Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 509 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear Solid Rising makes its way to the PC and features Raiden as a playable character.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Enhanced graphics and controls, customizable Zangeki settings, packed with full DLC support, Rising's PC version is the true definition of lightning bolt action.
  2. Jan 13, 2014
    90
    Exactly as entertaining as you’d expect from a collaboration between two of Japan’s most talented developers, and a relatively good – if extremely belated – PC port.
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    85
    Revengeance isn’t a perfect game but it sure is a fun one, and it made the jump to PC with ease.
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    80
    Despite the flaws and interruptions of the story and presentation, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a superior title.
  5. 80
    Raiden reaps what the action filled gameplay sows and if it wasn't for the clunky camera and lackluster plot, there would be nothing to complain about. [Issue #239]
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    With hands of good craftsmen a great basis turns into gold, literally. Well, at least if you render homage to frantic fighting games, or to Kojima's obscure opuses. You see, you'll get the best of both.
  7. Jan 30, 2014
    72
    This story-driven combo-slasher is with approximately 5 hours very short, including cut-scenes, which take up more than 2 hours and tend to interrupt gameplay constantly. Combo mechanics are satisfying, the story is not worth mentioning. Lots of senseless violence, the game takes itself way too serious. Merely a port from consoles, mouse controls are awful and the graphics do not meet modern standards.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 99
  2. Negative: 19 out of 99
  1. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This game was awesome especially for the price. I wont go too far into it but i really enjoyed it. Fun game play, great graphics, andThis game was awesome especially for the price. I wont go too far into it but i really enjoyed it. Fun game play, great graphics, and something different than all the other games I've been playing lately. 23 bucks for this gem? I'm all over it. Collapse
  2. May 2, 2014
    10
    This game is not the metal gear stealth action title you are looking for.
    it IS however, the metal gear action stealth title you're looking
    This game is not the metal gear stealth action title you are looking for.
    it IS however, the metal gear action stealth title you're looking for.
    Metal gear rising (i'm not typing out that full name) is an inverse metal gear formula that focuses on an explosion of hardcore action that feels like a pleasing blend of devil may cry and- oh who am I kidding, IT'S JUST FUN TO PLAY!
    this game's greatest strength is that it revels in being this just for fun over the top hack n slash that is the trademark of platinum. you play as raiden, and you get to do things that, quite frankly, raiden has been seen going in metal gear solid 4 a lot of the time.
    if you were expecting cameos by solid snake or references to the events of past metal gear titles, i laugh at you, I laugh at you and hold my belly whilst I do so.
    the game likes to detach itself from the canon, to keep its plot seperate but connected, there are a total of one references to solid snake, none of big boss and sunny is only there because she and raiden have a history, and she's only there for a few moments before you're flying off in a superjet with a robot dog.
    i'm not even making that up.
    this game likes to make the ludicrous seem possible, or even plausible, from a cyborg brazilian samurai with a glowing red sword and a flawless trollface grin, to an indestructible US senator who spawned an internet meme with a single line before kicking your cyborg ninja character around like a football while making football league remarks, this is a game that doesn't **** around with the ridiculous-meter. but as I said, it's a blast to play, from explosions framing you in the background after many boss fights, to insane waves of enemies being chopped down in a single cut, the game's strength is its presentation and addictive "zandatsu" system, which involves you cutting enemies apart in exactly the way you direct the blade, which of course most processors have nightmares about.
    the plot is good, featuring a trial of raiden's own honor code, which is then dropped mid-game for the sake of going **** crazy and just rescuing children because that was the objective the entire time, who needs honor?
    despite this pitfall, the game is clearly a metal gear game, it feels like what metal gear would be like if it were simply an action title, it IS metal gear.
    the combat is also surprisingly deep, various I-frames or parrying frames changing between difficulty as well as a few notable adjustments to AI the harder the settings. these small details within the game speak of a well designed title that is worthy of the metal gear name.
    so if you like having a blast slashing apart hapless cyborgs for their electrical intestines, then this is the game for you you unrepentant psychopath! =)
    Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    wow this game is amazing..the best hack n slash game of 2014 till now...super fast pace action,amazing boss fights and our fav raiden..i neverwow this game is amazing..the best hack n slash game of 2014 till now...super fast pace action,amazing boss fights and our fav raiden..i never hoped that platinum games can churn out such a good pc port of this game..it runs smooth on my pc keeping everything on ultra..great job PG Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    8
    If you enjoy hack and slash type games and would like a game based around Raiden then Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a game you should get.If you enjoy hack and slash type games and would like a game based around Raiden then Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a game you should get. Graphically it's impressive on PC and personally I use a wired Xbox 360 controller so I haven't had any issues with controlling Raiden at all. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2014
    8
    An over-the-top hack and slash game that makes a name for itself in the ever loving Metal Gear franchise. What Metal Gear Rising does isAn over-the-top hack and slash game that makes a name for itself in the ever loving Metal Gear franchise. What Metal Gear Rising does is simple, "clean" fun. The combat never gets dull and there are notable challenges in the game. Outside of the campaign, the various difficulty modes, and the VR missions, I wish there was a bit more.

    As far as a PC port goes, especially for an action game PC port, MGR is really well-made. Visuals are good, it's smooth, the controls are slick, and doesn't demand much of anything. I recommend this game for anyone who wants to start off in the hack n' slash, beat 'em up, action genre. But if you want to get into the Metal Gear series, I recommend starting off with the original Metal Gear Solid series.
    Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2014
    7
    This game is ridiculous, absurd and farcical. It is glorious.

    Problems? Oh yeah, a ton. It's a Konami PC port after all. No resolution
    This game is ridiculous, absurd and farcical. It is glorious.

    Problems? Oh yeah, a ton. It's a Konami PC port after all. No resolution settings above 1080p. No Quit (but we all know how to Alt + F4, right?). Occasional camera frustrations. Large amounts of action that happen in cutscenes, instead of by player agency. (Also: yes, it's designed for an XBox controller, but that's not a "problem"; if you're a PC gamer in 2014 still insisting on kb/m even though it's obviously unsuited to most games out there, YOU'RE the problem.)

    It makes up for that with its kitschy, swivel-eyed disregard for anything approaching good taste or class. It would be comforting to think that Kojima Productions know how silly their games are, but the MGS series suggests otherwise, and maybe that's for the best. I doubt this level of campness could be achieved unless the makers looked upon their wacky story with anything level than the utmost solemnity. It is toe-curlingly theatrical, and never anything less than 100% entertaining.
    Expand
  7. Jan 9, 2015
    0
    If you like a lot of slash and run, buy this game. Because it doesn't have anything else going for it. It is quintessential Japanese a laIf you like a lot of slash and run, buy this game. Because it doesn't have anything else going for it. It is quintessential Japanese a la Godzilla destroys Tokyo. Very hokey and cheesy for sure. No plot and definitely not worth it. Originally designed for PS, the PC controls are very difficult to handle and certainly detract even more, if you do enjoy this kind of game. Not at all like the earlier versions of Metal Gear (I particularly enjoyed Metal Gear Solid V Ground Zeros even if it was a bit short. The side missions made it worthwhile). But this Metal Gear...I say bypass it! I spent my money, take my advice. Don't spend yours. Expand

See all 99 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.