• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This successor to Men of War brings tactical strategy to the jungle battles of the Vietnam War.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Oct 23, 2011
    86
    I enjoyed Men of War: Vietnam a lot more than I initially thought I would. The game design favors action and strategy over resource management, and the level of difficulty, while daunting for most, was a refreshing change from the more casual military offerings out there these days.
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    79
    A war adventure into the jungle that is magnified by the evocative setting. Unfortunately this new stand-alone expansion comes with graphical issues and lack of multiplayer changes. But the single player experience is good and the cooperative gameplay is a very nice add.
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    75
    This one is hard to judge. It's annoying to play the same mission again and again and not being able to advance or when AI soldiers ignore orders. But then the careful planning and being able to finally complete a mission after several tries... that's very satisfying.
  4. Sep 12, 2011
    70
    It is good, but the Vietnam setting doesn't fit the template as well as World War II, and I would strongly advise newcomers to play the original Men of War first, otherwise that first mission may well put you off for life.
  5. Sep 29, 2011
    65
    After the first hour I really wanted to hate this game, because it hated me and did not teach me how to play. Don't confuse high difficulty level with realism though as the latter is sometimes questionable. After all I gave Men of War: Vietnam a second chance and it returned the favor with a couple of satisfying moments. Only Men of War fans prepared to be driven into the ground by enemy forces should play this. [October, p.62]
  6. Sep 23, 2011
    60
    Men of War: Vietnam is for the hardcore strategy players. The game will try its hardest to irritate you at all times. Even then, the game has its charm.
  7. Sep 9, 2011
    40
    There are much better Men of War games out there. This one is a gruelling quagmire.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    As the whole Men of War series, MoW: Vietnam is a perfect tactical RTS, maybe the best created ever. Comparing to Faces of War or first Men ot War we get improved graphics, some new sounds, and of course new environment, according to the time the Vietnam war took place. New weapons, a lot of jungle locations, new music - for MoW fans it's just exactly what they need. Personally I love this series, and I can not say anything against. I'm just waiting for some upgrade or DLC which can give us more modes to play in Multiplayer, such as Frontlines, Assault Zones etc. But anyway, my final opinion is: PERFECT! Collapse
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Like the United States Army, I came back from the jungles of Vietnam with a bloody nose. Cleraly Vietnam is for those Men at War pros who look for challenge. Very good game. Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    A very good game overall. I agree that this game will appeal more to a niche audience. Vietnam era games/sims are few and far between. MoW Vietnam is the best I've played to date. I love the jungle canopy where it is difficult to see and do anything you want. That's how it is in that environment. Quite a challenge. The smaller unit actions and tactics are what win the day here. No grand battles like Kursk or El Alemain. Vietnam was a war fought by politicians where the generals often had one or sometimes both hands tied behind their backs.
    Good amount of equipment to be used here. Nice to play as NVA to get a taste of their perspective of things too.
    The game is challenging. Overall I like it very much. Good job 1C!
    Expand
  4. May 5, 2012
    5
    Men of War: Vietnam takes the player to Vietnam where familiar game mechanics meet new ideas. Unfortunately, the former is tried and true but the latter doesn't hold up. Although MoW:V focuses on small squads, stealth and snipers it fails to form a coherent whole; the Men of War engine is not suitable for stealth, the snipers are far too deadly and the game is full of hidden kill-switches in the form of events taking place on the map forcing you to play without the fog of war turned on because you might be missing out on something important or just to prevent the enemy heavy machine guns and snipers from spotting you before you spot them. And even if you can spot them on the map, that doesn't mean you'll be able to actually see them because of the humongous amount of trees on each map obscuring nearly everything that's happening. The vehicle system has been improved but in the 10 meager missions that come with the game (Plus about 5 bonus missions which are once again campaign-rejects) you will rarely run into vehicles and when you do, you will not be driving them but instead cursing at their superior accuracy and seemingly impenetrable armour. The designers also decided to take out a lot of what made the original game fun; instead of laying mine-fields, sweeping mine-fields, deploying, repairing and optimizing all sorts of equipment you'll instead be using the same guns and troops over and over while staring at a map filled to the absolute brim with trees and insurmountable terrain while listening to horrendous and uninspired actors spout their lines as if though they were forced to recite the lines at gunpoint. There are some good points to MoW:V. For one, it's incredily short compared to Men of War and Soldiers. Sniping works quite well and playing the Vietnamese adds a very interesting twist to what otherwise would be another American-centered game. Only recommended for hardcore Men of War fans. Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2011
    5
    5 Punkte weill es ein Men of War Spiel ist, aber ich hätte mehr erwartet, leider bietet das Spiel, Inhaltlich nicht sehr viel, und der Multieplayer ist auch sehr mager.

    Da Spiel ich doch lieber AS.
    Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2011
    1
    Picked this game up the day before on steam. Played about 2 hours of it then just decided to put it down. I wouldn't go as far as saying it's a crappy game but it definitely not worth $35 AUD. Probably more around the $5 mark and even then personally I wouldn't buy it just because it brings nothing new. It just doesn't work its super hard to see your troops in the dense jungle so that makes it nearly impossible to play the game. In my opinion even if this game was free I wouldn't play it. The men of war series isn't bad by all means get men of war assault squad that game is awesome but this one just doesn't work its a bit of a fail. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2011
    0
    Wow. I thought that, with this being a Men of War game, it would be building on the solid gameplay of Assault Squad and improving on it. Big Mistake. It's really, really bad. Interface is retrofitted back to the same one as in the earlier games, and frankly who ever thought that dense canopy jungle makes for a good setting for an isometric RTS game needs to lay off the drugs. You can't see what you're doing, you can't do much when you can see, and the missions and multiplayer options are very week. Frankly, given how big a step down it is from Assault Squad, I feel a bit robbed. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers