Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2486 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2034. Beneath the rubble of post-apocalyptic Moscow, in the tunnels of the Metro, the remnants of our species are besieged by deadly threats. Mutants stalk the catacombs beneath the desolate surface, and hunt amidst the poisoned skies above. But rather than stand united, theThe year is 2034. Beneath the rubble of post-apocalyptic Moscow, in the tunnels of the Metro, the remnants of our species are besieged by deadly threats. Mutants stalk the catacombs beneath the desolate surface, and hunt amidst the poisoned skies above. But rather than stand united, the station-cities of the Metro are engaged in a struggle for the ultimate power, a doomsday device from the military vaults of D6. A civil war is stirring that could wipe humanity from the face of the earth forever. As Artyom, burdened by guilt but driven by hope, you hold the key to our survival – the last light in our darkest hour. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. May 13, 2013
    100
    If you were to take someone who’s played his share of shooters, someone who cares about the story between and around the shooting, someone who can appreciate games that offer new takes on familiar experiences, Crysis [3] will feel like a soulless blockbuster to the auteur’s art film of Metro: Last Light.
  2. May 13, 2013
    90
    Metro: Last Light does belong in the company of Half-Life, though. It's an unusual, meticulously detailed shooter inextricable from its environment – making its refuge in the railways of Moscow all the more apt. The survival and shooting aspects engage with what is considered valuable in the world, and both leave ample room for moments of solace, exploration and concise violence.
  3. May 13, 2013
    88
    This sequel plays more like a shooter than its predecessor, but doesn't sacrifice its intricate narrative or creative vision in the process. Masochistic fans will appreciate the harder difficulties that recreate the grueling experience of the original, but no matter how you approach it, exploring Last Light's absorbing world is wholly entertaining.
  4. May 13, 2013
    80
    Despite being a little rough around the edges, Metro: Last Light as a whole package is way better than the sum of its parts and highly recommended for anyone looking for a grown up video game.
  5. 80
    Metro: Last Light is not a bad game, but does not reach the level of excellence.
  6. May 15, 2013
    80
    Metro: Last Light is, at the end of it all, a solid game.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    The numerous aesthetic accomplishments and mechanical improvements in Metro: Last Light are undone by uneven attention to detail and a lack of player agency.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 457
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    Ok, so here's how you play it. Have a good rest, eat well, buy the game and shut yourself in a dark room with your gaming rig and some extraOk, so here's how you play it. Have a good rest, eat well, buy the game and shut yourself in a dark room with your gaming rig and some extra food. You can easily lose yourself there playing Metro, and you might as well lose your friends and relatives for that period of time... And thats okay it is the experience we've been waiting for since 2033 and the sequel is definitely worth it. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    This game is fantastic, i love the game play and story line. everything about this game is just survival and it plays its part very well. allThis game is fantastic, i love the game play and story line. everything about this game is just survival and it plays its part very well. all the guns and different ways you can customize them. 10/10 no doubt Expand
  3. May 16, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider, BioShock Infinite and now Metro Last Light. This year of starting was good for Single FPS campaign genre games. I did play MetroTomb Raider, BioShock Infinite and now Metro Last Light. This year of starting was good for Single FPS campaign genre games. I did play Metro 2033, that was quite interesting but little bit boring at some times because of slow story but the fear and thriller in Metro 2033 was great i enjoyed it and i bought this Metro LL on release date and this game is success to it's previous title. A deep story pretty much things to explore and understanding all the meanings of each thing and missions is little complicated. Then comes time you have to take decisions.

    If you are one of them who is bored because of "Artyom do this do that, sure it has lot of dialogues and follow up" and you can't go anywhere else but that's how game suppose to be, it also gives pretty much things to explore, if one knows where to look. This game is about story telling and keeping up pace with that too. MLL didn't bore be on some occasions like Metro 2033 did and i did all my mission in stealth type Hardcore ranger mode. It was intense fighting the Reds, Reich and Monsters. Give it a try this game is good. I rate this game no.1 followed by is BioShock Infinite and then comes Tomb Raider!
    Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    I have been really enjoying the game and pretty close to finishing it. The attention to detail in the level design is just awe inspiring. II have been really enjoying the game and pretty close to finishing it. The attention to detail in the level design is just awe inspiring. I haven't felt so drawn into a game until I started playing this.. especially in the swamp area and at night! Have a gaming headset on with 7.1 with the lights out and trust me.. you will feel like something is around the corner wanting to rip your head off and to me.. that's pretty cool. I enjoy the characters that you meet and the plot is pretty nifty with the different factions. My only complaint so far is the stealth combat in regards to the AI. If you stick to the shadows and pop head shots with a silencer.. you can pretty much take out an army without any problems. Over all I highly recommend the game. Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Okay I'm gonna level with you guys I was holding tight to my controller because its so scary really I have never seen a game this immersiveOkay I'm gonna level with you guys I was holding tight to my controller because its so scary really I have never seen a game this immersive and after the disappointing review from IGN I wasn't expecting much well I was wrong and for the second game by a Ukrainian developer I hope metro becomes a full fledged series. Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    Great atmosphere and good story. Story is linear but better than most movies in the cinema nowadays.
    Time to play is relatively short, did it
    Great atmosphere and good story. Story is linear but better than most movies in the cinema nowadays.
    Time to play is relatively short, did it in 25 hours. So I can fully recommend this game but you have to decide if the short time to play is worth the current price.
    Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2014
    0
    I randomly picked up and played the first game and instantly found interest. I then read the book Metro 2033 by Dmitry G - even better thanI randomly picked up and played the first game and instantly found interest. I then read the book Metro 2033 by Dmitry G - even better than the game. Then, I picked up last light....

    Disgusting.

    It's almost as if someone WANTED to ruin this game.

    The stealth is broken. The sound effects are corny and loop every 30 seconds (this is an exaggeration, but not a lie). There is no horror element. There is no survivalist element.

    The Metro itself is now overpopulated with Reds and Nazis- which literally kills the idea of this being "post-apocalyptic."

    Go read the book itself, or better yet, go play S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - no joke. You will not be disappointed. This game, is a waste of your time.

    Awful game.

    RIP Metro :(
    Expand

See all 457 User Reviews