• Publisher: 1C
  • Release Date: Sep 8, 2011
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 31
  2. Negative: 13 out of 31

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    I am not normally the one to gripe about things, heck I got the game on holiday sale so I payed only a portion of the face value. However within my first few minutes of play I was utterly turned off. Today, I decided I would give it another shot. I do feel the game "could" be good. But it is utterly crippled by a very poor control scheme. I mean, you can't control the camera with the keyboard at all? Say whaaaat? As others mentioned yeah it's hard to see your squads, but that is entirely caused by the horrid camera controls. The game has it's charm with the ability to control individual men, almost in a detached 3rd person sort of way. --Again however, the camera does not follow the movements of the soldier, although you can control his direct movements with the arrow keys. Selecting movement modes for your character are worthless unless in prone, as if you have him crouched and attempt to move he just stands up and runs, so there is no stealth movement besides prone. Grenades are not very intuitive and sometimes it takes several clicks through the interface to make anything happen at all, meanwhile your soldier got blasted. Overall -- This game got a 68, and it deserves a 68 or lower. Do not buy this at full value, wait for it in the bargain bin if you must buy it. I very solid, and better alternative would be Company of heroes. It's missing some of the up close and personal single unit controls like MoW:V, but it out shines it in every aspect including graphics. Collapse
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    0
    Wow. I thought that, with this being a Men of War game, it would be building on the solid gameplay of Assault Squad and improving on it. Big Mistake. It's really, really bad. Interface is retrofitted back to the same one as in the earlier games, and frankly who ever thought that dense canopy jungle makes for a good setting for an isometric RTS game needs to lay off the drugs. You can't see what you're doing, you can't do much when you can see, and the missions and multiplayer options are very week. Frankly, given how big a step down it is from Assault Squad, I feel a bit robbed. Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    1
    Picked this game up the day before on steam. Played about 2 hours of it then just decided to put it down. I wouldn't go as far as saying it's a crappy game but it definitely not worth $35 AUD. Probably more around the $5 mark and even then personally I wouldn't buy it just because it brings nothing new. It just doesn't work its super hard to see your troops in the dense jungle so that makes it nearly impossible to play the game. In my opinion even if this game was free I wouldn't play it. The men of war series isn't bad by all means get men of war assault squad that game is awesome but this one just doesn't work its a bit of a fail. Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    I am not normally the one to gripe about things, heck I got the game on holiday sale so I payed only a portion of the face value. However within my first few minutes of play I was utterly turned off. Today, I decided I would give it another shot. I do feel the game "could" be good. But it is utterly crippled by a very poor control scheme. I mean, you can't control the camera with the keyboard at all? Say whaaaat? As others mentioned yeah it's hard to see your squads, but that is entirely caused by the horrid camera controls. The game has it's charm with the ability to control individual men, almost in a detached 3rd person sort of way. --Again however, the camera does not follow the movements of the soldier, although you can control his direct movements with the arrow keys. Selecting movement modes for your character are worthless unless in prone, as if you have him crouched and attempt to move he just stands up and runs, so there is no stealth movement besides prone. Grenades are not very intuitive and sometimes it takes several clicks through the interface to make anything happen at all, meanwhile your soldier got blasted. Overall -- This game got a 68, and it deserves a 68 or lower. Do not buy this at full value, wait for it in the bargain bin if you must buy it. I very solid, and better alternative would be Company of heroes. It's missing some of the up close and personal single unit controls like MoW:V, but it out shines it in every aspect including graphics. Collapse
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. 60
    Mostly hardcore gamers appreciate this real time strategy series because of its high difficulty. Interesting campaigns from the attractive Vietnam War era offer lots of tactical possibilities but you have to endure the A.I. glitches along with objectionable camera controls. [Oct 2011]
  2. Oct 23, 2011
    86
    I enjoyed Men of War: Vietnam a lot more than I initially thought I would. The game design favors action and strategy over resource management, and the level of difficulty, while daunting for most, was a refreshing change from the more casual military offerings out there these days.
  3. Oct 10, 2011
    84
    Like the United States Army, I came back from the jungles of Vietnam with a bloody nose. Cleraly Vietnam is for those Men at War pros who look for challenge. That's fine by me, but I did not like stealth missions which the engine does not handle so well. Also vegetation hides units, enemy and own, irritatingly well. [Oct 2011]