Microsoft Flight PC

Microsoft Flight Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Microsoft Flight brings the thrill and wonder of flying to beginners and PC pilots alike through missions, daily challenges, and the ability to explore the skies above gorgeous representations of real world environments in accurately rendered aircraft. The initial experience is free to playMicrosoft Flight brings the thrill and wonder of flying to beginners and PC pilots alike through missions, daily challenges, and the ability to explore the skies above gorgeous representations of real world environments in accurately rendered aircraft. The initial experience is free to play and will continually evolve with new terrain, aircraft, and challenges that can be purchased as additional content. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Apr 10, 2012
    85
    If you've ever wanted to get into a non-combat flight simulator but thought it sounded too difficult or esoteric, Flight is one to try out. After all - the price is right, and flying planes is so much darn fun!
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    80
    Microsoft Flight presents an interesting initial offer that, if enriched constantly through the promised DLCs, will capture the attention of fans of the genre and expand its audience.
  3. CD-Action
    Apr 12, 2012
    75
    The flight model is Microsoft Flight's biggest advantage, as the game is very enjoyable regardless of whether you're a newbie using a mouse for a controller, or a simulation maniac. A promising start to what might evolve into something big. [May 2012, p.73]
  4. Mar 12, 2012
    70
    Flight has nothing to do with Flight Simulator and the sooner people realise that the better.
  5. Feb 29, 2012
    65
    Microsoft Flight is a good game especially aimed for those newcomers to the genre who want to learn to fly. However, those veterans who are looking for a deep simulator may get dissapointed by the simplicity of the game. Its free-to-play approach is good news, although the content if very limited for those not willing to pay.
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    60
    A sizeable free slice of casual flying.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 25, 2012
    40
    Empty and almost useless game offers little reason to try it, even for a weekend player – despite the fact that the basic version is free. [Apr 2012]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 44
  2. Negative: 28 out of 44
  1. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    So I give this game a 8... Plus 2 Points because of all the people who misunderstand it ;) It's called "Flight" and not "MS Flight Simulator"So I give this game a 8... Plus 2 Points because of all the people who misunderstand it ;) It's called "Flight" and not "MS Flight Simulator" for a reason. This is a causal flight arcade/simulation mash up. It is for all the non hardcore flight simpletons light me who want to fly around a bit without all the simulation stuff. But I understand why the simulator community is pissed, it has been too long since the last proper MS simulation. Oh and Flight is free 2 play so just dl and see for yourself =) Expand
  2. May 9, 2012
    8
    Another underrated game despite it being free. Why people just can take the fact its just an experiment for future flights simulators insteadAnother underrated game despite it being free. Why people just can take the fact its just an experiment for future flights simulators instead of just complaning? I like it very much and ive got all planes. Everthing is what you expect in a game like this: smooth gameplay, smooth graphics, smooth everything. If this is the type of simulator were going to expect in the future, then its a thumps up from me. I only give 8 because its just an experiment game and it needs more work but its well done. Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2012
    5
    To improve this game they should add inside views to all the planes and add additional dlc content. Also they should add ai planes, movingTo improve this game they should add inside views to all the planes and add additional dlc content. Also they should add ai planes, moving ground vehicles, and some of the other features that were in previous releases from microsoft. Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    3
    Its a fun thing to have a mash up between sim and arcade flying, also tutorials are fun. But this game is not very big its like a big demo.Its a fun thing to have a mash up between sim and arcade flying, also tutorials are fun. But this game is not very big its like a big demo. You get 2 planes 1 island. A few tutorial missions, a few challenges your done with that fast enough. Aerocashes are a good idea but poorly developed, you seen them all fast and when you log off they aren't saved so you must always start with the first one Honolii Cove. The planes design could be a lot better, especially with the p51 Mustang which I bought its turning rate, turning speed, and handling is not good at all. To be short about the DLC part, lots of money for what you get in return. I am tired of the expansive DLC rip-off hype under companies. Can't give a high grade because of the price-content ratio is very low. Else this game deserves a higher grade. Companies should look to innovation of fun gaming instead to their wallet. In the 90s and 00s you bought a big game and you get something in return, from MFS98 to MFSX: big content, very detailed, lots of planes and so on(yes ok they are more real sims and not arcady but that's not my point here). MS Flight is Free2Play but if you download all DLC and look what you have its WAY more expansive in comparison with the earlier Flight sims from MS. So lookout. Expand
  5. May 27, 2012
    2
    At first I was quite interested with the title, but after discovering the control system I was not happy. I don't think this type of game willAt first I was quite interested with the title, but after discovering the control system I was not happy. I don't think this type of game will ever be that interesting until the ability to fly is coupled with awesome scenic views. Expand
  6. May 28, 2012
    1
    Flight is basically an impoved FSX but only in Hawai'i. While it is free to download and play, the "game" doesn't quite have its own identity.Flight is basically an impoved FSX but only in Hawai'i. While it is free to download and play, the "game" doesn't quite have its own identity. Is it a flight sim? Is it a MMO with airplanes? Graphics are better than default FSX, but not better than almost every "A" PC game title today.

    One thing I do know: It's not appealing enough for its target audience. MS wants millions to buy their DLC, but I'm pretty sure that will not be happening based on the game being a hybrid genre.

    In 2012 it is an insult to release airplanes with no **** Think about that. A Flight sim or game with airplanes and no ****.. The only game I can compare that to is PilotWings and the Nintendo offering is far more fun. Afterall, there is no ambiguity as to what PilotWings is.

    Graphically better than default FSX. Replyablility? If you like doing "jobs" (sort of like random repeatable quests) then you might call this category average. Fun? That depends on you, but if you are approaching this as a flight sim fan there is none of the following: ATC, AI traffic, airliners, or autopilot. This game appeals to GA "low and slow" but even then there is only Hawai'i to fly in so that has to get boring quickly. Alaska DLC scenery has been announced, but no release date as of this writing.

    The game is relying on people to purchase DLC by the droves. In this endeavour, IMO, MS has chosen poorly. Since the game is free there is no risk to DL it, but don't expect it to blow you away.
    Expand
  7. Apr 21, 2012
    0
    Terrible! They should just stick to 'ACTUAL' simulation! I didnt learn anything of flying an aircraft from this waste of space!!! I can nearlyTerrible! They should just stick to 'ACTUAL' simulation! I didnt learn anything of flying an aircraft from this waste of space!!! I can nearly the same stuff in this in GTA SA, which is anytime better!! Long Live F S X!! Expand

See all 44 User Reviews