• Publisher: 1C
  • Release Date: Sep 8, 2011
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    65
    After the first hour I really wanted to hate this game, because it hated me and did not teach me how to play. Don't confuse high difficulty level with realism though as the latter is sometimes questionable. After all I gave Men of War: Vietnam a second chance and it returned the favor with a couple of satisfying moments. Only Men of War fans prepared to be driven into the ground by enemy forces should play this. [October, p.62]
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    74
    Men of War: Vietnam is made for a niche audience: hardcore RTS fans who are looking for a great campaign. Given that limitation, the game is exceedingly well-executed, offering players a total of ten long, interesting, and challenging missions.
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    75
    I know I'm not great at this genre, and I think it's my lack of skill, not the game. 1C always pour in the details and expects you to give back the same effort to succeed. However, it'd be nice if the game accounted for people like me! Men of War: Vietnam is a very full game for a bargain price.
  4. Oct 23, 2011
    86
    I enjoyed Men of War: Vietnam a lot more than I initially thought I would. The game design favors action and strategy over resource management, and the level of difficulty, while daunting for most, was a refreshing change from the more casual military offerings out there these days.
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    60
    Men of War: Vietnam is for the hardcore strategy players. The game will try its hardest to irritate you at all times. Even then, the game has its charm.
  6. Sep 16, 2011
    50
    The third expansion to the Men of War universe suffers by being one of the most difficult realtime strategy games out there. Combine this with a rather high amount of bugs, and you got the recipe for the least entertaining and most frustrating game of the series.
  7. Sep 10, 2011
    60
    There is no succeed in a return of scripted scenarios of Men of War game. Not even a new attractive background is helping it. The game is dumped by a small number of scenarios and their unbalanced difficulty. You may still enjoy a few of its hot moments, but it's not enough to draw your attention from the essentially better game – Men of War: Assault Squad.
  8. Sep 14, 2011
    55
    Brutally tough and unforgiving, Men of War: Vietnam is a serious test of your patience and your real-time strategy skills.
  9. Sep 9, 2011
    75
    This one is hard to judge. It's annoying to play the same mission again and again and not being able to advance or when AI soldiers ignore orders. But then the careful planning and being able to finally complete a mission after several tries... that's very satisfying.
  10. Sep 26, 2011
    70
    Aside from a few weak points such as thin story and poor multiplayer, Men of War: Vietnam promises thrilling hours raiding Cambodia and Laos or fighting on the Ho Chi Minh Trail and the Mekongdelta.
  11. Sep 20, 2011
    40
    An enormous amount of bugs, abysmally stupid AI, aging graphics, a soundtrack consisting of only 4 tracks (2 of whick can be heard only in menus) - these kinds of mistakes cannot be forgiven. A combination of all these elements make Men of War: Vietnam the worst part of the series.
  12. Sep 10, 2011
    70
    It's far from a perfect game -- inconsistent AI, a campaign that borders on the short side, and limited multiplayer options certainly hamper the experience -- but there's a lot of challenging satisfaction to be found beneath the thick jungle canopy.
  13. Sep 9, 2011
    40
    There are much better Men of War games out there. This one is a gruelling quagmire.
  14. 60
    Mostly hardcore gamers appreciate this real time strategy series because of its high difficulty. Interesting campaigns from the attractive Vietnam War era offer lots of tactical possibilities but you have to endure the A.I. glitches along with objectionable camera controls. [Oct 2011]
  15. Sep 14, 2011
    79
    A war adventure into the jungle that is magnified by the evocative setting. Unfortunately this new stand-alone expansion comes with graphical issues and lack of multiplayer changes. But the single player experience is good and the cooperative gameplay is a very nice add.
  16. Oct 8, 2011
    73
    Some conservative choices, and it's tough for tourists, but stoical series vets will relish the change of scene and kit. [Nov 2011, p.132]
  17. Oct 10, 2011
    84
    Like the United States Army, I came back from the jungles of Vietnam with a bloody nose. Cleraly Vietnam is for those Men at War pros who look for challenge. That's fine by me, but I did not like stealth missions which the engine does not handle so well. Also vegetation hides units, enemy and own, irritatingly well. [Oct 2011]
  18. Sep 12, 2011
    70
    It is good, but the Vietnam setting doesn't fit the template as well as World War II, and I would strongly advise newcomers to play the original Men of War first, otherwise that first mission may well put you off for life.
  19. Oct 4, 2011
    70
    A good game that mantains the depth of the classic gameplay of the series and that brings news ideas thanks to the change in setting. The battles are very realistic and the player has plenty of freedom to approach them the way they want.
User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    A very good game overall. I agree that this game will appeal more to a niche audience. Vietnam era games/sims are few and far between. MoW Vietnam is the best I've played to date. I love the jungle canopy where it is difficult to see and do anything you want. That's how it is in that environment. Quite a challenge. The smaller unit actions and tactics are what win the day here. No grand battles like Kursk or El Alemain. Vietnam was a war fought by politicians where the generals often had one or sometimes both hands tied behind their backs.
    Good amount of equipment to be used here. Nice to play as NVA to get a taste of their perspective of things too.
    The game is challenging. Overall I like it very much. Good job 1C!
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2011
    5
    5 Punkte weill es ein Men of War Spiel ist, aber ich hätte mehr erwartet, leider bietet das Spiel, Inhaltlich nicht sehr viel, und der Multieplayer ist auch sehr mager.

    Da Spiel ich doch lieber AS.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 13, 2011
    0
    Wow. I thought that, with this being a Men of War game, it would be building on the solid gameplay of Assault Squad and improving on it. Big Mistake. It's really, really bad. Interface is retrofitted back to the same one as in the earlier games, and frankly who ever thought that dense canopy jungle makes for a good setting for an isometric RTS game needs to lay off the drugs. You can't see what you're doing, you can't do much when you can see, and the missions and multiplayer options are very week. Frankly, given how big a step down it is from Assault Squad, I feel a bit robbed. Full Review »