Men of War: Vietnam PC

Men of War: Vietnam Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This successor to Men of War brings tactical strategy to the jungle battles of the Vietnam War.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Oct 23, 2011
    86
    I enjoyed Men of War: Vietnam a lot more than I initially thought I would. The game design favors action and strategy over resource management, and the level of difficulty, while daunting for most, was a refreshing change from the more casual military offerings out there these days.
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    79
    A war adventure into the jungle that is magnified by the evocative setting. Unfortunately this new stand-alone expansion comes with graphical issues and lack of multiplayer changes. But the single player experience is good and the cooperative gameplay is a very nice add.
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    75
    This one is hard to judge. It's annoying to play the same mission again and again and not being able to advance or when AI soldiers ignore orders. But then the careful planning and being able to finally complete a mission after several tries... that's very satisfying.
  4. Sep 12, 2011
    70
    It is good, but the Vietnam setting doesn't fit the template as well as World War II, and I would strongly advise newcomers to play the original Men of War first, otherwise that first mission may well put you off for life.
  5. CD-Action
    Sep 29, 2011
    65
    After the first hour I really wanted to hate this game, because it hated me and did not teach me how to play. Don't confuse high difficulty level with realism though as the latter is sometimes questionable. After all I gave Men of War: Vietnam a second chance and it returned the favor with a couple of satisfying moments. Only Men of War fans prepared to be driven into the ground by enemy forces should play this. [October, p.62]
  6. Sep 23, 2011
    60
    Men of War: Vietnam is for the hardcore strategy players. The game will try its hardest to irritate you at all times. Even then, the game has its charm.
  7. Sep 9, 2011
    40
    There are much better Men of War games out there. This one is a gruelling quagmire.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    As the whole Men of War series, MoW: Vietnam is a perfect tactical RTS, maybe the best created ever. Comparing to Faces of War or first Men otAs the whole Men of War series, MoW: Vietnam is a perfect tactical RTS, maybe the best created ever. Comparing to Faces of War or first Men ot War we get improved graphics, some new sounds, and of course new environment, according to the time the Vietnam war took place. New weapons, a lot of jungle locations, new music - for MoW fans it's just exactly what they need. Personally I love this series, and I can not say anything against. I'm just waiting for some upgrade or DLC which can give us more modes to play in Multiplayer, such as Frontlines, Assault Zones etc. But anyway, my final opinion is: PERFECT! Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Like the United States Army, I came back from the jungles of Vietnam with a bloody nose. Cleraly Vietnam is for those Men at War pros who lookLike the United States Army, I came back from the jungles of Vietnam with a bloody nose. Cleraly Vietnam is for those Men at War pros who look for challenge. Very good game. Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    A very good game overall. I agree that this game will appeal more to a niche audience. Vietnam era games/sims are few and far between. MoWA very good game overall. I agree that this game will appeal more to a niche audience. Vietnam era games/sims are few and far between. MoW Vietnam is the best I've played to date. I love the jungle canopy where it is difficult to see and do anything you want. That's how it is in that environment. Quite a challenge. The smaller unit actions and tactics are what win the day here. No grand battles like Kursk or El Alemain. Vietnam was a war fought by politicians where the generals often had one or sometimes both hands tied behind their backs.
    Good amount of equipment to be used here. Nice to play as NVA to get a taste of their perspective of things too.
    The game is challenging. Overall I like it very much. Good job 1C!
    Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2011
    8
    To start off: Are you Interested and have some knowledge of the Vietnam war? or do you like Men of War?
    If so You will like this game, As I
    To start off: Are you Interested and have some knowledge of the Vietnam war? or do you like Men of War?
    If so You will like this game, As I do, It brings a realist setting that games like Shellshock and Bad Company 2 do not, It has a wide array of weapons and units and is a lot less bias than most other games focusing on a real life military conflict in the terms you play as both American and Communist forces, I'd personally dismiss the users giving it 1 star reviews as people who are more used to things like Black Ops and were expecting an FPS , Easy game, It's a very gripping and losing a squad member can be very intense,

    To break it down:

    PRO'S:
    >beautiful graphics
    >Gripping game play
    >Realism to an extent >Music
    >Unbiased to one side

    CON'S
    >Not for everyone
    >Difficulty may put newer players off the series A fair 8 from me
    Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2011
    5
    5 Punkte weill es ein Men of War Spiel ist, aber ich hätte mehr erwartet, leider bietet das Spiel, Inhaltlich nicht sehr viel,5 Punkte weill es ein Men of War Spiel ist, aber ich hätte mehr erwartet, leider bietet das Spiel, Inhaltlich nicht sehr viel, und der Multieplayer ist auch sehr mager.

    Da Spiel ich doch lieber AS.
    Collapse
  6. Sep 10, 2011
    1
    Picked this game up the day before on steam. Played about 2 hours of it then just decided to put it down. I wouldn't go as far as saying it'sPicked this game up the day before on steam. Played about 2 hours of it then just decided to put it down. I wouldn't go as far as saying it's a crappy game but it definitely not worth $35 AUD. Probably more around the $5 mark and even then personally I wouldn't buy it just because it brings nothing new. It just doesn't work its super hard to see your troops in the dense jungle so that makes it nearly impossible to play the game. In my opinion even if this game was free I wouldn't play it. The men of war series isn't bad by all means get men of war assault squad that game is awesome but this one just doesn't work its a bit of a fail. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2011
    0
    Wow. I thought that, with this being a Men of War game, it would be building on the solid gameplay of Assault Squad and improving on it. BigWow. I thought that, with this being a Men of War game, it would be building on the solid gameplay of Assault Squad and improving on it. Big Mistake. It's really, really bad. Interface is retrofitted back to the same one as in the earlier games, and frankly who ever thought that dense canopy jungle makes for a good setting for an isometric RTS game needs to lay off the drugs. You can't see what you're doing, you can't do much when you can see, and the missions and multiplayer options are very week. Frankly, given how big a step down it is from Assault Squad, I feel a bit robbed. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers