Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2338 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2034. Beneath the rubble of post-apocalyptic Moscow, in the tunnels of the Metro, the remnants of our species are besieged by deadly threats. Mutants stalk the catacombs beneath the desolate surface, and hunt amidst the poisoned skies above. But rather than stand united, the station-cities of the Metro are engaged in a struggle for the ultimate power, a doomsday device from the military vaults of D6. A civil war is stirring that could wipe humanity from the face of the earth forever. As Artyom, burdened by guilt but driven by hope, you hold the key to our survival – the last light in our darkest hour. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. May 13, 2013
    100
    If you were to take someone who’s played his share of shooters, someone who cares about the story between and around the shooting, someone who can appreciate games that offer new takes on familiar experiences, Crysis [3] will feel like a soulless blockbuster to the auteur’s art film of Metro: Last Light.
  2. May 13, 2013
    90
    Metro: Last Light does belong in the company of Half-Life, though. It's an unusual, meticulously detailed shooter inextricable from its environment – making its refuge in the railways of Moscow all the more apt. The survival and shooting aspects engage with what is considered valuable in the world, and both leave ample room for moments of solace, exploration and concise violence.
  3. May 13, 2013
    88
    This sequel plays more like a shooter than its predecessor, but doesn't sacrifice its intricate narrative or creative vision in the process. Masochistic fans will appreciate the harder difficulties that recreate the grueling experience of the original, but no matter how you approach it, exploring Last Light's absorbing world is wholly entertaining.
  4. May 13, 2013
    80
    Despite being a little rough around the edges, Metro: Last Light as a whole package is way better than the sum of its parts and highly recommended for anyone looking for a grown up video game.
  5. 80
    Metro: Last Light is not a bad game, but does not reach the level of excellence.
  6. May 15, 2013
    80
    Metro: Last Light is, at the end of it all, a solid game.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    The numerous aesthetic accomplishments and mechanical improvements in Metro: Last Light are undone by uneven attention to detail and a lack of player agency.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 437
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    Ok, so here's how you play it. Have a good rest, eat well, buy the game and shut yourself in a dark room with your gaming rig and some extra food. You can easily lose yourself there playing Metro, and you might as well lose your friends and relatives for that period of time... And thats okay it is the experience we've been waiting for since 2033 and the sequel is definitely worth it. Collapse
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely Stunning, Story was awsome,hidden good endig achieved and the graphic and gameplay. I have no words to describe how awsome is this game but i'll remember it for very long time. Best game of 2013 (i was thinking about Bishock Infinite but this game is more atmospheric and mature) Expand
  3. May 18, 2013
    10
    Started the campaign at 7:30 PM ET and completed it at 4:30 AM ET...truly an experience i wont forget. I was immersed throughout the whole game and was lost from the moment i set foot in The Metro. Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    Just buy and play this game, definetely a good game. I would rate it 95 even if the quality is not high end as Bioshock Infinite or Games like that. It managed to create an awesome atmosphere and gameplay. I had a lot of fun with this one. Expand
  5. May 17, 2013
    9
    After spending just a couple of hours with it, the pros outweigh the cons by FAR. Last Light proves that Metro 2033 was not a fluke, the guys at 4A clearly listened to the community. Stealth sequences are really good and so on... What is truly difficult to pull off is intense gunplay and 4A have vastly improved on the shooting mechanics of the original. F.E.A.R. is a good comparison. Tense, claustrophobic and urgent shootouts.

    I am aware of the various tech issues unfortunately surrounding the game and I read a lot of pre-release articles and visited the Steam LL forum many times, doubting whether my PC would run it. I played 2033 on my current rig utilizing a very modest and outdated ATI HD4770. Last Light looks and runs noticeably better. Admittedly I have to keep the gfx settings at Normal but it is hard to believe how well the game runs. Steady FPS and the atmosphere is still intact. Clever configuration and subtle overclocking goes a very very long way. Point being ATI users need not fear, especially those with dignified GPUs.

    LL is to 2033 as ME2 is to ME1. I was at first a bit wary of the Hollywood bombast running throughout ME2 with combat replacing most of the RPG elements but it made sense in the context of the game. Last Light is bigger and bolder. It is incredibly linear, but there are plenty of games that give you free reign and let you run amok. The narrative is good enough. The gameplay is thrilling and the atmosphere is unbeatable.
    Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    If this game ironed out a few flaws, it would be the best game of the year so far. I had my doubts, the first few levels have some stupid parts where they take every weapon from you but holy hell does it pick up. Never played a game that paces itself so well.

    Please please please fix it so you can see inventory on ranger mode though. Its no a realistic touch, its just stupid. Make it so you just look down and see how many mags you have if you want, I don't care. I just didn't like not knowing how much ammo I had left especially since counting it is worthless since you can't see how much you pick up off of dead bodies.

    The number one complaint is the AI but in hindsight, it probably is more realistic that there would be mass confusion if people started dropping so I can let that go. Bugs are being ironed out very quickly, it only took two days for the devs to release a fix for the AMD graphics glitch.

    It was slightly disapointing that the specialized suits didn't make a return but it really wasn't that big of a deal. A much bigger drawback is the fact that the setup is based around controllers for consoles so secondaries (grenades, throwing knives, etc.) are more annoying to use for PC users (plus grenades can no longer be cooked).
    Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2013
    0
    Don't play it. It's a waste of time. It's more like an emulator, sandbox, an interactive movie or something like that. But definitively it's not a good game. Despite of the good story of the first one, Metro Last Light just plain sucks. Expand

See all 437 User Reviews