Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2334 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2034. Beneath the rubble of post-apocalyptic Moscow, in the tunnels of the Metro, the remnants of our species are besieged by deadly threats. Mutants stalk the catacombs beneath the desolate surface, and hunt amidst the poisoned skies above. But rather than stand united, the station-cities of the Metro are engaged in a struggle for the ultimate power, a doomsday device from the military vaults of D6. A civil war is stirring that could wipe humanity from the face of the earth forever. As Artyom, burdened by guilt but driven by hope, you hold the key to our survival – the last light in our darkest hour. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. May 13, 2013
    100
    If you were to take someone who’s played his share of shooters, someone who cares about the story between and around the shooting, someone who can appreciate games that offer new takes on familiar experiences, Crysis [3] will feel like a soulless blockbuster to the auteur’s art film of Metro: Last Light.
  2. May 13, 2013
    90
    Metro: Last Light does belong in the company of Half-Life, though. It's an unusual, meticulously detailed shooter inextricable from its environment – making its refuge in the railways of Moscow all the more apt. The survival and shooting aspects engage with what is considered valuable in the world, and both leave ample room for moments of solace, exploration and concise violence.
  3. May 13, 2013
    88
    This sequel plays more like a shooter than its predecessor, but doesn't sacrifice its intricate narrative or creative vision in the process. Masochistic fans will appreciate the harder difficulties that recreate the grueling experience of the original, but no matter how you approach it, exploring Last Light's absorbing world is wholly entertaining.
  4. May 13, 2013
    80
    Despite being a little rough around the edges, Metro: Last Light as a whole package is way better than the sum of its parts and highly recommended for anyone looking for a grown up video game.
  5. 80
    Metro: Last Light is not a bad game, but does not reach the level of excellence.
  6. May 15, 2013
    80
    Metro: Last Light is, at the end of it all, a solid game.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    The numerous aesthetic accomplishments and mechanical improvements in Metro: Last Light are undone by uneven attention to detail and a lack of player agency.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 435
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    Ok, so here's how you play it. Have a good rest, eat well, buy the game and shut yourself in a dark room with your gaming rig and some extra food. You can easily lose yourself there playing Metro, and you might as well lose your friends and relatives for that period of time... And thats okay it is the experience we've been waiting for since 2033 and the sequel is definitely worth it. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely Stunning, Story was awsome,hidden good endig achieved and the graphic and gameplay. I have no words to describe how awsome is this game but i'll remember it for very long time. Best game of 2013 (i was thinking about Bishock Infinite but this game is more atmospheric and mature) Expand
  3. May 18, 2013
    10
    Started the campaign at 7:30 PM ET and completed it at 4:30 AM ET...truly an experience i wont forget. I was immersed throughout the whole game and was lost from the moment i set foot in The Metro. Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    I gave the game 9 and that's only because i never give 10, but this game just get it and you are on for a ride that you'll never forget, ever, true art on all levels Expand
  5. May 22, 2013
    9
    Amazing story and great atmosphere really make Metro Last Light stand out from most other shooters. The visuals are top notch and the new changes to combat and weapon upgrades are really well done. Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    Great atmosphere and good story. Story is linear but better than most movies in the cinema nowadays.
    Time to play is relatively short, did it
    in 25 hours. So I can fully recommend this game but you have to decide if the short time to play is worth the current price. Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2013
    0
    Don't play it. It's a waste of time. It's more like an emulator, sandbox, an interactive movie or something like that. But definitively it's not a good game. Despite of the good story of the first one, Metro Last Light just plain sucks. Expand

See all 435 User Reviews