Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Enhanced graphics and controls, customizable Zangeki settings, packed with full DLC support, Rising's PC version is the true definition of lightning bolt action.
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    90
    I can imagine some Metal Gear fans might not enjoy this style of gameplay, but if any are willing to give it a shot or if you are a fan of high paced action, then you owe yourself to jump into Revengeance’s stylish and exceptional top class gameplay and have a slash of a time.
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    In any case, MGR is unique. It's singular in its development, its flair and its understanding of action. It's like a good, old bottle of wine that you just know you'll never enjoy like this again. Savor every drop of it.
  4. Jan 13, 2014
    90
    Exactly as entertaining as you’d expect from a collaboration between two of Japan’s most talented developers, and a relatively good – if extremely belated – PC port.
  5. May 11, 2014
    87
    Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is great looking, great playing action explosion, and the PC version is the best version. [Feb 2014]
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 488 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 94
  2. Negative: 19 out of 94
  1. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This game was awesome especially for the price. I wont go too far into it but i really enjoyed it. Fun game play, great graphics, andThis game was awesome especially for the price. I wont go too far into it but i really enjoyed it. Fun game play, great graphics, and something different than all the other games I've been playing lately. 23 bucks for this gem? I'm all over it. Full Review »
  2. Jan 11, 2014
    0
    Camera automatically steers away from the enemies to show you low-res textures on the wall (even when I manually control camera with my mouse,Camera automatically steers away from the enemies to show you low-res textures on the wall (even when I manually control camera with my mouse, it still screws me over because returning the camera back onto the enemy takes time in which enemy delivers the blow). Camera has negative acceleration for no reason whatsoever.
    Parrying mechanic completely counter-intuitive. It requires conscious effort to wait for attack and then release direction keys, press them again and press attack button to parry, which can't be performed by reflexes and breaks the flow of the game.
    What made me drop this game is difficulty spike at blade wolf and complete lack of checkpoints in that fight on top of that.
    Then, blade mode. Why do I have to use WASD to aim? Well, because with gamepads you can't use right stick and attack at the same time. BUT I'M PLAYING ON PC WITH A KEYBOARD AND MOUSE.
    This game screws over so many important details that it negates anything good that there is about it.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    Got this game during the sales and it was very cheap. It is good that Kojima and Platinum realized that the PC still is an IMPORTANT and greatGot this game during the sales and it was very cheap. It is good that Kojima and Platinum realized that the PC still is an IMPORTANT and great platform. If they keep up this positive thinking I will buy Ground Zeroes and Phantom Pain for PC as well once they release MGS:V for PC. Don't forget that gaming started on Amiga, C64, ZX Spectrum which are all PCs. Full Review »