Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Solid Snake returns in Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance, the expanded edition of Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty with all-new game modes, hidden characters and storylines. Top-secret weapons technology is being mysteriously transported under cover of an oil tanker to an unknown destination.Solid Snake returns in Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance, the expanded edition of Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty with all-new game modes, hidden characters and storylines. Top-secret weapons technology is being mysteriously transported under cover of an oil tanker to an unknown destination. It's up to Snake to infiltrate the transport and keep this deadly weapon of mass destruction from falling into the wrong hands! Featuers 350+ VR Missions and 150+ Alternate Missions, as well as 5 all-new "Snake Tales" side stories. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 89
    This is definitely a console style game with the fixed camera and funky controls, but it certainly packs a punch. The gameplay is still superb, although outmatched by "Splinter Cell" in some cases.
  2. Were it not for the rocky translation and major bugs, I would’ve rated MGS: Substance a whole point higher. Unfortunately, these problems couldn’t be overlooked and cost the game some footing.
  3. 84
    For console owners, it's simply not worth the bucks to upgrade your PC to play this game -- Enjoy it on your console. On the other hand, if you've got the hardware for it (including a gamepad) and don't own a console, I'd recommend getting your hands on this game in an instant.
  4. A great "console" game, but I'm not convinced the PC is the proper system to be playing it on.
  5. Could have been ported over a lot more gracefully. Yet this is such an unusual, intriguing, and shocking game that despite the rough translation, it still makes for a one-of-a-kind experience on the PC.
  6. Technically, this porting job sucks, and it's the biggest problem I've had with this game, but that would hardly stop me from buying it anyway.
  7. The problem here isn't so much with the game's content, which remains as ambitious and poignant as ever, but rather with Konami's sloppy porting efforts to the PC. [Aug 2003, p.78]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 40
  2. Negative: 14 out of 40
  1. LAWHOCK
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    GOOD !!!
  2. BradleyE.
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    This game has been the best game i have ever played because it is action packed and full with adventures.
  3. StefanP.
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    I just finished it 10 minutes ago . And I'm still shaked by the experience ! Extremely deep and strong story . And it leaves you with I just finished it 10 minutes ago . And I'm still shaked by the experience ! Extremely deep and strong story . And it leaves you with something to think of . Greate existential ideas to put in a new modern way of thinking. The story is close to Deus Ex . The controls however were a little bit tricky but once you rearrange them to your taste everything is OK ! Expand
  4. Kabuto
    Apr 26, 2003
    8
    Nice game...with nice story the graphics is good, well not good enough as splinter cell though. I run the game with amd 1700+, ram 256+128, Nice game...with nice story the graphics is good, well not good enough as splinter cell though. I run the game with amd 1700+, ram 256+128, win xp. geforce 4mx, well i think there's no problem. Well for the owner of radeon, you should update driver, radeon still have problem with these stupid driver. I think they make driver with pure assembly(whew... how long the source code could be??) so still many bugs and problems. Or you can make your own driver, can't you?? ;(. well, anyway this game is great. But it takes so many spaces 7.7GB!!! Expand
  5. GuybrushThreepwood
    Apr 17, 2003
    5
    The game is great on PS2 and X-Box but for the PC port Konami decided to screw ATI Card owners and f*** up all the effects so that they only The game is great on PS2 and X-Box but for the PC port Konami decided to screw ATI Card owners and f*** up all the effects so that they only look right on nVidia cards. This makes ATI card owners have to look at blurry disorted images whenever they go into the rain. The gameplay is still good but the controls suck because the mouse doesn't actually control, you can only click it to shoot. The gameplay is the same as the PS2 and X-Box versions which is the one point that made me pull the score up to a 5. The bottom line is that the game is a kick-@$$ game with a half-@$$ port. Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2011
    1
    An explicit reminder of how poor some playstation 2 ports to pc actually were.

    Even after gamepad support was added, it is unconfigurable,
    An explicit reminder of how poor some playstation 2 ports to pc actually were.

    Even after gamepad support was added, it is unconfigurable, and 3rd party software is ESSENTIAL to play the game enjoyably.

    A pity to say the least, as pc users who did not experience this epic title on the playstation 2 are really missing out...

    It recieves a 1 simply because the game itself is so great, not that this port of it is particularly enjoyable.

    There's a modern look at an old pc game for you :)
    Expand
  7. Anotheratiuser
    Apr 19, 2003
    0
    I've heard lots of stories about this game, i suppose thats what drove me to buy it, how ever when i got home and sat throught the 7GB+I've heard lots of stories about this game, i suppose thats what drove me to buy it, how ever when i got home and sat throught the 7GB+ install only for it to not work, i was kind of disapointed. aparently Konami are working on a patch for it so i guess i'll have to wait for the action :( Expand

See all 40 User Reviews