• Publisher: IonFX
  • Release Date: Nov 28, 2012
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    71
    If you're looking for combat, in-depth crafting options, or a true survival simulation, then Miasmata's limitations will likely be disappointments. Yet if you are the type of player who enjoys exploring, cartography, and the danger of being hunted by a creature you cannot defeat, then Miasmata will prove a to be a highly memorable experience that's equal parts exasperating and thrilling.
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    70
    Miasmata is a bold game, sometimes innovative, sometimes crude and irritating.[CD-Action 02/2013, p.52]
  3. 70
    Some imperfections and restrictions ruin the otherwise great experience of exploring a mysterious island in this survival adventure. [Jan 2013]
  4. Jan 18, 2013
    70
    What looks like a rough experience is, most of the time, a goal-directed tough visit of an island, where you with a compass and a laboratory look for a way to cure your infection. Your enemies are fatigue, fever and darkness, or more precisely a fear of what is lurking within.
  5. Dec 20, 2012
    70
    When its elements align correctly, it's one of the most intriguing and challenging first-person games in years: essentially a ruthlessly miminalist riff on Far Cry 3, if Jason Brody's ordeal had reduced him to a realistic quivering wreck rather than making him a voodoo-powered Rambo.
  6. 68
    We would very much like to state that we have found an underdog in this game but unfortunately we can’t ignore the lack of interesting content, nor overlook the technical shortcomings. [February 2013]
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    65
    For those who always wanted to escape to an uninhabited island, Miasmata seems like an ideal game. Appearances can be deceiving though. The atmosphere might be very oppressive, but Miasmata also has a lot of shortcomings. The idea of exploring an island, looking for plants that can alleviate your fatal disease, is alluring. It ends up being a monotonous experience muddled by technical issues, that only exceeds in being special for having a unique concept.
  8. Mar 17, 2013
    63
    Miasmata is definitely a unique experience, and as the work of two people it’s actually a hell of an achievement. It’s a game with ambition, which should be rewarded even if it occasionally falls short of the goals it set for itself.
  9. Dec 7, 2012
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 45
  2. Negative: 10 out of 45
  1. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Incredibly good survival game. Beautiful scenery but enough action (or worry) to keep you on your feet. Have played for multiple hours.

    My
    Incredibly good survival game. Beautiful scenery but enough action (or worry) to keep you on your feet. Have played for multiple hours.

    My only real disappointment was there there presently is no hunger factor, however this is something the designers are apparently working on.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    I am enjoying it so far. The game is very attractive with the one exception of the water pouring out of glass. Full mobility across theI am enjoying it so far. The game is very attractive with the one exception of the water pouring out of glass. Full mobility across the environment. I was very interested by the prospect of an exploration game and I was not let down. The environment is interesting and well varied. It is also quite big, I haven't managed to make it all the way around the island yet. Full Review »
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    2
    Let's see, where to start. Well, first off I have no idea why some people say this is a very good looking game. The textures are awful, belowLet's see, where to start. Well, first off I have no idea why some people say this is a very good looking game. The textures are awful, below even todays poor standards. The animations in general are poorly done, less than some mods. Items appear from thin air a few meters in front of you, as do textures. The FOV seems really narrow, and is uncomfy to move around with.
    Now, I'm not one of these people who thinks that graphics make a game, but I do think bad graphics can damage a game, especially when it seems to be something people are saying is one of the high points of your game.
    But, graphics aside, how does the game actually play. Well poorly I'm afraid to say. The concept is very good, similar to the old " Robinson's Requiem". It's like a survival exploration game, with your vulnerable character trapped on a deserted island, looking for a cure to his illness whilst being hunted by a large predator. That sounds excellent, but the execution is poor. Movement seems very clunky and unreal, I think in part to the Fov. Your character stumbles when climbing steep hills, balances on sudden hight changes and actually has momentum when he moves. This should be good, but it just feels so clunky, with you character shuffling along and makes going even short distances an annoying task. You have to find a cure for your illness by combing the island for plants, then research their properties and then using them to make cures and other such items. Again, this sounds good but it is poorly executed.You walk round, see a bright plant and try to get into the right position to "use" it, then you trek back to a research station, where it's just a case of clicking use another few times. What should be an excellent survival aspect ends up feeling like a boring fetch quest repeated ad nauseum.
    The sound is so generic I can't really be bothered to talk much about it. The only thing there is to say is that the music is mostly non existent, and you will grow tired of footsteps and heavy breathing very quickly.
    You may have noticed I've not named the character you play as, but that's not because he isn't named, it's that the story and setup is so bland I instantly forgot.. You are just a generic set of puppet arms wandering around a poorly textured island reading tutorials scientists left for you. I have no real feeling for anything either way. I don't feel a need to explore or discover anything about the island, I'm just sent off to get plants because I have the plague, apparently.

    In the end, we have a game with a very interesting, if not original, concept for an adventure game, but it is so poorly done that I really can't recommend it to anyone. I wish i could say it will get better, but if this is a state they decide to release it in I don't think there is much hope for it in the future.
    Full Review »