• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Medieval II: Total War Kingdoms Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Medieval II: Total War Kingdoms is the official expansion to Medieval II: Total War, presenting players with all-new territories to explore, troops to command, and enemies to conquer. Kingdoms features four new entire campaigns centered on expanded maps of the British Isles, TeutonicMedieval II: Total War Kingdoms is the official expansion to Medieval II: Total War, presenting players with all-new territories to explore, troops to command, and enemies to conquer. Kingdoms features four new entire campaigns centered on expanded maps of the British Isles, Teutonic Northern Europe, the Middle East, and the Americas. In Medieval II, players were only given a glimpse of South America, but in Kingdoms, vast tracts of land in both North and South America have been opened up for players to conquer. All-new factions from the New World are also now fully playable, including the Aztecs, Apaches, and Mayans. Along with the new maps in the Britannia, Teutonic, Crusades, and New World Campaigns, there are 13 new factions to play, over 110 units to control, and 50 building types, adding up to 80 hours of new gameplay. Kingdoms also offers new multiplayer maps and hotseat multiplayer, a first for the Total War series, allowing players to play one-versus-one campaign games on the same computer. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    Kingdoms breathes fresh life into the Total War franchise, just when it needs it most.
  2. A general clean up of what was already a consummate package, with the addition of some incredibly absorbing new campaigns.
  3. There's almost no reason not to mount your horse and charge through the doors of PC World, beheading the security guard with a Zweihander and screaming blood-oaths as you enter your pin number, to get hold of a copy of Kingdoms. Only the weak will not be buying this expansion pack, and frankly, the weak are there to be trampled. [Sept 2007, p.82]
  4. A great expansion pack, and it's the standard to which all other expansions should hold themselves.
  5. 84
    True, there are some surprises in the way the new campaigns play out but, dog warriors and Greek fire aside, Medieval 2 fans will be in very familiar territory here.
  6. The problem with all these things which have been coded to create historical semi-realism is that it creates a limit of the tech-tree they can climb.
  7. Options like the hotseat multiplayer turn out being a massive waste of time. Lastly, the expansion doesn't integrate very well with Medieval II, with each campaign operating like a stand-alone, multi-part, Total War scenario.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. AriB.
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    Wonderful! sweet! if you like Medieval Total War then you will love Kingdoms. I can't let it out of my sight!
  2. ChrisM
    May 8, 2009
    10
    This game is well balanced and somewhat historically accurate and is well balanced
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    Great, just great. Improves the original game a lot. And there are 4 whole campaigns! Each one is really unique so you won't get bored. ThereGreat, just great. Improves the original game a lot. And there are 4 whole campaigns! Each one is really unique so you won't get bored. There are also plenty of new units. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    I wasnt to amused with the new campaigns but mods of this game are amazing. Having played community made mods for countless of hours this isI wasnt to amused with the new campaigns but mods of this game are amazing. Having played community made mods for countless of hours this is probably the single player game i have played the most in my life.. Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2012
    8
    A great addition to the original game. Good variety of campaigns and units. Unfortunately the American civilizations are too similar for myA great addition to the original game. Good variety of campaigns and units. Unfortunately the American civilizations are too similar for my tastes. Just as good as Medieval II. Expand
  6. Meestykpi
    Sep 23, 2007
    8
    Total War: Kingdoms gets an 8 from me for 2 reasons. While the devs hold back improvements to make more money from expansions and sequels in Total War: Kingdoms gets an 8 from me for 2 reasons. While the devs hold back improvements to make more money from expansions and sequels in secrecy, and 2nd, for playing it safe and copying a safe formula from other games that already successfully introduced sea warfare in games like Sea Dogs, Age of Sails, BB, VC, Rise and Fall, etc... to their upcoming game. There isn't any new elements to Total War: Kingdoms, because pretty much any contents into Kingdoms are from Rome: Total War. More paint, more scripts, more variety of units, more land to conquer, but all is easily added with the editor. The combat system remains the same as in Rome. AI is still buggy as usual when you watch a battle unfolds before you. You still can observe that the cavalry or even the infantry has a "rigid" behaviour of catching up to the enemy before the final slaughter in which there's a lack of cohesiveness into the mechanics. Also, when you observe one of your units pursuing a spread out enemy unit instead of being close and in formation, that's when you truly see where the game has gone down the drain... It's an awful feeling to see your enemy make a successful escape (just because your units cannot individually spread out to make a final blow to the enemy as they tend to reform themselves somehow, very poor AI) while your own units waste their breath chasing them to the edge of the battle map thus having to fight them again at a later time. Therefore, the devs never improved this engine even after Rome: Total War as they claimed. Definitely not a buy in future games from them if there is little to no changes to the AI behaviour. Those who gave a 10, increase your medication. Expand
  7. MikeW.
    Sep 15, 2007
    0
    I'm giving this expansion a 0 in protest! I was really looking forward to playing the multiplayer campaign hotseat with my brother only I'm giving this expansion a 0 in protest! I was really looking forward to playing the multiplayer campaign hotseat with my brother only to find that when it comes to a fight the attacking player only gets to control his/her side. The defending player has to put his/her troops in the hands of the A.I. As you can imagine this is not acceptable and makes the campaign multiplayer useless! Expand

See all 22 User Reviews