubles myself with such bad balancing of weapons and bandaid after bandaid fixes it went from poor to outright ludicrous. 2 year they've been at this!? it's like a buggy demo, an arena with thing in the menu that always a WIP. oh and that menu UI thingy is a horrid clickfest.

    worse still is the pricing you'll be paying full retail price games for the least amount of content and by virtue of the games multiple perk additions to your character you have to buy stuff to upgrade or you'll be using trials for so long and sand in your face for so long you'll hate the game. there's little tutorials to some controls but tactics, swim with the sharks and pay 2 winners in mechs vastly superior to what you can have for the first 50 matches. not a good F2P system at all.

    overall it's really bad experience i'm going back to MW4 much more sorted out game with more lore in it to!
    Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2015
    0
    MWO was supposed to be Mechwarrior 5 - when that failed for whatever reason they took the bones of a decent mechwarrior game and decided toMWO was supposed to be Mechwarrior 5 - when that failed for whatever reason they took the bones of a decent mechwarrior game and decided to prostitute them for whatever wampum they could get.

    What this leaves behind is a game with two play modes:

    Get randomly messed up by others for 15 minutes or 30 minutes.

    While this wide variety of game types would have satisfied no one, the pay to win system is especially unwelcome, as the games economy allows you to grind forever for no real result - while paying actual dollars is the only way to get the things you need.

    All that would've been forgivable - if I could have played a single player campaign like MW4 Mercs.

    But as you've read what I have written so far, there's obviously nothing to forgive the crap job they've done of providing a fun Mechwarrior Game.

    If you want to enjoy a game in the Battletech Universe I suggest torrenting one that was released before 2001.
    Expand

See all 758 User Reviews