Medieval: Total War PC

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 175
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenM.
    Aug 27, 2002
    9
    A simply magnificent game. Medieval: Total War improves on its superb predecessor Shogun in almost every way. Guide the destiny of your dominion and armies through 400 years of history, featuring a great balance of addictive Risk-style empire building and unmatched combat realism and strategic depth. Nothing like it on the market today. A point taken off for the diplomacy, which could A simply magnificent game. Medieval: Total War improves on its superb predecessor Shogun in almost every way. Guide the destiny of your dominion and armies through 400 years of history, featuring a great balance of addictive Risk-style empire building and unmatched combat realism and strategic depth. Nothing like it on the market today. A point taken off for the diplomacy, which could have been improved over Shogun. Your options in dealing with other empires are rather anemic compared to games like Civilization III or Europa Universalis. But never mind that- if you like strategy, or Middle Ages history, or even the fights in Braveheart, get this game. Expand
  2. OssieOs
    Jul 13, 2003
    8
    Nice game. it's only buggy sometimes, u can clearly see that the developers rushed to bring out this game as soon as possible.
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Its not just great but also dark its full of turmoil and violence its simply the best medieval game which brings the horror of the medieval age into the player to feel the terror and religious conflicts of the dark ages Best game in the series so far.
  4. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Best game of the series holding its throne together with Rome total war..this "risk" style of moving across the map also has its own charm i still play it active after 10 years
  5. THAMAN
    Jul 13, 2003
    8
    Good game. it's a shame, however, that the developers rushed to bring out this game as soon as possible. u can clearly see that in the game sometimes.
  6. JohnB.
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    The best ever game throughout history of PC games...
  7. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    My first Total War game. After that, I never looked back! Excellent game in all respects, have not ever had a single issue with it. Loved playing it as a kid, love playing it still today. Great stuff!!
  8. [Anonymous]
    Sep 4, 2002
    10
    It feels like you're back in the middle ages. Comprehensive and compelling. I couldn't stop playing.
  9. Maelsrom
    Oct 3, 2002
    10
    Awesome.
  10. Destructed
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    An amazing game that takes the total war genre to new levels. As a strategy game, it is the absolute best. No other compares to the massive battles and awesome campaign. Of course there are some flaws, but they don't in any way take away from the fun of the game. I heard that only way that the pawns could be difficult to move is if you're a retarded faggot who can't see pastAn amazing game that takes the total war genre to new levels. As a strategy game, it is the absolute best. No other compares to the massive battles and awesome campaign. Of course there are some flaws, but they don't in any way take away from the fun of the game. I heard that only way that the pawns could be difficult to move is if you're a retarded faggot who can't see past the dick in your mouth. You wouldn't know a good game if it was in your ass homo. Expand
  11. JohnR.
    Oct 17, 2002
    10
    SO AWESOME! Better than Shogun with a good strategy system and the best battle system i've ever seen in a game! Plus, the music is awesome too! BUY IT TODAY!
  12. TedBundy
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    Though it desperately could use a patch for modern systems, as it crashes on post 8 series of Nvidia cards -- it's still the best Total War game to date. Everything that was released after this became bloated, shined up and streamlined for the graphic whore children of today. The classic game board style, while not offering as many specific placements as the newer games, had a great Though it desperately could use a patch for modern systems, as it crashes on post 8 series of Nvidia cards -- it's still the best Total War game to date. Everything that was released after this became bloated, shined up and streamlined for the graphic whore children of today. The classic game board style, while not offering as many specific placements as the newer games, had a great design and Risk-like charm of its own that's sorely missing with all the newer mediocre games CA keep churning out. The AI was also superior to its sequels in the campaign map and with the XL mod, this game will last you for ages. If you have an older PC or video card, stick with this one. Expand
  13. BrandonE.
    Oct 6, 2002
    9
    My perspective of the M:TW is fresh as I have never played "S:TW". With that, if I where accurately describe this game in one word it would be "compeling". This game has also sparked my interest in learning more about the medieval history. Definite replay ability.
  14. MafiaGuy
    Nov 1, 2003
    10
    This is excellent - a great game to play (for those that like to play strategy games)!
  15. JohnnyN.
    Oct 3, 2002
    8
    This game is damn addictive!
  16. ConstantinD.
    Oct 11, 2002
    8
    It is more difficult than shogun any way, more complex but i feel that there are too many unrest in provinces you already concquerd. I appreciate that this pcgames exist. sorry my english. i'm from Romania.
  17. AetiusP.
    Dec 5, 2002
    9
    I loved Shogun, and then Shogun Warlord Edition. But this game is definatly way above those two earlier models. I just hope the devlopers next project is Rome: Total War!
  18. JonasH
    Mar 29, 2008
    9
    The first turn-based strategy game I actually enjoyed. Even though I play Medieval 2 today, I still tend to play a quick campaign in this one once in a while.
  19. FranciscoT.
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    No lo he probado por no poder conseguirlo de alguna manera, asi que haced algo para mayor facilidad.
  20. Kangta
    Oct 23, 2002
    9
    Shogun:Total War left me wanting for more of the same kind of strategy, and its sequel, Medieval truly delivers. If you seek more realistic strategy campaigns with addictive management and 3D battles all in one, this is the game for you. Not a perfect score though for its lack of improvement in battle scene graphics. But still, if you want a game that would keep your eyes glued to the PC Shogun:Total War left me wanting for more of the same kind of strategy, and its sequel, Medieval truly delivers. If you seek more realistic strategy campaigns with addictive management and 3D battles all in one, this is the game for you. Not a perfect score though for its lack of improvement in battle scene graphics. But still, if you want a game that would keep your eyes glued to the PC all day, Medieval would not disappoint. Expand
  21. NitsS.
    Aug 28, 2003
    9
    I love this game. It is a lot like risk in a lot of ways but much more action. I like the way you can fight the battles your self and the way you can zoom in to see the solgers up close and personal. The only thing I don't like about the game is the men take too long to die. From your fan Nits GREAT GAME.
  22. NickR
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    Great simulator , very fun. Large scope , wonderful graphics. I have not had any bug problems which seem to have plagued many people. Multiplayer is amazingly fun. Bullet Physics is awesome. Love that it is not run and gun but slow and deliberate tactics in gun battles.
  23. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    A good RTS game, I am a big crusades history buff, not to mention a big fan of medieval battles, and so this game, particularly the Crusades expansion, was a dream come true. As per usual, the unit detail and overall graphics are amazing and the best part of this game is definitely the real-time battle element. The AI is kind of shoddy and the campaign map gameplay is not the best, but IA good RTS game, I am a big crusades history buff, not to mention a big fan of medieval battles, and so this game, particularly the Crusades expansion, was a dream come true. As per usual, the unit detail and overall graphics are amazing and the best part of this game is definitely the real-time battle element. The AI is kind of shoddy and the campaign map gameplay is not the best, but I do love this game. Just not perfect because there's a lot of room for improvement still. Expand
  24. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Best game of the series of total war the main game map is the best bit
    the war maps are all much the same
    if your a rome total war fan you will love this i would say most people would like this more than rome
  25. Nov 23, 2015
    9
    Medieval Total War is one of Creative Assembly’s best. In Medieval Total War you can choose one of twelve playable factions: Holy Roman Empire, England, France, Italians, Byzantium, Poland, Almohads, Turks, Egypt, Danes, Hungary and Russia. You may select which period to start the campaign. There are three periods to choose from and will determine the situational context of each factionMedieval Total War is one of Creative Assembly’s best. In Medieval Total War you can choose one of twelve playable factions: Holy Roman Empire, England, France, Italians, Byzantium, Poland, Almohads, Turks, Egypt, Danes, Hungary and Russia. You may select which period to start the campaign. There are three periods to choose from and will determine the situational context of each faction and the technology available.

    If you are more for battles, there is the option to fight historical, quick or custom battles. In historical battles you are given preselected scenarios such as Stamford Bridge or Hastings for example. In quick battles the game randomly chooses the battlefield and conditions. And in custom battles you can build your army, the one of your enemy, and even choose the battleground.

    The campaign offers the map that comprises Europe, North Africa and part of the Middle East. The map is divided in provinces and each province has its resources, religion (which can be altered by agents). You start off with some controlled provinces, armies and agents. Then is it up to you to choose your course of action, depending on which kind of campaign you are playing. You can select to conquer all provinces in a grand campaign, or win by earing points by achievements depending on the factions you choose

    If you play the campaign, there are important elements to consider. For instance, religion plays a relevant part of the game. If you choose a catholic faction there will be implications with the Papal State. If you choose Turks, Almohads or Egypt, the religion will be of course that of Islam. And there are the orthodox factions such as Byzantium and Russia. The same way, some provinces will have a set religion and conquest of said provinces will have an effect according to the religious affiliation of the conquering faction.

    Other aspect of the game that is very interesting is the ruling family. Your faction leader has a family and each character will develop traits, vices and virtues. So there are some RPG elements in the game. Some faction heirs will be good at commanding armies, others will be at management and others would be better to keep a close eye on since they could turn on you. Now, the generals can also gain traits, virtues and vices. Some of the will have hidden vices that could only be known if you send in a spy. Moreover, catholic and orthodox factions will have also princesses. When they are age 15 they can be send to spy on other factions, and even to propose marriage, which will have interesting political and strategic implications.

    So the strategic layer of the game consists on the grand scheme of things. You build your cities, train armies, manage the economy and religion, and administer taxes procuring to keep the provinces loyal. You also spy on other factions, send assassins against your enemies or even your own generals who are about to betray you. Emissaries and priest can be ordered to seal alliances or impart the religion of your faction.

    In the tactical part of the game, you command your armies in battle. Battles occur when to confronting armies collide in the same province. You will have the option of commanding your forces directly in the battle map, auto resolve the battle or retreat (sometimes there is no option). If you choose to command your armies in combat, the battlefield map will appear. Armies will have the same units and position as in the strategic map.

    In terms of graphics, the game does the job. In the strategic layer you have a 2d map and units are well represented, as well as the forts, castles and ports. In the tactical aspect of the game, units are not as detailed as in later installments, but since you are commanding armies and not a lone soldier, you can consider the graphics very good. Each unit is distinctive; there is smoke, rain, dust.

    Sound: the music is amazing. When you are in the strategic map the music does a great job of immersion. In the battlefield the music changes according to the situation. Sound effects are pretty good but sometimes a bit lacking in when armies are fighting.

    Medieval Total War is a classic strategy game, combining turn-based and RTS elements. Replay value is very high since every campaign and battles are different each time. This game has deeper gameplay with many strategic and tactical factors to consider. If you consider yourself a player who enjoys substance over flashy gameplay, this game is for you and it will last for a very long time. A good value for money.
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. No other game can be properly compared to it.
  2. 87
    A very deep game, one that is bound to excite fans of Shogun along with anyone looking for another reason to stay up really late playing a turn-based strategy game.
  3. 89
    If you want real time strategy with more teeth you cannot ignore this.