• Publisher: IonFX
  • Release Date: Nov 28, 2012
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    78
    Miasmata sends players to an intense fight for survival in an open world. It's an intense experience.
  2. Dec 8, 2012
    85
    I have to keep an eye on my provisions, I have to leave the safe path and might have to face deadly foes. If I don't want to die I have to face my fears and accept a suspenseful and lethal game of hide-and-seek. I've never experienced a more intense fight for survival in an open world.
  3. Jan 7, 2013
    80
    An uncompromisingly methodical and detailed survival adventure, Miasmata is a tense, slow-burning gem.
  4. Feb 6, 2013
    70
    Miasmata is a bold game, sometimes innovative, sometimes crude and irritating.[CD-Action 02/2013, p.52]
  5. Dec 20, 2012
    70
    When its elements align correctly, it's one of the most intriguing and challenging first-person games in years: essentially a ruthlessly miminalist riff on Far Cry 3, if Jason Brody's ordeal had reduced him to a realistic quivering wreck rather than making him a voodoo-powered Rambo.
  6. Jan 17, 2013
    80
    Miasmata is a compelling adventure, an incredible survival experience, something so good that it seems incredible to be done by two people.
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
  8. Dec 17, 2012
    65
    For those who always wanted to escape to an uninhabited island, Miasmata seems like an ideal game. Appearances can be deceiving though. The atmosphere might be very oppressive, but Miasmata also has a lot of shortcomings. The idea of exploring an island, looking for plants that can alleviate your fatal disease, is alluring. It ends up being a monotonous experience muddled by technical issues, that only exceeds in being special for having a unique concept.
  9. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    A unique and engaging game of exploration, that manages to be challenging without any real combat or puzzles. It can also be quite tense and scary, as you're being stalked by a lone, but very dangerous, predator.
  10. Jan 18, 2013
    70
    What looks like a rough experience is, most of the time, a goal-directed tough visit of an island, where you with a compass and a laboratory look for a way to cure your infection. Your enemies are fatigue, fever and darkness, or more precisely a fear of what is lurking within.
  11. Jan 6, 2013
    75
    Survival in the woods is a creepy, fun challenge full of botanical terror in Miasmata.
  12. Feb 6, 2013
    71
    If you're looking for combat, in-depth crafting options, or a true survival simulation, then Miasmata's limitations will likely be disappointments. Yet if you are the type of player who enjoys exploring, cartography, and the danger of being hunted by a creature you cannot defeat, then Miasmata will prove a to be a highly memorable experience that's equal parts exasperating and thrilling.
  13. Mar 17, 2013
    63
    Miasmata is definitely a unique experience, and as the work of two people it’s actually a hell of an achievement. It’s a game with ambition, which should be rewarded even if it occasionally falls short of the goals it set for itself.
  14. Dec 4, 2012
    79
    Miasmata is unlike anything I've played. It makes the very act of survival an intense learning experience, and manages to do so without beating you over the head with lengthy tutorials.
  15. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    Miasmata is a great survival horror, bold enough to drop the player in a peculiar and deep game experience, built around suspense and fear. The contrast between the bucolic atmosphere and the sensations of dismay is so peculiar that every fan of the genre should give it a shot.
  16. 70
    Some imperfections and restrictions ruin the otherwise great experience of exploring a mysterious island in this survival adventure. [Jan 2013]
  17. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    Miasmata suggests a different, intense and exciting experience. It makes an audacious bet with content strange to many, and which may pose doubts once we know its elements. The fears can continue during the early minutes of the game when one does not have a clear idea which objective is addressed... and are cleared fast when producing "the connection" with the protagonist. As the player happens to become Robert Hughes, Miasmata will make ours the emotions and doubts of the scientist, and his goal will become our target. Bob and Joe Johnson have managed to create a title capable of changing our idea of how to beat the game, for a constant desire to know more, to go forward and solve the mystery.
  18. Dec 21, 2012
    80
    Miasmata is a great experience for survival gamers, where you will fight more against the island than monsters.
  19. 68
    We would very much like to state that we have found an underdog in this game but unfortunately we can’t ignore the lack of interesting content, nor overlook the technical shortcomings. [February 2013]
  20. Feb 6, 2013
    90
    A fresh take on the survival simulator with a few key innovations that instil contrasting moments of zen and sheer terror. [Feb 2013, p.76]
  21. Dec 5, 2012
    77
    A survival –not horror– simulator, that will leave us out in a wild island so we can fight for our live. First consider whether this would be an experience you want to live, and if so, please go ahead and buy it.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 44
  2. Negative: 10 out of 44
  1. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Incredibly good survival game. Beautiful scenery but enough action (or worry) to keep you on your feet. Have played for multiple hours.

    My
    only real disappointment was there there presently is no hunger factor, however this is something the designers are apparently working on. Full Review »
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    I am enjoying it so far. The game is very attractive with the one exception of the water pouring out of glass. Full mobility across the environment. I was very interested by the prospect of an exploration game and I was not let down. The environment is interesting and well varied. It is also quite big, I haven't managed to make it all the way around the island yet. Full Review »
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    2
    Let's see, where to start. Well, first off I have no idea why some people say this is a very good looking game. The textures are awful, below even todays poor standards. The animations in general are poorly done, less than some mods. Items appear from thin air a few meters in front of you, as do textures. The FOV seems really narrow, and is uncomfy to move around with.
    Now, I'm not one of these people who thinks that graphics make a game, but I do think bad graphics can damage a game, especially when it seems to be something people are saying is one of the high points of your game.
    But, graphics aside, how does the game actually play. Well poorly I'm afraid to say. The concept is very good, similar to the old " Robinson's Requiem". It's like a survival exploration game, with your vulnerable character trapped on a deserted island, looking for a cure to his illness whilst being hunted by a large predator. That sounds excellent, but the execution is poor. Movement seems very clunky and unreal, I think in part to the Fov. Your character stumbles when climbing steep hills, balances on sudden hight changes and actually has momentum when he moves. This should be good, but it just feels so clunky, with you character shuffling along and makes going even short distances an annoying task. You have to find a cure for your illness by combing the island for plants, then research their properties and then using them to make cures and other such items. Again, this sounds good but it is poorly executed.You walk round, see a bright plant and try to get into the right position to "use" it, then you trek back to a research station, where it's just a case of clicking use another few times. What should be an excellent survival aspect ends up feeling like a boring fetch quest repeated ad nauseum.
    The sound is so generic I can't really be bothered to talk much about it. The only thing there is to say is that the music is mostly non existent, and you will grow tired of footsteps and heavy breathing very quickly.
    You may have noticed I've not named the character you play as, but that's not because he isn't named, it's that the story and setup is so bland I instantly forgot.. You are just a generic set of puppet arms wandering around a poorly textured island reading tutorials scientists left for you. I have no real feeling for anything either way. I don't feel a need to explore or discover anything about the island, I'm just sent off to get plants because I have the plague, apparently.

    In the end, we have a game with a very interesting, if not original, concept for an adventure game, but it is so poorly done that I really can't recommend it to anyone. I wish i could say it will get better, but if this is a state they decide to release it in I don't think there is much hope for it in the future.
    Full Review »