User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2344 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    Ok, so here's how you play it. Have a good rest, eat well, buy the game and shut yourself in a dark room with your gaming rig and some extra food. You can easily lose yourself there playing Metro, and you might as well lose your friends and relatives for that period of time... And thats okay it is the experience we've been waiting for since 2033 and the sequel is definitely worth it.
  2. May 21, 2013
    10
    I think it's really unfair people are giving this game 0 raiting. I must state it is a very well made and super fun to play. I played Metro 2033 throughout also played every Stalker game. So this is a very good new edition and i absolutely recommend it. Didn't come across any crippling bugs in my playthrough's but i did think Ranger Hardcore was a tad too easy for my liking aside from that solid game Expand
  3. May 14, 2013
    10
    Thanks to the developers 4A Games and Dmitry Gluhovsky for the created world Metro 2033. Game Metro: Last Light is a gaming masterpiece! - This Slavic apocalypse - unique and unforgettable atmosphere postyader - gorgeous sound, excellent graphic level - lethal shooting - good optimization I have not experienced such an orgasm since the Stalker. Bravo 4A Games! I play on my computer weak: Windows 7/32bit /Intel® Core™2 Quad/Q8400@2.66GHz, 3GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 220 GT 1GB. Expand
  4. May 14, 2013
    9
    Found this to be a very well made sequel to a fantastic survival horror franchise. The graphics, atmosphere, sound quality and level of polish really did it justice. Being able to slit enemy throats, I found especially pleasing considering the lack of in the first game. Gun-play is spot on and quite a bit smoother in comparison to the first game. Optimization was leaps and bounds better, considering getting the first game to run at acceptable frame-rates was very difficult even on a high end machine. On a side note who gives a wet turd about multiplayer when we finally get a survival horroresque game that did not turn into resident evil 6 Expand
  5. May 14, 2013
    9
    In the post release wake of BioShock:Inf, I was expecting something way different and much worse from Metro: Last Light.

    I got something very similar (not thematically, but mechanically) and just as good!

    Highly engaging shooter with appropriately timed cut-scenes to add some spice and character. Deep, engaging story based on the novel Metro 2033. Great weapon customization and
    shooting with thrilling elements in a gritty, post-apocalyptic world. Great juxtaposition (had to use that word) of stealth and full-auto FPS. Highly recommended! Expand
  6. May 14, 2013
    10
    Awsome new dificulties and i like you can finish the game in stealh mode or can just kill anything you see.
    Great story,and i hope will be and sequel.
    Just one word:
    Awesome
  7. May 14, 2013
    10
    Awesome game
    I like customization option.
    Interesting story.
    Love stealth mode.
    I like Drak Ones and Artyom's ability.
    I hope will be an sequel,this story deserve this.
  8. May 17, 2013
    10
    This game is so good I had to register to review it. This is such a refreshing addition to the FPS which has been dying under plot-less and pointless "Call-to-medal-of-battle-honour" games that have been churning out.
    This game gives so much in atmosphere, story and mood. After witnessing this world, the action is a nice addition and made all the better by the sense of purpose that the
    game gives. If you're bored by the homogenised, factory line FPSs that have been spamming the past few years this game is for you Expand
  9. May 14, 2013
    10
    Game is awesome. I am nearly towards the end and have found it to be substantially better than the first game. Fight mechanics and game-play have been greatly improved. This is one of the most immersive games I've played since....well, since Metro 2033. The musical score is great and adds to the overall experience. Enemies are more varied this time around, and so are the weapons. I see there are a lot of trolls around commenting in here who haven't even played the game and giving it a zero score, so I will give this a 10 to bring it back up. This is truly a great game. Expand
  10. May 14, 2013
    10
    A really outstanding peace of work.. It's just like old 2033 all over again, just different missions and routes/locations a bit.. I need to give this 10/10 apocalyptic types are my most best 100% Keep it up!
  11. May 14, 2013
    10
    Playing it in every possible way myself, watching it being played by others on youtube, reading news, reviews and comments and still want more of it. 10 10 10
  12. May 14, 2013
    9
    I am loving this game so far. The graphics are absolutely stunning. The only thing that bugs me is that they incorporated SSA. Which is a really taxing antialiasing that isn't necessary; msaa would of sufficed. The reason i'm giving this a 9, is the story can be rather cheesy sometimes.
  13. May 14, 2013
    10
    It's really the best-looking game I've ever seen! It has everything that is needed to linear shooter atmosphere, story, gunfight or stealthy gameplay, awesome graphics... All you need is just sit back and let this game dip you in its world and you will have the most entertaining, creepy and honestly post-apocalyptic journey you can ever find
  14. May 14, 2013
    10
    The game is absolutely amazing, a true work of art i loved the first one and this one is even better. It's all i was hoping for and even more. There are not too many memorable atmospheric games for me and the metro games are with the others at the top of my list, sure there still are some flaws, FOV settings would have been nice, voice acting isn't incredible, gun sounds haven't improved much etc... but this game is so damn satisfying it still gets a 10 from me.

    The game is 100% smooth for me GTX670 maxed out without SSAA
    Expand
  15. May 14, 2013
    10
    What makes my review worthy? Oh some very simple facts: I am Russain, I speak Russian, I read Russian, I played Metro 2033 and i am reading the book atm. This game is 10/10, at first i was bit uneasy with some of the new facial models but that is just because of an updated engine. The ability to customize my weapons actually made the bastard, well...less bastardy. All in all, this game did not disappoint me one bit, well worth the preorder. Idk why some "professional" reviewers gave it like a 70. AI is fine, sure could use some work, but still fine and seems to act fairly intelligent. 10/10 Buy it, play it, embrace the metro! Expand
  16. May 18, 2013
    9
    Metro Last Light is one of the best looking games in 2013 to date. It's combat is great even along with it's stealth combat. Atmosphere is amazing and makes you feel how tough living in this world really is, it shows how the last of humanity is holding up. It's just a dark world that grips you in. Story is very well told with a very well made intro to get you starting in and with an amazing ending to make you just go "wow". You will care for characters, and others. Helping others has it's own reward. Just remember that Karma is a The setting of last light is also fresh and new. Like, what other game lets you play in a post apocalyptic Moscow metro? None. This game delivers that and does it extremely well. Though Last Light has it's problems such as its really linear story, AI Stealth detection is a bit forgiving and off but not enough to ruin it for you. There are also technical difficulties that the developers can fix. And my biggest problem with the game is that its main characters voice does not use it in game but only in loading screens. I think if they put his voice in game, then dialogue would sound allot less awkward and better. Narrative would become amazing. Over all this game is a must own for any one looking into a well driven story, especially if your a metro fan. Expand
  17. May 16, 2013
    10
    All I want from a game is a decent, mature story that I can interact and immerse myself in. The Metro series is by far one of the best games out there for this. I can spend hours just wandering around the stations listening to the conversations and getting a feel for life in the metro. This is not a generic first person shooter, this is the real deal. Style and substance.

    If you're
    still reading this and not downloading it on steam, then you know what to do. Expand
  18. May 14, 2013
    10
    A HUGE improvement over Metro 2033 back in 2010. Almost all of the negative aspects of that game have been fixed here. Mainly the stealth and shooting mechanics. Superb atmosphere that immerses you completely, with tons of creepy noises and stunning sights. The shooting actually feels great now and can compete with the best FPS's out there. The story is also interesting. DO NOT listen to the people that rate it 1's 2's and 3's etc bashing the game. They are talking complete nonsense. Most of these negative reviews will no doubt come from the "angryjoe ranger mode DLC debacle" band wagon jumpers. That is not a reason to bash the game, at all, end of. The publishers are to blame. Expand
  19. May 14, 2013
    10
    My respect for Ukrainian developers. The game is incredible! The game is very high quality and incredibly atmospheric. such a complete immersion in the game I have not had. I love it!
  20. May 15, 2013
    10
    rail-shooter, but due to the story (which is the best in this game) understandably so.
    what I find funny is this: many people give this game a low rating, BECAUSE there are NO open-world elements at_all, but... said people gave Bioshock Infinite high ratings and praised it although that game is as_much a shooter on rails, as is this one!

    the game is mediocre at best and it is
    saddening because it could havbe been a great linear shooter, if it weren't for all those bugs, the bad AI and too many little things.

    I really loved the first Metro 2033 this one just isn't as good... or I am not as forgiving as I have been before.
    Expand
  21. May 14, 2013
    10
    Atmospheric, personal, and vastly superior to its predecessor. Last Light is everything I could've hoped for. The new companion characters have real personalities, and are strong in a fight. Everything seems more polished and interesting, and the storyline really drives you to play through the whole game.
  22. BMF
    May 16, 2013
    10
    This game is up there with Half Life 2, I don't really need to say more but I will. Metro Last Light is an extremely well realised world everything feels like a living breathing environment full of things to discover and people to meet. The graphics are top notch and killing both humans and creatures feels excellent and is very brutal. I recommend this game to anyone who fancies themselves gamers but even none gamers would be able to enjoy the great story and atmosphere. Expand
  23. May 14, 2013
    10
    As someone who played metro 2033, this game lives up to good expectations. The stealth system is definitely workable. As you sneak along you can unscrew light bulbs on the way. Makes for a fun, easier and very much playable game
  24. May 14, 2013
    10
    Game is amazing, the atmosphere, the graphics, the improved gunplay and the immersion are all top notch.

    Go buy this game ASAP and turn off the lights and crank the volume up! improved over the first game in every way!
  25. May 14, 2013
    10
    deep dive into USSR world. Cool story, nice graphic, awesome actor voice(english with russian accent), atmosphere. Allot unexpected moments, different locations, cut scenes and characters.
    One word: Must have!
  26. May 22, 2013
    10
    Great game with great atmosphere, and story! Definitely worth playing. Its a masterpiece!. This game has excellent graphics, I believe its better than crysis 3 in graphics.
  27. May 25, 2013
    10
    It would have been a shame if this game doesn't come out. When i played i really felt that im part of the story, and its atmosphere just made my mouth remain-open. The graphics are super cool, but its not the effects but the drawings of the cities which pulled this game to the highest level and made it a masterpiece.
  28. May 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. *SOME STORY SPOILERS BELOW*

    Now I haven't finished this game yet but I can't help but write about how much I love it. It is more or less more of Metro 2033 but it's bigger, better, and one of the best shooters I've played so far. The story will have moments that will make you feel many things, from the shocking plane crash flashback to that funny talent show with several awesome acts to watch. There are also a couple memorable companions that will aid you that aren't throwaways like many of the ones in Metro 2033. The overall plot is similar to 2033 though in that you play a guy tasked with wiping out a mysterious alien species. There's more of the communist and nazi faction stuff though as well.

    The stealth has been drastically improved from 2033 with a detection meter and smart enemy AI that will react to dead bodies and sound.

    There aren't really any new guns but the returning ones still feel great to use and have impact. My personal favourite is the revolving shotgun, which is great for taking down mutants. Speaking of mutants there are a few new types like the creepy spider things that can only be killed by shining a light on them to reveal their soft bellies and a swimming shrimp creature that inhabits some of the swampy areas you'll come across.

    The trolley cart sections are back but this time you'll get your own little go kart to ride a long the tunnels for a bit, which you're free to stop at any time to explore some optional tunnels that have ammo and money to find. The game world is still pretty linear, but there are a fair number of optional areas you can explore. The towns have more to do in them as well, including a couple mini games and more interesting conversations to listen in on.

    I should also not forget to mention the atmosphere of the game which is absolutely amazing as it was in 2033. There are dark and eerie tunnels, warm and welcoming large town stations that are absolutely filled with NPC's and little conversations going on, and the eerily beautiful yet harsh surface of Moscow with ruined buildings and the remains of St. Basil's cathredal. Not even the wastelands in Fallout or Rage can top the beauty of Metro's Moscow. It's brought to life by the 4A engine that has spectacular lighting and dynamic animations. The sound design of the game is excellent as well. It relies more on ambient sound effects but there are some soft guitar tunes and some suspenseful music for the horror based sections. Not to mention the russian folk music on radios :P

    Overall it's a must own game that delivers a fantastic atmosphere, great stealth and combat mechanics, and a compelling narrative full of twists and memorable moments. I haven't encountered any flaws worth mentioning yet except for an annoying bug that makes shadows all pixelated. I will update this review once I have finished the game, as I'm only about half way through so far.
    Expand
  29. May 21, 2013
    9
    If you have GTX Nvidia you'll get one of the best looking games out there. Great atmosphere, improved game play & stealth, unique guns, shooting is easily the best this year so far! Also one of the best horror I've ever played. Enemies are challenging. Levels design is amazing.
    Not perfect though, could have been more open. Great game overall
  30. May 23, 2013
    10
    Not only does this game have good graphics but it also very immersive and puts you deep into the game. The unique environments and astonishing lighting effects help create that. The story is also very well written and the gameplay is very realistic from charging your flash light, to putting on your gas mask, to changing your filters and wiping away dirt from your screen with your hand. I definitely recommend this to anyone who likes playing action,adventure and choice making games. Expand
  31. May 23, 2013
    10
    4A Games can be pride of Metro: Last Light. Unique atmosphere... No! I actually love this game and Metro 2033 because it's so nice when characters call you by your name I want more!
  32. May 16, 2013
    10
    The best FPS ever made!
    Yes, for me it's the best FPS game that ever made, far much better than BioShock, battlefield, of course, COD.
    The sound, the view, the details... Can't be more exciting for such a wonderful game.
  33. May 16, 2013
    10
    This game deserves >9. It pushes modern hardware (somewhat), it has an excellent story, it is novel, thought provocative, and intelligent. And it ends with an uplifting message.
    .
    Don't shy away from from the unknown. Have the courage to try something--something that you may not understand. Play this game.
  34. May 24, 2013
    10
    I haven't played such a good game in a LONG time.
    This is a kind of game that comes once in a couple of years, it's that good! I loved everything about it.
    Download newest patches to improve performance on PC.
  35. May 14, 2013
    9
    I think the best way to describe Metro: Last Light is that it's almost the same as it's predecessor. In most cases this might be considered a negative, but here it's actually a good thing, as the original had a great formula. What Last Light might lack in innovation it makes up for in polish, with an atmosphere that feels more immersive than ever and a story that is a little more personal. Stealth and combat are largely unchanged, with a couple of new weapons added. I feel it's worth mentioning that normal and hard difficulties are still sort of easy. Probably the most common complaint about 2033 was that it was sort of linear Last Light remedies that with some truly well done, open outdoor maps. Some downsides are that the game doesn't play nice with AMD cards (nothing too major, just shadow flickering) and they removed the armor specializations. Bottom line, if you enjoyed Metro 2033, you will like Last Light just as much, if not more. Expand
  36. May 15, 2013
    9
    Let's be honest, the ommision of Ranger Mode is stupid. It can be circumvented, and I plan on doing that. (Or, they will come to their senses) This game is fantastic, visually stunning, and frighting. I cannot stress enough what a great sequel this is. They deserve your money.
  37. May 18, 2013
    10
    Most people would probably pick it up thinking it was a COD clone. Regardless, this game blows my mind. The story is so direct and driven by the crumbled wasteland environment, filled with unique subway cities that really gave me a sense of reality. Atmosphere I haven't stopped to look at all the details in a video game in a long, long time. Pick it up, thank me later.
  38. May 15, 2013
    10
    Awesome game.
    Great graphics, good optimization, great gameplay, Interesting story.
    I really hope that the series will not end on this game.
    Thanks to the developers 4A Games.
  39. May 15, 2013
    10
    Great game, "DLC" aside this was a great continuation to metro 2033. This game is great with options of game-play, wanna sneak by everyone? go ahead. wanna paint the walls red? Uh...guess that's okay too. While there are not too many options when it comes to graphics, it does have all the others to give you quite a bit of customization. Combat is a very good quality and a fun weapon customization gives plenty of options for how you wanna play.

    will note: there are several scenes with the boobies, parents have been warned :)

    a comment to those complaining about the ranger dlc, I would like to point to a statistic about metro 2033 ranger mode. With steam, only 1.5% of the players completed easy ranger and 1.7% completed hard ranger mode. So you should ask, is it a mode I WOULD/OTHERS WOULD actually play? or is EASY>MEDIUM>HARD enough for most.

    PS- I do not support what THQ put up for dlc before it changed hands.
    Expand
  40. May 15, 2013
    10
    I literally just beat (no spoilers here). At first I wasn't sure how I would rate it since I need the full picture before rating anything. However, once I completed it I was in awe of how great it was. 4A added in amazing features such as requiring you to wipe your visor when it is splattered in blood. It also looks great, just make sure your pc is up to specs first. Combat was made much more fluid than in 2033 and stealth is more practical now that more fires can be extinguished and the knife was redesigned to compliment stealth (which I recommend is done at all times, especially when playing Ranger Mode).

    It does have a few problems though. These include the fact that is a very labor intensive game, therefore make sure you have a good computer before playing. Also, it irks me that I can't switch a scope between weapons; you have to sell the scope and then re-buy it for the weapon you want it on. The Ranger Mode complaints are understandable, but it is not necessary to play the game.

    However, these do not detract enough to lessen the awesomeness that is Metro: Last Light.
    Expand
  41. May 16, 2013
    10
    Love it. The Metro Last light is a great game on every aspect. Most thrilling for me is the story. The game, unlike many shooters encourages people to act good as your constantly been judged by higher entity. Flashes occure when you listen peoples concerns, play music to communicate with god and spare lives no matter how flawed they are. Metro is unique first person shooter where on a surface it`s like a b-movie script where you kill the nazis and save the babes, but exploring more the symbolism and the lore of this universe you find that acting selfless and sparing lives of those who are flawed or different is the only way to be enlightened and redeemed in gods mind. The title just hits the spot "Last light". Few of good games. Expand
  42. May 20, 2013
    10
    It is 3 AM right now and I'm still awake writing this because I simply cannot sleep after Metro Last Light. Not because it may give me nightmares, but because I feel restless after completing such an amazing journey. My mind is racing, trying to comprehend how a game can be this good. I'm absolutely blown away by every aspect of Metro Last Light. It is more than just a PC game, it is a work of art and a piece of humanity, no less. I loved Metro 2033, I was really looking forward to this game, and more of the same would be perfectly fine by me. However, everything got turned up to 11 in Last Light from 2033. With great polish and presentation it is such a better game than 2033. The world is completely realized with much attention to detail, it is easy to get lost in it for hours. Every corner of the world, every character feel so alive, almost like there is a soul behind it all. The story is excellent, the touch of Dmitry Glukhovsky is clear. It always keeps you curious about what is next. Where does this lead and how will it unfold, I just could not get enough of it. The brute reality of war and the paranormal subconscious of Metro are fused together. Many characters are introduced and very well developed. I enjoyed to learn more about Artyom and understand him. Khan is at his best. There is so little time for Artyom and Anna together, but the attachment created is so strong. I only wish we could find out more about Ulman and Miller. The gameplay is smooth and satisfying. No matter if you want to clear your way with lead or stay in shadows. The introduced take-downs are varied enough and are effective. The pacing is unpredictable to say the least, but somehow it fits perfectly. The game is about 15 hours, depending on how you play. It feels complete, but I wish it would go on for more. The weapons feel much better and there is more than before. New guns are great and fit in the world of Metro. The customization is just right as well, and guns behavior does depend heavily on how you set them up. Throwing knifes are much easier to use now, but I did not mind them in 2033 either. I personally welcome the limit on number of guns you can take with now. Human AI is not bad at all. I just wish they would actually search the area instead of standing in one spot and wondering if they seen anything. Monster/Mutant AI is excellent however. Here and there it even seems like tactics are involved. Fighting for survival gets extremely tense and I love it. Last, but not the least are the graphics and art style. I have never seen a game so beautiful. Its hard to not just stop and stare, simply amazing! The immersion is endless. I ended up with 380+ screenshots by end of the game. The lighting, texture, character models, animations, etc. Everything is top notch quality. The optimization though is not really there. However, the game runs smooth maxed on two 7870s LE with the latest patch. 30-80 FPS, quite a variance indeed. As far is art style goes, the whole game is a masterpiece. Whichever way you look, its like you are in art gallery. To sum it up, Metro Last Light is a superb shooter, stealth, adventure or simply, it is orgasmic. I always ask myself a question about every great FPS since 2005: Is this game better than Half Life 2? By the end of Metro Last Light I could surely say for the first time ever, YES! Bioshock Infinite came so close, but Metro has done it for me, finally. I applaud and bow to 4A, Dmitry Glukhovsky and Deep Silver. Buy this game, you will never regret it Expand
  43. May 25, 2013
    10
    Last Light may be a game, that you may have discounted. I know i did, but the other day i decided to pick it up and have a go. I never regretted it. I have never been immersed in a game so much as Last Light. I highly recommend you give it a try.
  44. May 16, 2013
    9
    Metro: Last Light's take on a post apocalyptic world strips away a lot of the tongue-and-cheek (Fallout/Rage) and Saturday morning cartoon (Borderlands/Bulletstorm) and instead creates a bleak yet beautiful world that wouldn't be at all fun to live in. It's darker and grittier setting straddles the line between horror, science fiction, and mms and does so very well.
    -
    The story, much
    like Metro 2033's, is a linear narrative driven one, which you once again take up the role of Artyom, a skilled ranger who is more often than not used as a pawn. This story begins after the events of Metro 2033 and ties into the choices made in that games conclusion. What really sells this story is the masterfully crafted world in which it takes place. It draws you in and makes the experience very immersive.
    -
    Pros Graphic Fidelity. World Design. Animations. Story. Sound. Gameplay.
    -
    Cons: Average English Voice Acting. Average A.I.
    Expand
  45. May 16, 2013
    9
    One of the best looking games so far bar none. What they did with lighting, shadows, particles was just amazing. The game does a great job of pacing you along, it does get a bit linear at times but the way it is done more then makes up for that.

    Keep in mind that at the time of this writing SSAA is just a pure system killer, basically you will have twice the frame-rate at 2X SSAA then
    you would 4x SSAA. While it can still be played like that it can cause more then undesirable fps in game, with the occasional dip going way low at times. Expand
  46. May 16, 2013
    10
    Despite some technical bugs I cannot find a single problem with Metro Last Light. One of the best games this generation, and probably one of the greatest of all time, right up there with Bioshock and Metroid Prime.
  47. May 15, 2013
    9
    The two games in the Metro series have that rare honor of being games that people either immediately hate or love. This is true for both 2033 and Last Light. Especially Last Light. Metro 2033 is one of my favorite all time games, being insanely difficult at times and horribly unforgiving and unique. Very unique. While Last Light continues in the vein of its predecessor its different. I love the atmosphere. The sets, the lighting, the creatures, the tension and the shooting are really second to none. The weapons are so well developed and enjoyable to shoot that it actually rises from the predecessor. The story is driven by eaves dropping and it demands.... no it REQUIRES patience to get the full story. While the story is linear, if you stick to just running from station to station and don't take chances with your air filters and your life by exploring you will miss the best part of this game.

    Where it fails is in fully exploring the developing factions and that would have required a MUCH longer game. While I have not completed it yet (maybe 1/2 to 2/3 of the way through? I just arrived at the church outpost.) and I have clocked 10 hours on the game. It would have been a great addition to have more areas to explore. Perhaps that can be added as a DLC a true DLC and not the Ranger mode controversy. I get why 4A and Deep Silver made that decision to not limit content and not to make it time sensitive but having more areas to explore would add a lot to the game.

    The voice acting is very hit and miss. At first I could not believe that Artyom was the same actor. The voice was much more confident, less bleak and more powerful. But that actual fits the maturing of Artyom from an inexperienced young buck with a wicked aim and tough as nails into a a true Ranger.

    The game, and I have to emphasize this, is drop dead gorgeous. The lighting is spectacular. The sound is top notch with a great score. I also have to emphasize that the AI, on Normal at least, goes brain dead if you are successful with stealth which is not as difficult as you would think. Woe be to those who would engage in an all out fire fight in some sections. The human enemies have unbelievably good aim, work to flank you and, of course since its just you, they focus fire and take you down quickly if you botch it or are so foolish ans to start shooting with limited cover. So stealth is for humans, guns and bombs a blazing for beasts. The new mutant creatures are brilliant and difficult. Fighting is frantic, particularly on the surface where you not only need to manage your sparse ammo (not as sparse on normal as it was in 2033 however) and track your filter time. Its a brilliant way to make the game have real tension and express the panic of a fire fight no matter how tough you are.

    I also really appreciated being able to explore the stations and the lives of those in the Metro. It feels very real. While some may be offended by the treatment of women in the game it is NOT unbelievable AT ALL. Some women are tough as nails like Anna the sniper, but others become victims of a horribly transformed world.

    The story is very compelling and this is a game of immersion. If you don't like story and taking your time, you will NOT like this game. I look forward to a second play through on Ranger mode. Unlike its predecessor, playing on normal does not feel that hard at least not as hard as 2033. It feels more normal as a challenge instead just damn HARD and confusing.

    This is a great survival game with a great story that I hope we will have more of.
    Expand
  48. May 19, 2013
    10
    This is game of the year. I just love this series. I have read the books i have played all games. And last light isn't a disappointment. It is better in every aspect.
  49. May 24, 2013
    10
    Metro: Last Light:
    Best atmosphere that I‘ve seen in games ever.
    Good cut-scenes in Call of Duty stile.
    Nice level design and very interesting storytelling.
  50. May 20, 2013
    10
    The high user score average is a great tell tale sign that this is an awesome game. Loved it from start to finish. It's what gaming is all about aka immersion, action, emotion, fun, etc. I'm struggling to find a single thing I disliked about this game. It's one of those few that stand out amongst the rest. I wasn't a fan of Metro 2033 if I'm honest but A4 games upped the ante and produced a gaming legend. I read about the budget and the conditions the guys had to work in to make this game and that alone makes it a perfect 10. Kudos to A4. Expand
  51. May 15, 2013
    9
    Metro Last Light is an atmospheric post apocalyptic adventure that will take you on a thrill ride from start to finish. MetroLL takes place about a year after the first game and you still play as the silent hero Artym. MetroLL is a story driven game that is written really well and the characters are likable enough to keep you interested in them. The atmosphere and level design are all top notch, especially areas where you get to leave the metro and go to the surface. MetroLL has to be one of the most beautiful pc games I have ever played. I do own the xbox version as well and I have to give credit to 4A games for making a game look this good on pc/consoles. The guns all have a real world feeling to them and the hit detection is much better than in the previous game. The stealth gameplay is much better this time around and allows you to play the game the way you want to. You can go in guns blazing or conserve ammo for the surface and kill quietly in the shadows. MetroLL is a great game that shouldn't be missed if you like a good singleplayer immersive experience. 4A games did a great job on this game and proved that there are a lot of talented developers in Europe. Expand
  52. May 19, 2013
    9
    The game has a unbelievable atmosphere that beats any game that has come out this year. The combat is a huge step up to 2033. The amount of side activities is huge.The game does suffers from frame rate drops. Which in this game were its about immersing its just takes you right out. If this was fixed the game would be a 10 out of 10.
  53. May 19, 2013
    9
    This game is very good especially if you considering the problems 4A have. The game can easily make you lost in it and it has outside influences especially listening around(if you read a lot of books and know your history you will know what I am talking about). The game was made my opinion that it is a masterpiece after I played it the second time playing and exploring the game even further than the first run. The game was worth it to get, too bad that 4A has problems when making the game. I only had put 9/10 because there is always room for improvement. Expand
  54. May 19, 2013
    10
    Metro last light was amazing. The game is beautiful as well as the action packed cut scenes. I hate seeing people hate on this game. I honestly don't understand all the negatives. I think there're just disappointed their rigs cant handle this game. Stupid nubs
  55. May 20, 2013
    10
    The attention to detail in this game is breath taking, at some points in the game I found myself just looking around the metros just taking all the atmosphere in and emerging myself into this games world
    The graphics are some of the best I have ever seen In any game and the game play is Much in proved
    over the previous game
    I think metro last light will be one of the best games of 2013
  56. May 15, 2013
    9
    never beat 2033. while better, not needed to understand last light. i hate fps, and all i have to say about this game, is worthy of the score i am giving it. A complete blast, intense. there are no shallow moments, it has better stealth than spilnter cell ffs.

    inceridble atmosphere, gunplay, difficulty, all well paced and very well acted. Optimization is not the best, but if you
    can run it, you are going to absolutely love it, guaranteed. Expand
  57. May 24, 2013
    10
    This game is soooooo friggin' amazing. Great difficulty, I died 4 times while playing on easy! The atmosphere is the best atmosphere in any game to date. Your skin will crawl and the dread that will consume you is palpable. Great controls, graphics, but the sound is iffy in regards to one thing, the melee when stabbing something sounds like something you would hear from playstation 1. Besides that, I can not conjure up a lower score than 10. Metro: Last Light is (hold your breath for this) better than the amazing Bioshock Infinite. I didn't think it was possible, but Last Light's pacing and atmosphere is the best I've seen in any survival horror game. Expand
  58. May 18, 2013
    10
    May 18th 2013. this is the BEST graphics I have seen on a PC game, Just amazing! environments/lighting are WOW! Facial graphics are an 7 out of 10. The game is Extremely Polished! The interface, the movement of the character, excellent work! Attention to detail is also amazing! I am very impressed with this game!
  59. May 18, 2013
    10
    This game is superb in every way, and the only thing I can honestly say is that this is the sequel we've been waiting for, and it is every bit as good as we had hoped.
  60. May 16, 2013
    10
    Just awesome.
    This game, and these developers really are the last hope for PC gaming. They are the only people producing games to the quality which we expect in 2013.

    The story, setting, atmosphere, graphics, are all sublime. The gun play is very good, the stealth is very good. It is your DUTY if you appreciate PC games, to buy this and support the developers. We cannot let EA and
    Activision dominate the market when really their best efforts are LAZY by comparison to the makers of Metro.

    Frankly this is the best game ive played in years, there is so much love which has gone into it. From texture quality to little jokes such as the russian-doll-box, to the sheer amount of detail in the environments and audio. It is a real meaty enthralling experience i am only too happy to engrose myself with.

    I could have knocked a point or two off, for the shadow flickering bugs which i suffered as an ATI user, but the developers have been very quick to release a patch to fix it, and everything is working extremely slick now, no bugs, no crashes.

    9.6/10

    I have rounded up.
    Expand
  61. May 16, 2013
    10
    the greatest game you will ever play since Stalker. the second part no doubt bypass Metro2033 by a mile stone, graphics, story, customization, gameplay and artwork all 10/10 stars. I seriously have no idea how some reviewers gave this game 7/10, i believe now some of the reviewers are getting paid tones of money from developers in order put their games at over 9. this game worth every penny you spend on. top game of this year. Expand
  62. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Metro Last Light is an FPS shooter with linear gameplay and Metal Gear-esque combat, set in a post-apocalyptic world with the human race divided; it comes with a strong story, slick combat, great graphics, and AMAZING ambience make for a breathtakingly immersive atmosphere that pulls you in and doesn't let go. It's not an open-roam game like Borderlands or Fallout 3, but from the beginning it's clear that's not what it sets out to do. Have you ever went on the Disneyland Pirates of the Carribean or Indiana Jones ride where you experience various visual and audio stimulus and it makes you feel as if you are passing through a movie? That's the best way I can describe Metro, though you feel like you’re actually in a movie navigating the gorgeously grim cinematography, fighting monsters and humans alike, strolling through vibrant pockets of civilization this paired with some really cool mechanics like having to crank charge your flashlight after extended use, swap out a cracked gas mask, or occasionally wipe blood off it these all culminate into a very memorable experience that is a welcome breath of fresh air from the achievement-laden, progression-fueled games of today; Metro on the other hand, focuses its attention on storytelling through its gritty realism and quick-pacing. I'm not a huge FPS fan, but I couldn’t help but love this game, I blasted through it in a bit over a day! Expand
  63. May 16, 2013
    9
    In the year of 2013, the world is devastated by nuclear war. What is left of humanity in Moscow runs in to the anti bomb refuge, where sunlight does not reach, and nature is... different. Forgotten by gods, and victims of evil fate, humans survived. But even after one destruction, the metro is on the brink of another, this tame inflamed by wrong believes and twisted ideals, all fueled by man.
    Enter the Metro, and see the things I saw...
    After 2033, I was left with optimistic feeling for the sequel, it didn't disappoint. With almost 10 hours of gameplay, that never feel empty or rushed, you will be on a trilling ride.
    Artyom continues his adventure, joined by old and some new friends. Again we will be leaved in the metro fighting against humans and un humans alike, with good arsenal of weapons that can be customizable to certain extent. The gameplay is still similar to 2033, this time however stealth kills and the stealth itself, I think is polished here. True it sounds and looks retarded when you see just how blind enemies are, when there's no light, I tried with different difficulties, but I didn't find any difference, and still Metro LL was never design as all around stealth shooter, but rather as FPS where you have choices, and that's something I always value in a game.
    My recommendation is to stick to the revolver if you are low on military bullets. Coupled with silencer, and scope and this thing is pocket sniper rifle. Really handy, especially when you want to get rid of hard to reach light resources.
    Again, this game is immersion, pure immersion. So full, reach and detailed. Again you will be amazed how every small city feels alive, populated by real human beings with real problems. Things to do, and interact with, both humans and subjects will make you feel part of a breathing world, done so good, that you can even sense their strong need for survival, their fears, their pain. All bundled with interesting story, and FINALLY, a good character development, rather then plot tools, and you will know that, when you have the urge to kill bad guys.
    I will not spoil the story but I will tell you this:
    - watch your mask, when you are out there, keep the filters count, this time depending on the filters you will know how much time you have
    - everything on the surface is hostile, but some of the wild "animals" actually are enemies, by the law of this new nature. You can find it handy at some times, but don't get too comfortable with it.
    - darkness is your friend, light is your enemy. But sometimes it's the opposite.
    - there are two endings, one is bad for you, and the second good for all. If you know what I mean, check google for guide. It's not easy, but offers a good challenge.
    - exploration is rewarded... If you have the balls that is...
    - Metro LL is not Call of Duty, Battlefield or Fallout. It is in a league of it's own or rather in the league of the actually interesting FPS, like Half Life.
    - no multiplayer in that manner too. Only immersive, story driven game.

    I love that game, a worthy sequel. I too feel aggravated by this ranger pack, I hate DLC cheap exploits more then ever, and I hope there isn't more on the way.
    Definitely a must buy for the Metro and FPS fans alike.
    9/10
    Definelty
    Expand
  64. May 18, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game from the beginning till the end. I loved metro 2033 and sequel didn't dissapoint. Some of the details and graphics I've seen. Story is very unique and unlike anything I've seen in other games.

    Thank you developers for making such a great game I would recommend this to anyone.
  65. May 18, 2013
    9
    The gameplay of this one is amazing. It has good atmosphere and it feels like it was real. The story is pretty neat. There are only 2 things I don't like about this game: The english speech files were really unrealistic. So I play with the russian ones with english text. And also there are many lags. I have a really good pc but it still is lagging some times.
    It still is one of the best
    survival-fps-games I've ever played. Expand
  66. May 18, 2013
    10
    After playing Metro 2033 time and time again, and loving it more each time through, this game had a lot to live up to in my eyes. Upon purchasing the game, my excitement was almost palpable. From the intro video, all the way to the last dramatic scene, I was 100% captivated. This game is one of the most impressive games I've played. The ambiance is both creepy, and incredibly beautiful at the same time. This game was so well written, the emotion within the game was incredible. Scene to scene, you learned hate, love, fear, and survival. I can go on forever about this game, I bought it, beat it, and I am already about to play it again as soon as I'm done here. The weapons are fun as hell, many more weapons wait for you within the Metro now. New enemies, smarter AI, and a stealth system that actually works (unlike Metro 2033 which could've used a bit more work). I've been raving about this game since I bought it, and I even went as far as to write this review, urging you all to get it. It will not disappoint! Expand
  67. May 18, 2013
    10
    Another masterpiece has joined the ranks of fps games.
    Every moment in the eerrie metro is suspensful as it could be your last. But you tak a moment to look at the stunning and atmospheric scenery. But the peace is ended when a set of bone chilling sounds are set by a pack of mutants coming to slay you. This is just an example of the tense moments the game constantly offers. And not only
    that, the gameplay is amazingly paced and that you are constantly put into different experiences and enviornments. One momment you are fighting a horde of monsters waiting to get on a boat, and the next you are desparetly trying to keep shrimp creaturs off your boat. This game just takes everything about the first one (personaly an 8) and optimizes it to near perfection. The AI is vastly improved from the fiirst and stealth is now a realistic possibility. The plot is also unnpredicable and suspensful. The only real problem with this game is that it ends There are also a couple bugs and I crashed a couple times. Other than that the game is amazing. The addition of boss fights also help, but it feels a bit annoying that it takes 100s of bullts to take down a big beast. And the ending is intense and brings a satisfying conclusion. If you want the basics...

    pros:
    Great story
    Atomsphere
    AMAZING graphics
    good AI
    great pacing
    boss fights this is kinda in the middle)
    suspense

    cons
    a few bugs
    It Ends
    Expand
  68. May 18, 2013
    10
    Created an account JUST for this critic! This game is great in all ways! GREAT Graphics, not too heavy on your PC (used Geforce 660ti and it worked perfectly!), GREAT music, GREAT gameplay, GREAT action scenes, Great Story, Great sequel for first game, they are nicely connected!! You feel really merged with the game and main character.... like you're the one using the mask! The rain,mud and blood effects, with you needing to clean it.... The darkness where you try to hide from monsters or be stealth against human enemies.... (JUST CLOSE YOURSELF IN A DARK ROOM AND PLAY IT, its gonna be an unforgettable experience hahaha)!! The paths you have to choose between good and evil is really nice, YOU make your character by YOUR consciousness!! Maintaining those hidden "flashes" from the first game that helps you getting an alternate ending kept me playing a little more Not knowing witch weapon to take, witch one will be more effective..... not knowing if its better to spend your hard earned "money" on new ones and getting upgrades or saving for later....
    Started playing it when it launched on Steam on Friday.... didnt feel Sunday coming O_O........ This game is a MUST BUY!
    Expand
  69. May 22, 2013
    10
    The guys at A4 Games did a fantastic job with Metro LL. Great story and atmosphere, looks incredible (comparable to Crysis 3 but runs about 100 x better on PC). Well worth the money you put down on and I enjoyed this more then Bioshock Infinite which is a testamant to the games overriding quality.
  70. May 17, 2013
    9
    HL2 Potential Ego Shooter with incredible good Graphics and very deeb Atmosphere. Its linear most times, here and there a little extra to explore. The Locations are all very detailed and you can see and hear the love the Dev´s put into it. The Game is very polished, I didnt encounter any bugs or crashes.
    4A Games showed impressive how awesome a Shooter can be.
  71. May 16, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider, BioShock Infinite and now Metro Last Light. This year of starting was good for Single FPS campaign genre games. I did play Metro 2033, that was quite interesting but little bit boring at some times because of slow story but the fear and thriller in Metro 2033 was great i enjoyed it and i bought this Metro LL on release date and this game is success to it's previous title. A deep story pretty much things to explore and understanding all the meanings of each thing and missions is little complicated. Then comes time you have to take decisions.

    If you are one of them who is bored because of "Artyom do this do that, sure it has lot of dialogues and follow up" and you can't go anywhere else but that's how game suppose to be, it also gives pretty much things to explore, if one knows where to look. This game is about story telling and keeping up pace with that too. MLL didn't bore be on some occasions like Metro 2033 did and i did all my mission in stealth type Hardcore ranger mode. It was intense fighting the Reds, Reich and Monsters. Give it a try this game is good. I rate this game no.1 followed by is BioShock Infinite and then comes Tomb Raider!
    Expand
  72. May 18, 2013
    10
    I think this game doesn't deserve score 10 like any other game, but when i see nonsense like Bioshock infinite with so high scores I'm gonna give 10 to Metro LL.

    I have small problems with AI in this game. NPC AI should be more aggressive, especially if developers throw surviving concept in game. It should really force you to use stealth.

    Sure, for casual player there is always low
    difficulty level. Expand
  73. May 18, 2013
    9
    Metro 2033 was a great game marred by clunky gunfights and some bad design decision. I'm happy to report that Last Light improves the overall game play by leaps and bounds. The gun fights are a joy and the level design is far more coherent and varied.
    Night vision is now useful and you can customise your guns with some good add-ons. It is now worth spending your currency in things other
    than bullets.
    The actual game play is great. You will go through enemy infested tunnels, swamps and ruins. You're encouraged to go stealthy and take out enemies one by one because once you go Rambo, you'll learn very quickly that your enemies are quite competent at kicking your butt.
    One thing that may be seen as a negative is that your trips to the surface are no longer mad, desperate dashes for survival like in 2033. But considering that Artyom is now a fully fledge ranger, it makes sense.

    Don't let the fact that this is a sequel put you off. You do not need to play Metro 2033 put you enjoy Last Light. This is an outstanding game which when you consider the difficult conditions the Ukrainian devs had to work under, makes it even more impressive.
    Collapse
  74. May 17, 2013
    10
    This is one of those games that is full immersion. Turn the lights off, and turn the sound up, and it is truly an experience. You can hear far-off noises that add to the game. The controls are very much improved from Metro 2033, and is more like Call of duty controls with spin wheels to select things. A fantastic game in my opinion.
  75. May 18, 2013
    10
    Started the campaign at 7:30 PM ET and completed it at 4:30 AM ET...truly an experience i wont forget. I was immersed throughout the whole game and was lost from the moment i set foot in The Metro.
  76. May 23, 2013
    10
    Best game i have ever seen! Thanks Dmitry Gluhovsky and Andrey Prohorov and all developers 4A Games! YOU are the best. Waiting new game from you Good Luck!
  77. May 26, 2013
    10
    One of the BEST games I played so far this year! Its as good as Bioshock but takes place in Moscow. Amazing story and gameplay. The shooting is awesome!
  78. May 17, 2013
    9
    If you want a good story driven atmospheric shooter, you won't find anything better than metro last light. Everything from the rain and blood spatter on your gas mask, to your ragged breathing as you run out of time on your filter serves to draw you into the experience. They've also tightened up the gunplay and the stealth mechanic, mostly fixing Metro 2033's biggest weak point, which was lackluster combat. Even when there not environmental dangers abound the game is packed with tons of NPC dialogue that fleshes the world of Last Light, and you can hear some heartwarming and plenty of heartbreaking moments by taking the time to listen in on these stories. Add to this a compelling main plot and you've got the best FPS I've played in at least the last 5 years.

    It's not perfect however. The stealth, while fun, is incredibly easy as you're essentially invisible if you're in the shadows even if an enemy is a meter in front of you, which makes the game pretty easy (I played on Hardcore FYI) if you're playing it stealthily. The English voice acting (especially the children) is also pretty bad by today's standards. I know a lot of people say play this in Russian with subtitles, and I'd agree if not for the fact that much of the dialogue between NPCs isn't covered by subtitles, and there's a lot of good world building in those conversations. So I'd say play it in English if bad voice acting isn't a huge deal to you. It was also a bit unstable on my PC. It took me around 11 hours to beat the game, and it crashed to the desktop 5 times, twice during the last level, so until a patch comes out you can probably expect some bugs.

    Overall, any faults I find with Last Light are more than made up for in what it achieves. I wanted a deeply atmospheric shooter that took it's themes, atmosphere, and gameplay seriously, and Metro Last Light deliver that in spades. It creates a world oozing atmosphere out of every nook and cranny, and when you are playing this at night with the lights out there are few games that I've found more immersive.

    If you want a good idea what Metro Last Light is all about for yourself, watch the opening video on youtube http://tinyurl.com/cldpp2t There's no spoilers, no big war, no monsters, no evil person getting a magic macguffin, none of the usual stuff games usually throw at you before the title screen to try and hook you. Just a depressing tale of what has become of humanity and what one person has lost, and if you're anything like me, it'll suck you into the world of Metro like nothing else.
    Expand
  79. May 18, 2013
    9
    I had a really fun time with metro: last light. The setting of this series is just so intriguing that I can't help but love it. This game was nearly as good as metro 2033, If you're a fan of this genre then you will definitely enjoy last light.
  80. May 15, 2013
    9
    This game is really good. Loved the story, gameplay, and graphics. There are some minor problems though:
    1) shadow bugs on amd radeon, poor fps on amd radeon
    2) the game is rather easy- i've beaten it on ranger hardcore and it didn't feel like something hard. Sometimes the AI amazes me, but sometimes i'm like facepalm when a guys walks on me in twilight- not darkness and doesn't feel my
    presence at all rofl.
    3) graphics looked amazing with the play of light and shadow all over, the design felt really good too.
    Expand
  81. May 17, 2013
    9
    This game is just what you're looking for if you like post-apocalyptic games like fallout, but more in an FPS style. It is very immersive and the graphics are great. The combat mechanics feel very satisfying and are easy to use. The story is very good (most likely because it is based on a book) and the characters can sometimes seem real, besides some of the glitches you may encounter. (which are rare) I would recommend picking this game up, and playing it for as long as you can in one go. This game was just as good if not better than Metro 2033, and it is very much worth your money. Expand
  82. May 28, 2013
    10
    The game is incredible. I'm really not a huge fan of the FPS genre but this game makes me wonder why not. The story is amazing and complex, the graphics are detailed and flawless, and the atmosphere is simply unique. The only thing that is not extraordinary about the game is the game-play, which is good, but not sensational, like the other aspects of the game. I would give it a 9, because of the basic shooter game-play, however, I'll give it a 10 to balance it out a bit, for the people that gave it a 2 or 3 just to prove a point or something. Even if you don't like the game-play, you have to at least appreciate the story and/or graphics. Amazing. Expand
  83. May 23, 2013
    10
    Game is awesome. I am nearly towards the end and have found it to be substantially better than the first game. Fight mechanics and game-play have been greatly improved. This is one of the most immersive games I've played since....well, since Metro 2033.
  84. May 23, 2013
    10
    Last light gives me a similar feeling that Half life 2 did. A believable world. system driven gameplay within a focused linear context. Fantastic art and design. Tense moments, both scripted and procedurally generated. A truly fantastic sequel to a fantastic game. a must buy for anybody who is a fan of games in the immersive first person genre.
  85. May 18, 2013
    9
    This game did one thing phenomenally well and that was to tell a dark, intelligent, and truly compelling and rich story. The guns were good and felt right the character you play moves throughout the world nicely and it feels truly unique that you are in fact a part of your environment as it does affect you.
    However the only major downside and the reason why I did not give this a 10 is
    that sometimes the A.I. can be totally moronic and this often would make it easier than perhaps it should have been even in ranger mode on hard. Expand
  86. May 17, 2013
    10
    I'm not a big fan of Metro 2033. But this one --Metro: Last Light is one of the most engaging and fine detailed FPS I have played so far. If you have a performance PC with GTX670 or better, don't hesitate to grab this masterpiece. I guarantee it will not let you down!
    And yes, this game does have some minor problems, but considering 4A's weak financial condition and working environment, I
    give it a 10/10 instead of a 9/10. Expand
  87. May 26, 2013
    10
    In reality worth an 8.5-9. but gotta counter them 0's.
    People seem to forget that story telling FPS games are a genre. they exist, they market to a certain audienc. The gam itself runs smooth, immersive story/ambience, AI is just fine in ranger/hard mode, love the stealth aspect.
    One minor thing is the ridiculous Ranger DLC, publisher is to blame tho.
    All-in all, awesome game and grats
    to the devp for bringing such a high quality game on the market for such a low budget. Expand
  88. May 23, 2013
    10
    I am extremely impressed by Metro: Last Light. All those times when playing FPSes and thinking, "Damn, I wish this was just better..." Metro approaches that "better" ideal. I would highly recommend it for lovers of Dead Space and Half-Life. The atmosphere can be very horror-esque which plays to my liking though some may find it stressful. The best way to understand the comparison with Half Life is that I actually understood the story and was "on the edge of my seat" to see where it was going to go. It’s a great example for turning a book world into a viable and immensely interesting game world. And on top of that, the world and gameplay all supported the narrative. Just a real outstanding job by 4A, who in my opinion, have stolen the FPS crown. Expand
  89. May 26, 2013
    10
    Hay, Well I Have Tried Metro 2033 But This Is Really the Most Horrific Game I Played May Random Stuff and Nothing to Expect Which I like Most, May be it is Very Basic FPS Playing But Still One of Best Games I Played. One Thing to Add Really That Game Attracts U So Much Like U want to Complete it All Way To End One Time, :D
  90. May 26, 2013
    10
    Great atmosphere, graphics, audio and shooting action. The story and narrative are mostly OK, but nothing too outstanding, however the shooting and atmosphere more than make up for it.

    Play in a dark room and headphones for the best effect. And if you have NVidia 3D you must use it. This looks amazing and jaw dropping in 3D. This game has the best graphics to date for any PC title
    and is genuinely improved by 3D.

    The weapon mods and weapon selection ensure you will find a combination that you really enjoy.
    Expand
  91. May 23, 2013
    10
    Just an awesome game. Everything is great from beginning till the end. Graphics could be better, but still really good. The atmosphere is 10/10. Loving it, totally recommend!
  92. May 23, 2013
    10
    This is really amazing sequel. Developers did everything right by keeping all the best we have in the first Metro and adding new extra features, weapons and, of course, a new story. New in-game story even better we had in the first part, maybe, because it is not based on a known subject (I mean Metro 2033 book which is behind the first game), but the logical and very interesting extension of the primary story. I'm playing it with pleasure and recommend to anyone who like this genre. Expand
  93. May 23, 2013
    9
    Metro: Last Light is a really great sequel to a really great game. The graphics look amazing, the gunplay has improved a lot from Metro 2033, the story is great and it runs great on my 6670.
  94. May 25, 2013
    9
    I have been looking forward to this game for a while now, and anticipation built up--I felt like I was going to be disappointed since a lot of sequels I look forward to seem to disappoint as well.

    Not this sequel, however.

    Metro: Last Light is the direct sequel to Metro 2033. The game feels and plays exactly like Metro 2033, with minor improvements and game play features. While for
    some games, if the developers don't make many improvements from the previous title many would complain, I feel that does not at all apply to this. When I was looking forward to this game I wanted it to be as similar to Metro 2033 as they could make it. And so they did.

    This game is best played with headphones, in the dark with no disruptions what so ever and a few hours to spare, just like 2033 was. If you can get to play Last Light in this setting you can feel very immersed in the game which is what I loved from Metro 2033. When you're in a station almost all of the civilians have something to say to you, or something for you to listen to. There are some points that break the immersion however, with characters in the background's models flipping out in some cut scenes and events.

    Last Light is a very linear first person shooter--which some may not like but if you have played 2033 you would be very familiar with. However, there are some moments where you are set on a distinct path but an unknown doorway catches your eye, and with curiosity you take a peek in, leading you to interesting and eerie path ways which will end up putting you back on that same path. It's just an interesting addition that extends play time ever so slightly and adds to the atmosphere of the game.

    The graphics in Last Light weren't anything too spectacular--they looked great but there are games today that can certainly compete with it. They were improved since 2033. The game did take a toll on my Radeon Graphics card (Sapphire HD 7850 OC Edition), however which I was pretty disappointed in, especially with the patch that fixed the problems the game was getting. On high settings with 2x AA and AF 4X, I would get around 60 frames usually, but that would frequently drop with scenes with a lot of fire/particles on screen.

    One early gripe I had with the game's graphics is very small but disappointing to me. There are four graphics settings in the game I believe; Low, Medium, High and Very High. An early scene in the Metro had smoke particles hovering over the ground, with all settings under very high, these particles looked like still billboarded (images that always face you, wherever you are) images of smoke jittering around. Seeing this in a very sharp and good looking environment just puts me off. Luckily I only saw this around 3-4 times in the whole game.

    Even playing in the game's 'Ranger mode' which was supposed to be a harder version of the game, limiting supplies and removing HUD, the game was fairly easy and I could find supplies and guns around every corner almost. Most fighting in Ranger Mode was very easy and stealth was a breeze to go through. The boss battles, however took a few tries to complete--mainly because of my lack of ammo or breath on the surface.

    On the topic of boss battles, it's very easy to know when one is coming up, you usually see a small arena of sorts and whenever a boss battle occurred, I could usually see it coming which was disappointing. If I could get more moments where I could yell "Oh s**t!" that would make the game much better. There are a lot of moments where you find yourself running out of ammo or being surrounded by beasts where you don't know what to do--which some may not like because retrying a scene over and over again breaks immersion a lot and can be very, very annoying.

    Overall I give this game an honest 9/10. This game does live up to the quality that was it's predecessor and I would enjoy playing both again and again! I would recommend anyone interested to buy and play it, but ONLY when you have played Metro 2033 first.
    Expand
  95. May 23, 2013
    9
    Excellent game, great story, great gameplay, many improvements over the first game. Definitely a must play game. I don't like the way they removed a difficulty setting and charging it money but at least they haven't removed anything important like in some other games (like that alien in ME3).
  96. May 17, 2013
    9
    After spending just a couple of hours with it, the pros outweigh the cons by FAR. Last Light proves that Metro 2033 was not a fluke, the guys at 4A clearly listened to the community. Stealth sequences are really good and so on... What is truly difficult to pull off is intense gunplay and 4A have vastly improved on the shooting mechanics of the original. F.E.A.R. is a good comparison. Tense, claustrophobic and urgent shootouts.

    I am aware of the various tech issues unfortunately surrounding the game and I read a lot of pre-release articles and visited the Steam LL forum many times, doubting whether my PC would run it. I played 2033 on my current rig utilizing a very modest and outdated ATI HD4770. Last Light looks and runs noticeably better. Admittedly I have to keep the gfx settings at Normal but it is hard to believe how well the game runs. Steady FPS and the atmosphere is still intact. Clever configuration and subtle overclocking goes a very very long way. Point being ATI users need not fear, especially those with dignified GPUs.

    LL is to 2033 as ME2 is to ME1. I was at first a bit wary of the Hollywood bombast running throughout ME2 with combat replacing most of the RPG elements but it made sense in the context of the game. Last Light is bigger and bolder. It is incredibly linear, but there are plenty of games that give you free reign and let you run amok. The narrative is good enough. The gameplay is thrilling and the atmosphere is unbeatable.
    Expand
  97. May 17, 2013
    9
    The game has some technical problems but they are not seemed as a problem for me because of the excellent atmosphere. Great game recommend to every one who likes Apocalypse thyme.
  98. May 18, 2013
    9
    A cut above other FPS games with a fantastic atmosphere. Some of the places you visit in the Metro are hellish, and the developers have done a great job of making them feel terrifying and threatening. Population centres like Venice are incredibly well done and I would recommend Ranger hardcore mode for more immersion. Graphics are amazing and no other game looks better on max settings. I have all settings maxed out at 1920x1080 apart from AA (using FXAA) and get rock solid 60 fps at all times with a GTX670 FTW sli system. There are plenty of games that don't look as good and where my system constantly stutters or drops to 40 fps (like Tomb Raider and Bioshock Infinite), so it's clear the developers did a great job on the optimisation. They deserve huge credit for this game, although i won't give it 10/10 because the storyline was not perfect. Expand
  99. May 27, 2013
    10
    The best FPS ever. you robbing yourself if you miss this game. No matter what genre is your favourite this game will leave you speechless. get it right now.
  100. May 23, 2013
    10
    This game is honestly one of the best games that I have played. Period. The story was incredible, though slightly lacking at the beginning and end. The AI was a major step up from the last game, with it not being able to telepathically communicate your exact position to every person in the metro, while still being difficult enough that you can't just sit around while you are sneaking. The atmosphere was amazing, being dismal with rays of hope appearing at times, helping you immerse even further in the universe. 1 or 2 glitches, but that can be expected from nearly any major game. Great guns and gunplay, with the SAIGA 12 being the most awesome thing for clearing out mutants and armies devised by man. The karma system was very different; it doesn't tell you how you are being rated, or when you are being rated, or even whether that particular action matters in the whole scheme or not, almost like in the real world, though they could have added more opportunities to use this system. Overall, amazing! Expand
  101. May 18, 2013
    0
    Metro 2033 was a great game marred by clunky gunfights and some bad design decision. I'm happy to report that Last Light improves the overall game play by leaps and bounds. The gun fights are a joy and the level design is far more coherent and varied.
    Night vision is now useful and you can customise your guns with some good add-ons. It is now worth spending your currency in things other
    than bullets.
    The actual game play is great. You will go through enemy infested tunnels, swamps and ruins. You're encouraged to go stealthy and take out enemies one by one because once you go Rambo, you'll learn very quickly that your enemies are quite competent at kicking your butt.
    One thing that may be seen as a negative is that your trips to the surface are no longer mad, desperate dashes for survival like in 2033. But considering that Artyom is now a fully fledge ranger, it makes sense.

    Don't let the fact that this is a sequel put you off. You do not need to play Metro 2033 put you enjoy Last Light. This is an outstanding game which when you consider the difficult conditions the Ukrainian devs had to work under, makes it even more impressive.
    Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    Metro Last Light improves on several of the originals shortcomings but also has a few of its own. Mainly the artificial intelligence needs lots of work otherwise Metro Last Light with its hybrid of quality action and engaging storytelling would maybe have been one of the best games of the year.
  2. 80
    I do not recommend this to arachnophobiacs and story-lovers. Nonetheless, the game's atmosphere is so thick you are going to be just blown away. Furthermore, the game has outstanding battles. [Issue#231]
  3. Jun 23, 2013
    70
    A mostly triumphant return to form for this unique series. [July 2013, p.86]