User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 194 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 194
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OssieOs
    Jul 13, 2003
    8
    Nice game. it's only buggy sometimes, u can clearly see that the developers rushed to bring out this game as soon as possible.
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Its not just great but also dark its full of turmoil and violence its simply the best medieval game which brings the horror of the medieval age into the player to feel the terror and religious conflicts of the dark ages Best game in the series so far.
  3. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Best game of the series holding its throne together with Rome total war..this "risk" style of moving across the map also has its own charm i still play it active after 10 years
  4. THAMAN
    Jul 13, 2003
    8
    Good game. it's a shame, however, that the developers rushed to bring out this game as soon as possible. u can clearly see that in the game sometimes.
  5. ArtoT.
    Aug 27, 2005
    6
    The reviews are far too optimistic as games are usually reviewed asap from release... the problems of the game are evident with a few campaigns. While the Battle map (or RTS) part of the game is great, the turn based strategy part is full of problems such as lousy AI especially in economy which won't build much units to resist you, or build new techs, and diplomacy that simply does The reviews are far too optimistic as games are usually reviewed asap from release... the problems of the game are evident with a few campaigns. While the Battle map (or RTS) part of the game is great, the turn based strategy part is full of problems such as lousy AI especially in economy which won't build much units to resist you, or build new techs, and diplomacy that simply does not make sense. Also archers are way underpowered, shooting at a mass of unarmored peasants with about 1 of 20 arrows killing. Expand
  6. JohnB.
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    The best ever game throughout history of PC games...
  7. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    My first Total War game. After that, I never looked back! Excellent game in all respects, have not ever had a single issue with it. Loved playing it as a kid, love playing it still today. Great stuff!!
  8. [Anonymous]
    Sep 4, 2002
    10
    It feels like you're back in the middle ages. Comprehensive and compelling. I couldn't stop playing.
  9. Maelsrom
    Oct 3, 2002
    10
    Awesome.
  10. Destructed
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    An amazing game that takes the total war genre to new levels. As a strategy game, it is the absolute best. No other compares to the massive battles and awesome campaign. Of course there are some flaws, but they don't in any way take away from the fun of the game. I heard that only way that the pawns could be difficult to move is if you're a retarded faggot who can't see pastAn amazing game that takes the total war genre to new levels. As a strategy game, it is the absolute best. No other compares to the massive battles and awesome campaign. Of course there are some flaws, but they don't in any way take away from the fun of the game. I heard that only way that the pawns could be difficult to move is if you're a retarded faggot who can't see past the dick in your mouth. You wouldn't know a good game if it was in your ass homo. Expand
  11. JohnR.
    Oct 17, 2002
    10
    SO AWESOME! Better than Shogun with a good strategy system and the best battle system i've ever seen in a game! Plus, the music is awesome too! BUY IT TODAY!
  12. FredD.
    Oct 7, 2006
    0
    It is a horrible game, it makes age of the empires seem good, the pawns are hard to manuever and the graphics are horrible.
  13. TedBundy
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    Though it desperately could use a patch for modern systems, as it crashes on post 8 series of Nvidia cards -- it's still the best Total War game to date. Everything that was released after this became bloated, shined up and streamlined for the graphic whore children of today. The classic game board style, while not offering as many specific placements as the newer games, had a great Though it desperately could use a patch for modern systems, as it crashes on post 8 series of Nvidia cards -- it's still the best Total War game to date. Everything that was released after this became bloated, shined up and streamlined for the graphic whore children of today. The classic game board style, while not offering as many specific placements as the newer games, had a great design and Risk-like charm of its own that's sorely missing with all the newer mediocre games CA keep churning out. The AI was also superior to its sequels in the campaign map and with the XL mod, this game will last you for ages. If you have an older PC or video card, stick with this one. Expand
  14. BrandonE.
    Oct 6, 2002
    9
    My perspective of the M:TW is fresh as I have never played "S:TW". With that, if I where accurately describe this game in one word it would be "compeling". This game has also sparked my interest in learning more about the medieval history. Definite replay ability.
  15. MafiaGuy
    Nov 1, 2003
    10
    This is excellent - a great game to play (for those that like to play strategy games)!
  16. JohnnyN.
    Oct 3, 2002
    8
    This game is damn addictive!
  17. ConstantinD.
    Oct 11, 2002
    8
    It is more difficult than shogun any way, more complex but i feel that there are too many unrest in provinces you already concquerd. I appreciate that this pcgames exist. sorry my english. i'm from Romania.
  18. JonasH
    Mar 29, 2008
    9
    The first turn-based strategy game I actually enjoyed. Even though I play Medieval 2 today, I still tend to play a quick campaign in this one once in a while.
  19. FranciscoT.
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    No lo he probado por no poder conseguirlo de alguna manera, asi que haced algo para mayor facilidad.
  20. Kangta
    Oct 23, 2002
    9
    Shogun:Total War left me wanting for more of the same kind of strategy, and its sequel, Medieval truly delivers. If you seek more realistic strategy campaigns with addictive management and 3D battles all in one, this is the game for you. Not a perfect score though for its lack of improvement in battle scene graphics. But still, if you want a game that would keep your eyes glued to the PC Shogun:Total War left me wanting for more of the same kind of strategy, and its sequel, Medieval truly delivers. If you seek more realistic strategy campaigns with addictive management and 3D battles all in one, this is the game for you. Not a perfect score though for its lack of improvement in battle scene graphics. But still, if you want a game that would keep your eyes glued to the PC all day, Medieval would not disappoint. Expand
  21. NitsS.
    Aug 28, 2003
    9
    I love this game. It is a lot like risk in a lot of ways but much more action. I like the way you can fight the battles your self and the way you can zoom in to see the solgers up close and personal. The only thing I don't like about the game is the men take too long to die. From your fan Nits GREAT GAME.
  22. NickR
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    Great simulator , very fun. Large scope , wonderful graphics. I have not had any bug problems which seem to have plagued many people. Multiplayer is amazingly fun. Bullet Physics is awesome. Love that it is not run and gun but slow and deliberate tactics in gun battles.
  23. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    A good RTS game, I am a big crusades history buff, not to mention a big fan of medieval battles, and so this game, particularly the Crusades expansion, was a dream come true. As per usual, the unit detail and overall graphics are amazing and the best part of this game is definitely the real-time battle element. The AI is kind of shoddy and the campaign map gameplay is not the best, but IA good RTS game, I am a big crusades history buff, not to mention a big fan of medieval battles, and so this game, particularly the Crusades expansion, was a dream come true. As per usual, the unit detail and overall graphics are amazing and the best part of this game is definitely the real-time battle element. The AI is kind of shoddy and the campaign map gameplay is not the best, but I do love this game. Just not perfect because there's a lot of room for improvement still. Expand
  24. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Best game of the series of total war the main game map is the best bit
    the war maps are all much the same
    if your a rome total war fan you will love this i would say most people would like this more than rome
  25. Jul 29, 2017
    10
    This game is great. You can conquered the whole world and fight against many different armies. You can fight in real time deciding everything or you can make a quick battle. If you are a good strategist it's better to combat directly yourself. You'll save more soldiers for your future battles. I only recommend the quick battle when you have conquered many territories and you have manyThis game is great. You can conquered the whole world and fight against many different armies. You can fight in real time deciding everything or you can make a quick battle. If you are a good strategist it's better to combat directly yourself. You'll save more soldiers for your future battles. I only recommend the quick battle when you have conquered many territories and you have many resources (then you don't mind to lose some soldiers). I still remember that I wasn't able to reach America cause I had to upgrade my ships and I didn't know that! lol Expand
  26. Apr 25, 2018
    9
    It's not a perfect game, far from it. Still I enjoy it more than any other Total war game I have played. A very enjoyable game really.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. No other game can be properly compared to it.
  2. 87
    A very deep game, one that is bound to excite fans of Shogun along with anyone looking for another reason to stay up really late playing a turn-based strategy game.
  3. 89
    If you want real time strategy with more teeth you cannot ignore this.