Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    75
    I did complain in this review but as a whole Shades of Darkness is the best thing Heroes VI has to offer. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.84]
  2. May 23, 2013
    40
    There are many games that will only appeal to "fans of the genre," but this goes farther than that and becomes a game that appeals to "fans of the series." It's not really a terrible thing, but it's not a great thing, either.
  3. May 30, 2013
    70
    Shades of Darkness is a good video game, offering what every good expansion should always propose.
  4. May 14, 2013
    70
    Shades of Darkness is a fine addition for fans of Heroes VI, but I cannot recommend it without the serious caveat of rampant AI cheating and a sad sigh for a game that I want to love more than I do.
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    67
    At $30, Shades of Darkness seems dramatically overpriced. I’d recommend that you wait until the price drops down to about half of that amount (which will probably happen sooner rather than later) and for a patch or two to come out.
  6. May 24, 2013
    60
    While the ideas behind Shades of Darkness are nice, we cannot in good conscience recommend a game that has obviously bypassed its beta testing. When it gets fixed though, it will be an interesting addition to the Heroes of Might and Magic universe.
  7. Jun 1, 2013
    65
    A decent expansion, albeit not very exciting, to an extremely addicting original. It doesn't do anything to improve on the mistakes made by the original, but leans on the same strong, strategic layer. This expansion does characterize itself by providing players with a new faction, which is more than the previous two could say.
  8. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    If you are fans of Might and Magic: Heroes VI and you crave for some new content, the standalone expansion Shades of Darkness is a must-have. If you've never played the sixth installment, beware of a loads of unpleasant surprises originating in the game's strongly unbalanced AI.
  9. May 19, 2013
    60
    Might & Magic Heroes VI: Shades of Darkness is a harsh challenge, but not often a fair one.
  10. May 17, 2013
    81
    Quotation forthcoming.
  11. May 28, 2013
    65
    The newest expansion for Heroes VI - Shades of Darkness - is worth your attention, but it's far from perfect. The new and improved dark elves with cloaking ability are a welcome thing. Unfortunately the game lacks proper balance between power and magic and commanding Realag's army doesn't give you the feeling of controlling a great force. Still - the fans will be pleased, because Shades do not deviate from a well liked, basic gameplay of Heroes VI.
  12. May 29, 2013
    59
    There’s a lot of love in the game for veterans, but when it came to roping in some new blood with this standalone, the ball was dropped.
  13. May 27, 2013
    65
    The game includes two campaigns, many objects, monsters, characters achievements and a brand new faction. Enough to make it interesting for old and new players even if the price is a little high and some big problems of the original are still there.
  14. Jun 10, 2013
    72
    Even though Shades of Darkness is light on surprises, do not miss it if you are a fan of the series and played both Heroes 5 and 6 – the campaign is packed with familiar faces.
  15. Jun 19, 2013
    75
    The latest installment in the Might & Magic Heroes franchise might not be the best game ever in the series, but the complete edition filled with extra content will guaranteed keep you busy for hours. Whether you're new to the game or veteran.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 29
  2. Negative: 13 out of 29
  1. May 3, 2013
    2
    A total waste of money. The game must be named Errors of Might and Magic: Install error, Uplay error, crush errors, deleted saved games errors, etc etc etc Full Review »
  2. May 5, 2013
    6
    Many of the "0" ratings have people who have never reviewed any other game. Many of the Best reviews are from regular reviewers. That says something about who is trying to manipulate the score here. As to the game, if you liked M&M 6, this is pretty much more of the same. I did like it, so my review is somewhat positive. However, I would appreciate if after 2 years there were some new things too. Furthermore, Ubisoft does have some customer service issues(namely it doesn't exist) with regards to uplay.

    In fact, I would be inclined to give this game a 9 or 10 and recommend it to all my friends if Uplay didn't exist. I understand it is needed to help curb illegal distribution and all, but in their effort to keep the game out of the hands of illegal downloaders and freeloaders, they made the game less fun for their legit customers.

    Please Ubisoft, clean up Uplay and make it customer friendly. I will not buy anymore PC titles of yours until I see this happening. Do you realize I have had an open ticket in your tech forums for over 2 years now? Seriously...

    So while I can recommend the game, its fun enough, its score will suffer as it should for a company that is pushing product out the door then forgetting about their customers.
    Full Review »
  3. May 5, 2013
    0
    I don't even own this game, but i feel i ought to write a review of it anyway, and here is why. When this game released on steam (not that it's even on steam, as you just download the files and then you get stuck with uplay crap), the heroes of might and magic 6 pack was on sale, i saw it and it looked interesting so i purchased. However due to the incredibly poor release of this game, i am unable to play my game. The release was so bad, it has effected me and i don't even own this. Ubisofts poor DRM and server/game issues are SOO bad, this games release has denied me access to the original game, as their server claims i don't have the game. Not just me, but a huge amount of people have this problem. Literally unbelievable, ubisoft should be ashamed. Full Review »