Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 486 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear Solid Rising makes its way to the PC and features Raiden as a playable character.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Enhanced graphics and controls, customizable Zangeki settings, packed with full DLC support, Rising's PC version is the true definition of lightning bolt action.
  2. Jan 13, 2014
    90
    Exactly as entertaining as you’d expect from a collaboration between two of Japan’s most talented developers, and a relatively good – if extremely belated – PC port.
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    85
    Revengeance isn’t a perfect game but it sure is a fun one, and it made the jump to PC with ease.
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    80
    Despite the flaws and interruptions of the story and presentation, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a superior title.
  5. 80
    Raiden reaps what the action filled gameplay sows and if it wasn't for the clunky camera and lackluster plot, there would be nothing to complain about. [Issue #239]
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    With hands of good craftsmen a great basis turns into gold, literally. Well, at least if you render homage to frantic fighting games, or to Kojima's obscure opuses. You see, you'll get the best of both.
  7. Jan 30, 2014
    72
    This story-driven combo-slasher is with approximately 5 hours very short, including cut-scenes, which take up more than 2 hours and tend to interrupt gameplay constantly. Combo mechanics are satisfying, the story is not worth mentioning. Lots of senseless violence, the game takes itself way too serious. Merely a port from consoles, mouse controls are awful and the graphics do not meet modern standards.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 93
  2. Negative: 19 out of 93
  1. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This game was awesome especially for the price. I wont go too far into it but i really enjoyed it. Fun game play, great graphics, andThis game was awesome especially for the price. I wont go too far into it but i really enjoyed it. Fun game play, great graphics, and something different than all the other games I've been playing lately. 23 bucks for this gem? I'm all over it. Collapse
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    This game is impossible to beat,the final boss is so cheap and requires inhuman reflexes.the parry system sucks and the controls areThis game is impossible to beat,the final boss is so cheap and requires inhuman reflexes.the parry system sucks and the controls are unresponsive.Without doubt one of the worst games ever created. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    wow this game is amazing..the best hack n slash game of 2014 till now...super fast pace action,amazing boss fights and our fav raiden..i neverwow this game is amazing..the best hack n slash game of 2014 till now...super fast pace action,amazing boss fights and our fav raiden..i never hoped that platinum games can churn out such a good pc port of this game..it runs smooth on my pc keeping everything on ultra..great job PG Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2014
    8
    i borrowed this game from a friend and even though I had never played any metal gear games before the story was easy to follow , I know thati borrowed this game from a friend and even though I had never played any metal gear games before the story was easy to follow , I know that raiden had not been liked in games before , I liked his character in this game . the gameplay was solid and I didn't have to much trouble with the game up until the final boss ,but that's not to say the games is easy , I had a large amount of trouble until I got the hang of the parry system , not to give any spoilers but the weapons you can unlock when you kill the bosses are crap except for the first one you get in my opinion . the camera has a few issues but nothing that was so bad I couldn't play . Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    8
    About the gameplay, the game is unsurprisingly worse than Platinum game's Bayonetta, but it's still one of the best action games of thisAbout the gameplay, the game is unsurprisingly worse than Platinum game's Bayonetta, but it's still one of the best action games of this generation. A bit short (~7 hours), and there's not a lot of room for character personalization. Raiden only has two weapons with full sets of combos, and another two that only have a couple of 1-hit attacks that are not particularly useful. The camera is also a bit annoying and difficult to control, which is desperate in an action game, and the "katana mode" is impossible to perform with a keyboard and a mouse. The "normal" difficulty level is ridiculously easy, with the "hard" level being a bit more of a challenge. The "very hard" mode unlocked when finishing the first playtrough, is the one I really enjoyed. Still with all those errors, the sense of playing like a samurai is very well captured.

    About the graphics and music, I only have to say that they aren't particularly bright. The story is OK, and the ending does not disappoint, but Raiden is not very well written, and you will find him going from being too superficial, to pedantically deep and very overacted. Other characters of the story, like Sam Rodrigues, are much better handled.

    This is a good buy if it is at a reduced price.
    Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2014
    7
    This game is ridiculous, absurd and farcical. It is glorious.

    Problems? Oh yeah, a ton. It's a Konami PC port after all. No resolution
    This game is ridiculous, absurd and farcical. It is glorious.

    Problems? Oh yeah, a ton. It's a Konami PC port after all. No resolution settings above 1080p. No Quit (but we all know how to Alt + F4, right?). Occasional camera frustrations. Large amounts of action that happen in cutscenes, instead of by player agency. (Also: yes, it's designed for an XBox controller, but that's not a "problem"; if you're a PC gamer in 2014 still insisting on kb/m even though it's obviously unsuited to most games out there, YOU'RE the problem.)

    It makes up for that with its kitschy, swivel-eyed disregard for anything approaching good taste or class. It would be comforting to think that Kojima Productions know how silly their games are, but the MGS series suggests otherwise, and maybe that's for the best. I doubt this level of campness could be achieved unless the makers looked upon their wacky story with anything level than the utmost solemnity. It is toe-curlingly theatrical, and never anything less than 100% entertaining.
    Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2014
    0
    Not only does this game go up to just 1080p as I've heard, it's not real 1080p, it's up-scaled 720p, so if you're expecting that you could maxNot only does this game go up to just 1080p as I've heard, it's not real 1080p, it's up-scaled 720p, so if you're expecting that you could max out the game just like any PC game, you will not. 1080p looks choppy because it is stretched 720p to fit a 1920x1080 resolution, and you will have two big black bars at the bottom and on to the right of your screen, the image does not cover the whole monitor, because it is console 1080p meant for TVs not the full 1920x1080 pixels for a computer monitor!!!! Expand

See all 93 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.