Metro: Last Light PC

Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2525 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2034. Beneath the rubble of post-apocalyptic Moscow, in the tunnels of the Metro, the remnants of our species are besieged by deadly threats. Mutants stalk the catacombs beneath the desolate surface, and hunt amidst the poisoned skies above. But rather than stand united, theThe year is 2034. Beneath the rubble of post-apocalyptic Moscow, in the tunnels of the Metro, the remnants of our species are besieged by deadly threats. Mutants stalk the catacombs beneath the desolate surface, and hunt amidst the poisoned skies above. But rather than stand united, the station-cities of the Metro are engaged in a struggle for the ultimate power, a doomsday device from the military vaults of D6. A civil war is stirring that could wipe humanity from the face of the earth forever. As Artyom, burdened by guilt but driven by hope, you hold the key to our survival – the last light in our darkest hour. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. May 13, 2013
    100
    If you were to take someone who’s played his share of shooters, someone who cares about the story between and around the shooting, someone who can appreciate games that offer new takes on familiar experiences, Crysis [3] will feel like a soulless blockbuster to the auteur’s art film of Metro: Last Light.
  2. May 13, 2013
    90
    Metro: Last Light does belong in the company of Half-Life, though. It's an unusual, meticulously detailed shooter inextricable from its environment – making its refuge in the railways of Moscow all the more apt. The survival and shooting aspects engage with what is considered valuable in the world, and both leave ample room for moments of solace, exploration and concise violence.
  3. May 13, 2013
    88
    This sequel plays more like a shooter than its predecessor, but doesn't sacrifice its intricate narrative or creative vision in the process. Masochistic fans will appreciate the harder difficulties that recreate the grueling experience of the original, but no matter how you approach it, exploring Last Light's absorbing world is wholly entertaining.
  4. May 13, 2013
    80
    Despite being a little rough around the edges, Metro: Last Light as a whole package is way better than the sum of its parts and highly recommended for anyone looking for a grown up video game.
  5. 80
    Metro: Last Light is not a bad game, but does not reach the level of excellence.
  6. May 15, 2013
    80
    Metro: Last Light is, at the end of it all, a solid game.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    The numerous aesthetic accomplishments and mechanical improvements in Metro: Last Light are undone by uneven attention to detail and a lack of player agency.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 462
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    Ok, so here's how you play it. Have a good rest, eat well, buy the game and shut yourself in a dark room with your gaming rig and some extraOk, so here's how you play it. Have a good rest, eat well, buy the game and shut yourself in a dark room with your gaming rig and some extra food. You can easily lose yourself there playing Metro, and you might as well lose your friends and relatives for that period of time... And thats okay it is the experience we've been waiting for since 2033 and the sequel is definitely worth it. Collapse
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    i just want like to say that it is game of the year.and best game in the world i everi just want like to say that it is game of the year.and best game in the world i ever played......................................................... Expand
  3. May 26, 2013
    10
    One of the BEST games I played so far this year! Its as good as Bioshock but takes place in Moscow. Amazing story and gameplay. The shootingOne of the BEST games I played so far this year! Its as good as Bioshock but takes place in Moscow. Amazing story and gameplay. The shooting is awesome! Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    A great game with epic music and end. A great Story based (not like!) the books which is much better than Metro 2033 in my opinion. Have funA great game with epic music and end. A great Story based (not like!) the books which is much better than Metro 2033 in my opinion. Have fun with this game, especially if you play with a Gamepad, a Headset and in the dark! Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    Just as a preface, how you could possibly give this game a "0" or a "10" is beyond me: it has both very good points and some (mostly minor)Just as a preface, how you could possibly give this game a "0" or a "10" is beyond me: it has both very good points and some (mostly minor) detractions. Limited minds see in black and white, I suppose. It neither merirts a horrible or perfect rating, but in my opinion, it does FAR more things right than wrong. It is one of the better single player first-person shooter experience I've had in a long time.

    The graphics on a high-end machine are superb. The best FPS I've ever seen, even besting Crysis 3. Gameplay is really a lot of fun. Only bad point is the story is extremely disjointed an really hokey in some points. I don't know if there was something lost in translation, but some of the dialogue is really corny, and full of non-sequetors. Some of the technology and plot devices are pretty unbelievable, but this is post-apocolyptic video game, so I'm not going to quibble.
    Expand
  6. Xon
    Jul 17, 2013
    8
    I read the book and played the first game. I loved both to bits. Therefore my expectations of the follow-up was sky high. Eventhoug the gameI read the book and played the first game. I loved both to bits. Therefore my expectations of the follow-up was sky high. Eventhoug the game never quite met them, it didn't disappoint.

    The good:
    -Amazing atmosphere with mind blowing details.
    -great graphics that managed to look decent on "normal" settings.
    -solid gameplay

    The bad
    -Considering its literary roots the story and dialogue were rather bland.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the game and look forward to giving it another spin once I've updated my gaming rig to meld my eyes.
    Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    0
    one of the best games ever!!!!!!!!. the game is great in story, atmosphere and gameplay!!! this game IMPROVED A LOT from metro 2033( not thatone of the best games ever!!!!!!!!. the game is great in story, atmosphere and gameplay!!! this game IMPROVED A LOT from metro 2033( not that metro 2033 was bad)!!!!!
    the best part about the game, like metro 2033, is the atmosphere. this is just one of the best in this regard, on the level with games like bioshock and dishonored. the games atmosphere is made much better by a lot of NPC conversations. the npcs conversations are really interesting and compelling. the notes in the game are also amazing. i dont read notes in a lot of games, but here they are just really interesting and give a lot to the world. the stations are also great because they give you a lot about the world. the game also has great graphics. another really strong aspect of the game is the enviroments!!!!!
    the enviroments in the game look amazing!!!! they look really good and let a lot to the game!!! the enviroments, both under the ground and above ground look spectacular!!!!!
    the games story is amazing as well. the story is really deep and meaningful, talking about stuff like humanity not stopping fighting, even when theyre barelly living. it also talks about how we treat the different. the game is really grim and sad which is awesome) if you didnt understand it yet, THE STORY IS JUST AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! another thing that enhances the game is moral choice. the game has deep and meaningful moral choice, that after choosing something, i still thought that i might be mistaking. the game has 2 endings. while there is a good ending and a bad ending, they both are amazing and fullfilling!! the game has great twists! the game also has really interesting conversations with a really special character, which i wont spoil, but believe me its just awesome!!! the game also has good scares. some time it can really scare you( note that if you dont like horror games you will probably still like this( i dont like horror games but i like this))
    the gameplay is also solid. the gunplay is great, and gun fights are great. the stealth system is good, but not perfect. its a huge improvment over metro 2033s stealth, but here its too forgiving. im not saying i want it super hardcore, but you can stand here right infront of someone, but because your in the "shadows" he doesnt see you. i dont have a problem with stealth by shadows, but here it is too forgiving again, the system is good and im not expecting a super realistic stealth, but this is too forgiving)
    the game does have few downsides that stop me from giving it a 10/10. the graphics options arent really expansive. the game optimized itself to my rig really good, but it just doesnt have enough settings to tweek manually. the game also isnt bugless. i had to reload a checkpoint few times because something didnt work. theres another problem in the game with the smoke. im not sure if its intended or not, but the smoke moves really weird and unnaturaly. all the effects in the game are good, and the smoke is also good when it works. when it weird, its a bit distracting. there is also a final boss battle that was really hard to understand what to do.
    overall my complaints are really little. the most annoying ones are the smoke and bugginess.

    THIS IS A GREAT AWESOME MUST BUY GAME!!!!!! ITS ONE OF THE BEST GAMES EVER!!!! THE STORY AND ATMOSPHERE ARE AWESOME, RICH AND SPECTACULAR!!! THIS IS A HUGE IMPROVMENT OVER THE ORIGINAL!!!! JUST BUT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand

See all 462 User Reviews