Microsoft Flight Simulator X Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From award winning game developer ACES comes Flight Simulator X. The latest installment will include the usual genre leading realism that continues to awe real pilots and will serve as the graphical benchmark for games on Windows Vista. Additionally, Flight Simulator X will deliver for the first time structured game play with more than 55 missions to choose from which will test the skills of players of all levels. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. 100
    The night lighting effects have been so vastly improved in FSX that it bears no resemblance to FS2004 whatsoever.
  2. New missions, flying lessons and articles make FSX a huge, immersive and fun package. Graphics settings that work everywhere are hard to find. [Dec 2006]
  3. The real bonus for this version of the sim comes from pilot immersion. The focus on high quality 3D cockpits instead of 2D panels combined with some excellent new default aircraft with convincing flight dynamics makes for a wonderfully engaging experience. [Deluxe Edition]
  4. This is, bar none, the best consumer available flight simulation to date. Notice the word “simulation.” Flight Simulator has game-like elements, missions, online play, etc., but at the end of the day it’s a hardcore simulator that the average “gamer” probably won’t enjoy.
  5. Flight Simulator X looks to have touched down six-to-twelve months too early for much of its target audience but, as its score reflects, it's an extraordinarily well-crafted piece of software and one of the most significant releases in flight simming history.
  6. Big on detail in theory, but slow and heavy in practice. [Deluxe Edition; Christmas 2006, p.98]
  7. It's designed for people to whom the prospect of merely taking off from LaGuardia and landing at O'Hare is exciting. [Jan. 2007, p.66]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Its An amazing game so realistic and generally fun to play, unlike most simulators! The planes graphics are more than satisfactory, even on a low end computer. The game has a wide range of places to go 24,000 airports in total. Great fun, no manual but I worked out the buttons. The game is really realistic and is actually used by pilots. I have had it for about a year now and I reckon I could fly a plane now I know where all the buttons are Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    A really good flight simulator still several years on from release. Better than it's competitors as I find the interface easy-er to use and most of the bugs have been ironed out by now . Would still recommend in 2014. The graphics are also still not bad even now. Until there is something better out ill continue to use this simulator. Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    Alright short and sweet if you want to play this buy a great computer if you want truely striking visual effects. Theres so many 3rd party add-ons for this Simulator notice how I didn't say game? I mean I spend 80% of my time in Rotorcraft, the remaining in fixed wing, and theres so many good addon it unreal. Now for scenery there great add ons too, but be wise of what you choose, I recommend ORBX/FTX they have unbelievable add ons. The flight physics are pretty accurate, and atc is decent. Online is fun if you are a serious or casual player. It suits all, I run a very nice desktop recently purchased and the game performs awesome. These specs help me run at great performance and visuals. Here is my set up.


    Pyre AMD Phenom II x6 DDR3 Configurator

    1

    $2,001.00

    $2,001.00

    Case: Thermaltake V5 Gaming Case - Orange
    Processor: [= Six Core =] AMD Phenomâ
    Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    I have had every Microsoft Flight Simulator, dating back all the way to the Radio Shack TRS80 version! To the folks previously **** about needing a fast computer to run this software...wah! There of course is going to be trade-offs between function vs. flare. MSFS has always been about pushing the limits of the hardware to create as realistic as current computer-possible simulations, and if you're still running Windows 98 or using an 8-bit video card...then what do you expect? Personally, I find this version the best so far with very realistic graphics sound and detail. And am looking forward to the next version, hoping it will be even more impressive. Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    This is a high fidelity flight simulator capable of so many countless features. While FSX does require higher-end hardware to run smoothly, it renders a very realistic flight simulation experience. Difficulty settings can define weather it is a game or a simulation, as the realistic settings options requires sound knowledge of real world working aircraft and their systems, as well as very realistic flight dynamics and handling. Even on the easiest difficulty settings however, basic light knowledge is needed to successfully take-off, climb, cruise, descend and land. Knowing how to configure the simulated aircraft for all flight stages is definitley needed if you dont always want to end flight with a crash; in that aspect, it is not a "game" flight system. The software itself can be tweaked quite a bit to adjust many different aspect of the simulator, including professional-grade addon aircraft, highly detailed scenery, upto 19m LOD terrain, real-world dynamic complex weather systems; the possibilities are nearly endless with addons and tweaks. Package software provides many Missions to complete for progress-based gamers, as well as a Free Flight option, allowing you to fly and log flights of your choice, at anytime, in any aircraft provided, anywhere in the world. This software does not benefit from SLI or Crossfire configurations to any notable advantage. It does however, require a significant amount of system resources and video memory to run smoothly at Maxed graphics settings. At least 4GB RAM, Minimum 512MB video and Intel i7 and above are my recommended hardware requirements. Systems less can run this, but with stuttered FPS on medium settings, or all settings low for lower end machines. Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2012
    8
    The best training program for pilots, even though it's not like the real aviation at all. With payware add-ons you can go through Standard Operational Procedures that are very realistic, but they are very expensive. I bought this game when it was released and back then I didn't know a single bean about aviation even though I am very interested, but through the years this has developed my knowledge. What i don't like about the game is for an example the requirements, 15GB of space and grows to 40GB when you get a few addons. And the RAM it takes makes no sense, while FS9 runs very smoothly and takes only 3-5GB and uses less than 500MB's of RAM, I am very much making videos with FSX, and i'm very unhappy about that i have to play in 20% when recording so it will be smooth when i'll speed it up. FS9 is still the best simulator in my opinion, and the addons for that game are much better. But I like FSX much and the 10 pounds were well worth it, but fs9 is better. Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2011
    4
    A very authentic experience, but also a very boring one. The controls with joystick is very precise, and there is alot of detail, but the game is very boring, and also quite ugly. Collapse

See all 23 User Reviews