Men of War: Vietnam PC

Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Oct 23, 2011
    86
    I enjoyed Men of War: Vietnam a lot more than I initially thought I would. The game design favors action and strategy over resource management, and the level of difficulty, while daunting for most, was a refreshing change from the more casual military offerings out there these days.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 10, 2011
    84
    Like the United States Army, I came back from the jungles of Vietnam with a bloody nose. Cleraly Vietnam is for those Men at War pros who look for challenge. That's fine by me, but I did not like stealth missions which the engine does not handle so well. Also vegetation hides units, enemy and own, irritatingly well. [Oct 2011]
  3. Sep 14, 2011
    79
    A war adventure into the jungle that is magnified by the evocative setting. Unfortunately this new stand-alone expansion comes with graphical issues and lack of multiplayer changes. But the single player experience is good and the cooperative gameplay is a very nice add.
  4. Sep 10, 2011
    75
    I know I'm not great at this genre, and I think it's my lack of skill, not the game. 1C always pour in the details and expects you to give back the same effort to succeed. However, it'd be nice if the game accounted for people like me! Men of War: Vietnam is a very full game for a bargain price.
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    75
    This one is hard to judge. It's annoying to play the same mission again and again and not being able to advance or when AI soldiers ignore orders. But then the careful planning and being able to finally complete a mission after several tries... that's very satisfying.
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    A very good game overall. I agree that this game will appeal more to a niche audience. Vietnam era games/sims are few and far between. MoWA very good game overall. I agree that this game will appeal more to a niche audience. Vietnam era games/sims are few and far between. MoW Vietnam is the best I've played to date. I love the jungle canopy where it is difficult to see and do anything you want. That's how it is in that environment. Quite a challenge. The smaller unit actions and tactics are what win the day here. No grand battles like Kursk or El Alemain. Vietnam was a war fought by politicians where the generals often had one or sometimes both hands tied behind their backs.
    Good amount of equipment to be used here. Nice to play as NVA to get a taste of their perspective of things too.
    The game is challenging. Overall I like it very much. Good job 1C!
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Like the United States Army, I came back from the jungles of Vietnam with a bloody nose. Cleraly Vietnam is for those Men at War pros who lookLike the United States Army, I came back from the jungles of Vietnam with a bloody nose. Cleraly Vietnam is for those Men at War pros who look for challenge. Very good game. Full Review »
  3. Sep 25, 2011
    5
    5 Punkte weill es ein Men of War Spiel ist, aber ich hätte mehr erwartet, leider bietet das Spiel, Inhaltlich nicht sehr viel,5 Punkte weill es ein Men of War Spiel ist, aber ich hätte mehr erwartet, leider bietet das Spiel, Inhaltlich nicht sehr viel, und der Multieplayer ist auch sehr mager.

    Da Spiel ich doch lieber AS.
    Full Review »