• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Miasmata Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Miasmata is a first-person survival/adventure game, developed from the ground-up by brothers Joe and Bob Johnson. You play as Robert Hughes, a plague-stricken scientist on a journey to discover a cure. Your adventure begins on the shores of a remote and mysterious island.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    90
    A fresh take on the survival simulator with a few key innovations that instil contrasting moments of zen and sheer terror. [Feb 2013, p.76]
  2. Dec 8, 2012
    85
    I have to keep an eye on my provisions, I have to leave the safe path and might have to face deadly foes. If I don't want to die I have to face my fears and accept a suspenseful and lethal game of hide-and-seek. I've never experienced a more intense fight for survival in an open world.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    Miasmata is a great survival horror, bold enough to drop the player in a peculiar and deep game experience, built around suspense and fear. The contrast between the bucolic atmosphere and the sensations of dismay is so peculiar that every fan of the genre should give it a shot.
  4. Dec 5, 2012
    77
    A survival –not horror– simulator, that will leave us out in a wild island so we can fight for our live. First consider whether this would be an experience you want to live, and if so, please go ahead and buy it.
  5. Feb 6, 2013
    71
    If you're looking for combat, in-depth crafting options, or a true survival simulation, then Miasmata's limitations will likely be disappointments. Yet if you are the type of player who enjoys exploring, cartography, and the danger of being hunted by a creature you cannot defeat, then Miasmata will prove a to be a highly memorable experience that's equal parts exasperating and thrilling.
  6. 70
    Some imperfections and restrictions ruin the otherwise great experience of exploring a mysterious island in this survival adventure. [Jan 2013]
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 44
  2. Negative: 10 out of 44
  1. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    I loved the experience of exploring this landscape! They really captured the feeling of running down a hill, on the edge of control, andI loved the experience of exploring this landscape! They really captured the feeling of running down a hill, on the edge of control, and that's what makes exploring this world, especially when running, so fun. What keeps it fun is the scale of the environment: the ecology of the island is quite varied, depending on where you are. You're really rewarded for striking out in your own direction and exploring, and the fact that you have to manually fill in your map adds to this, making you feel like you really know the land. And getting to know the land is, of course, really helpful when you're trying to get about, especially at speed. This game may not be for the impatient, or those who need their hand held and told where to go and what to do all the time, or who like to feel in control over everything, but if it was, it wouldn't be so rewarding for the rest of us. Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Incredibly good survival game. Beautiful scenery but enough action (or worry) to keep you on your feet. Have played for multiple hours.

    My
    Incredibly good survival game. Beautiful scenery but enough action (or worry) to keep you on your feet. Have played for multiple hours.

    My only real disappointment was there there presently is no hunger factor, however this is something the designers are apparently working on.
    Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For three days I wandered alone in this land pondering its mysteries and beauty. Dissecting plants and exploration had become almost rote by now. By day I honed my navigation skills, fighting the terrain and sickness. I mostly slept at night because the darkness was immersive and dizzying making course plotting near invisible. This cursed fever trailed me like a shadow gaining the upper hand whenever I became slack in my preparation. The scout in me had been dormant for far too long to be relied on so heavily now. It was on that third night that bravery, or perhaps hubris, forced me into a corner of my mind rarely visited. Thus far the squirrels, rabbits, and birds had been but cute decorations between falling while running downhill and categorizing the island flora. I synthesized some basic and xtra strength fever meds, filled my canteen, and set off into that bottomless darkness armed with only a handful of flaming twigs and the feeling there was more than I had seen thus far. I had wandered no more than a few hundred yards when my heart began beating loudly. I quickly searched the journal to see if I was in poor health but I was fine. Still the heart and the beating as if Edgar Allen Poe himself had cursed my ears. The a large snap from the east rang out over my heart, now thundering like sasquatch feet. "Damn that squirrel is loud" echoed in my head as fear gripped my spine and pulled me to the west at full speed. Bushes then darkness then trees, more bushes, and falling for what seems to be an eternity. When I regain my footing I hear some thing growling in my ear and again leap to my feet sprinting towards a bridge, clearly losing against my predator. At last I clear the door and cowered in this flimsy until the daylight cleansed my paranoia.

    Many days have passed since then but that was when I learned to respect this land and my fragile place in it.

    That said this game is easily the most original and innovative title I have seen in 20+ years of full-time gaming, the fact it is also survival horror makes it even better imo. The devs are rather interactive and responsive. Performance is decent and the visuals stunning. This game is such that it will push some of your real life skills to new heights, such as wilderness navigation. Minor frustrations with interface regarding falling. Even then I love that sprinting downhill ends poorly for the runner.
    Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    I am enjoying it so far. The game is very attractive with the one exception of the water pouring out of glass. Full mobility across theI am enjoying it so far. The game is very attractive with the one exception of the water pouring out of glass. Full mobility across the environment. I was very interested by the prospect of an exploration game and I was not let down. The environment is interesting and well varied. It is also quite big, I haven't managed to make it all the way around the island yet. Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    For a two man effort and low budget, this game is really well made considering those two factors, I originally voted for this game on SteamFor a two man effort and low budget, this game is really well made considering those two factors, I originally voted for this game on Steam Green Light. I found it to be fun, with a great combination of survival adventure and thriller. Yes, there are a few flaws with the game and I would of enjoyed more of a back story. But considering that, I highly recommend this game and I hope IonFX make a sequel. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2013
    6
    I turned the graphics down and such, so that's all fine. But my only problem is that the camera is constantly slowly moving to the left. II turned the graphics down and such, so that's all fine. But my only problem is that the camera is constantly slowly moving to the left. I don't know why it's doing that, and even if I unplug my mouse, it continues to move left. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    I bought Miasmata on steam yesterday, after verifying that my computer could run the game (My system well exceeded the recommended specs). II bought Miasmata on steam yesterday, after verifying that my computer could run the game (My system well exceeded the recommended specs). I ran the game and found that even on the lowest setting the game ran at 1-3 fps. I will re-write this review once the game is actually playable. For the moment, steer clear of Miasmata, unless you possess a super computer. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews