User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnR
    Feb 11, 2009
    3
    This game simply sucks ass. It came a long time after Vietcong and a short time before Medal of Honor: Paficic Assault and both games featured better graphics and better gameplay than Men of Valor. Okay, Men of Valor actually has nice jungle graphics. But everything else is simply bad. The characters look bad, the weapons look bad, the missions are simply unrealistic bullshit, so is the This game simply sucks ass. It came a long time after Vietcong and a short time before Medal of Honor: Paficic Assault and both games featured better graphics and better gameplay than Men of Valor. Okay, Men of Valor actually has nice jungle graphics. But everything else is simply bad. The characters look bad, the weapons look bad, the missions are simply unrealistic bullshit, so is the fighting, the scripted sequences are animated like in the first 3d rpgs, the 'innovative' health system is stupid and even the music by Inon Zur seriously disappointed me. Okay - whether you like the way the story is told - that's a question of taste. But I simply cannot explain to myself how this game could find any fans at all and how it's possible, that the game is so much worse than Medal of Honor: Allied Assault - after all, it's the same people who have been working on both these games. I give the game three points for nice jungle gfx and the attempt to touch topics which have not been part of any other wargame before - but anything else about it is simply crap (starting with the title which expresses something absolutely different than the game itself). Collapse
  2. PeterF.
    Apr 21, 2006
    6
    I bought this game for 10$ so im not that fusturated but i fell sorry for the people who bought it at $100. You guys must have ripped all your hair out. This game started out preety good. It has unique and different objectives to other games. I hate in games where you are gving an objective like destroy weapon catches or blow up a technical. BORING! These had different objectives which i I bought this game for 10$ so im not that fusturated but i fell sorry for the people who bought it at $100. You guys must have ripped all your hair out. This game started out preety good. It has unique and different objectives to other games. I hate in games where you are gving an objective like destroy weapon catches or blow up a technical. BORING! These had different objectives which i liked at the start. The first mission was ok but then after a while it gets really annoying, you hav those gay and corny letters whenever you start or die in a mission. Which happens very frequently because of invisible enemies in trees killing you while the stupid ai enemies stand there and yell ".... .." While your ai squad friends yell stupid and repeatative stuff and they block you and they don't kill any enemies. People are saying the graphics are fantastic but they arn't that great. Comapred to bf2 and moh it looks like its been done in paint on your computer. I can't get into maultiplayer because it keeps on telling me to get the updated patch, i keep doing that but it won't let me download it because it says i have it but i DON'T! The Ai is horrible, worse then the first battlefield, graphics are ok the only plus side in single player is missions are different to other games but the saving is ridiculous, you having to start everytime. THis game was really dissapointing but the funny thing is its probably the best vietnam war pc game which is preety dissapointing. I hope they learnt their mistakes and come out with a better sequel. Expand
  3. RobertH.
    Dec 30, 2005
    7
    I thought it was a very well played game there were some flaws but much better that medal of Honer Pacific Assult the jugle fighting was much better.
  4. FredM.
    Sep 22, 2005
    5
    At one point, I had high hopes for this game....then I bought it. I became worried where in the first scene, when your team is playing football at the camp, the ball travels in a straight line. No physics, no nothing. I aimed above the guy I was throwing to, assuming that it would arc in flight, but no...it just flew off the map, and most likely achieved orbit since it never stopped going At one point, I had high hopes for this game....then I bought it. I became worried where in the first scene, when your team is playing football at the camp, the ball travels in a straight line. No physics, no nothing. I aimed above the guy I was throwing to, assuming that it would arc in flight, but no...it just flew off the map, and most likely achieved orbit since it never stopped going in that straight line. Things got worse when I started dying in levels due to "god-guns". A "god-gun", you see, is when the game decides to spawn gunfire from the woods bordering where you are, in order to keep you from getting to close to said borders. Kinda like simulating more people in the woods that you can't see....the problem here is that most of the time, I'm more worried about them killing me than the people I can actually see! Now, the graphics are a plus, although more so the environment than characters or weapon models...and I like the aiming system, forcing you to stop and aim to fire, and allowing you to lean while in that aiming mode. This is all shot to crap, however, by the atrocious AI. Enemies will come from all directions, and they will be idiots. Unfortunately, they are rather accurate idiots...I've restarted levels dozens of times because of either intensely difficult objectives or errors in the game. And don't expect help from teammates either - they will most likely be too busy shouting stupid, repetitive dialogue whilst firing whole clips and not hitting a single thing. The teammates are even worse than your enemies...they get in the way, they are ultimately useless in battle other than meat-shields, and many times their AI freezes. I've had parts where a guy gets stuck on a log (I suppose he could've just jumped over it...oh no wait there is no "jump" control omgwtfroflbbq??!!11one), and after a minute or so of flailing around trying to free himself from said log, his AI just shuts off, reverting him to a model standing there, lifeless and stupid-like. Too bad that many times, that person is needed to trigger something that continues the mission. Time to restart again! Oh, and one final issue...whatever goes on within that game, it really does a number on my graphics card. I have a 3.2Ghz processor, 3GB PC3200 RAM, and a BFG6800 OC....but still, it seems that if I run the game for more than an hour or so, it just dies. The game goes from loading ultra-fast to chopping like a crazy-person. his seems to happen to me only, but still...just another bad thing to pile on this game. Ironically, after all this, I am still able to play it, and do so even now and then. It is an enjoyable game to play, if you just wanna shoot large numbers of people, but I usually end up quitting after an hour when I'm absolutely sick of it. Expand
  5. Stecc
    May 3, 2005
    10
    It is the bested game i ever plad on xbox. Well im stuck an a level but it is still the bested.
  6. Chimp
    Nov 12, 2004
    5
    How the hell did this get a 75? Everyone says the graphics are really good, they are ok, but not nearly as good as doom3 or hl2(duh) or even medal of honor pacific assault, which is in some respects very similar to this game. but let me start off by saying that the main-menu theme is very good-perfect for a war game. and the use of language, while not new in vietnam, made me go "whew, at How the hell did this get a 75? Everyone says the graphics are really good, they are ok, but not nearly as good as doom3 or hl2(duh) or even medal of honor pacific assault, which is in some respects very similar to this game. but let me start off by saying that the main-menu theme is very good-perfect for a war game. and the use of language, while not new in vietnam, made me go "whew, at least they made them talk realisticly." But now on to my biggest gripe: THIS GAME IS LINEAR. and good lord, do i mean LINEAR! you follow set paths in the "jungle" with some trees and stuff to block you going left or right, on paths you pretty much go on the path or the four feet of grass on the sides. its like a road with a sidewalk and thats it. this isnt everywhere, but these "roads" appear to much. Then, scripted events are viewed in a first person cutscene where you can look around. It's very annoying seeing your squadron yell at a bunch of villagers and beat them and stuff and you just watch. also, the dialogue gets REALLY old, especially during fighting. the black guys in your squad repeat "rice eatin mother***ers" and the white guys say "you like that, charlie?" OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER again. the multiplayer is decent, but the lag can be annoying. Expand
  7. MikeM.
    Nov 5, 2004
    5
    Graphics are gorgeous. Everything else is not. This game clearly needs another couple of months of bug-fixing and gameplay improvements. Even with the 1.2 patch sound doesn't play with my Audigy. :( Not even multiplayer (MoH's strongest point) can save this title. (it doesn't need vehicles; play BFV if you want that. geez... CoD never had vehicles and it was still good) I Graphics are gorgeous. Everything else is not. This game clearly needs another couple of months of bug-fixing and gameplay improvements. Even with the 1.2 patch sound doesn't play with my Audigy. :( Not even multiplayer (MoH's strongest point) can save this title. (it doesn't need vehicles; play BFV if you want that. geez... CoD never had vehicles and it was still good) I only hope for reputation sake that 2015 release some bug fixes and new maps to salvage this title... though it's off to a bad start. Do not buy this now... wait and see if they bug fix it. Oh, and if you're reading this 2015, what idiot decided not to add a b**** jump button?! Please! :( Expand
  8. SamF.
    Nov 2, 2004
    5
    The only real positive with this game is it's graphics. Its as if they focused on nothing else. You can't even jump! If you have a log in front of you, you must go around it. The AI Is as dumb as anything making you the only one with any hope of helping finish objectives. The linear gameplay is a big let down too. If this was a game like BF:1942 That was not linear, it would The only real positive with this game is it's graphics. Its as if they focused on nothing else. You can't even jump! If you have a log in front of you, you must go around it. The AI Is as dumb as anything making you the only one with any hope of helping finish objectives. The linear gameplay is a big let down too. If this was a game like BF:1942 That was not linear, it would have been much much better. That brings me to last negative this game brings...no vehicles to control at all. no tanks, planes, or even a jeep. Oh and for some dumb$#@ reason your hearing the bereavment letter read every single time you die. Expand
  9. JeffG.
    Oct 30, 2004
    4
    Without a doubt the most frustrating game I've ever played in my life. There were so many times I'd have to do the exact same sequence at least 20 to 30 times before I found out the pattern of the enemy A.I. In addition, EVERY TIME you die, you have forward past this cutscene where some officer reads a letter aloud to your parents about you death...EVERY SINGLE TIME YOU DIE, Without a doubt the most frustrating game I've ever played in my life. There were so many times I'd have to do the exact same sequence at least 20 to 30 times before I found out the pattern of the enemy A.I. In addition, EVERY TIME you die, you have forward past this cutscene where some officer reads a letter aloud to your parents about you death...EVERY SINGLE TIME YOU DIE, which is extremely often. In addition, you're team will frequently be given objectives which are exceedingly difficult if immoral in scope, and you will be the only one that will do more than sit behind a tree and look blankly into the wilderness. Every now and then, one of you computer teamates will run out in front of you and shoot in the wrong direction. Then, in frustration, you'll realize the United States' victory in the Vietnam war solely relies on you and you'll run out into the battlefield to accomplish the objective and immediately get blown away by phantom enemies, regardless of whether or not you find cover or hit the deck, you're dead. Then, the sequence will restart and you'll have to backtrack 20 to 30 minutes, much like a Super Mario brothers game. Oh yes, and you'll undoubtdedly get frustrated and end the game only to return later to a save game feature that places you and the VERY beginning of the campaign meaning you have now backtracked about an hour. For some reason, the auto-save only works as long as you don't exit the game....The dumbest save game system I've ever seen. It's unfortunate because this game had an incredible amount of potential and you can see it when you play it. Ultimately, however, it's a complete failure, worse than MOH: Rising Sun, and that's a tall order. I wouldn't recommend buying this game. Expand
  10. MikeJ.
    Oct 30, 2004
    9
    It's decent, though very, very frustrating. I can't tell you how many times I had to play the same sequence over and over again because you essentially die after being shot once in close combat. Frequently, you can't see the enemy until you're already dead. In addition, there's no in game save. Your teammates are completely useless, and I have yet to see one of It's decent, though very, very frustrating. I can't tell you how many times I had to play the same sequence over and over again because you essentially die after being shot once in close combat. Frequently, you can't see the enemy until you're already dead. In addition, there's no in game save. Your teammates are completely useless, and I have yet to see one of them inflict a casualty. Mostly, they just get in the way when you're firing. Then enemy, on the other hand, is able to launch an extremelly successful offensive on you regardless of how well hidden you are. A couple of rounds from a mounted machin gun and you're dead. Overall, the game is fun, but ultimately extremely frustrating. Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Much better than the Xbox incarnation, offering improvements in graphics, control and even slight AI improvements.
  2. A competent historically based shooter with some unique features and an occasional flash of brilliance, making it one of the few quality Vietnam War FPS to date.
  3. Great gunplay, shame about the A.I. [Jan 2005, p.94]