Metro 2033 PC

Metro 2033 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1452 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the shattered subway of a post apocalyptic Moscow, Metro 2033 is a story of intensive underground survival where the fate of mankind rests in your hands. In 2013 the world was devastated by an apocalyptic event, annihilating almost all mankind and turning the earth’s surface into aSet in the shattered subway of a post apocalyptic Moscow, Metro 2033 is a story of intensive underground survival where the fate of mankind rests in your hands. In 2013 the world was devastated by an apocalyptic event, annihilating almost all mankind and turning the earth’s surface into a poisonous wasteland. A handful of survivors took refuge in the depths of the Moscow underground, and human civilization entered a new Dark Age. The year is 2033. An entire generation has been born and raised underground, and their besieged Metro Station-Cities struggle for survival, with each other, and the mutant horrors that await outside. You are Artyom, born in the last days before the fire, but raised Underground. Having never ventured beyond your Metro Station-City limits, one fateful event sparks a desperate mission to the heart of the Metro system, to warn the remnants of mankind of a terrible impending threat. Your journey takes you from the forgotten catacombs beneath the subway to the desolate wastelands above, where your actions will determine the fate of mankind. [THQ] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Regardless of how the story ends the experience itself is worth the price of admission.
  2. Despite those nitpicks and a couple frustrating late-game sections, Metro 2033's greatest success is the consistency of its pacing. You're constantly encountering new factions, discovering interesting new locations, or being tasked to do something you haven't done before.
  3. Metro 2033 is like the eastern European Half-Life – a must for fans of post-apocalyptic settings, narrative shooters, survival horror, or any combination thereof.
  4. In reality, this a good game, with a good storyline, excellent graphics, great moments in the artistic level, and an excellent environment.
  5. Metro 2033 is a dark journey saturated with an enthralling atmosphere that will reward intrepid adventurers.
  6. Metro 2033 has a lot going for it, but it has a cruel streak that I both dread and admire. It kept me playing to find out what happened next, but it was always a tug-of-war between my curiosity about the plot and my desire to keep getting brutalized by unforgiving game design.
  7. 58
    Metro 2033's A.I. is terribly stupid and there's not enough variety in the weapons; yet despite all that it's still a compelling game to play.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 304
  1. PabloN
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    Easily one of the best games of the year. HORRIBLY under-rated! A 58 from 1UP? Because of some minor issues..... This game is the most Easily one of the best games of the year. HORRIBLY under-rated! A 58 from 1UP? Because of some minor issues..... This game is the most atmospheric and immersive shooter I have ever played. Maybe the most atmospheric game, period. This is like another Bioshock or actually more like Half-Life 2 to me, I could see myself playing through this game multiple times. It is a masterpiece really, it is a game about atmosphere and story and I personally found no issues with the ballistics. Shooting was fun, the game is challenging, and has a very, very good story (based of the book of the same name.) Best graphics of any game released. Yes, better than Crysis, in it's full glory with DX11 it looks spectacular. The game just has this authentic, realistic feeling and the graphics just add a whole nother layer onto the game. I REALLY felt like I was there in this world, extremely compelling. Must play! 10/10 Will be a cult-hit, possible the most under-rated game of the year. Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    Exelent !!! Ce jeu est tout simplement magnifique, l'histoire est tres bien agencée, le jeu est bon dans tout l'ensemble, ambianceExelent !!! Ce jeu est tout simplement magnifique, l'histoire est tres bien agencée, le jeu est bon dans tout l'ensemble, ambiance effet de lumiere, creature, personnage, animation, doublage etc ! Expand
  3. TristanH
    Apr 26, 2010
    9
    I really enjoyed the combination of the STALKER-like post-apocalyptic atmosphere combined with the Half-Life 2 tradition of good pacing, fun I really enjoyed the combination of the STALKER-like post-apocalyptic atmosphere combined with the Half-Life 2 tradition of good pacing, fun set pieces and relatively linear yet still enjoyable level design. Admittedly I'm not a fan of multi-player shooters and this is one of the best single player FPS experiences to come out lately. For what it's worth the game played and looked fine fine at 720p resolution on my dusty old Radeon Athlon X2 5000+ / 3870 combo. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    The story line of this game is not what got me playing. Beautiful graphics with a very well put together atmosphere is what kept me goingThe story line of this game is not what got me playing. Beautiful graphics with a very well put together atmosphere is what kept me going though. Artyom is well narrated and the player can relate to his character and what he's going through quite quickly. It's one of those games you'll want to replay when you get that brand new speedy graphics card as this game is still a benchmark for many new generation video cards. Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    8
    Only problem with this game is that its short it could be longer, gameplay is really nice, upgrading your weapons is rewarding and fun,Only problem with this game is that its short it could be longer, gameplay is really nice, upgrading your weapons is rewarding and fun, exploration is fun, combat is fun, graphics are amazing, awesome story, really great game/ Expand
  6. Jun 21, 2015
    7
    Good story, a must play for any gamer. One of those games you have to play

    But it has incridbly dumb ai! Its not scary at all(not a con
    Good story, a must play for any gamer. One of those games you have to play

    But it has incridbly dumb ai!
    Its not scary at all(not a con for me!)
    The creatures are cute!
    Gameplay is terrible! Even at 60fps you cant conttol you char without feeling bad and you only have terrible guns!
    Expand
  7. May 19, 2013
    0
    metro 2033 is just epic!!! this is a super amazing game. the game has a lot of problems, and because of that it doesnt get a 9 or a 10. illmetro 2033 is just epic!!! this is a super amazing game. the game has a lot of problems, and because of that it doesnt get a 9 or a 10. ill start with the good parts. the strongest aspect of metro 2033 is the atmosphere. 4a games just nailed this. this is one of the best atmospheres i have ever seen, and it stands with the best, like bioshock. listening to peoples conversations is just great and touching. the people talk about the future, and what was before the war. the NPCs disscussions are just amazing!!!! this really gives the game a big part of its atmosphere. the voice acting is also great. some of them arent so good but for the most part its great. the game is really sad and grim. this saddness is really present in the game, and you can really feel it. lighting effects are really spectacular. the graphics in general are great but the lighting is just amazing and really helps the atmosphere and gameplay! the game draws you in really really good. if you didnt understand this until now, the atmosphere and the feel of the game is super awesome. if your looking for awesome atmosphere and story this is the game. this is one of the best in this department!!!! the game is really immersive, because it does little things to take you in. for instance when your out of the metro stations and tunnels you need to put a gasmask and change filters every few minutes. this makes the game really imerssive. another example is that you need to charge your flashlight by hand. all this little things make metro so appealing. the story is amazing as well!!! the story talks about survival and about how humans never stop fighting. overall the story is really great. the locations are also really varied as well. though a lot of the game is undergroung, the locations are much more varied than other games. in the game you also stop in metro stations that are like villages. they are done fantastically. again, THE ATMOSPHERE IS JUST AMAZING AND THE GAME IS SUPER IMMERSIVE!!!!!!!!!!! though the atmosphere is great, the game has a lot of mistakes that take it down. first of all, the human AI is crap. the AI is really bad and stupid. it will run near you, not understanding what to do. the mutants AI is ok though. another big issue is that HUMANS HAVE WAY TO MUCH LIFE until they die. i understand giving the animals a lot of life but human take way too much bullets!!! another big thing is that the game has way too much glitches. there are a lot of them. one of them is enemys falling through walls after they die. there are more glitches besides this, and while its not gamebreaking, its still pritty bad. the stealth system is crappy as well. throwing a silent knife and missing can alert everyone exactly where you are. the gunplay isnt particularly bad, but its a bit old. the biggest problem with the gunplay is scopes. aiming down sights with scoped is annoying and doesnt work well. the problems of crappy stealth and mediocore gunplay make some fights a bit annoying. some levels feel like you should be stealthy, but its impossible to do it. if your caught you use the gunplay, and the humans take so much bullets that it can get a bit annoying. this moments occur in my last complaint, which is difficulty jumps. i dont mind a game being hard, but in metro 2033, there were weird and annoying difficulty jumps. there werent too much of them, but some of them were really annoying.

    with all its flaws, metro 2033 is super awesome!!!! if you think about buying this then you should buy it if you want atmosphere. the gameplay here can be better so you shouldnt buy it for the gameplay only.
    THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand

See all 304 User Reviews

Trailers