Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    Metro Last Light improves on several of the originals shortcomings but also has a few of its own. Mainly the artificial intelligence needs lots of work otherwise Metro Last Light with its hybrid of quality action and engaging storytelling would maybe have been one of the best games of the year.
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    70
    A mostly triumphant return to form for this unique series. [July 2013, p.86]
  3. Jun 5, 2013
    70
    What it inherits from the original are often its greatest strengths. It’s the inconsistencies that do it harm. They’re so close to something truly special here, and I’m confident that 4A Games’ next will be something to behold.
  4. May 21, 2013
    70
    What Metro lacks in pitch-perfect game mechanics, it makes up for with an atmosphere that you can taste.
  5. May 19, 2013
    70
    For excited fans of the year 2033 it is a must, for Slavic games lovers it is a reason to be interested in it. However, not even its superb graphics quality is enough to get over the game's shallow moments along with its thoughtless script that has been cooked with plain water mainly. Although radioactive, plain water still.
  6. May 16, 2013
    70
    Metro: Last Light manages to give shape to the world described in the books bearing the same name beautifully. The claustrophobic and grim atmosphere really come into their own thanks to the great graphics. Unfortunately the immersion is often broken by static npc's, a lack of interactivity and the idiotic artificial intelligence doesn't offer much of a challenge.
  7. May 14, 2013
    70
    Paved with good intentions, this new FPS from 4A Games comes up short in terms of gameplay (mostly because of a poor AI). That's too bad because its atmosphere and story are rich and interesting. It's a good experience if you're able to pace yourself like the game needs you to in order to shine; to help you there, it's also a shame that the "Ranger" difficulty mode has to be purchased as a DLC.
  8. May 13, 2013
    70
    Metro: Last Light is probably the most ambitious and demanding Deep Silver production and, in terms of graphics and visual impact, this sequel has little to envy in other triple A shooters like Crysis 3. The game stands for the beauty of the 4A Engine, for the settings and for some cool horror passages, but in terms of gameplay lacks in too many areas: enemies' AI is poor, the levels are linear and scripted, there's almost no interaction with the game world.
  9. May 13, 2013
    70
    Metro: Last Light is not a bad game, but nor is it a good one in quite the same sense as its predecessor. Metro 2033 was flawed but trying to do its own thing. If anything, Last Light feels like a regression. Similarities abound, but this is a more conservative FPS, one looking at the competition rather than itself, and one with some terrible missteps. So go in with low expectations, and you might be pleasantly surprised.
  10. May 13, 2013
    70
    As a default experience, Metro: Last Light is a good game that forgets why Metro 2033 was a great one.
  11. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    The numerous aesthetic accomplishments and mechanical improvements in Metro: Last Light are undone by uneven attention to detail and a lack of player agency.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2504 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 459
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    Ok, so here's how you play it. Have a good rest, eat well, buy the game and shut yourself in a dark room with your gaming rig and some extraOk, so here's how you play it. Have a good rest, eat well, buy the game and shut yourself in a dark room with your gaming rig and some extra food. You can easily lose yourself there playing Metro, and you might as well lose your friends and relatives for that period of time... And thats okay it is the experience we've been waiting for since 2033 and the sequel is definitely worth it. Full Review »
  2. May 15, 2013
    4
    Talk about hand holding.... Artyom, pull the lever, Artyom shine your flash light, Artyom climb up the ladder, Arytom follow me. The game soTalk about hand holding.... Artyom, pull the lever, Artyom shine your flash light, Artyom climb up the ladder, Arytom follow me. The game so "railroad track linear" anyway, you couldn't go anywhere else if you wanted to. Take notice of all the high user reviews. 90% of them have no review history. They just popped on the grid like Metro was the first game they ever played. Can someone say "suspicious"? The graphics feel like the first Metro. They were cool then, but when you take a close look at the detail, it's so dated. The hallways have that computer precision geometry. The sound needs so much work.
    The atmospheric plays in the background, but the rusty elevator I'm riding is completely silent. Details details. Is it a game changer? Maybe maybe not, but as the little things start to accumulate, you realize how much you appreciate a game that has polish. Like the voice acting. It is bad bad. It sounds like the actors are reading directly from the script into the microphone. It's almost painful to listen to. Like when the lower ranking officer gets his dialog cut off by the higher ranking officer. You know, like when you're cut off mid-sentence? Except the low ranking guy just reads his script to the cut off point and there's a pause BEFORE he get's cut off? Little things. I like an immersive experience and what caught my eye about this game was all the reviews that say what a great feel this game has. It might, but the devil is in the details, and this game misses in some very pronounced ways. At least do yourself the smallest favor. Don't spend that fifty bucks because you may feel like I do. Paying top dollar is for games that live up to the score, and the scores on this game have been dubiously amped. It's not quite a money grab, but it sure leans that way.
    Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2013
    10
    I think it's really unfair people are giving this game 0 raiting. I must state it is a very well made and super fun to play. I played MetroI think it's really unfair people are giving this game 0 raiting. I must state it is a very well made and super fun to play. I played Metro 2033 throughout also played every Stalker game. So this is a very good new edition and i absolutely recommend it. Didn't come across any crippling bugs in my playthrough's but i did think Ranger Hardcore was a tad too easy for my liking aside from that solid game Full Review »