Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1336 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the shattered subway of a post apocalyptic Moscow, Metro 2033 is a story of intensive underground survival where the fate of mankind rests in your hands. In 2013 the world was devastated by an apocalyptic event, annihilating almost all mankind and turning the earth’s surface into aSet in the shattered subway of a post apocalyptic Moscow, Metro 2033 is a story of intensive underground survival where the fate of mankind rests in your hands. In 2013 the world was devastated by an apocalyptic event, annihilating almost all mankind and turning the earth’s surface into a poisonous wasteland. A handful of survivors took refuge in the depths of the Moscow underground, and human civilization entered a new Dark Age. The year is 2033. An entire generation has been born and raised underground, and their besieged Metro Station-Cities struggle for survival, with each other, and the mutant horrors that await outside. You are Artyom, born in the last days before the fire, but raised Underground. Having never ventured beyond your Metro Station-City limits, one fateful event sparks a desperate mission to the heart of the Metro system, to warn the remnants of mankind of a terrible impending threat. Your journey takes you from the forgotten catacombs beneath the subway to the desolate wastelands above, where your actions will determine the fate of mankind. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Regardless of how the story ends the experience itself is worth the price of admission.
  2. Despite those nitpicks and a couple frustrating late-game sections, Metro 2033's greatest success is the consistency of its pacing. You're constantly encountering new factions, discovering interesting new locations, or being tasked to do something you haven't done before.
  3. Metro 2033 is like the eastern European Half-Life – a must for fans of post-apocalyptic settings, narrative shooters, survival horror, or any combination thereof.
  4. In reality, this a good game, with a good storyline, excellent graphics, great moments in the artistic level, and an excellent environment.
  5. Metro 2033 is a dark journey saturated with an enthralling atmosphere that will reward intrepid adventurers.
  6. Metro 2033 has a lot going for it, but it has a cruel streak that I both dread and admire. It kept me playing to find out what happened next, but it was always a tug-of-war between my curiosity about the plot and my desire to keep getting brutalized by unforgiving game design.
  7. 58
    Metro 2033's A.I. is terribly stupid and there's not enough variety in the weapons; yet despite all that it's still a compelling game to play.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 295
  1. PabloN
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    Easily one of the best games of the year. HORRIBLY under-rated! A 58 from 1UP? Because of some minor issues..... This game is the most Easily one of the best games of the year. HORRIBLY under-rated! A 58 from 1UP? Because of some minor issues..... This game is the most atmospheric and immersive shooter I have ever played. Maybe the most atmospheric game, period. This is like another Bioshock or actually more like Half-Life 2 to me, I could see myself playing through this game multiple times. It is a masterpiece really, it is a game about atmosphere and story and I personally found no issues with the ballistics. Shooting was fun, the game is challenging, and has a very, very good story (based of the book of the same name.) Best graphics of any game released. Yes, better than Crysis, in it's full glory with DX11 it looks spectacular. The game just has this authentic, realistic feeling and the graphics just add a whole nother layer onto the game. I REALLY felt like I was there in this world, extremely compelling. Must play! 10/10 Will be a cult-hit, possible the most under-rated game of the year. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best game I have ever played. The last time I said this is when I finished Half-Life2, but even HL2 didn't manged to get aThis is one of the best game I have ever played. The last time I said this is when I finished Half-Life2, but even HL2 didn't manged to get a 10 out of me, in many respect, I believe Metro2033 even exceed HL2's accomplishments.

    Metro has some of the best graphic engine I've seen in years, IMO even Cryengine couldn't compete with the 4A engine which Metro 2033 uses. The lighting and texture are extremely well done, volumtric lighting and fog effect are also very good, it makes the whole world looks extremely convincing. The sub-surface scattering effect on character's skin makes people looks much more believable, unlike in some other games people tend to looks like plastic dolls.

    The story is also it's strong point, since it's adapted from a sci-fi novel, but it has a little twist of it's own while still retains the feel of the novel. I bought the novel after finishing the game, it' will definetly gives you a new perspective on the story.

    Combat and AI seems a bit strange and unresponsive at first glance but after I know more about the game, I understand the clumsiness I feel during combat is also part of a story setting. You are not a superhero, you are a survivor in a post apocalyptic world, trying to fighting off monsters and fellow humans while carrying a sort of equipment and ammo, of course you don't move and shoot like a Call of Duty character.

    In conclusion, all I can saying is Buy this game, play it, if you learn to appreciate it, this will be one of the most immersive gaming experience you will ever have.
    Expand
  3. AndrewF.
    Mar 31, 2010
    9
    You will hear people go on and on about how it is really atmospheric, and unfortunately I will be no different. This is the games main You will hear people go on and on about how it is really atmospheric, and unfortunately I will be no different. This is the games main selling point; it relentlessly drags you into the game and makes you believe that you are actually trapped underground in the metro locked in a struggle to free your people from the monster known only as the dark ones. Pre-release people where comparing it to the likes of Stalker and Fallout, but a more apt comparison would be to the likes of Half Life and FEAR as it takes place in small liner environments. 4A (the developers) may very well want to hang me for saying that, though, as they have obviously spent a lot of time making alternant routs for you to take to suit different game play styles. If you want to be sneaky and creep past enemy undetected, then you can do so; if, however, you want to charge in guns-a-blazing then there is an option for that as well. It is not perfect, as like any game it has its flaws. Some points I was able to climb up nearly shear walls, I got myself stuck in the scenery a few times, and the AI could do with some advancement, but none of this is enough to spoil your enjoyment of the game. Some say that the graphics look outdated, and I can see where they are coming from, but I don Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    Pros
    Atmosphere
    Story Difficulty Cons Bugs in stealth & combat Short Never really explains morality system and alternate endings
    Pros
    Atmosphere
    Story
    Difficulty

    Cons
    Bugs in stealth & combat
    Short
    Never really explains morality system and alternate endings

    Metro 2033 understands atmosphere like no other and can lead to moments of genuine panic (staring at librarian's) that few other games can emulate what let's it down is its length and the bugs still present years later
    Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2011
    8
    This game is sadly underrated and didn't have that great of exposure, if you like SOLID single player experiences then this game is for you.This game is sadly underrated and didn't have that great of exposure, if you like SOLID single player experiences then this game is for you. Metro2033 has a interesting take on apocalypse of humanity, and it all takes place in Russia's underground railways in 2033, where everyone lives deep underground, the surface is poison and former "humans" roam the surface as grotesque mutants... The take on how weapons and items work in a game is simply unique, such as a Pneumatic Rifle in which you have to pump a handle manually every 5-6 shots otherwise its like shooting paintballs at enemies. Or a flashlight you have to handcrank for more power, simply essential to be on top of your game, otherwise you find yourself fighting mutants in the dark because your flashlight ran out of juice.. constant maintenance of your weapons and items could turn a player away, thats only if you're a baby when it comes to little "quips" that people complain about...people complain way too much that a game is linear, HELL What game isn't linear and allows 100% exploration???? WHAT GAMES HAVE YOU PLAYED THAT HAD FULLY EXPLORABLE AREA IN which you could do whatever you wanted and change the pace of the game?????? UNLESS YOU'RE PLAYING GTA or MAFIA II, there hasn't been a fully sandboxed FPS game in a longtime, unless you count Garrys mod but there is no story, just sandbox. The game mechanics has fails in the form of small glitches, faulty AI detection, hiding in shadows is almost useless...also invisible walls, varied bullet penetration in objects, or none whatsoever, like shooting through wood is like shooting kevlar... and hit detection on "human" AI gets annoying unless you have high grade ammo...bullets are almost like rubber when shooting their heads...besides that, Metro2033 is a very unique and engaging single player FPS with a decent story, albeit a short one, but definitely worth playing...I give it an 8 due to some poor game mechanics. Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    7
    Ironically, not even close to as sprawling and open world as the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. games. Too slow paced to be a Call Of Duty game, and simplyIronically, not even close to as sprawling and open world as the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. games. Too slow paced to be a Call Of Duty game, and simply too boring to bother sitting through. Metro 2033 has its share of problems that compound as the game goes on, it suffers from a very slow intro-sequence that merely suggests you later come back to that exact same point in time. Though the mutated creatures are interesting, they don't vary much in appearance in one area, so you often spend time in the tunnels fighting bat-things, up top fighting rat things, or later fighting tall weird things. I could never understand how they made such a combat oriented game, play like a poor man's scripted first person shooter. The guns are clunky, the aiming is slow, the gas mask obscures your view for no good reason and isn't interesting from a realistic perspective. The visuals may be gorgeous, but they don't help the fact that this game is all over the place, its narrative is poor, its far too scripted to be entertaining, monster fights are over before too long, half the setup in some areas of the game devolve into shooting other humans, stealth sections were poorly done, and I didn't care for the ammo/ money system. It was far too easy to re-install S.T.A.L.K.E.R. over this game. I didn't care for the atmosphere, it felt like it was borrowing just a bit too much from some other game I've previously mentioned. It never hit mainstream appeal, so thank goodness for that. At least I realized that a beastly computer alongside some fantastic graphics aren't all that make up this game. I consider Metro 2033 more of a tech demo than an actual game, much like Crysis. Expand
  7. May 19, 2013
    0
    metro 2033 is just epic!!! this is a super amazing game. the game has a lot of problems, and because of that it doesnt get a 9 or a 10. illmetro 2033 is just epic!!! this is a super amazing game. the game has a lot of problems, and because of that it doesnt get a 9 or a 10. ill start with the good parts. the strongest aspect of metro 2033 is the atmosphere. 4a games just nailed this. this is one of the best atmospheres i have ever seen, and it stands with the best, like bioshock. listening to peoples conversations is just great and touching. the people talk about the future, and what was before the war. the NPCs disscussions are just amazing!!!! this really gives the game a big part of its atmosphere. the voice acting is also great. some of them arent so good but for the most part its great. the game is really sad and grim. this saddness is really present in the game, and you can really feel it. lighting effects are really spectacular. the graphics in general are great but the lighting is just amazing and really helps the atmosphere and gameplay! the game draws you in really really good. if you didnt understand this until now, the atmosphere and the feel of the game is super awesome. if your looking for awesome atmosphere and story this is the game. this is one of the best in this department!!!! the game is really immersive, because it does little things to take you in. for instance when your out of the metro stations and tunnels you need to put a gasmask and change filters every few minutes. this makes the game really imerssive. another example is that you need to charge your flashlight by hand. all this little things make metro so appealing. the story is amazing as well!!! the story talks about survival and about how humans never stop fighting. overall the story is really great. the locations are also really varied as well. though a lot of the game is undergroung, the locations are much more varied than other games. in the game you also stop in metro stations that are like villages. they are done fantastically. again, THE ATMOSPHERE IS JUST AMAZING AND THE GAME IS SUPER IMMERSIVE!!!!!!!!!!! though the atmosphere is great, the game has a lot of mistakes that take it down. first of all, the human AI is crap. the AI is really bad and stupid. it will run near you, not understanding what to do. the mutants AI is ok though. another big issue is that HUMANS HAVE WAY TO MUCH LIFE until they die. i understand giving the animals a lot of life but human take way too much bullets!!! another big thing is that the game has way too much glitches. there are a lot of them. one of them is enemys falling through walls after they die. there are more glitches besides this, and while its not gamebreaking, its still pritty bad. the stealth system is crappy as well. throwing a silent knife and missing can alert everyone exactly where you are. the gunplay isnt particularly bad, but its a bit old. the biggest problem with the gunplay is scopes. aiming down sights with scoped is annoying and doesnt work well. the problems of crappy stealth and mediocore gunplay make some fights a bit annoying. some levels feel like you should be stealthy, but its impossible to do it. if your caught you use the gunplay, and the humans take so much bullets that it can get a bit annoying. this moments occur in my last complaint, which is difficulty jumps. i dont mind a game being hard, but in metro 2033, there were weird and annoying difficulty jumps. there werent too much of them, but some of them were really annoying.

    with all its flaws, metro 2033 is super awesome!!!! if you think about buying this then you should buy it if you want atmosphere. the gameplay here can be better so you shouldnt buy it for the gameplay only.
    THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand

See all 295 User Reviews

Trailers