• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Miasmata Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Miasmata is a first-person survival/adventure game, developed from the ground-up by brothers Joe and Bob Johnson. You play as Robert Hughes, a plague-stricken scientist on a journey to discover a cure. Your adventure begins on the shores of a remote and mysterious island.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    90
    A fresh take on the survival simulator with a few key innovations that instil contrasting moments of zen and sheer terror. [Feb 2013, p.76]
  2. Dec 8, 2012
    85
    I have to keep an eye on my provisions, I have to leave the safe path and might have to face deadly foes. If I don't want to die I have to face my fears and accept a suspenseful and lethal game of hide-and-seek. I've never experienced a more intense fight for survival in an open world.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    Miasmata is a great survival horror, bold enough to drop the player in a peculiar and deep game experience, built around suspense and fear. The contrast between the bucolic atmosphere and the sensations of dismay is so peculiar that every fan of the genre should give it a shot.
  4. Dec 5, 2012
    77
    A survival –not horror– simulator, that will leave us out in a wild island so we can fight for our live. First consider whether this would be an experience you want to live, and if so, please go ahead and buy it.
  5. Feb 6, 2013
    71
    If you're looking for combat, in-depth crafting options, or a true survival simulation, then Miasmata's limitations will likely be disappointments. Yet if you are the type of player who enjoys exploring, cartography, and the danger of being hunted by a creature you cannot defeat, then Miasmata will prove a to be a highly memorable experience that's equal parts exasperating and thrilling.
  6. 70
    Some imperfections and restrictions ruin the otherwise great experience of exploring a mysterious island in this survival adventure. [Jan 2013]
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 45
  2. Negative: 10 out of 45
  1. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    I loved the experience of exploring this landscape! They really captured the feeling of running down a hill, on the edge of control, andI loved the experience of exploring this landscape! They really captured the feeling of running down a hill, on the edge of control, and that's what makes exploring this world, especially when running, so fun. What keeps it fun is the scale of the environment: the ecology of the island is quite varied, depending on where you are. You're really rewarded for striking out in your own direction and exploring, and the fact that you have to manually fill in your map adds to this, making you feel like you really know the land. And getting to know the land is, of course, really helpful when you're trying to get about, especially at speed. This game may not be for the impatient, or those who need their hand held and told where to go and what to do all the time, or who like to feel in control over everything, but if it was, it wouldn't be so rewarding for the rest of us. Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Incredibly good survival game. Beautiful scenery but enough action (or worry) to keep you on your feet. Have played for multiple hours.

    My
    Incredibly good survival game. Beautiful scenery but enough action (or worry) to keep you on your feet. Have played for multiple hours.

    My only real disappointment was there there presently is no hunger factor, however this is something the designers are apparently working on.
    Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    Miasmata achieves a peculiar kind of in-game immersion which I could only compare to Amnesia: the dark descent. You are alone, completelyMiasmata achieves a peculiar kind of in-game immersion which I could only compare to Amnesia: the dark descent. You are alone, completely vulnerable (sick, thirsty) in a hostile yet truly beautiful environment and there is an omnipresent threat you can only hide from. This makes the perfect sauce for paranoia; you keep your ears open for any uncommon sound, your eyes scrutinizing every leaf in the jungle and the immersion begins. The premise of the game is quite simple: you are seeking the cure from a plague you'll soon die from on an island where few scientists might have discovered a remedy. You'll have to explore the island to discover what is that cure and how to fabricate it. What really adds to the immersion, aside from your ever constant vulnerability, is the realistic perspective of this game. Your character is sick and dying so you must keep him properly hydrated otherwise he'll become increasingly weak, his vision blurs, etc.; he has a body and hence inertia so you must take care of every movements so that he won't trip on a rock and split his head down a cliff; the environment is huge and getting lost is a true and fearsome possibility - especially if the sun is coming down and you have no light source to guide your steps (chances are you'll split your head on something or worse). I can't say it enough: all those details concur to provide a deeply engaging experience once you let the game get to you.

    Technically, the graphics are astonishing and even more so if you consider that this is an indie production. At places, there are some texture and tiling problems but it is easily forgiven by overall beauty of the landscapes (I have played it at max settings though). The following video should give you a good idea of how good the game can look: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xbdpCWyLFw The sound effects and music are decent but far from being as refined or detailed as what you get with Amnesia. As for the controls, a lot of people, complained of character's tendency to slip on ridiculously small slopes so that overall, the movement is unbearable but in my sense, this is simply an exaggeration. Most of the slopes a normal human being would handle are very well handled by your character and the better he physically gets, the less he is likely to slip; to the contrary, I found that this challenge really added to the experience.

    In all, I really recommend to give it a try. Especially if you are fond of games such as Amnesia, Myst or Skyrim (for the exploring part that is).
    Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    I am enjoying it so far. The game is very attractive with the one exception of the water pouring out of glass. Full mobility across theI am enjoying it so far. The game is very attractive with the one exception of the water pouring out of glass. Full mobility across the environment. I was very interested by the prospect of an exploration game and I was not let down. The environment is interesting and well varied. It is also quite big, I haven't managed to make it all the way around the island yet. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    I just finished it yesterday. The latest version of the game is stable and runs relatively well. It crashed only once in 14 hours of gameplayI just finished it yesterday. The latest version of the game is stable and runs relatively well. It crashed only once in 14 hours of gameplay time.

    The production value is kinda low. (Which is expected with a full 3d open world made by 2 people) The environment is beautiful, even photorealistic at times, but the human models are really hideous.

    The UI is not the most comfortable ever, but it does the job. A little more tinkering and polishing would have helped. Especially with cartography as PIXEL HUNTING for distant objects masked by moving vegetation is not fun.

    What I liked the best is that despite it's hardcore survival elements it still manages to remain a modern game. There are no hundreds of saveslots which you have to reload if you screw up. Your latest save counts all the time.

    You can always find a camp where you can sleep off your low health and find water. But it's still a very special experience, a really immersive game despite it's videogame-magic like elements. You have to pay attention how you walk, what time it is, dehydration, etc. This is a game where the environment is your biggest enemy, even when the creature finds you'll still struggle to overcome the hostility of the environment, not the animal's. Danger lies in totally different things that you got used to in other games.

    Miasmata became one of my favourite indie games.
    Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    The game is pretty and mysterious, and I like that. But the recommended hardware on Steam needs to be reevaluated, my computer is a lot betterThe game is pretty and mysterious, and I like that. But the recommended hardware on Steam needs to be reevaluated, my computer is a lot better than what they listed but I still got a kinda choppy fps. It's not a huge deal though. The main reason I give it a 7 is that the game is incredibly slow and easily becomes boring. Other than that, it's fun to look at and explore around the island. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    I bought Miasmata on steam yesterday, after verifying that my computer could run the game (My system well exceeded the recommended specs). II bought Miasmata on steam yesterday, after verifying that my computer could run the game (My system well exceeded the recommended specs). I ran the game and found that even on the lowest setting the game ran at 1-3 fps. I will re-write this review once the game is actually playable. For the moment, steer clear of Miasmata, unless you possess a super computer. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews