User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 89
  2. Negative: 6 out of 89

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    The story is absorbing, exciting and mysterious. The characters are well animated, interesting and occasionally even funny. The visuals are stunning, with the beautifully hand drawn backdrops merging well with the computer animated characters that have more life than any drawn character could. The puzzles are intuitive, logical and occasionally very challenging and all in all, Memoria is a well polished, well delivered game with a decent length and an interesting story. There are bad points but to be honest these are far outweighed by the many, many good ones. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    I've played almost all of Daedelic's lovely adventure games and this is the first that didn't feel at all like a homage to the genre. Instead, it is a work of gaming fiction and design that stands alone on its own merits, weaving a beautiful, haunting tale (with several lovely twists) with fairly seamless, reasonably logical puzzles. While the art is beautiful, the voice acting (in English) could do with some polish, but these are trivial points when considering the breadth and depth of this game.

    I would generally agree with others that the characters could have been built up more in order to truly reinforce the narrative and its twists, but given the number of key characters (three, effectively), it was always going to be a big ask. Still, overall, excellently done, and here's hoping for another entry in the series in the near future.
    Expand
  3. Sep 8, 2013
    8
    I've enjoyed it quite a bit. The story is good, the visuals acceptable. The puzzles are more logical than in the Night of the Rabbit, but still I had to check a guide from time to time.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    The princess' story is engaging and mysterious. Graphic quality varies but is mostly high. I didn't have any trouble getting stuck due to illogical puzzles (and button that will show you all the "hotspots" on a screen where you can interact with something is very useful). And whenever you got a chance to use a magic spell it was fun. Sometimes I questioned whether one could actually physically accomplish the task the characters did with the tools they use, but that's a silly quibble I guess. It's also odd/interesting that the fantasy story mentions Mogul sorcerors and Caliphs. Voice acting wasn't bad. The ending is at the same time surprising, satisfying and also confusing (did we ever get an answer to the riddle?). Good fun all in all. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Awesome quest. Great sequel. I cried at the end Recommend playing after the first part, which is called "The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav". As for the gameplay the developers used a very good solution to simplify puzzles. Graphics awesome. Characters too (especially Nouri and Saja). Thanks Deadeliс for your magical quests
  6. Fuz
    Apr 28, 2014
    10
    I'm not a big fan of Daedalic, but this one is an amazing adventure.
    Very captivating story with some nice twists, interesting characters, great puzzles, fantastic art.
    The only downsides are the subpar animations and the bad voice acting. But they're small flaws, and all things considered, the game is great.
    It's recommended to play Chains of Satinav before this, but it's not necessary.
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    6
    I really like the first game in this series and given the high reviews other people have given this game I had high hopes for the sequel.

    I'm about half way through the third chapter and unfortunately I'm having a really hard time struggling to continue playing the game. Not up to Daedalic's usual high standards, it's almost as if the game was developed by a different team.

    When I
    got to the large, frustrating and boring maze in the third chapter I knew this game probably isn't worth playing. Why to game designers continue to include mazes in adventure games? A few other puzzles are also ridiculous. I don't remember this being a problem in the first game. Expand
  8. Aug 30, 2013
    4
    Well, not sure what to think on this one, wasn't able to complete the game because I could not deal with the sub-par voice acting. Overall, 4/10 would not recommend...
  9. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    The story in the game was extremely immersive and well designed, I devoured it whole during three very long gaming sessions where I simply could not just stop. Another shining star of this game was beautiful hand drawn graphics and interesting characters. That is the strong part of the game and I will definitely reccommend it to everyone.
    However it is also important to mention some of
    the drawbacks I encountered. Puzzles were okay, but I found them too obvious or plain ridiculous, only a few were somewhere in between that left me with a warm feeling of accomplishment. The game also glitched a lot on my few months old high-end PC. And for the last thing, I don't understand in general achievements in a point-and-click adventure game. Seriously, why ? Such games don't have a replay value ... or at least not right after I finished it. Okay, I can forgive that, but at least after finishing the game I would like to go and get those achievements. Unfortunately, no. I can only start all over or use only my own saves (which I dont have many since it is an adventure game). And yeah no jumping to chapters. Nevermind, the negatives of this game are more or less insignificant, so do yourself a favor and go dive into the Memoria story ! Expand
  10. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Daedalic is awesome.. now my favourite game company!!! Following in Sierra's footsteps! Memoria is an excellent game with a great story.. Puzzles aren't too difficult and fairly logical most of the time. Memorable characters, great artwork, etc... loved it!!!
  11. Feb 3, 2014
    7
    An entertaining point 'n' click adventure in the old school sense - which means challenging puzzles, beautiful 2D backdrops and an immersive world. Unfortunately the voice acting can be pretty terrible at times and music is sometimes non-existent for certain scenes, so there could've been a lot more work done in the audio department.
  12. May 5, 2014
    10
    When a tear sheds from your eyes during a game's clymatic ending, then it's a game that you won't easily forget (an i'm not a very emotiional person), i probably watched the ending cinematic about twenty times and everytime i get goosebumps, memoria's captivating story, solid voice acting and superb characters like Sharisad and her staff put this game a big cut above deponia (and its disappointing ending) and chains of satinav himself. Expand
  13. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    This is a fairly solid game, very well made and fun to play. Me and my girlfriend have spent an entire weekend playing it and we had a blast. Pretty much everything about this game is amazing. There are one or two weaker chapters, some of the voice-acting could have been a bit better, but overall - money well spent. This is edfinitely one of the games that make you feel like if you have just finished reading a beautiful fantasy novel. Good job. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    70
    Fans of The Dark Eye setting will likely have this down to complete their collection. The rest of us get a decent introduction to a setting we've probably not heard of before and might want to check out if we have the time.
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    70
    The story payoff is there. Memoria is a good game for adventure gamers who are looking for that payoff and aren’t put off by the game’s occasional dry spells.
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    78
    An adventure from the old school, but an absorbing example of one, and worth a look. [Dec 2013, p.89]